DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/7/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1 (and correspondingly claims 9 and 16), Applicant contends that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the primary valve of Avevor to include one-way valve feature therein as disclosed by Dragan, from the relevant field of endeavor of connector systems for surgical devices, on the grounds that the valve of Avevor is too complex for a mere substitution and doing so would result in the primary valve of Avevor being rendered non-functional. The examiner respectfully disagrees and the rejection below has been clarified to better describe the resulting combination. Specifically, the examiner disagrees with the contention that the primary valve of Avevor is “specialized” as the primary valve merely serves to allow or preclude flow through said valve in various directions. There appears to be no specialized internal features that serve any purposes aside from the basic functions of a valve. While the examiner agrees that the primary valve of Avevor defines 4 separate flow paths (see Para. [0041] and [0061]-[0063]), the main purpose of the primary valve is no different from a generic valve, merely with more connections pertaining thereto. However, in order to clarify the examiner’s position, the rejection below no longer relies on a “simple substitution” rationale for combining the one-way valve functionality of Dragan into the device of Avevor.
The examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the primary valve of Avevor to comprise one-way valve features disposed therein in one or more flow path positions (i.e., flow paths from port 132 to 131 and/or flow paths from port 132 to 133) such that the distal balloons may undergo more rapid inflation and/or deflation by precluding backflow through the valve, as disclosed as a benefit by Dragan (see Abstract). Therefore, the examiner contends that modifying one of the plurality of positions of said primary valve to have a one-way valve is within the skillset of one of ordinary skill in the art in achieving the benefit of rapid inflation and/or deflation with the preclusion of backflow. As fluid already is configured to flow in one direction during either inflation or deflation (i.e., either towards or away from the balloons), it would not be outside the scope of knowledge to further improve upon this directional flow by including one-way valves along these flow paths to aid in preventing backflow while facilitating a more rapid transfer of fluid in relation to the distal balloons.
The examiner finally notes that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). As described above, the teachings of Dragan provide an express benefit to flow paths that is readily applicable to the device of Avevor and thus the rejection is maintained until further amendments overcome the currently-applied rejection.
Regarding claim 13, Applicant contends that the primary valve of Avevor is not “separate from the first outlet branch” on the grounds that the three ports (131-133) were defined as a single inclusive component in the rejection of claim 1. The examiner contends that, while the three ports were defined together to comprise the overall valve structure (i.e., wherein the valve 130 comprises ports 131-133 attached thereto), the ports and primary valve are all separate structures that are integrally formed together, resulting in the composite “valve structure”. This is further reinforced by each of the valve and ports being labeled as separate components that engage with the primary valve at different valve positions as mentioned in Para. [0041]). Thus, while the overall valve structure is comprise of the combination of the primary valve and respective ports, each element on its own is a distinct component that is integrally connected to the other components resulting in the composite valve structure. Such an interpretation is understood to be applicable until further amendments are introduced precluding the presently-defined interpretation.
Drawings
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 8/7/2025, with respect to the objection to the drawings for failing to show the “valve integrated with the second outlet branch” as recited in claims 2, 14 and 17 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of Applicant’s amendment to cancel claims 2, 14 and 17. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 8/7/2025, with respect to the objection to claim 9 for reciting, “A connector assembly for a balloon catheter comprising: a connector having an inlet branch” have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of Applicant’s amendment to the claim to remove the duplicate mention of “a connector” as part of the “connector assembly”. The objection of claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-16, 19-21 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avevor (US 2015/0273190 A1)(previously of record) in view of Dragan (US 5085249 A)(previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Avevor discloses:
A connector for a balloon catheter assembly (connector assembly comprising ports 131, 132 and 133, see Fig. 1), comprising:
an inlet branch (port 132, see Fig. 1);
a first outlet branch (port 133, see Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the inlet branch (see Para. [0041]) and configured to be connected to a first balloon (via fluid channel 165, see Para. [0039], [0061] and [0063]);
a second outlet branch (port 131, see Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the inlet branch (see Para. [0041]) and configured to be connected to a second balloon (via fluid channel 170, see Para. [0038], [0061] and [0063]); and
a valve (primary valve 130, see Fig. 1) integrated into the first outlet branch (see Para. [0041] and [0063] mentioning wherein all of the ports (i.e., 131-133) are parts of the valve 130, seen to constitute a single piece with all components integrated within one-another to form the larger valve component), the valve having a one-way position (flow path from port 132 to 131 and/or from port 132 to 133, see Para. [0041]; during either inflation or deflation, inflation media is flowing in one direction either towards or away from the balloons) and an open position (see Para. [0041] and [0063] mentioning wherein the valve has a position that allows fluid flow between ports 131 and 133, while excluding port 132).
