The response filed 1/21/2026 has been considered.
Claims 1-25 are pending.
Claims 1-25 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210051736 A1), hereafter referred to as Jeon.
In regard to Claim 22, Jeon teaches An apparatus comprising logic and circuitry (At the base station 1504, a reception processing system 1512 may receive the uplink transmission from the wireless device 1502. At the wireless device 1502, a reception processing system 1522 may receive the downlink transmission from base station 1504, Para. 227, FIG. 15) configured to cause a wireless communication device to: listen over a plurality of transmission slots (As illustrated, one NR frame may be 10 milliseconds (ms) in duration and may include 10 subframes that are 1 ms in duration. A subframe may be divided into slots that include, for example, 14 OFDM symbols per slot, Para. 130, FIG. 7. A slot may be used as the unit upon which uplink and downlink transmissions are scheduled, Para. 132, FIG. 7. Uplink radio resources comprise time (e.g., in terms of any combination of slot number, subframe number), Para. 338) within a Synchronized (a UL grant (e.g., if the UE is synchronized already), Para. 338) Transmit Opportunity (S-TxOP) (UL grant for additional one or more Msg3 1313 transmission opportunities, Para. 322, FIG. 13A) for a plurality of received packets (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) from a transmitter device (At the base station 1504, a reception processing system 1512 may receive the uplink transmission from the wireless device 1502. At the wireless device 1502, a reception processing system 1522 may receive the downlink transmission from base station 1504, Para. 227, FIG. 15), the plurality of received packets comprising at least k encoded packets (Digital and analog signal processing functions may include coding/decoding. As shown in FIG. 3, the PHYs 211 and 221 may provide one or more transport channels as a service to the MACs 212 and 222, Para. 90, FIG. 3. The MAC 222 may multiplex a number of RLC PDUs and may attach a MAC subheader to an RLC PDU to form a transport block, Para. 93, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) out of n encoded packets (The RLC 223 may optionally perform segmentation (e.g., as shown for IP packet m in FIG. 4A) and forward its output to the MAC 222, Para. 93, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223), the n encoded packets (FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223) encoding k data packets (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) according to a Network Coding (NC) scheme (The PHYs 211 and 221 may perform digital and analog signal processing functions for sending and receiving information over the air interface. These digital and analog signal processing functions may include, for example, coding, Para. 90, FIG. 3), wherein k is equal to or greater than two (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)), and wherein n is greater than k (FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223, which is a greater number than three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)).
Jeon teaches determine the k data packets (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) by decoding the at least k encoded packets according to the NC scheme (The PHYs 211 and 221 may perform digital and analog signal processing functions for sending and receiving information over the air interface. These digital and analog signal processing functions may include, for example, decoding, Para. 90, FIG. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 16-20 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20210051736 A1) in view of Yonge et al. (Pub. No.: US 20110268200 A1), hereafter respectively referred to as Jeon and Yonge.
In regard to Claim 1, Jeon teaches An apparatus comprising logic and circuitry (processing system 1518 may implement layer 3 and layer 2 OSI functionality to process the data for transmission, Para. 225, FIG. 15) configured to cause a wireless communication device to: encode k data packets (FIG. 4A illustrates a downlink data flow of three IP packets (n, n+1, and m), Para. 91, FIG. 4A) into n encoded packets (The RLC 223 may optionally perform segmentation (e.g., as shown for IP packet m in FIG. 4A) and forward its output to the MAC 222, Para. 93, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223) according to a Network Coding (NC) scheme (The PHYs 211 and 221 may perform digital and analog signal processing functions for sending and receiving information over the air interface. These digital and analog signal processing functions may include, for example, coding, Para. 90, FIG. 3), wherein k is equal to or greater than two (FIG. 4A illustrates a downlink data flow of three IP packets (n, n+1, and m), Para. 91, FIG. 4A), and wherein n is greater than k (FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223, which is a greater number than three IP packets).
Jeon teaches transmit k encoded packets (Digital and analog signal processing functions may include coding/decoding. As shown in FIG. 3, the PHYs 211 and 221 may provide one or more transport channels as a service to the MACs 212 and 222, Para. 90, FIG. 3. The MAC 222 may multiplex a number of RLC PDUs and may attach a MAC subheader to an RLC PDU to form a transport block, Para. 93, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) of the n encoded packets (FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223) during a plurality of transmission slots (As illustrated, one NR frame may be 10 milliseconds (ms) in duration and may include 10 subframes that are 1 ms in duration. A subframe may be divided into slots that include, for example, 14 OFDM symbols per slot, Para. 130, FIG. 7. A slot may be used as the unit upon which uplink and downlink transmissions are scheduled, Para. 132, FIG. 7. Uplink radio resources comprise time (e.g., in terms of any combination of slot number, subframe number), Para. 338) within a Synchronized (a UL grant (e.g., if the UE is synchronized already), Para. 338) Transmit Opportunity (S-TxOP) (UL grant for additional one or more Msg3 1313 transmission opportunities, Para. 322, FIG. 13A) by transmitting one or more encoded packets of the k encoded packets (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) during a transmission slot (A subframe may be divided into slots that include, for example, 14 OFDM symbols per slot, Para. 130, FIG. 7) of the plurality of transmission slots (As illustrated, one NR frame may be 10 milliseconds (ms) in duration and may include 10 subframes that are 1 ms in duration, Para. 130, FIG. 7).
