The amendment filed 7/10/2025 has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17 and 19-20 are pending.
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 18 are canceled.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-12, 14-17 and 19-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (Pub. No.: US 20190174536 A1) in view of Zee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200305054 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Han and Zee.
In regard to Claim 1, Han teaches A random access method, performed by a terminal device (UE, Para. 79), comprising: receiving a system information block (SIB) message (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information, Para. 79. Sending module 1203 is configured to send a system information message in a broadcast manner, Para. 184, FIG. 12) from a cell (performing, by a wireless network, independent access control for different network slices, Para. 79), wherein the SIB message comprises slice information of the cell (the wireless network allocates an independent random access channel resource to each network slice in the network based on network resource usage and network process policies of different network slices. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a mapping relationship (The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, a random access preamble sequence set, a random access time-frequency resource, Para. 79).
Han teaches selecting a slice (the UE initiates access to the first network slice, Para. 81) based on the slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79).
Han teaches selecting, based on the mapping relationship (The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, a random access preamble sequence set, a random access time-frequency resource, Para. 79), a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the slice to initiate a random access procedure (the UE selects a random access preamble from an independent first random access preamble sequence set, and initiates random access on the first random access time-frequency resource, Para. 81) on the terminal device (UE, Para. 79).
Han teaches performing the random access procedure (the UE selects a random access preamble from an independent first random access preamble sequence set, and initiates random access on the first random access time-frequency resource, Para. 81) based on the SIB message (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information, Para. 79. Sending module 1203 is configured to send a system information message in a broadcast manner, Para. 184, FIG. 12), wherein the mapping relationship comprises: mapping relationships between a plurality of pieces of slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a plurality of different preambles (the RAN allocates a first random access preamble sequence set to a first network slice, and allocates a second random access preamble sequence set to a second network slice, Para. 81).
Han teaches mapping relationships between the plurality of pieces of slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks (the RAN allocates a first random access time-frequency resource to a first network slice, and allocates a second random access time-frequency resource to a second network slice, Para. 81).
Han fails to teach the plurality of pieces of slice information comprise slice information under a plurality of different public land mobile networks (PLMN).
Zee teaches the plurality of pieces of slice information comprise slice information (slice-IDs supported by each cell indicated by a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), Para. 206, FIG. 11) under a plurality of different public land mobile networks (PLMN) (The source radio network node 12 may transmit the dedicated information about frequency prio to be used in idle mode to the wireless device 10. This information may comprise a list of PLMN-IDs and slice-IDs supported by each cell indicated by a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), Para. 206, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zee with the teachings of Han since Zee provides a technique for conveying slice-IDs with PLMN-IDs associated with cells of a network that a wireless device is wirelessly communicating through, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han to permit utilization PLMN-IDs in association with identifiers of network slices to manage random access resources and preambles of different mobile networks that UE will connect through while moving between cells.
In regard to Claims 6 and 16, Han teaches A random access method, performed by a network device, comprising: sending a system information block (SIB) message (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information, Para. 79. Sending module 1203 is configured to send a system information message in a broadcast manner, Para. 184, FIG. 12), wherein: the SIB message comprises slice information of a cell (the wireless network allocates an independent random access channel resource to each network slice in the network based on network resource usage and network process policies of different network slices. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a mapping relationship (The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, a random access preamble sequence set, a random access time-frequency resource, Para. 79).
Han teaches the slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) is used by a terminal device to select a slice (the UE initiates access to the first network slice, Para. 81).
Han teaches the mapping relationship (The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, a random access preamble sequence set, a random access time-frequency resource, Para. 79) is used by the terminal device to select a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the slice to initiate a random access procedure (the UE selects a random access preamble from an independent first random access preamble sequence set, and initiates random access on the first random access time-frequency resource, Para. 81) on the terminal device (UE, Para. 79).