However, while Avevor discloses wherein the valve is operable to a multitude of flow configurations in which fluid flow in controlled in a particular direction (see Para. [0041]), in addition to wherein the valve may be selectively engaged to inflate and/or deflate one or more balloons (see Para. [0062]-[0063]), Avevor does not expressly disclose wherein one-way position of the valve is configured to permit fluid flow in a first direction through the valve and preclude fluid flow through a second direction opposite from the first direction through the valve.
In the same field of endeavor, namely connector systems for surgical devices, Dragan teaches wherein one-way valves may be utilized to permit fluid flow only in one direction when positioned in a desired orientation, allow for rapid deflation of the balloon catheter (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the valve of Avevor to comprise a one-way flow control valve therein at the one or more defined “one-way positions” (i.e., wherein flow is communicating and flowing between ports 132 and 131 AND/OR between ports 132 and 133) as taught and suggested by Dragan to, in this case, allow a more rapid inflation and/or deflation of the one or more balloons by allowing inflation media to flow in one direction (either in inflation or deflation) while precluding backflow in the opposite direction during said inflation or deflation procedure.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Avevor and Dragan discloses the invention of claim 1, Avevor further discloses a pressure gauge along the first outlet branch (pressure measuring instrument 155, see Fig. 1, see also Para. [0061] and [0063] mentioning wherein the pressure measuring element 155 measures pressure within channel 165 which is in fluid communication with port 132).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose the invention of claim 1, Avevor, as modified by Dragan, further discloses wherein the valve includes a housing (housing 200, see Avevor Fig. 2), a knob (knob 134, see Avevor Fig. 1), and a one-way valve (one way valve(s) of Dragan, as incorporated into the primary valve of Avevor), wherein a passageway is defined between first and second fluid ports (see Avevor Para. [0041], [0061] and [0063]), and wherein the knob includes a receivable portion received in the housing and rotatable relative to the housing between the one-way position and the open position (see Avevor Para. [0041] and [0048] mentioning wherein the knob comprises a portion that extends into the housing to connect to the valve, allowing for a user to shift between the positions of the valve either between the “open position” or “one way position(s)” as previously defined).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose the invention of claim 6, Avevor, as modified by Dragan, further discloses wherein the knob includes a one-way passageway (flow path between ports 132 and 131 AND/OR ports 132 and 133 during either inflation or deflation when fluid is flowing in one direction, as modified by Dragan, see Avevor Para. [0041] and [0061]-[0063]) and an open passageway (flow path between ports 131 and 133, see Avevor Para. [0041]), and wherein a one-way valve is received in the receivable portion of the knob and in the one-way passageway (the one-way control valve of Dragan, as incorporated in the primary valve of Avevor, is movable between the two disclosed positions via knob of Avevor, switching the primary valve from a said one-way passage and said open passage, see Avevor Para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 9, Avevor discloses:
An assembly for a balloon catheter (connector assembly comprising ports 131, 132 and 133, see Fig. 1), comprising:
a connector having an inlet branch (port 132, see Fig. 1);
a first outlet branch (port 133, see Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the inlet branch (see Para. [0041]) and configured to be connected to a first balloon (via fluid channel 165, see Para. [0039], [0061] and [0063]; and
a second outlet branch (port 131, see Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the inlet branch (see Para. [0041]) and configured to be connected to a second balloon (via fluid channel 170, see Para. [0038], [0061] and [0063]; and
a valve (primary valve 130, see Fig. 1) in fluid communication with the first outlet branch (see Para. [0041] and [0063]), the valve having a first position (flow path from port 132 to 131 and/or from port 132 to 133, see Para. [0041]) and a second position (see Para. [0041] and [0063] mentioning wherein the valve has a position that allows fluid flow between ports 131 and 133, while excluding port 132), wherein the valve is configured to allow fluid flow through the valve when in the first position (see Para. [0041] and [0061]-[0063]), the valve including a housing (housing 200, see Fig. 2), a knob (knob 134, see Fig. 1), wherein a passageway is defined between first and second fluid ports (see Para. [0041], [0061] and [0063]), and wherein the knob includes a receivable portion received in the housing and rotatable relative to the housing between the first position and the second position (see Para. [0048] mentioning wherein the knob comprises a portion that extends into the housing to connect to the valve, allowing for a user to shift between the “first position” and “second position” of the primary valve as defined).