Jeon fails to teach, based on a determination that m packets of the k encoded packets have not been successfully received, transmit m other encoded packets of the n encoded packets during one or more subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP, wherein m is equal to or greater than 1.
Yonge teaches, based on a determination that m packets of the k encoded packets have not been successfully received (during the transmission, the payload unit 3 is corrupted, Para. 166, FIG. 15A. Payload unit 5 is corrupted. A bit map to indicate whether each of the payload units {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6} was received properly at Station C, Para. 167, FIG. 15A), transmit m other encoded packets (This causes A to retransmit the payload units {3, 5}, Para. 167, FIG. 15A) of the n encoded packets (the payload units {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, Para. 167, FIG. 15A) during one or more subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP (synchronization includes slot synchronization between various stations in the network, Para. 112. Stations in the network can combine the knowledge of the scheduling information along with the network time base to determine the slot boundaries, Para. 114. The start of the transmission opportunity (in TDMA). The end of CIFS_SSD is followed by Priority Resolution Symbol (PRS) slots. The virtual carrier sense (VCS) which enables such devices to properly determine that start of the next PRS slot, Para. 154, FIGS. 12A, 12B), wherein m is equal to or greater than 1 (payload units {3, 5}, Para. 167, FIG. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yonge with the teachings of Jeon, since Yonge provides a technique for indicating corrupted payloads and properly received payloads for the retransmission of corrupted payloads, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon to permit lost SDUs to be indicated for retransmission and reattempt proper reception.
In regard to Claim 5, Jeon teaches the k data packets (FIG. 4A illustrates a downlink data flow of three IP packets (n, n+1, and m), Para. 91, FIG. 4A) comprise data packets of a Single User (SU) transmission (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) to a single receiver device (At the wireless device 1502, a reception processing system 1522 may receive the downlink transmission from base station 1504, Para. 227, FIG. 15).
In regard to Claim 16, Jeon teaches the NC coding scheme (The PHYs 211 and 221 may perform digital and analog signal processing functions for sending and receiving information over the air interface. These digital and analog signal processing functions may include, for example, coding, Para. 90, FIG. 3) is configured such that the k data packets (FIG. 4A illustrates a downlink data flow of three IP packets (n, n+1, and m), Para. 91, FIG. 4A) are decodable (The PHYs 211 and 221 may perform digital and analog signal processing functions for sending and receiving information over the air interface. These digital and analog signal processing functions may include, for example, decoding, Para. 90, FIG. 3) from any group of k encoded packets (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) from the n encoded packets (FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223).
In regard to Claim 17, Jeon teaches the k data packets (FIG. 4A illustrates a downlink data flow of three IP packets (n, n+1, and m), Para. 91, FIG. 4A) comprise time-sensitive data packets (a service of data to be transmitted (e.g., delay sensitive data such URLLC), Para. 261).
In regard to Claim 18, Jeon teaches at least one radio (cells of the gNBs 160 and the ng-eNBs 162 may provide radio coverage to the UEs 156, Para. 77, FIG. 1B) to transmit the k encoded packets (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)).
In regard to Claim 19, Jeon teaches one or more antennas connected to the radio (The gNBs 160 and ng-eNBs 162 may include one or more sets of antennas for communicating with the UEs 156 over an air interface, Para. 77, FIG. 1B), and a processor to execute instructions of an operating system of the wireless communication device (Memory 1514 may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508 to carry out one or more of the functionalities, Para. 229, FIG. 15).
In regard to Claim 20, Jeon teaches A product comprising one or more tangible computer-readable non-transitory storage media comprising computer-executable instructions (memory 1514 (e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums) may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system 1508, Para. 229, FIG. 15) operable to, when executed by at least one processor (processing system 1508 may implement layer 3 and layer 2 OSI functionality to process the data for transmission, Para. 225, FIG. 15), enable the at least one processor to cause a wireless communication device to: encode k data packets (FIG. 4A illustrates a downlink data flow of three IP packets (n, n+1, and m), Para. 91, FIG. 4A) into n encoded packets (The RLC 223 may optionally perform segmentation (e.g., as shown for IP packet m in FIG. 4A) and forward its output to the MAC 222, Para. 93, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223) according to a Network Coding (NC) scheme (The PHYs 211 and 221 may perform digital and analog signal processing functions for sending and receiving information over the air interface. These digital and analog signal processing functions may include, for example, coding, Para. 90, FIG. 3), wherein k is equal to or greater than two (FIG. 4A illustrates a downlink data flow of three IP packets (n, n+1, and m), Para. 91, FIG. 4A), and wherein n is greater than k (FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223, which is a greater number than three IP packets).
