DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 18-19, 43-44, 48-49, 53-58, 62-64, 66, 69-70, 73 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19, 43-44, 48-49, 53-58, 62-64, 66, 69-70, 73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PRN1008 phase II clinical trial record, Version V7, 2018-8-29 (https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT02704429?tab=history&a=7#version-content-panel), hereafter referred as PRN1008 trial, in view of Liang et al., European Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, 2018;151:315-326.
PRN1008 trial teaches a phase II clinical trial with the protocol of using PRN1008 to treat pemphigus including patients with relapsing pemphigus (see page 4, Official Title). PRN1008 was administered orally for 12 weeks (see page 6, Brief Summary). PRN1008 trial teaches “The proportion of subjects who are able to achievecontrol of disease activity (CDA) within 4 weeks ofstarting PRN1008 treatment without the need fordoses of prednisone or prednisolone >0.5 mg/kg.” (see page 8).
PRN1008 trial does not expressly teach the dosage of PRN1008 as 400mg b.i.d.
Liang et al. teaches an overview of Bruton’s tyrosine kinase (BTK) and various different BTK inhibitors including the herein claimed compound, PRN1008 (see page 318, Table 1, for example). Liang et al. teaches the use of BTK inhibitors for treating autoimmune diseases and cancers (see page 318, Table 1). Liang et al. teaches PRN-1008 is a BTK inhibitor in phase II clinical trials for the treatment of pemphigus vulgaris, which successfully completed a phase I study in 2015
(see page 321, col. 2, last paragraph). Liang et al. teaches Phase I studies of PRN-1008
showed that more than 90% target coverage was achieved with a dose of 300 mg, and PRN-1008 was well tolerated at doses up to 600 mg q.d. or 450 mg b.i.d. (see page 322, col. 1, first paragraph). Liang et al. teaches PRN-1008 had been designated an orphan drug in the U.S. for the treatment of
pemphigus vulgaris. (see page 322, col. 1, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to employ the herein claimed dosage and dosing regimen.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to employ the herein claimed dosage and dosing regimen. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Since the daily dosage taught in the cited prior art encompasses that recited in the claims (600-900mg daily in the prior art vs 800 mg daily recited I the claims), adjustment of dosage and/or dosing regimen would be considered obvious.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627