However, Avevor does not expressly disclose wherein the valve comprises a one-way valve.
In the same field of endeavor, namely valve connector devices for surgical devices, Dragan teaches wherein one-way valves may be utilized to permit fluid flow only in one direction when positioned in a desired orientation, allowing for rapid deflation of the balloon catheter (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the primary valve of Avevor to comprise a one-way flow control valve therein at the one or more defined “first positions” (i.e., wherein flow is communicating and flowing between ports 132 and 131 AND/OR between ports 132 and 133) as taught and suggested by Dragan to, in this case, allow a more rapid inflation and/or deflation of the one or more balloons by allowing inflation media to flow in one direction (either in inflation or deflation) while precluding backflow in the opposite direction during said inflation or deflation procedure.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose the invention of claim 9, Avevor, as modified by Dragan, further discloses wherein the knob includes a one-way passageway (flow path between ports 132 and 131 AND/OR ports 132 and 133 during either inflation or deflation when fluid is flowing in one direction, as modified by Dragan, see Avevor Para. [0041] and [0061]-[0063]) and an open passageway (flow path between ports 131 and 133, see Avevor Para. [0041]), and wherein a one-way valve is received in the receivable portion of the knob and in the one-way passageway (the one-way control valve of Dragan, as incorporated in the primary valve of Avevor, is movable between the two disclosed positions via knob of Avevor, switching the primary valve from a said one-way passage and said open passage, see Avevor Para. [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose the invention of claim 9, Avevor further discloses wherein the valve is integrated with the first outlet branch (see Para. [0041] mentioning wherein all of the ports (i.e., 132-133) are parts of the valve 130, seen to constitute a single piece with all components connected to one-another).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose the invention of claim 9, Avevor further discloses wherein the valve is separate from the first outlet branch (see Fig. 1 showing wherein the first port is a separate component that is merely connected to the primary valve, forming a single component made up of different elements connected together).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Avevor and Dragan discloses the invention of claim 9, Avevor further discloses a pressure gauge along the first outlet branch (pressure measuring instrument 155, see Fig. 1, see also Para. [0061] and [0063] mentioning wherein the pressure measuring element 155 measures pressure within channel 165 which is in fluid communication with port 132).
Regarding claim 16, Avevor discloses:
A method of inflating a balloon catheter assembly (see Fig. 1, see also Para. [0037], [0041] and [0061-[0063]), comprising:
connecting a first balloon catheter to a first outlet branch of a connector (port 133, see Fig. 1, see also Para. [0038], [0045]-[0046] and [0061]-[0063]);
connecting a second balloon catheter to a second outlet branch of the connector (port 131, see Fig. 1, see also Para. [0038], [0045]-[0046] and [0061]-[0063]); and
opening a valve (primary valve 130, see Fig. 1), to inflate the first balloon catheter with fluid provided to an inlet branch of the connector (see Para. [0041], [0061] and [0063]), the inlet branch in fluid communication with the first outlet branch of the connector (see Para. [0041], [0061] and [0063]);
the valve integrated with the first outlet branch of the connector (see Para. [0041], [0063]).
However, while Avevor discloses wherein the valve is operable to a multitude of flow configurations in which fluid flow in controlled in a particular direction (see Para. [0041] and [0061]-[0063]) wherein fluid flows in one direction during either inflation or deflation of said distal balloons (see Para. [0062]-[0063]), Avevor does not expressly disclose wherein the valve comprises a one-way valve.
In the same field of endeavor, namely connector systems for surgical devices, Dragan teaches wherein one-way valves may be utilized to permit fluid flow only in one direction when positioned in a desired orientation, allow for rapid deflation of the balloon catheter (see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the valve of Avevor to comprise a one-way flow control valve therein at one or more fluid path positions (i.e., wherein flow is communicating and flowing between ports 132 and 131 AND/OR between ports 132 and 133) as taught and suggested by Dragan to, in this case, allow a more rapid inflation and/or deflation of the one or more balloons by allowing inflation media to flow in one direction (either in inflation or deflation) while precluding backflow in the opposite direction during said inflation or deflation procedure.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Avevor and Dragan discloses the method of claim 16, Avevor further discloses the step of closing the valve, thereby precluding fluid flow through the first outlet branch of the connector (see Para. [0041] and [0061]-[0064]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Avevor and Dragan discloses the method of claim 16, Avevor further discloses closing the valve, thereby allowing the first balloon catheter to be deflated but not inflated (see Para. [0061]-[0064]; Upon closing of the valve, the balloons may then be deflated in any manner desired by a user including merely disconnecting the balloons from the device of Avevor and allowing them to deflate naturally. As the claim limitation merely recites “allowing” the first balloon catheter to be deflated but does not recite a method as to how such deflation occurs, the examiner notes that balloons will naturally deflate when left in an undisturbed state should inflation media cease to flow into the balloons).
