DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 07/21/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-18 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 3, 6, 8, and 11-15 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 2 and 5 have been cancelled.
The amendments and remarks filed are sufficient to cure the previous 35 U.S.C 112 rejections set forth in the Final office action mailed on 05/19/2026.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “a terminating end of the separator” in claim 1, line 9 should read “the terminating end of the separator”.
Regarding claim 18, the recitation “a terminating end of the separator” in claim 18, line 10 should read “the terminating end of the separator”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (Pub. No. US 20220367919 A1) in view of Ma et al. (Pub. No. CN 102222802 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng teaches an electrochemical apparatus (electrochemical device, see [0040]), comprising an electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]), a second adhesive member (606 on 609, Fig. 6, see [0065] where the insulating layer is made of boehmite and PVDF which is an adhesive); wherein the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]) comprises electrode plates (601/602 and 603/604, Fig. 6, see [0065]) and a separator (separator, see Fig. 6 below, see [0040] where there is a separator disposed between the first and second electrode), the electrode plates (601/602 and 603/604, Fig. 6, see [0065]) and the separator (separator, see Fig. 6 below, see [0040] where there is a separator disposed between the first and second electrode) are stacked sequentially and wound (see Fig. 6 below where the separator is between 601/602 and 603/604 and wound) to form the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]), each electrode plate (601/602 and 603/604, Fig. 6, see [0065]) comprises a current collector (601/603, Fig. 6, see [0065]), and the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]) comprises a first straight section (608, Fig. 6, see [0065]) and a first bending section (609, Fig. 6, see [0065]) connected to each other (see 608 connected to 609, Fig. 6); and the second adhesive member (606 on 609, Fig. 6, see [0065] where the insulating layer is made of boehmite and PVDF which is an adhesive) is disposed on an outer surface (outermost ring, see [0065], see Fig. 6 where 606 is on the outside of 609) of the first bending section (609, Fig. 6, see [0065], see 606 on 609) or an outer surface of the outermost current collector at the first bending section; the second adhesive member (606 on 609, Fig. 6, see [0065] where the insulating layer is made of boehmite and PVDF which is an adhesive) is disposed on the outer surface (outermost ring, see [0065], see Fig. 6 where 606 is on the outside of 609) of the first bending section (609, Fig. 6, see [0065], see 606 on 609) and comprises a first extension portion (first extension portion, Fig. 6 below), the first extension portion (first extension portion, Fig. 6 below) being disposed on the outer surface (outermost ring, see [0065]) of the first straight section (608, Fig. 6, see [0065], see Fig. 6 below showing the bounds of 609 and the first extension portion on the outside of 608); the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]) further comprises a second straight section (607, Fig. 6, see [0065]), the second straight section (607, Fig. 6, see [0065]) being connected to the first bending section (609, Fig. 6, see [0065], see where 609 and 607 are connected); and the second adhesive member (606 on 609, Fig. 6, see [0065] where the insulating layer is made of boehmite and PVDF which is an adhesive) further comprises a second extension portion (second extension portion, see Fig. 6 below), the second extension portion (second extension portion, see Fig. 6 below) being disposed on an outer surface (outermost ring, see [0065]) of the second straight section (607, Fig. 6 below where the second extension is on an outer surface of 607, see [0065]), but Zheng fails to teach a first adhesive member, and along a winding direction, a terminating end of the separator exceeds a terminating end of the current collector by 1 to 5 turns, and the first adhesive member is disposed on an outer surface of a terminating end of the separator at the first straight section.