Han teaches the SIB message (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information, Para. 79. Sending module 1203 is configured to send a system information message in a broadcast manner, Para. 184, FIG. 12) is used by the terminal device to perform the random access procedure (the UE selects a random access preamble from an independent first random access preamble sequence set, and initiates random access on the first random access time-frequency resource, Para. 81), wherein the mapping relationship comprises: mapping relationships between a plurality of pieces of slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a plurality of different preambles (the RAN allocates a first random access preamble sequence set to a first network slice, and allocates a second random access preamble sequence set to a second network slice, Para. 81).
Han teaches mapping relationships between the plurality of pieces of slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks (the RAN allocates a first random access time-frequency resource to a first network slice, and allocates a second random access time-frequency resource to a second network slice, Para. 81).
Han teaches A network device (an RAN, Para. 79), comprising: a memory storing a computer program (memory 1102 is configured to store signaling and data, Para. 177, FIG. 11); and a processor coupled to the memory (processor 1101 is connected to the memory 1102, Para. 175, FIG. 11) and configured to execute the computer program (processor 1101 is configured to support the RAN device in executing corresponding functions, Para. 176, FIG. 11), wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a random access method according to claim 6 (the wireless network allocates an independent random access channel resource to each network slice in the network based on network resource usage and network process policies of different network slices, and an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information, Para. 79).
Han fails to teach the plurality of pieces of slice information comprise slice information under a plurality of different public land mobile networks (PLMN).
Zee teaches the plurality of pieces of slice information comprise slice information (slice-IDs supported by each cell indicated by a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), Para. 206, FIG. 11) under a plurality of different public land mobile networks (PLMN) (The source radio network node 12 may transmit the dedicated information about frequency prio to be used in idle mode to the wireless device 10. This information may comprise a list of PLMN-IDs and slice-IDs supported by each cell indicated by a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), Para. 206, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zee with the teachings of Han since Zee provides a technique for conveying slice-IDs with PLMN-IDs associated with cells of a network that a wireless device is wirelessly communicating through, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han to permit utilization PLMN-IDs in association with identifiers of network slices to manage random access resources and preambles of different mobile networks that UE will connect through while moving between cells.
In regard to Claim 11, Han teaches A terminal device (UE, Para. 79), comprising: a memory storing a computer program (memory 902 is configured to store signaling and data, Para. 167, FIG. 9); and a processor coupled to the memory (processor 901 is connected to the memory 902, Para. 165, FIG. 9) and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising: receiving a system information block (SIB) message (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information, Para. 79. Sending module 1203 is configured to send a system information message in a broadcast manner, Para. 184, FIG. 12) from a cell (performing, by a wireless network, independent access control for different network slices, Para. 79), wherein the SIB message comprises slice information of the cell (the wireless network allocates an independent random access channel resource to each network slice in the network based on network resource usage and network process policies of different network slices. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a mapping relationship (The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, a random access preamble sequence set, a random access time-frequency resource, Para. 79).
Han teaches selecting a slice (the UE initiates access to the first network slice, Para. 81) based on the slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79).
Han teaches selecting, based on the mapping relationship (The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, a random access preamble sequence set, a random access time-frequency resource, Para. 79), a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the slice to initiate a random access procedure (the UE selects a random access preamble from an independent first random access preamble sequence set, and initiates random access on the first random access time-frequency resource, Para. 81) on the terminal device (UE, Para. 79).
Han teaches performing the random access procedure (the UE selects a random access preamble from an independent first random access preamble sequence set, and initiates random access on the first random access time-frequency resource, Para. 81) based on the SIB message (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information, Para. 79. Sending module 1203 is configured to send a system information message in a broadcast manner, Para. 184, FIG. 12), wherein the mapping relationship comprises: mapping relationships between a plurality of pieces of slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a plurality of different preambles (the RAN allocates a first random access preamble sequence set to a first network slice, and allocates a second random access preamble sequence set to a second network slice, Para. 81).
