DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US20180282581, herein Moon), in the view of Kim (US20140183417, herein Kim).
Regarding claims 1-3, Moon teaches ceramic based slurry composition [0004] comprising: “water-based solvent or an organic solvent” [0028] wherein, the solvent is “the sulfonic acid group additive may include, e.g., policresulen and/or a salt thereof” [0061], structure see below [Scifinder] as evidenced by CAS Registry Number: 101418-00-2, wherein R1 is first hydrophilic substituent, R2 is second hydrophilic substituent, R3 is alkyl group having carbons of 1.
Moon teaches “ceramic polishing particles may be included in the slurry composition for chemical mechanical polishing” [0029], Moon is silent on carbon nanotube and the concentrations of carbon nanotube and dispersant. However, Kim teaches single-walled carbon nanotubes, double-walled carbon nanotubes, multi-walled carbon nanotubes [0026], preparing the carbon nanotube dispersion via dispersing carbon nanotubes (A) by mixing the carbon nanotubes (A) with polyarylene ether (B) [0050], indicates the polyarylene ether is dispersant; Kim further teaches the carbon nanotube dispersion may include the total solute (the carbon nanotubes (A) and the polyarylene ether (B)) in an amount of about 1 wt % to about 15 wt % [0045], Kim further teaches the carbon nanotube dispersion may include the polyarylene ether in an amount of about 0.5 wt % to about 20 wt % based on the total amount of solute (the carbon nanotubes (A) and the polyarylene ether (B)) [0041], which indicate the dispersant concentration range is 0.005% to 3 %, hence, overlaps the claimed range; the carbon nanotube dispersion may include the carbon nanotubes (A) in an amount of about 80 wt % to about 99.5 wt % based on the total amount of solute (the carbon nanotubes (A) and the polyarylene ether (B)) [0034], which indicate the carbon nanotubes concentration range is 0.8% to 14.93%, which overlaps the claimed range. Moon and Kim are considered analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, that of ceramic based dispersion formation via dispersant. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon to add the teachings of single-walled carbon nanotubes, double-walled carbon nanotubes, multi-walled carbon nanotubes [0026], preparing the carbon nanotube dispersion via dispersing carbon nanotubes (A) by mixing the carbon nanotubes (A) with polyarylene ether (B) [0050], the carbon nanotube dispersion may include the total solute (the carbon nanotubes (A) and the polyarylene ether (B)) in an amount of about 1 wt % to about 15 wt % [0045], the carbon nanotube dispersion may include the polyarylene ether in an amount of about 0.5 wt % to about 20 wt % based on the total amount of solute (the carbon nanotubes (A) and the polyarylene ether (B)) [0041]; the carbon nanotube dispersion may include the carbon nanotubes (A) in an amount of about 80 wt % to about 99.5 wt % based on the total amount of solute (the carbon nanotubes (A) and the polyarylene ether (B)) [0034], into the dispersion formation. Doing so would further achieve the exhibiting excellent dispersibility without phase separation [0057] as taught by Kim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US20180282581, herein Moon), in the view of Kim (US20140183417, herein Kim) and
Jong (KR101747295, herein Jong, a machine translation is being used for citation purpose).
Regarding claim 7, Moon and Kim collectively teach the instant application specification as set forth above, Moon does not explicitly teach the manufacturing method of a nanotube film. However, Jong teaches “coating the above carbon nanotube dispersion on a substrate” [0043]; “filtration and dried under vacuum” [0053]. The above steps collectively match the manufacturing method of a nanotube film. Moon and Jong are considered analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, that of ceramic materials based dispersion formation. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Moon to add the teachings of Jong and provide wherein “coating the above carbon nanotube dispersion on a substrate” [0043]; “filtration and dried under vacuum” [0053], as taught by Jong into the product formation. Doing so would further achieve the optimization of the processing owing to aqueous solution can ease the mixing process, and further lead to the product toward “carbon nanotubes are easily dispersed in water, and the carbon nanotubes are individually well dispersed, and their length and diameter are also more elongated and have a greater effect than conventionally dispersed carbon nanotubes. In addition, it has excellent effects in terms of distributed stability.” [0020] as taught by Jong.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/20/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Moon (US20180282581, herein Moon) and Kim (US20140183417, herein Kim).
In this case, the new added reference_ Kim and Moon collectively teach the nanotube dispersion composition and the ranges, as set forth in the new rejection above.
Correspondence
/Z. L./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767