However, Ma teaches a first adhesive member (23, Fig. 2, see [0025]), and along a winding direction (see direction the battery is being wound, Fig. 2), a terminating end (C2, Fig. 2, see [0030]) of the separator (22, Fig. 2, see [0028]) exceeds a terminating end (A2/B2, Fig. 2, see [0028]) of the current collector (20/21, Fig. 2, see [0028]) by 1 to 5 turns (wrap around the winding core one or more times, see [0028], see Fig. 2 where the C2 of 22 exceeds A2 by 2 turns and exceeds B2 by 1 turn), and the first adhesive member (23, Fig. 2, see [0025]) is disposed on an outer surface (outer surface 23 is disposed on, see Fig. 2 where 23 is disposed on the outside surface) of a terminating end (C2, Fig. 2, see [0030]/22, Fig. 2, see [0028]) of the separator (22, Fig. 2, see [0028]) at the first straight section (first straight section, Fig. 2 below, see 23 is disposed on the outer surface of the first straight section at C2, note the first side of the structure between the two black lines).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zheng such that the terminating end of the separator extends past the terminating end of 601 and 603 by 1 to 2 turns, and add a termination tape to the terminating end of the separator on section 608 as taught by Ma to ensure the separator completely wraps the core (see [0031] of Ma), complete the winding of the separator (see [0030] of Ma) and provide a protective layer to avoid hidden safety hazards (see [0016[ of Ma). Further, Zheng teaches that modifications can be made (see [0091] of Zheng). (The examiner would like to note, Zheng does illustrate some structure at the end of the separators in Fig. 6 that appears to be similar to an adhesive tape or terminating tape, however this structure is not specifically mentioned or described, therefore it is not considered an already existing adhesive tape).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng in view of Ma fails to teach wherein along the winding direction, a width W.sub.1 of the first extension portion satisfies 0 mm<W.sub.1≤5 mm.
However, It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zheng in view of Ma such that the width of the first extension portion is within the claimed range because Zheng teaches the coating rate of the insulating layer on the straight portions is a result effective variable taught of thickness of the finished cell (see [0045] of Zheng). Further, it has been held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04.IV.A). Further Zheng in view of Ma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0091] of Zheng).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng in view of Ma teaches a third adhesive member (606 on 610, see Fig. 6, see [0065]), wherein; the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]) further comprises a second bending section (610, Fig. 6, see [0065]), two ends (ends of 610 which are adjacent to 607 and 608, Fig. 6) of the second bending section (610, Fig. 6, see [0065]) are respectively connected to the first straight section (608, Fig. 6, see [0065]) and the second straight section (607, Fig. 6, see [0065], see ends of 610 connected to 607 and 608, Fig. 6); and the third adhesive member (606 on 610, see Fig. 6, see [0065]) is disposed on an outer surface (outermost ring taken up by 610, see [0065]) of the second bending section (610, Fig. 6, see [0065], see where 606 is on 610).
Regarding claim 18, Zheng teaches an electronic apparatus (electronic device, Claim 20), comprising an electrochemical apparatus (electrochemical device, Claim 20), the electrochemical apparatus (electrochemical device, Claim 20) comprising an electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]), a second adhesive member (606 on 609, Fig. 6, see [0065] where the insulating layer is made of boehmite and PVDF which is an adhesive); wherein the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]) comprises electrode plates (601/602 and 603/604, Fig. 6, see [0065]) and a separator (separator, see Fig. 6 below, see [0040] where there is a separator disposed between the first and second electrode), the electrode plates (601/602 and 603/604, Fig. 6, see [0065]) and the separator (separator, see Fig. 6 below, see [0040] where there is a separator disposed between the first and second electrode) are stacked sequentially and wound (see Fig. 6 below where the separator is between 601/602 and 603/604 and wound) to form the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]), each electrode plate (601/602 and 603/604, Fig. 6, see [0065]) comprises a current collector (601/603, Fig. 6, see [0065]), and the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]) comprises a first straight section (608, Fig. 6, see [0065]) and a first bending section (609, Fig. 6, see [0065]) connected to each other (see 608 connected to 609, Fig. 6); and the second adhesive member (606 on 609, Fig. 6, see [0065] where the insulating layer is made of boehmite and PVDF which is an adhesive) is disposed on an outer surface (outermost ring, see [0065], see Fig. 6 where 606 is on the outside of 609) of the first bending section (609, Fig. 6, see [0065], see 606 on 609) or an outer surface of the outermost current collector at the first bending section; the second adhesive member (606 on 609, Fig. 6, see [0065] where the insulating layer is made of boehmite and PVDF which is an adhesive) is disposed on the outer surface (outermost ring, see [0065], see Fig. 6 where 606 is on the outside of 609) of the first bending section (609, Fig. 6, see [0065], see 606 on 609) and comprises a first extension portion (first extension portion, Fig. 6 below), the first extension portion (first extension portion, Fig. 6 below) being disposed on the outer surface (outermost ring, see [0065]) of the first straight section (608, Fig. 6, see [0065], see Fig. 6 below showing the bounds of 609 and the first extension portion on the outside of 608); the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]) further comprises a second straight section (607, Fig. 6, see [0065]), the second straight section (607, Fig. 6, see [0065]) being connected to the first bending section (609, Fig. 6, see [0065], see where 609 and 607 are connected); and the second adhesive member (606 on 609, Fig. 6, see [0065] where the insulating layer is made of boehmite and PVDF which is an adhesive) further comprises a second extension portion (second extension portion, see Fig. 6 below), the second extension portion (second extension portion, see Fig. 6 below) being disposed on an outer surface (outermost ring, see [0065]) of the second straight section (607, Fig. 6 below where the second extension is on an outer surface of 607, see [0065]), but Zheng fails to teach a first adhesive member, and along a winding direction, a terminating end of the separator exceeds a terminating end of the current collector by 1 to 5 turns, and the first adhesive member is disposed on an outer surface of a terminating end of the separator at the first straight section.