Han teaches mapping relationships between the plurality of pieces of slice information (an RAN broadcasts the random access channel resource of one or more network slices to UE through a system information. The random access channel resource of the network slice may include an identifier of the network slice, Para. 79) and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks (the RAN allocates a first random access time-frequency resource to a first network slice, and allocates a second random access time-frequency resource to a second network slice, Para. 81).
Han fails to teach the plurality of pieces of slice information comprise slice information under a plurality of different public land mobile networks (PLMN).
Zee teaches the plurality of pieces of slice information comprise slice information (slice-IDs supported by each cell indicated by a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), Para. 206, FIG. 11) under a plurality of different public land mobile networks (PLMN) (The source radio network node 12 may transmit the dedicated information about frequency prio to be used in idle mode to the wireless device 10. This information may comprise a list of PLMN-IDs and slice-IDs supported by each cell indicated by a Physical Cell Identity (PCI), Para. 206, FIG. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zee with the teachings of Han since Zee provides a technique for conveying slice-IDs with PLMN-IDs associated with cells of a network that a wireless device is wirelessly communicating through, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han to permit utilization PLMN-IDs in association with identifiers of network slices to manage random access resources and preambles of different mobile networks that UE will connect through while moving between cells.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Prakash et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210144619 A1), hereafter referred to as Prakash.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Han teaches a slice.
Han fails to teach receiving a master information block (MIB) message from the cell, wherein the receiving an SIB message from a cell comprises: receiving the SIB message from the cell when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: a cell state of the cell is indicated as not barred; or the MIB message comprises an identifier of a slice supported by the terminal device.
Prakash teaches receiving a master information block (MIB) message from the cell, wherein the receiving an SIB message from a cell comprises: receiving the SIB message from the cell when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: a cell state of the cell is indicated as not barred; or the MIB message comprises an identifier of a slice supported by the terminal device (In FIG. 12, the 10-bit spare parameter of the MIB is highlighted by bold typeface, as these 10 spare bits according to current (status of) standardization are useable for/as network slice identification information, Para. 117. An accordingly coded bit string (conveyed in the 10-bit spare parameter of the MIB) can be used as a network slice identifier, i.e. a network slice identification information which helps to differentiate available/overlapping network slices, Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Prakash with the teachings of Han since Prakash provides a technique for utilizing master information blocks to convey network slice identification information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han to permit more extensive communications of slice information throughout devices in wireless communication with a network.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Han teaches a slice.
Han fails to teach sending an MIB message, wherein: in the MIB message, a cell state of the cell is indicated as not barred; or the MIB message comprises an identifier of a slice supported by the terminal device.
Prakash teaches sending an MIB message, wherein: in the MIB message, a cell state of the cell is indicated as not barred; or the MIB message comprises an identifier of a slice supported by the terminal device (In FIG. 12, the 10-bit spare parameter of the MIB is highlighted by bold typeface, as these 10 spare bits according to current (status of) standardization are useable for/as network slice identification information, Para. 117. An accordingly coded bit string (conveyed in the 10-bit spare parameter of the MIB) can be used as a network slice identifier, i.e. a network slice identification information which helps to differentiate available/overlapping network slices, Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Prakash with the teachings of Han since Prakash provides a technique for utilizing master information blocks to convey network slice identification information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han to permit more extensive communications of slice information throughout devices in wireless communication with a network.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Han teaches a slice.
Han fails to teach receiving a master information block (MIB) message from the cell, wherein the receiving an SIB message from a cell comprises: receiving the SIB message from the cell when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: a cell state of the cell is indicated as not barred; or the MIB message comprises an identifier of a slice supported by the terminal device.
Prakash teaches receiving a master information block (MIB) message from the cell, wherein the receiving an SIB message from a cell comprises: receiving the SIB message from the cell when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied: a cell state of the cell is indicated as not barred; or the MIB message comprises an identifier of a slice supported by the terminal device (In FIG. 12, the 10-bit spare parameter of the MIB is highlighted by bold typeface, as these 10 spare bits according to current (status of) standardization are useable for/as network slice identification information, Para. 117. An accordingly coded bit string (conveyed in the 10-bit spare parameter of the MIB) can be used as a network slice identifier, i.e. a network slice identification information which helps to differentiate available/overlapping network slices, Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Prakash with the teachings of Han since Prakash provides a technique for utilizing master information blocks to convey network slice identification information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han to permit more extensive communications of slice information throughout devices in wireless communication with a network.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Han teaches a slice.
