DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The element, “refluxing the mineral material in a Li Cl solution having a molecular crosslinker” in claim 21 appears to be a new matter, because no support could be found for this step in the original disclosure. Original claim 5 only supports adding the crosslinker in to the LiCl solution before vacuum filtering, and does not support refluxing with it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102015210395 in view of Kun Huang – Thesis.
This DE reference teaches a method of making a phyllosilicate/vermiculite membrane [0037] after exfoliating [0018] the phyllosilicate, and crosslinked [0054].
“Restacking” is not defined in the disclosure, but assumed to be what happens when the membrane is cast of vacuum filtered, which is taught by the references.
DE does not teach the details of exfoliating. However, These details are well-known in the art as shown by Kun Huang, which teaches vermiculite exfoliation as claimed in claims 4 and 6. Particularly, thermal treatment (expanded), refluxing with NaCl solution followed by refluxing with LiCl solution as claimed. See 3.1, membrane fabrication, at page 85. Thermally expanded (subjected to thermal treatment) vermiculite was refluxed with NaCl solution and then LiCl solution and then centrifuged and sonicated, before casting into membrane. Pages 85-88.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the known arts like Kun Huang with the teachings of DE since DE does not provide the details of exfoliation. See MPEP 2143-I, rationales A-G.
Claim(s) 1-3, 4, 6, 7, 21-23, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Becker et al, Epoxy Layered Silicate Nanocomposites, Adv Polym Sci (2005) 179: 29–82, DE 102015210395 and Kun Huang - Thesis,
Becker teaches a process of making cross-linked phyllosilicate composites like films (membranes) by exfoliating the phyllosilicate, and the crosslinking with epoxy and a diamine. See abstract, page 36 -section 3, page 45-section 6.1, page 49-section 6.2, and page 55. While the reference is silent on the term “membrane,” the teaching of the process steps claimed is similar to what the reference teaches. Additionally, by definition, a membrane is only a thin film (dictionary). Applicant has no other specific definition for the membrane.
Becker teaches exfoliation in presence of diamines in pages 51 and 52, but does not teach other details of exfoliation. However, These details are well-known in the art as shown by Kun Huang, which teaches vermiculite exfoliation as claimed in claims 4 and 6. Particularly, thermal treatment (expanded), refluxing with NaCl solution followed by refluxing with LiCl solution as claimed. See 3.1, membrane fabrication, at page 85. Thermally expanded (subjected to thermal treatment) vermiculite was refluxed with NaCl solution and then LiCl solution and then centrifuged and sonicated, before casting into membrane. Pages 85-88.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the known arts like Kun Huang with the teachings of Becker. See MPEP 2143-I, rationales A-G.
Claim(s) 1-3, 4, 6, 7, 21-23, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Becker et al, Epoxy Layered Silicate Nanocomposites, Adv Polym Sci (2005) 179: 29–82, DE 102015210395 and Kun Huang - Thesis,
Teaching of Kun Huang is described above in rejections 1 And 2. It would have been obvious to use the teachings of DE or Krause in the teaching of Kun Huang to improve the mechanical and other properties of Kun Huang membrane by crosslinking.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and limiting to phyllosilicates or vermiculite, after overcoming any 112 issues.
None of the references teach the recited diamines as crosslinkers, and the step of adding crosslinker in the LiCl solution as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Arguments are moot, new grounds for rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777