Jeon teaches transmit k encoded packets (Digital and analog signal processing functions may include coding/decoding. As shown in FIG. 3, the PHYs 211 and 221 may provide one or more transport channels as a service to the MACs 212 and 222, Para. 90, FIG. 3. The MAC 222 may multiplex a number of RLC PDUs and may attach a MAC subheader to an RLC PDU to form a transport block, Para. 93, FIG. 4A. FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) of the n encoded packets (FIG. 4A shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223) during a plurality of transmission slots (As illustrated, one NR frame may be 10 milliseconds (ms) in duration and may include 10 subframes that are 1 ms in duration. A subframe may be divided into slots that include, for example, 14 OFDM symbols per slot, Para. 130, FIG. 7. A slot may be used as the unit upon which uplink and downlink transmissions are scheduled, Para. 132, FIG. 7. Uplink radio resources comprise time (e.g., in terms of any combination of slot number, subframe number), Para. 338) within a Synchronized (a UL grant (e.g., if the UE is synchronized already), Para. 338) Transmit Opportunity (S-TxOP) (UL grant for additional one or more Msg3 1313 transmission opportunities, Para. 322, FIG. 13A) by transmitting one or more encoded packets of the k encoded packets (FIG. 4A shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block)) during a transmission slot (A subframe may be divided into slots that include, for example, 14 OFDM symbols per slot, Para. 130, FIG. 7) of the plurality of transmission slots (As illustrated, one NR frame may be 10 milliseconds (ms) in duration and may include 10 subframes that are 1 ms in duration, Para. 130, FIG. 7).
Jeon fails to teach, based on a determination that m packets of the k encoded packets have not been successfully received, transmit m other encoded packets of the n encoded packets during one or more subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP, wherein m is equal to or greater than 1.
Yonge teaches, based on a determination that m packets of the k encoded packets have not been successfully received (during the transmission, the payload unit 3 is corrupted, Para. 166, FIG. 15A. Payload unit 5 is corrupted. A bit map to indicate whether each of the payload units {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6} was received properly at Station C, Para. 167, FIG. 15A), transmit m other encoded packets (This causes A to retransmit the payload units {3, 5}, Para. 167, FIG. 15A) of the n encoded packets (the payload units {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, Para. 167, FIG. 15A) during one or more subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP (synchronization includes slot synchronization between various stations in the network, Para. 112. Stations in the network can combine the knowledge of the scheduling information along with the network time base to determine the slot boundaries, Para. 114. The start of the transmission opportunity (in TDMA). The end of CIFS_SSD is followed by Priority Resolution Symbol (PRS) slots. The virtual carrier sense (VCS) which enables such devices to properly determine that start of the next PRS slot, Para. 154, FIGS. 12A, 12B), wherein m is equal to or greater than 1 (payload units {3, 5}, Para. 167, FIG. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yonge with the teachings of Jeon, since Yonge provides a technique for indicating corrupted payloads and properly received payloads for the retransmission of corrupted payloads, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon to permit lost SDUs to be indicated for retransmission and reattempt proper reception.
In regard to Claim 23, as presented in the rejection of Claim 22, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to: listen over a predefined count of transmission slots within the S-TxOP for the at least k encoded packets; and based on a determination that m packets of the at least k encoded packets have not been successfully received, listen over one or more subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP to receive m other encoded packets of the n encoded packets.
Yonge teaches to cause the wireless communication device to: listen over a predefined count of transmission slots within the S-TxOP for the at least k encoded packets (A bit map to indicate whether each of the payload units {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6} was received properly at Station C, Para. 167, FIG. 15A).
Yonge teaches, based on a determination that m packets of the at least k encoded packets have not been successfully received (during the transmission, the payload unit 3 is corrupted, Para. 166, FIG. 15A. Payload unit 5 is corrupted), listen over one or more subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP (synchronization includes slot synchronization between various stations in the network, Para. 112. Stations in the network can combine the knowledge of the scheduling information along with the network time base to determine the slot boundaries, Para. 114. The start of the transmission opportunity (in TDMA). The end of CIFS_SSD is followed by Priority Resolution Symbol (PRS) slots. The virtual carrier sense (VCS) which enables such devices to properly determine that start of the next PRS slot, Para. 154, FIGS. 12A, 12B) to receive m other encoded packets (This causes A to retransmit the payload units {3, 5}, Para. 167, FIG. 15A) of the n encoded packets (the payload units {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, Para. 167, FIG. 15A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yonge with the teachings of Jeon, since Yonge provides a technique for indicating corrupted payloads and properly received payloads for the retransmission of corrupted payloads, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon to permit lost SDUs to be indicated for retransmission and reattempt proper reception.
