DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office action is responsive to communications filed 5/13/2026.
Claims 21-22 are amended.
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-22 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
Examiner notes that an Information Disclosure Statement has not been filed by the Applicant as of the date of this office action.
Response to Arguments
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112
Applicant argues
Claims 21-22 have been amended the rejections should be withdrawn.
Examiner responds
The amendments to claims 21-22 have overcome the rejection set forth in the previous office action and the rejections under §112 are withdrawn.
Regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant's arguments filed 5/16/2026 regarding the rejection under §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons outlined below. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant argues
The cited references fail to teach or suggest CDU control of node-specific pumps. “Ota’s architecture is fundamentally decentralized with each server module controlling its own flow independent of the cooling unit.” “Brunschwiler does not teach or suggest controlling pumps at individual nodes, nor does it teach or suggest a controller that sends control signals to node-specific pumps to increase flow.”
Examiner responds
Applicant is arguing the references individually. OTA discloses a liquid cooling system comprising a primary pump and node specific pumps in a parallel configuration, but OTA’s control of the node specific pumps are decentralized. BRUNSCHWILER teaches a liquid cooling system with a similar cooling architecture (i.e., primary flow control device and node specific flow control devices) with centralized control. When you apply the teachings of BRUNSCHWILER to the system of OTA the resulting combination would be centralized control (from BRUNSCHWILER) of node-specific pumps (from OTA).
Applicant argues
The cited references fail to disclose increasing flow at a node-specific pump in response to detected heating. “Ota does not disclose any feedback-based control in which a centralized unit detects node-level heating and dynamically adjusts the operation of a node-specific pump to increase flow.”
Examiner responds
OTA teaches “the flow quantity is controlled by the internal pump 23 so that the temperature of the heat-generating components 3 can be a uniform temperature” ([0075]). OTA’s disclosure that the flow quantity is controlled by the internal pump such that the heat-generating components can be a uniform temperature implies increasing coolant flow through the node such that the increased flow of coolant would remove more heat than if the flow was not increased (i.e., given a heat-generating component and an initial flow of coolant, a decrease in the flow would result in less heat being removed by the coolant). Additionally, OTA’s disclosure of “so that the temperature of the heat-generating components 3 can be a uniform temperature” implies comparing the temperature of the heat-generating component/node to a threshold in order to determine if there is increased heating such that coolant flow would be increased responsively in order to remove heat so the node temperature would be decreased to the desired uniform temperature.
Applicant argues
The examiner’s rationale does not support the claimed control architecture. “The Office Action asserts that it would have been obvious to centralize control so that a node could be removed without interrupting system operation. However, this rationale does not support the claimed invention.”
Examiner responds
Even if Ota’s decentralized control is preferable to Applicant’s centralized control, this combination is still obvious because centralizing is a valid rationale (e.g., some systems are centralized and some are decentralized). MPEP 2145(X)(C).
While OTA’s joints with automatic valves allow a module to be connected or disconnected on the coolant path, they do not provide centralized data processing or node-specific pump control. However, because control of the system is decentralized, adding or removing nodes would result in more to account for than just loss of fluid. BRUNSCHWILER teaches centralized control of a primary fluid delivery device and node-specific fluid delivery devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized BRUNSCHWILER’s centralized control would provide the function that the modularity of OTA’s system would increase and would not have to be reconfigured on a case-by-case basis each time a node was added or removed, i.e., with centralized control the control of a newly added node-specific pump and the associated parameter changes to the primary pump would be configured automatically (e.g., using a predetermined algorithm) at the centralized controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-10, 13, 15-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTA (US20040221604A1) in view of BRUNSCHWILER (US20090218078A1) (hereinafter – “OTA-BRUNSCHWILER”).
Regarding claim 1
OTA teaches a method ([0001]), comprising:
OTA, FIG. 4
detecting, a CDU and a node-specific pump positioned within a liquid coolant circulation loop of the liquid cooling system between the CDU and the computing node (FIG. 4 shows a liquid cooling system that includes a primary pump 41 within a cooling unit 52 (i.e., a CDU) and a node specific pump 23 positioned within a liquid coolant circuit loop of the liquid cooling system between the CDU 52 and the computing node/server module 62); and
responsive to detection of the condition, [0074]-[0076]: based on the detected temperature of the coolant flow quantity is controlled by the internal pump 23 so that the temperature of the heat-generating components 3 (heat-generating components 3 are inside of server module 62) is regulated, coolant is introduced to the heat-generating components by internal pump, coolant reaches the heat-generating component and cools the heat-generating component).