Han fails to teach sending an MIB message, wherein: in the MIB message, a cell state of the cell is indicated as not barred; or the MIB message comprises an identifier of a slice supported by the terminal device.
Prakash teaches sending an MIB message, wherein: in the MIB message, a cell state of the cell is indicated as not barred; or the MIB message comprises an identifier of a slice supported by the terminal device (In FIG. 12, the 10-bit spare parameter of the MIB is highlighted by bold typeface, as these 10 spare bits according to current (status of) standardization are useable for/as network slice identification information, Para. 117. An accordingly coded bit string (conveyed in the 10-bit spare parameter of the MIB) can be used as a network slice identifier, i.e. a network slice identification information which helps to differentiate available/overlapping network slices, Para. 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Prakash with the teachings of Han since Prakash provides a technique for utilizing master information blocks to convey network slice identification information, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han to permit more extensive communications of slice information throughout devices in wireless communication with a network.
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-10, 14-15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han in view of Zee, and further in view of Park et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200314732 A1), hereafter referred to as Park.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Han in view of Zee teaches a preamble.
Han in view of Zee fails to teach receiving a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message, wherein the RRC dedicated message comprises one or more preambles, and at least one preamble is corresponding to a dedicated slice; and selecting one dedicated slice, and selecting a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the dedicated slice to initiate a random access procedure.
Park teaches receiving a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message, wherein the RRC dedicated message comprises one or more preambles, and at least one preamble is corresponding to a dedicated slice; and selecting one dedicated slice, and selecting a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the dedicated slice to initiate a random access procedure (For a wireless device in an RRC_Connected state, dedicated RRC signalling may be employed for the request and delivery of the other SI, Para. 197. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure, Para. 277. The first RRC message may comprise at least one of: RACH configuration parameters comprising a preamble index and/or RACH resources, a network slice information (e.g., S-NSSAI, NSSAI) for a network slice (e.g., the first network slice) associated with the bearer and/or the service, Para. 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Han in view of Zee since Park provides a technique utilizing RRC messaging for conveying system information related to random access preambles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han in view of Zee to permit UE to obtain system information efficiently through the benefits of RRC messaging for communicating through network slices.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Han in view of Zee teaches a preamble.
Han in view of Zee fails to teach the RRC dedicated message comprises mapping relationships between a plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different preambles; and mapping relationships between the plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks.
Park teaches the RRC dedicated message comprises mapping relationships between a plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different preambles; and mapping relationships between the plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks (For a wireless device in an RRC_Connected state, dedicated RRC signalling may be employed for the request and delivery of the other SI, Para. 197. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure, Para. 277. The first RRC message may comprise at least one of: RACH configuration parameters comprising a preamble index and/or RACH resources, a network slice information (e.g., S-NSSAI, NSSAI) for a network slice (e.g., the first network slice) associated with the bearer and/or the service, Para. 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Han in view of Zee since Park provides a technique utilizing RRC messaging for conveying system information related to random access preambles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han in view of Zee to permit UE to obtain system information efficiently through the benefits of RRC messaging for communicating through network slices.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Han in view of Zee teaches a preamble.
Han in view of Zee fails to teach sending a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message, wherein the RRC dedicated message comprises one or more preambles, and at least one preamble is corresponding to a dedicated slice; and the RRC dedicated message is used by the terminal device to select one dedicated slice, and select a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the dedicated slice to initiate a random access procedure.