Claim(s) 2-4, 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Yonge, and further in view of Ravikumar et al. (Pub. No.: US 20060120375 A1), hereafter referred to as Ravikumar.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach, based on a determination that one or more packets of the m other encoded packets have not been successfully received, transmit one or more additional other encoded packets of the n encoded packets during one or more additional subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP.
Ravikumar teaches, based on a determination that one or more packets of the m other encoded packets have not been successfully received, transmit one or more additional other encoded packets of the n encoded packets during one or more additional subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP (If a NACK is received, the endpoint 104 may resend the packet at the next opportunity (not shown), Para. 160, FIG. 31. Once all packets have been sent by the endpoint 104, the endpoint 104 examines the UNACK list. The remaining packets on the UNACK list are then resent to the endpoint 106. The process of comparing ACKs with the UNACK list, removing acknowledged packets from the list, and resending the remaining packets on the list may continue until the list is empty (e.g., all packets have been acknowledged) or until a threshold has been reached. For example, even if the UNACK list is not empty, the process may abort if packets have been sent a certain number of times, Para. 161, FIG. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravikumar with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Ravikumar provides a technique where a cycle of resending packets is based on an UNACK list, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit a listing of unacknowledged MAC SDUs to be retransmitted until they are properly received.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach perform one or more transmissions until it is determined that a total of k encoded packets have been successfully received or until a predefined criteria has been met, wherein a transmission comprises: based on a determination that one or more encoded packets of a previous transmission have not been successfully received, transmitting one or more additional other encoded packets of the n encoded packets during one or more additional subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP.
Ravikumar teaches perform one or more transmissions until it is determined that a total of k encoded packets have been successfully received or until a predefined criteria has been met, wherein a transmission comprises: based on a determination that one or more encoded packets of a previous transmission have not been successfully received, transmitting one or more additional other encoded packets of the n encoded packets during one or more additional subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP (If a NACK is received, the endpoint 104 may resend the packet at the next opportunity (not shown), Para. 160, FIG. 31. Once all packets have been sent by the endpoint 104, the endpoint 104 examines the UNACK list. The remaining packets on the UNACK list are then resent to the endpoint 106. The process of comparing ACKs with the UNACK list, removing acknowledged packets from the list, and resending the remaining packets on the list may continue until the list is empty (e.g., all packets have been acknowledged) or until a threshold has been reached. For example, even if the UNACK list is not empty, the process may abort if packets have been sent a certain number of times, Para. 161, FIG. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravikumar with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Ravikumar provides a technique where a cycle of resending packets is based on an UNACK list, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit a listing of unacknowledged MAC SDUs to be retransmitted until they are properly received.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the k data packets.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach the predefined criteria comprises reaching a count of reserved transmission slots for transmission of the k data packets.
Ravikumar teaches the predefined criteria comprises reaching a count of reserved transmission slots for transmission of the k data packets (The process of comparing ACKs with the UNACK list, removing acknowledged packets from the list, and resending the remaining packets on the list may continue until the list is empty (e.g., all packets have been acknowledged) or until a threshold has been reached. For example, even if the UNACK list is not empty, the process may abort if packets have been sent a certain number of times, Para. 161, FIG. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravikumar with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Ravikumar provides a technique where a cycle of resending packets is based on an UNACK list, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit a listing of unacknowledged MAC SDUs to be retransmitted until they are properly received.
In regard to Claim 21, as presented in the rejection of Claim 20, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach instructions, when executed, cause the wireless communication device to, based on a determination that one or more packets of the m other encoded packets have not been successfully received, transmit one or more additional other encoded packets of the n encoded packets during one or more additional subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP.
Ravikumar teaches instructions, when executed, cause the wireless communication device to, based on a determination that one or more packets of the m other encoded packets have not been successfully received, transmit one or more additional other encoded packets of the n encoded packets during one or more additional subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP (If a NACK is received, the endpoint 104 may resend the packet at the next opportunity (not shown), Para. 160, FIG. 31. Once all packets have been sent by the endpoint 104, the endpoint 104 examines the UNACK list. The remaining packets on the UNACK list are then resent to the endpoint 106. The process of comparing ACKs with the UNACK list, removing acknowledged packets from the list, and resending the remaining packets on the list may continue until the list is empty (e.g., all packets have been acknowledged) or until a threshold has been reached. For example, even if the UNACK list is not empty, the process may abort if packets have been sent a certain number of times, Para. 161, FIG. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravikumar with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Ravikumar provides a technique where a cycle of resending packets is based on an UNACK list, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit a listing of unacknowledged MAC SDUs to be retransmitted until they are properly received.