OTA is not relied on for a CDU comprising a controller.
However, BRUNSCHWILER in analogous art teaches:
BRUNSCHWILER, Figure 13 – Examiner annotated
detecting, by a coolant distribution unit (CDU) of the liquid cooling system, for a computing node cooled by the liquid cooling system, a condition indicating increased heating within the computing node, wherein the liquid cooling system includes a primary pump and a node-specific pump positioned within a liquid coolant circulation loop of the liquid cooling system between the CDU and the computing node ([0001]: disclosure is directed to liquid cooling of data centers; Figure 13 shows computing nodes 22 (dashed lines from CPU within node 22 to controller 122 imply cooling nodes being in signal communication with controller) to be cooled with liquid coolant wherein the node has a node-specific pump (126, 128, 130) and the CDU comprises a controller and a primary pump (124); [0050]-[0053]: controller 122 is electrically coupled to monitor the cooling system 116, “Controller 122 is capable of converting the analog voltage or current level provided by sensors, such as temperature sensors for example, into a digital signal indicative of the heat generated by the computer system 22 […] In general, controller 122 accepts data from sensors, such as temperature sensors”); and
responsive to detection of the condition, controlling, by the CDU, the node-specific pump to increase a liquid flow rate of liquid coolant at the node-specific pump ([0049]: cooling system 116 includes coolant control devices 124, 126, 128, 130 that are capable of changing the amount of coolant flow through system, coolant control devices are capable of receiving a signal from controller 122 and changing the rate of flow of the coolant, in response to receiving the signal from the controller 122, “coolant control device 124 is arranged between the heat exchanger 118 and the computer systems 22. The coolant control device 124 allows the controller 122 to adjust the overall flow of the cooling system 116. The coolant control devices 126, 128, 130 are arranged to control the flow of coolant into the inlets of individual computer systems 22”; [0058]-[0059]: “During operation, the controller 122 receives signals required for normal operation and in particular for the control of the flow of coolant to the computer systems 22 […] controller 122 is further capable of operating each of the coolant control devices 124, 126, 128, 130 independently to accommodate the individual operational states of the computer systems 22”, accommodating the individual operational states of computer system implies a determined flow rate of cooling fluid to remove heat from the computing node such that the node can operate within a desired temperature range).
OTA and BRUNSCHWILER are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of liquid cooling computing nodes. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of BRUNSCHWILER to the teachings of OTA such that BRUNSCHWILER’s controller could be used with OTA’s system for the purposes of centralizing the data processing so that a single computing node could be removed from a server rack without interrupting the computing and/or cooling operations of the other nodes.
Regarding claim 2
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above.
BRUNSCHWILER also teaches:
detecting, for each of the plurality of comping nodes cooled by the liquid cooling system, one or more conditions indicating increased heating, wherein the liquid cooling system includes a plurality of node-specific pumps positioned in the liquid coolant circulation loop of the liquid cooling system between the primary pump and corresponding respectively to the plurality of computing nodes; and
responsive to detection of the one or more conditions, increasing cooling to the plurality of computing nodes by independently controlling the node-specific pumps corresponding to the plurality of computing nodes to increase liquid coolant flow rate at the node-specific pumps (BRUNSCHWILER, Figure 13 shows a plurality of computing nodes with a plurality of node-specific pumps in signal communication with a CDU such that the CDU can detect and respond to increased heating at one or more nodes, as outlined in the rejection to claim 1).
Regarding claim 3
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above.
BRUNSCHWILER also teaches wherein detecting the condition indicating increased heating within the computing node comprises detecting an increase in temperature at one or more node-specific temperature sensors ([0050]-[0053]: controller 122 is electrically coupled to monitor the cooling system 116, “Controller 122 is capable of converting the analog voltage or current level provided by sensors, such as temperature sensors for example, into a digital signal indicative of the heat generated by the computer system 22 […] In general, controller 122 accepts data from sensors, such as temperature sensors”).
Regarding claim 6
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above.
OTA also teaches wherein the liquid loop cooling system is configured to circulate the liquid coolant through a heat exchanger coupled to the computing node to absorb heat from the computing node ([0055] and FIG. 4: heat exchanger 50 is coupled to computing nodes).Regarding claim 8
BRUNSCHWILER teaches an apparatus comprising a coolant distribution unit (CDU) including: a primary pump configured to circulate liquid coolant through a liquid cooling system (Abstract: liquid cooling for data centers; Figure 13 (above) shows a CDU comprising a primary pump 124 configured to circulate liquid coolant through a liquid cooling system);
a computer processor ([0054]: controller 122 includes a processor);
a computer memory operatively coupled to the computer processor, the computer memory including computer program instructions that, when executed by the computer processor, cause the CDU to perform operations ([0054]: controller includes RAM, NVM, ROM; [0057]: controller includes operation control methods embodied in application code, application code also includes program instructions for causing processor to execute control methods).