However, Ma teaches a first adhesive member (23, Fig. 2, see [0025]), and along a winding direction (see direction the battery is being wound, Fig. 2), a terminating end (C2, Fig. 2, see [0030]) of the separator (22, Fig. 2, see [0028]) exceeds a terminating end (A2/B2, Fig. 2, see [0028]) of the current collector (20/21, Fig. 2, see [0028]) by 1 to 5 turns (wrap around the winding core one or more times, see [0028], see Fig. 2 where the C2 of 22 exceeds A2 by 2 turns and exceeds B2 by 1 turn), and the first adhesive member (23, Fig. 2, see [0025]) is disposed on an outer surface (outer surface 23 is disposed on, see Fig. 2 where 23 is disposed on the outside surface) of a terminating end (C2, Fig. 2, see [0030]/22, Fig. 2, see [0028]) of the separator (22, Fig. 2, see [0028]) at the first straight section (first straight section, Fig. 2 below, see 23 is disposed on the outer surface of the first straight section at C2, note the first side of the structure between the two black lines).
6. Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (Pub. No. US 20220367919 A1) in view of Ma et al. (Pub. No. CN 102222802 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No. KR 20160021514 A).
Regarding claim 9, Zheng in view of Ma fails to teach wherein along the winding direction, a width W.sub.2 of the first adhesive member satisfies 5 mm≤W.sub.2≤50 mm.
However, Kim teaches wherein along the winding direction (direction of w/directional of horizontal length, Fig. 1, see [0059]), a width W.sub.2 (horizontal length (w), Fig. 1, see [0059]) of the first adhesive member (130, Fig. 1, see [0058]) satisfies 5 mm≤W.sub.2≤50 mm (less than longitudinal length (h), see [0059] where the horizontal length (w) is less than the length (h) which is 30%-100% of longitudinal length (H)).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zheng in view of Ma such that the length of the terminating tape is 30%-100% of the longitudinal length of the cell and the width of the terminating tape in the winding direction is less than 30%-100% of the longitudinal length of the cell as taught by Kim to prevent the roll from loosening (see [0059] of Kim), and maintain a rectangular planar shape (see [0059] of Kim), and it would have been obvious to modify the length and width of the terminating tape to be within the claimed range as Kim teaches it is a result effective variable of preventing loosening and preventing volume increase (see [0021] of Kim). Further, it has been held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04.IV.A). Further Zheng in view of Ma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0091] of Zheng).
Regarding claim 10, Zheng in view of Ma fails to teach wherein along a direction perpendicular to the winding direction, a width W.sub.3 of the separator and a length L.sub.2 of the first adhesive member satisfy 10 mm≤W.sub.3−L.sub.2≤30 mm.
However, Kim teaches wherein along a direction perpendicular (direction of H, Fig. 1, see [0059]) to the winding direction (direction of w/directional of horizontal length, Fig. 1, see [0059]), a width W.sub.3 (H, Fig. 1, see [0059] where H is the entire longitudinal length of the electrode assembly, see [0058] where a separator is part of the electrode assembly therefore H of the overall cell is the width of the separator) of the separator (separator, see [0058]) and a length L.sub.2 (h, Fig. 1, see [0059]) of the first adhesive member (130, Fig. 1, see [0058]) satisfy 10 mm≤W.sub.3−L.sub.2≤30 mm (30%-100% of H, see [0059]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zheng in view of Ma such that the length of the terminating tape is 30%-100% of the longitudinal length of the cell as taught by Kim to prevent the roll from loosening (see [0059] of Kim), and it would have been obvious to modify the length of the terminating tape to be within the claimed range as Kim teaches it is a result effective variable of preventing loosening and preventing volume increase (see [0021] of Kim). Further, it has been held where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04.IV.A). Further Zheng in view of Ma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0091] of Zheng).
7. Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (Pub. No. US 20220367919 A1) in view of Ma et al. (Pub. No. CN 102222802 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bao et al. (Pub. No. US 20170263983 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Zheng in view of Ma teaches wherein the electrochemical apparatus (electrochemical device, see [0040]) further comprises a shell (shell, see [0040]), the electrode assembly (cell, Fig. 6, see [0040]) is accommodated in the shell (shell, see [0040] where the shell encloses the cell), but fails to teach the first adhesive member is bonded to the shell.
However, Bao teaches the first adhesive member (3 at position 11, Fig. 1, see [0035]) is bonded to the shell (package 2, Fig. 1, see [0054] gives a specific example where the binder material was adhered with the inner surface of the package).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zheng in view of Ma such that the terminating tape is a double sided adhesive with a covering layer and inject an electrolyte to the electrochemical device to dissolve the covering layer so the double sided adhesive bonds with the inner surface of the shell as taught by Bao to solve problems during drop tests and resolve problem of difficulty putting cell in the package to ensure excellent cycle performance and excellent charge-discharge performance under high rate (see [0004] of Bao). Further Zheng in view of Ma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0091] of Zheng).
8. Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (Pub. No. US 20220367919 A1) in view of Ma et al. (Pub. No. CN 102222802 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsuji et al. (Pub. No. US 20190221824 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Zheng in view of Ma fails to teach wherein the separator is a polypropylene separator.
However, Tsuji teaches wherein the separator (13, Fig. 2, see [0026]) is a polypropylene separator (polypropylene, see [0026] where the separator is made of polypropylene).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zheng in view of Ma by forming the separator of polypropylene as taught by Tsuji to achieve a separator with ion permeability and insulating properties (see [0026]) to suppress the occurrence of buckling (see [0007]). Further, Zheng in view of Ma teaches that modifications can be made (see [0091] of Zheng).
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Ma’s termination tape does not teach the specific configuration where the first adhesive member is on the outer surface of the terminating end of the separator at a first straight section because the section noted above is not even part of the battery itself. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as the first straight section labelled by the examiner was not the specific line annotated on Fig. 2 of Ma and was instead intended to show the boundaries of the portion of the battery which is the first straight section of Ma. The annotated Fig. 2 of Ma has been updated with different annotations to make it clearer where the first straight section is.
Regarding applicant’s arguments that it is unclear how the teachings of Ma could be combined with the primary reference to teach the claims. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Ma with Zheng such that the terminating end of the separator extends past the terminating end of the current collector by 1 to 2 turns, and add a termination tape to the terminating end of the separator on the first straight section to ensure the separator completely wraps the core (see [0031] of Ma), complete the winding of the separator (see [0030] of Ma) and provide a protective layer to avoid hidden safety hazards (see [0016[ of Ma). This gives clear direction on how one of ordinary skill in the art would have made the proper combination and motivation to do so.
Regarding applicants’ argument that the termination adhesive tape 23 is not part of Ma’s battery, and instead Fig. 2 depicts 23 outside of the battery. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as stated in [0026] of Ma the adhesive tape 23 is affixed to the termination end of the protection layer 40 which is a wrapping of the membrane as described in [0025]. Therefore by being affixed to the battery the adhesive tape 23 is part of the battery.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Zheng fails to disclose extension portions that extend onto both adjacent straight sections, and rather teaches partial coating of the straight portions as a separate feature. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as pointed out by the applicant the insulating layer is coating on a portion of the straight section and as seen in annotated Fig. 6 above the first and second extension portions are connected and part of the larger adhesive member 606 in position 609. Therefore, this portion of 606 coated on the straight sections is an extension portion of the second adhesive 606 on 609.
Regarding applicants’ argument that Ma does not teach extension portions extending to both the first straight section and second straight section as recited in claims 1 and 18 as amended. This argument is moot as the Examiner never attempted to use Ma to teach the extension portions extending to both the first straight section and the second straight section, and it has been held that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the claimed configuration provides a technical advantage of protecting corners of the terminating separator improving safety, reliability, and service life of the electrochemical apparatus. This argument is moot as it has been held that the fact the applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723