In regard to Claim 24, as presented in the rejection of Claim 22, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to perform one or more listening cycles until it is determined that a total of at least k encoded packets have been successfully received or until a predefined criteria has been met, wherein a listening cycle comprises: based on a determination that one or more encoded packets of a previous listening cycle have not been successfully received, listening over one or more additional subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP to receive one or more additional other encoded packets of the n encoded packets.
Ravikumar teaches to cause the wireless communication device to perform one or more listening cycles until it is determined that a total of at least k encoded packets have been successfully received or until a predefined criteria has been met, wherein a listening cycle comprises: based on a determination that one or more encoded packets of a previous listening cycle have not been successfully received, listening over one or more additional subsequent transmission slots within the S-TxOP to receive one or more additional other encoded packets of the n encoded packets (If a NACK is received, the endpoint 104 may resend the packet at the next opportunity (not shown), Para. 160, FIG. 31. Once all packets have been sent by the endpoint 104, the endpoint 104 examines the UNACK list. The remaining packets on the UNACK list are then resent to the endpoint 106. The process of comparing ACKs with the UNACK list, removing acknowledged packets from the list, and resending the remaining packets on the list may continue until the list is empty (e.g., all packets have been acknowledged) or until a threshold has been reached. For example, even if the UNACK list is not empty, the process may abort if packets have been sent a certain number of times, Para. 161, FIG. 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ravikumar with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Ravikumar provides a technique where a cycle of resending packets is based on an UNACK list, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit a listing of unacknowledged MAC SDUs to be retransmitted until they are properly received.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Yonge, and further in view of Chan et al. (Pub. No.: US 20080069026 A1), hereafter referred to as Chan.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the k data packets.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to determine a count of reserved transmission slots to be reserved for transmission of the k data packets, wherein the count of reserved transmission slots is based on a value of n, and on a count of encoded data packets per transmission slot.
Chan teaches to cause the wireless communication device to determine a count of reserved transmission slots to be reserved for transmission of the k data packets, wherein the count of reserved transmission slots is based on a value of n, and on a count of encoded data packets per transmission slot (the WUSB repeater 101 will reserve time slots 403 and will then use the time slots for communication with the device 102. The repeater 101 will then relay the data packets to the device 102 within its own reserved slots 403, Para. 116, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chan with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Chan provides a technique where time slots are reserved for transmitting data packets, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit a device to reserve time slots in a frame for transmitting transport blocks.
In regard to Claim 7, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to determine the count of reserved transmission slots based on the ratio n/q, wherein q denotes the count of encoded data packets per transmission slot.
Chan teaches to cause the wireless communication device to determine the count of reserved transmission slots based on the ratio n/q, wherein q denotes the count of encoded data packets per transmission slot (the WUSB repeater 101 will reserve time slots 403 and will then use the time slots for communication with the device 102. The repeater 101 will then relay the data packets to the device 102 within its own reserved slots 403, Para. 116, FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chan with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Chan provides a technique where time slots are reserved for transmitting data packets, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit a device to reserve time slots in a frame for transmitting transport blocks.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Yonge, and further in view of Guey (Pub. No.: US 20070127602 A1), hereafter referred to as Guey.
In regard to Claim 8, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach the k data packets comprise data packets of a Multi User (MU) transmission to a plurality of receiver devices.
Guey teaches the k data packets comprise data packets of a Multi User (MU) transmission to a plurality of receiver devices (CDMA to transmit data packets simultaneously to multiple users (multicast), during different time slots (called time division multiplexing, or TDM). Each packet is provided the full forward link power from one cell sector during its time slot. EV-DO Platinum Multicast further improves performance by reserving the same TDM time slot at all cells in a region and then transmitting one or more common packets within the reserved slot to all users in the region. Mobile devices receive the same packet from multiple cells, Para. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guey with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Guey provides a technique for utilizing time slots for multicasting certain packet to multiple users, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit transport blocks to be multicast to multiple users within slots of subframes.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the m other encoded packets of the n encoded packets based on a determination that a total of m packets have not been successfully received by one or more of the plurality of receiver devices.
Guey teaches to cause the wireless communication device to transmit the m other encoded packets of the n encoded packets based on a determination that a total of m packets have not been successfully received by one or more of the plurality of receiver devices (CDMA to transmit data packets simultaneously to multiple users (multicast), during different time slots (called time division multiplexing, or TDM). Each packet is provided the full forward link power from one cell sector during its time slot. EV-DO Platinum Multicast further improves performance by reserving the same TDM time slot at all cells in a region and then transmitting one or more common packets within the reserved slot to all users in the region. Mobile devices receive the same packet from multiple cells, Para. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guey with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Guey provides a technique for utilizing time slots for multicasting certain packet to multiple users, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit transport blocks to be multicast to multiple users within slots of subframes.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to assign the plurality of transmission slots to the plurality of receiver devices, respectively.