Park teaches sending a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message, wherein the RRC dedicated message comprises one or more preambles, and at least one preamble is corresponding to a dedicated slice; and the RRC dedicated message is used by the terminal device to select one dedicated slice, and select a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the dedicated slice to initiate a random access procedure (For a wireless device in an RRC_Connected state, dedicated RRC signalling may be employed for the request and delivery of the other SI, Para. 197. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure, Para. 277. The first RRC message may comprise at least one of: RACH configuration parameters comprising a preamble index and/or RACH resources, a network slice information (e.g., S-NSSAI, NSSAI) for a network slice (e.g., the first network slice) associated with the bearer and/or the service, Para. 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Han in view of Zee since Park provides a technique utilizing RRC messaging for conveying system information related to random access preambles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han in view of Zee to permit UE to obtain system information efficiently through the benefits of RRC messaging for communicating through network slices.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 6, Han in view of Zee teaches a preamble.
Han in view of Zee fails to teach the RRC dedicated message comprises mapping relationships between a plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different preambles; or mapping relationships between the plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks.
Park teaches the RRC dedicated message comprises mapping relationships between a plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different preambles; or mapping relationships between the plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks (For a wireless device in an RRC_Connected state, dedicated RRC signalling may be employed for the request and delivery of the other SI, Para. 197. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure, Para. 277. The first RRC message may comprise at least one of: RACH configuration parameters comprising a preamble index and/or RACH resources, a network slice information (e.g., S-NSSAI, NSSAI) for a network slice (e.g., the first network slice) associated with the bearer and/or the service, Para. 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Han in view of Zee since Park provides a technique utilizing RRC messaging for conveying system information related to random access preambles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han in view of Zee to permit UE to obtain system information efficiently through the benefits of RRC messaging for communicating through network slices.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Han in view of Zee teaches a preamble.
Han in view of Zee fails to teach receiving a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message, wherein the RRC dedicated message comprises one or more preambles, and at least one preamble is corresponding to a dedicated slice; and selecting one dedicated slice, and selecting a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the dedicated slice to initiate a random access procedure.
Park teaches receiving a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message, wherein the RRC dedicated message comprises one or more preambles, and at least one preamble is corresponding to a dedicated slice; and selecting one dedicated slice, and selecting a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the dedicated slice to initiate a random access procedure (For a wireless device in an RRC_Connected state, dedicated RRC signalling may be employed for the request and delivery of the other SI, Para. 197. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure, Para. 277. The first RRC message may comprise at least one of: RACH configuration parameters comprising a preamble index and/or RACH resources, a network slice information (e.g., S-NSSAI, NSSAI) for a network slice (e.g., the first network slice) associated with the bearer and/or the service, Para. 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Han in view of Zee since Park provides a technique utilizing RRC messaging for conveying system information related to random access preambles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han in view of Zee to permit UE to obtain system information efficiently through the benefits of RRC messaging for communicating through network slices.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 11, Han in view of Zee teaches a preamble.
Han in view of Zee fails to teach the RRC dedicated message comprises mapping relationships between a plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different preambles; and mapping relationships between the plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks.
Park teaches the RRC dedicated message comprises mapping relationships between a plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different preambles; and mapping relationships between the plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks (For a wireless device in an RRC_Connected state, dedicated RRC signalling may be employed for the request and delivery of the other SI, Para. 197. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure, Para. 277. The first RRC message may comprise at least one of: RACH configuration parameters comprising a preamble index and/or RACH resources, a network slice information (e.g., S-NSSAI, NSSAI) for a network slice (e.g., the first network slice) associated with the bearer and/or the service, Para. 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Han in view of Zee since Park provides a technique utilizing RRC messaging for conveying system information related to random access preambles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han in view of Zee to permit UE to obtain system information efficiently through the benefits of RRC messaging for communicating through network slices.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Han in view of Zee teaches a preamble.
Han in view of Zee fails to teach sending a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message, wherein the RRC dedicated message comprises one or more preambles, and at least one preamble is corresponding to a dedicated slice; wherein the RRC dedicated message is used by the terminal device to select one dedicated slice, and select a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the dedicated slice to initiate a random access procedure.