The remaining limitations of claim 8 recite subject material similar to claim 1, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 9
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 8 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 9 recite subject material similar to claim 2, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 10
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 8 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 10 recite subject material similar to claim 3, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 13
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 8 as outlined above.
OTA also teaches wherein the liquid coolant flows in a closed circulation loop between the primary pump and the node (FIG. 4 shows liquid coolant leaving primary pump 41 to go into downstream pipe 30 and then into cooling nodes before returning to primary pump via upstream pipe 31).
Regarding claim 15
BRUNSCHWILER teaches a computer program comprising a computer readable medium storing computer program instructions that, when executed by a processor of a coolant distribution unit (CDU) of a liquid cooling system, cause the CDU to perform operations (Abstract: liquid cooling for data centers; [0054]-[0056]: controller processor coupled to non-volatile memory (NVM) device, NVM device stores application code which comprises program instructions for causing processor to execute control methods).
The remaining limitations of claim 15 recite subject material similar to claim 1, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 16
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 15 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 16 recite subject material similar to claim 2, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 17
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 15 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 17 recite subject material similar to claim 3, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 20
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 15 as outlined above.
BRUNSCHWILER also teaches wherein the computer readable medium comprises a storage medium ([0056]: application code stored in NVM device).
Claims 4-5, 11-12 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTA-BRUNSCHWILER in view of BOWER (US20120123595A1) (hereinafter – “OTA-BRUNSCHWILER-BOWER”).
Regarding claim 4
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above.
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER are not relied on for wherein detecting the condition indicating increased heating within the computing node comprises detecting an increase in node-specific power consumption.
However, BOWER in analogous art teaches this claim limitation ([0032]: determining the temperature of each monitored component may include determining whether a processor is in a turbo mode, turbo mode is a mode in which the processor is overclocked).
BOWER is analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of thermal management of computing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of BOWER to the teachings of OTA-BRUNSCHWILER such that BOWER’s detection of an increase in node-specific power consumption could be used with OTA-BRUNSCHWILER’s node-specific cooling system for the purposes of supplying the node with a coolant liquid before the node overheats.
Regarding claim 5
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER-BOWER teaches the elements of claim 4 as outlined above.
BOWER also teaches wherein detecting an increase in node-specific power consumption comprises detecting an increase in workload in the computing node ([0032]: determining the temperature of each monitored component may include determining whether a processor is in a state with a high current or planned work load).
Regarding claim 11
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 8 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 11 recite subject material similar to claim 4, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 12
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER-BOWER teaches the elements of claim 11 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 12 recite subject material similar to claim 5, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 18
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 15 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 18 recite subject material similar to claim 4, and are rejected as per such.
Regarding claim 19
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER-BOWER teaches the elements of claim 18 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 19 recite subject material similar to claim 5, and are rejected as per such.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OTA-BRUNSCHWILER in view of TUFTY (US20190090383A1).
Regarding claim 21
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above.
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER are not relied on to teach to operate the primary pump within the CDU to maintain a constant pressure in the liquid coolant circulation loop. However, TUFTY in an analogous art teaches to govern the operations of a liquid cooling pump to satisfy a set of min/max pressure limits such that the pump operates at constant pressure ([0079]). TUFTY is analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of liquid cooling of electronics. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify OTA-BRUNSCHWILER’s controller to include TUFTY’s set of pump pressure constraints because such a modification is based on the use of known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way. That is, using the known technique of monitoring the primary pump pressure to govern the operations of the primary pump such that primary pump operates at constant pressure in response to increasing the flow rate at the node-specific pump would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that maintaining constant pressure in the main coolant supply pipes would lead to a more predictable fluid flow, as well as reducing mechanical stress in the system due to pressure fluctuations (e.g., reduction of pressure impulses).
Regarding claim 22
OTA-BRUNSCHWILER teaches the elements of claim 8 as outlined above.
The remaining limitations of claim 22 recite subject material similar to claim 21, and is rejected as per such.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CUI (US20190110379A1) teaches a system comprising a CDU, which includes a primary cooling device, and control of node-specific cooling devices.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.V.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115