Guey teaches to cause the wireless communication device to assign the plurality of transmission slots to the plurality of receiver devices, respectively (CDMA to transmit data packets simultaneously to multiple users (multicast), during different time slots (called time division multiplexing, or TDM). Each packet is provided the full forward link power from one cell sector during its time slot. EV-DO Platinum Multicast further improves performance by reserving the same TDM time slot at all cells in a region and then transmitting one or more common packets within the reserved slot to all users in the region. Mobile devices receive the same packet from multiple cells, Para. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guey with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Guey provides a technique for utilizing time slots for multicasting certain packet to multiple users, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit transport blocks to be multicast to multiple users within slots of subframes.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to determine a count of reserved transmission slots to be reserved for transmission of the k data packets, wherein the count of reserved transmission slots is based on a count of the plurality of receiver devices.
Guey teaches to cause the wireless communication device to determine a count of reserved transmission slots to be reserved for transmission of the k data packets, wherein the count of reserved transmission slots is based on a count of the plurality of receiver devices (CDMA to transmit data packets simultaneously to multiple users (multicast), during different time slots (called time division multiplexing, or TDM). Each packet is provided the full forward link power from one cell sector during its time slot. EV-DO Platinum Multicast further improves performance by reserving the same TDM time slot at all cells in a region and then transmitting one or more common packets within the reserved slot to all users in the region. Mobile devices receive the same packet from multiple cells, Para. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Guey with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Guey provides a technique for utilizing time slots for multicasting certain packet to multiple users, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit transport blocks to be multicast to multiple users within slots of subframes.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Yonge, and further in view of Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100260138 A1), hereafter referred to as Liu.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach the wireless communication device to transmit an Aggregate Medium Access Control Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) comprising the one or more encoded packets during the transmission slot.
Liu teaches the wireless communication device to transmit an Aggregate Medium Access Control Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) comprising the one or more encoded packets during the transmission slot (A device can transmit data packets with different TIDs, respectively, in a downlink slot, Para. 139, FIG. 12. The access point 1220 transmits an aggregated MAC PDU (A-MPDU) to a first client device 1225 (e.g., STA1), Para. 140, FIG. 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Liu provides a technique for aggregating data units into aggregated MAC PDUs for multiple devices, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit multiple MAC SDUs for multiple devices to be aggregated into a single aggregated MAC PDU.
Claim(s) 13 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Yonge, and further in view of Ma et al. (Pub. No.: US 20250151046 A1), hereafter referred to as Ma.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to determine that the one or more encoded packets transmitted during the transmission slot have been successfully received based on receipt of an Acknowledgement (ACK) during the transmission slot.
Ma teaches to cause the wireless communication device to determine that the one or more encoded packets transmitted during the transmission slot have been successfully received based on receipt of an Acknowledgement (ACK) during the transmission slot (a PUCCH resource indicator in the last transmitted DCI among the DCIs that schedules PDSCHs with corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback to be transmitted in the same slot as the SPS PDSCHs, Para. 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ma with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Ma provides a technique where HARQ-ACK feedback is sent in the same slot as PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit MAC SDUs to be acknowledged within the same slot of a subframe.
In regard to Claim 25, as presented in the rejection of Claim 22, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to transmit an Acknowledgement (ACK) during a transmission slot, based on a determination that all encoded packets in the transmission slot have been successfully received.
Ma teaches to cause the wireless communication device to transmit an Acknowledgement (ACK) during a transmission slot, based on a determination that all encoded packets in the transmission slot have been successfully received (a PUCCH resource indicator in the last transmitted DCI among the DCIs that schedules PDSCHs with corresponding HARQ-ACK feedback to be transmitted in the same slot as the SPS PDSCHs, Para. 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ma with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Ma provides a technique where HARQ-ACK feedback is sent in the same slot as PDSCHs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit MAC SDUs to be acknowledged within the same slot of a subframe.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Yonge, and further in view of Moon et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220255680 A1), hereafter referred to as Moon.
In regard to Claim 14, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the wireless communication device.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach to cause the wireless communication device to determine a count of reserved transmission slots to be reserved for transmission of the k data packets, and to free one or more remaining reserved transmission slots based on a determination that a total of k encoded packets have been successfully received.
Moon teaches to cause the wireless communication device to determine a count of reserved transmission slots to be reserved for transmission of the k data packets, and to free one or more remaining reserved transmission slots based on a determination that a total of k encoded packets have been successfully received (an adjacent terminal around the target terminal may receive a signal including information on ACK transmitted by the target terminal in the slot (n+2), and assume that the reserved resource of the slot (n+6) is released, Para. 127, FIGS. 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moon with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Moon provides a technique for releasing slot resources based on transmitted ACKs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit release of slots of subframes where acknowledgments indicate no need for retransmissions of data units in future slots.