Park teaches sending a radio resource control (RRC) dedicated message, wherein the RRC dedicated message comprises one or more preambles, and at least one preamble is corresponding to a dedicated slice; wherein the RRC dedicated message is used by the terminal device to select one dedicated slice, and select a preamble and a PRACH resource that are corresponding to the dedicated slice to initiate a random access procedure (For a wireless device in an RRC_Connected state, dedicated RRC signalling may be employed for the request and delivery of the other SI, Para. 197. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure, Para. 277. The first RRC message may comprise at least one of: RACH configuration parameters comprising a preamble index and/or RACH resources, a network slice information (e.g., S-NSSAI, NSSAI) for a network slice (e.g., the first network slice) associated with the bearer and/or the service, Para. 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Han in view of Zee since Park provides a technique utilizing RRC messaging for conveying system information related to random access preambles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han in view of Zee to permit UE to obtain system information efficiently through the benefits of RRC messaging for communicating through network slices.
In regard to Claim 20, as presented in the rejection of Claim 16, Han in view of Zee teaches a preamble.
Han in view of Zee fails to teach the RRC dedicated message comprises mapping relationships between a plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different preambles; and mapping relationships between the plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks.
Park teaches the RRC dedicated message comprises mapping relationships between a plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different preambles; and mapping relationships between the plurality of dedicated slices and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks (For a wireless device in an RRC_Connected state, dedicated RRC signalling may be employed for the request and delivery of the other SI, Para. 197. A UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure, Para. 277. The first RRC message may comprise at least one of: RACH configuration parameters comprising a preamble index and/or RACH resources, a network slice information (e.g., S-NSSAI, NSSAI) for a network slice (e.g., the first network slice) associated with the bearer and/or the service, Para. 350).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Han in view of Zee since Park provides a technique utilizing RRC messaging for conveying system information related to random access preambles, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Han in view of Zee to permit UE to obtain system information efficiently through the benefits of RRC messaging for communicating through network slices.
Response to Arguments
I. New Citations of Reference Responsive to Amendment
Han teaches in Para. 79, a RAN broadcasts a random access channel resource of network slices that may include identifiers of the network slices, and teaches in Para. 81 that the RAN allocates a first random access preamble sequence set to a first network slice, and allocates a second random access preamble sequence set to a second network slice. This broadcast of a random access channel resource including identifiers of network slices for allocating respective random access preamble sequence sets to the network slices of Han, is substantively the same as mapping relationships between a plurality of pieces of slice information and a plurality of different preambles of Claim 1.
Han teaches in Para. 79, a RAN broadcasts a random access channel resource of network slices that may include identifiers of the network slices, and teaches in Para. 81 that the RAN allocates a first random access time-frequency resource to a first network slice, and allocates a second random access time-frequency resource to a second network slice. This broadcast of a random access channel resource including identifiers of network slices for allocating respective random access time-frequency resources to the network slices of Han, is substantively the same as mapping relationships between the plurality of pieces of slice information and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks of Claim 1.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 7/10/2025, with respect to the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 101 have been withdrawn.
III. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC §§ 103&102
Applicant's arguments filed 7/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 11 of the Remarks presents the argument that Therefore, Li fails to disclose “mapping relationships between a plurality of pieces of slice information and a plurality of different preambles” and “mapping relationships between the plurality of pieces of slice information and a plurality of different PRACH time-frequency resource blocks,” as required by amended claim 1. This argument is not persuasive. The limitations introduced by the amendment of Claims 1, 6 and 11, which are not taught by Han, are taught by Zee et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200305054 A1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cai et al. (Pub. No.: US 20200367201 A1) teaches the plurality of pieces of slice information comprise slice information under a plurality of different public land mobile networks (PLMN) (The broadcast block contains the wireless communication network identifiers like PLMNs ID, VPN IDs, and/or network slice IDs, Para. 19).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
9-16-2025
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477