Regarding claim 20, Avevor discloses all of the limitations of the method of claim 16, Avevor further discloses wherein the valve includes a housing (housing 200, see Fig. 2) and a knob (knob 134, see Avevor Fig. 1), wherein a passageway is defined between first and second fluid ports (see Para. [0041], [0061] and [0063]), and wherein the knob includes a receivable portion received in the housing and rotatable relative to the housing, and wherein opening the valve includes rotating the knob relative to the housing (see Para. [0048] mentioning wherein the knob comprises a portion that extends into the housing to connect to the valve, allowing for a user to shift between the two positions of the primary valve).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose the method of claim 16, Avevor, as modified by Dragan, further discloses rotating a knob (knob 134, see Avevor Fig. 1) of the valve to align a one-way passage (flow path between either ports 132 and 131 AND/OR ports 132 and 133) with a fluid path (see Para. [0048] mentioning wherein the knob comprises a portion that extends into the housing to connect to the valve, allowing for a user to shift between the two positions of the primary valve), thereby allowing deflation of the first balloon catheter while prevent further inflation of the first balloon catheter (see Para. [0061]-[0064]; Upon closing of the valve, the balloons may then be deflated in any manner desired by a user including merely disconnecting the balloons from the device of Avevor and allowing them to deflate naturally. As the claim limitation merely recites “allowing” the first balloon catheter to be deflated but does not recite a method as to how such deflation occurs, the examiner notes that balloons will naturally deflate when left in an undisturbed state should inflation media cease to flow into the balloons).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose the method of claim 16, Avevor further discloses moving the valve to a one-way position (valve position allowing fluid from port 132 to 131 and/or from port 132 to 133, see Para. [0041] wherein fluid is flowing in one direction during either inflation or deflation either towards or away from the balloons) in which a one-way passage (flow path between either ports 132 and 131 AND/OR ports 132 and 133) in a knob (knob 134, see Avevor Fig. 1) is aligned with a housing passageway in a housing rotatably receiving the knob (housing 200 defines passageways that receive the ports therein as shown in Fig. 2 and are thus always aligned with the flow paths defined therein).
Claim(s) 8, 11 and 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Avevor (US 2015/0273190 A1)(previously of record) in view of Dragan (US 5085249 A)(previously of record), further in view of Kurimoto (US 2009/0171322 A1)(previously of record).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose all of the limitations of the invention of claim 7.
However, none of either Avevor or Dragan expressly disclose wherein the one-way passageway and the open passageway are arranged at a right angle relative to one another.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely valve assemblies configured to modulate fluid flow through a surgical system, Kurimoto teaches wherein a valve for a surgical system (valves 38/38 having valve levers 40/42, see Fig. 1) may be rotated 45 degrees, 90 degrees, 180 degrees, or any other range of rotational movement to open and close various passages between different conduit portions of the three-way valve bodies (see Para. [0025]).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of being obvious to try (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)) to have obtained the predictable result of having the two positions for the primary valve of Avevor (i.e., open and one-way, as modified by Dragan) be offset from one-another by a 90-degree right angle, since Kurimoto discloses wherein it is known in the medical arts concerning connecting valves to have the offset be any of 45 degrees, 90 degrees, 180 degrees from one-another. As Avevor is silent as to the exact offset angle between the two portions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to known configurations in the art and would have been able to select from the finite number of proposed alternatives, disclosed by Kurimoto, to incorporate into the device of Avevor to achieve the function of opening and closing fluid flow through the primary valve. As Kurimoto discloses wherein the listed alternatives are interchangeable with one-another, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success that any of the listed alternatives (including a 90-degree right angle) would have allowed the device of Avevor to function properly without impacting the functionality of the device. Further applicant places no criticality on the angle claimed, indicating that the offset “may” be arranged at a right angle relative to one another, “in one example” (see Specification Para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose all of the limitations of the invention of claim 10.