In regard to Claim 15, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Jeon in view of Yonge teaches the NC coding scheme.
Jeon in view of Yonge fails to teach the NC coding scheme is configured such that the k data packets are decodable from any group of p encoded packets from the n encoded packets, wherein p is a predefined value equal to or greater than k.
Moon teaches the NC coding scheme is configured such that the k data packets are decodable from any group of p encoded packets from the n encoded packets, wherein p is a predefined value equal to or greater than k (an adjacent terminal around the target terminal may receive a signal including information on ACK transmitted by the target terminal in the slot (n+2), and assume that the reserved resource of the slot (n+6) is released, Para. 127, FIGS. 6, 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Moon with the teachings of Jeon in view of Yonge, since Moon provides a technique for releasing slot resources based on transmitted ACKs, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Jeon in view of Yonge to permit release of slots of subframes where acknowledgments indicate no need for retransmissions of data units in future slots.
Response to Arguments
I. Arguments for the Claim Rejection under 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Specifically, it is respectfully asserted that, in the portions of Jeon et al. cited by the Office Action, Jeon et al. fails to teach any wireless communication device to listen over a plurality of transmission slots within a Synchronized Transmit Opportunity (S TxOP) for a plurality of received packets from a transmitter device. This argument is not persuasive. Jeon teaches in cited Para. 130 and FIG. 7: “As illustrated, one NR frame may be 10 milliseconds (ms) in duration and may include 10 subframes that are 1 ms in duration. A subframe may be divided into slots” (emphasis added). As a result, messages are transmitted and received in slots of Jeon, and this is substantively the same as listen over a plurality of transmission slots of Claim 22.
Jeon teaches in cited Para. 322 and FIG. 13A: “For example, in this case, the bit string may indicate another UL grant for additional one or more Msg3 1313 transmission opportunities, padding bits, etc.” (emphasis added). Jeon also teaches in cited Para. 338: “a UL grant (e.g., if the UE is synchronized already)” (emphasis added). This shows that messages are transmitted and received in transmission opportunities of Jeon, and involve a UE is synchronized in relation to a UL grant. As a result, slots are utilized for a synchronized UE in relation to communicating messages in transmission opportunities of Jeon, and this is substantively the same as listen over a plurality of transmission slots within a Synchronized Transmit Opportunity (S-TxOP) of Claim 22.
FIG. 4A of Jeon shows three MAC SDUs within a transmitted PHY SDU (Transport Block), and this is substantively the same as a plurality of received packets from a transmitter device of Claim 22.
Page 8 of the Remarks presents the argument that Conversely, in the portions of Jeon et al. cited by the Office Action, Jeon et al. generally refers to an UL grant from the base station to the UE for transmission of an uplink msg 1313 from the UE to the base station. This argument is not persuasive. Jeon teaches in cited Para. 322 and FIG. 13A: “For example, in this case, the bit string may indicate another UL grant for additional one or more Msg3 1313 transmission opportunities, padding bits, etc.” (emphasis added). Jeon also teaches in cited Para. 338: “a UL grant (e.g., if the UE is synchronized already)” (emphasis added). This shows that messages are transmitted and received in transmission opportunities of Jeon, and involve a UE is synchronized in relation to a UL grant. As a result, slots are utilized for a synchronized UE in relation to communicating messages in transmission opportunities of Jeon, and this is substantively the same as listen over a plurality of transmission slots within a Synchronized Transmit Opportunity (S-TxOP) of Claim 22.
FIG. 4A of Jeon shows three MAC SDUs within a transmitted PHY SDU (Transport Block), and this is substantively the same as a plurality of received packets from a transmitter device of Claim 22. As a result, slots are utilized for a synchronized UE in relation to transmission opportunities for transmitting three MAC SDUs of Jeon, and this is substantively the same as listen over a plurality of transmission slots within a Synchronized Transmit Opportunity (S-TxOP) for a plurality of received packets from a transmitter device of Claim 22.
Pages 8-9 of the Remarks present the argument that It is respectfully asserted that this description of Jeon et al. with respect to the UL grant for transmission of an uplink msg 1313 from the UE to the base station is clearly fundamentally different from, and unrelated to, any wireless communication device to listen over a plurality of transmission slots within a Synchronized Transmit Opportunity (S-TxOP) for a plurality of received packets from a transmitter device. This argument is not persuasive. Jeon teaches slots are utilized for a synchronized UE in relation to transmission opportunities for transmitting three MAC SDUs of Jeon, and this is substantively the same as listen over a plurality of transmission slots within a Synchronized Transmit Opportunity (S-TxOP) for a plurality of received packets from a transmitter device of Claim 22.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that Conversely, in the portions of Jeon et al. cited by the Office Action, Jeon et al. generally describes the wireless device 1502 receiving the downlink transmission from the base station. This argument is not persuasive. Cited FIG. 13A of Jeon clearly shows cited Msg3 1313 as an uplink transmission from the UE.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that It would appear that the Office Action is mixing up between two different transmissions described by Jeon et al. Specifically, the Office Action initially attempts to interpret the ''plurality of received packets from a transmitter device" with respect to the uplink msg 1313 from the UE to the base station, and later, while referring to the same "plurality of received packets", the Office Action refers to the downlink transmission from the base station to the device 1502. This alleged interpretation given by the Office Action is clearly erroneous and contradictory to the description of the reference of Jeon et al. This argument is not persuasive. The rejection of Claim 22 cites Para. 132 and FIG. 7, which teach: “a slot may be used as the unit upon which uplink and downlink transmissions are scheduled” (emphasis added). The rejection of Claim 22 also cites Para. 322 and FIG. 13A, which teach: “the bit string may indicate another UL grant for additional one or more Msg3 1313 transmission opportunities” (emphasis added). The rejection of Claim 22 also cites Para. 338, which teaches: “the uplink radio resources comprise time (e.g., in terms of any combination of OFDM symbol, slot number, subframe number, and/or SFN) … a UL grant (e.g., if the UE is synchronized already)” (emphasis added). The rejection of Claim 22 cites downlink teachings of Jeon for completeness in relation to a UE obtaining a UL grant for uplink transmissions.
Page 9 of the Remarks presents the argument that More specifically, it is respectfully asserted that, in the portions of Jeon et al. cited by the Office Action, Jeon et al. fails to teach any Network Coding (NC) scheme, or any received packets comprising at least k encoded packets out of n encoded packets, the n encoded packets encoding k data packets according to a Network Coding (NC) scheme, wherein k is equal to or greater than two, and wherein n is greater than k. This argument is not persuasive. Jeon teaches in cited Para. 90 and FIG. 3, that PHYs 211 and 221 may perform digital and analog signal processing functions for sending and receiving information over the air interface, and these digital and analog signal processing functions may include coding, and this is substantively the same as a Network Coding (NC) scheme of Claim 22.
Cited FIG. 4A of Jeon shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block) that can be transmitted by a UE though an uplink for reception by a base station, and this is substantively the same as a plurality of received packets comprising at least k encoded packets of Claim 22.
Cited FIG. 4A of Jeon shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block) processed from four RLC SDUs in RLC 223, and this is substantively the same as k encoded packets out of n encoded packets of Claim 22.
Jeon teaches in cited Para. 90 and FIG. 3, that PHYs 211 and 221 may perform signal processing functions that include coding in relation to four RLC SDUs in RLC 223 processed to three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block), and this is substantively the same as the n encoded packets encoding k data packets according to a Network Coding (NC) scheme of Claim 22.
Cited FIG. 4A of Jeon shows three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block), and this is substantively the same as k is equal to or greater than two of Claim 22.
Cited FIG. 4A of Jeon shows four RLC SDUs in RLC 223, which is a greater number than three MAC SDUs within a PHY SDU (Transport Block), and this is substantively the same as n is greater than k of Claim 22.
Page 10 of the Remarks presents the argument that Conversely, in the portions of Jeon et al. cited by the Office Action, Jeon et al. generally describes the MAC 222 multiplexes RLS PDUs to form a transport block. This argument is not persuasive. As previously presented, the limitations of Claim 22 are taught by the arrangements of Jeon that include the process arrangement in FIG. 4A of Jeon, and if there are features in the Specification of the Application that are not taught by Jeon, these features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 22.
II. Arguments for the Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Page 14 of the Remarks presents the argument that Specifically, it is respectfully asserted that, in the portions of Yonge et al. cited by the Office Action, Yonge et al. fails to teach based on a determination that m packets of the k encoded packets of the n encoded packets have not been successfully received, transmit m other encoded packets of then encoded packets. This argument is not persuasive. Yonge teaches in cited Para. 166 and FIG. 15A, that payload units 3 and 5 are corrupted out of payload units {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6}, and this causes retransmission of payload units {3, 5} in a transmission opportunity, and this is substantively the same as based on a determination that m packets of the k encoded packets have not been successfully received, transmit m other encoded packets of the n encoded packets of Claim 1.
Page 14 of the Remarks presents the argument that Conversely, in the portions of Yonge et al. cited by the Office Action, Yonge et al. describes the STA A determining that the transmitted payload units 3 and 5 are corrupted and the STA A retransmitting the same payload units 3 and 5. This argument is not persuasive. Claim 1 does not require that the “m other encoded packets” are somehow always completely different from the “m packets”, and it is unclear in what characteristics are the “m other encoded packets” completely different from the “m packets” of Claim 1. If there are features in the Specification of the Application clarifying the characteristics that make the “m other encoded packets” completely different from the “m packets”, that are not taught by Jeon, these features are not positively recited in the language of Claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
3-21-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477