However, none of either Avevor or Dragan expressly disclose wherein the one-way passageway and the open passageway are arranged at a right angle relative to one another.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely valve assemblies configured to modulate fluid flow through a surgical system, Kurimoto teaches wherein a valve for a surgical system (valves 38/38 having valve levers 40/42, see Fig. 1) may be rotated 45 degrees, 90 degrees, 180 degrees, or any other range of rotational movement to open and close various passages between different conduit portions of the three-way valve bodies (see Paragraph 25).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of being obvious to try (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)) to have obtained the predictable result of having the two positions for the primary valve of Avevor (i.e., open and one-way closed, as modified by Dragan) be offset from one-another by a 90-degree right angle, since Kurimoto discloses wherein it is known in the medical arts concerning connecting valves to have the offset be any of 45 degrees, 90 degrees, 180 degrees from one-another. As Avevor is silent as to the exact offset angle between the two portions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to known configurations in the art and would have been able to select from the finite number of proposed alternatives, disclosed by Kurimoto, to incorporate into the device of Avevor to achieve the function of opening and closing fluid flow through the primary valve. As Kurimoto discloses wherein the listed alternatives are interchangeable with one-another, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success that any of the listed alternatives (including a 90-degree right angle) would have allowed the device of Avevor to function properly without impacting the functionality of the device. Further applicant places no criticality on the angle claimed, indicating that the offset “may” be arranged at a right angle relative to one another, “in one example” (see Specification Para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Avevor and Dragan disclose all of the limitations of the invention of claim 1, Avevor further discloses wherein the valve includes a knob (knob 134, see Avevor Fig. 1) including a one-way passageway (flow path between either ports 132 and 131 AND/OR ports 132 and 133 in which fluid flows in one direction during either inflation or deflation of the distal balloons) and an open passageway (flow path between ports 131 and 133, see Avevor Para. [0041])
However, none of either Avevor or Dragan expressly disclose wherein the one-way passageway is transverse to the open passageway.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely valve assemblies configured to modulate fluid flow through a surgical system, Kurimoto teaches wherein a valve for a surgical system (valves 38/38 having valve levers 40/42, see Fig. 1) may be rotated 45 degrees, 90 degrees, 180 degrees, or any other range of rotational movement to open and close various passages between different conduit portions of the three-way valve bodies (see Para. [0025]).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as a matter of being obvious to try (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)) to have obtained the predictable result of having the two positions for the primary valve of Avevor (i.e., open and one-way closed, as modified by Dragan) be offset from one-another by a transverse angle, since Kurimoto discloses wherein it is known in the medical arts concerning connecting valves to have the offset be any of 45 degrees, 90 degrees, 180 degrees from one-another. As Avevor is silent as to the exact offset angle between the two portions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to known configurations in the art and would have been able to select from the finite number of proposed alternatives, disclosed by Kurimoto, to incorporate into the device of Avevor to achieve the function of opening and closing fluid flow through the primary valve. As Kurimoto discloses wherein the listed alternatives are interchangeable with one-another, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success that any of the listed alternatives (including a 45-degree transverse angle) would have allowed the device of Avevor to function properly without impacting the functionality of the device. Further applicant places no criticality on the angle claimed, indicating that the offset “may” be arranged at a right angle relative to one another, “in one example” (see Specification Para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Avevor, Dragan and Kurimoto disclose the invention of claim 22, Avevor further discloses wherein the knob is received within, and rotatable relative to a housing (see Para. [0048] mentioning wherein the knob comprises a portion that extends into a housing 200 to connect to the valve, allowing for a user to shift between the “first position” and “second position” of the primary valve as defined)
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Avevor, Dragan and Kurimoto disclose the invention of claim 23, Avevor further discloses wherein the housing includes a housing passageway configured for alignment with the one-way passageway in a one-way position and the open passageway in an open position (the ports are disposed within the housing as shown in Fig. 2 and are thus defined within a passageway therein to receive said ports; wherein the passageways within the housing are always aligned with the ports disposed therein).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure. See the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, US 2021/0244868 A1 to Gazzano, US 2014/0261442 A1 to Graboi and US 5411490 A to Tennican disclose valve connection devices for medical devices comprising a multi-way connections
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.B.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/DARWIN P EREZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771