DETAILED ACTION
The rejection under section 112(a) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments that limit the instant antibodies those with support in the specification. Also, the amendments limit the instant MAP kinase inhibitors to those within the purview of those of ordinary skill, as per Applicant’s remarks.
The rejection under section 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments deleting references to analogs and derivatives.
The following are new grounds of rejection:
The effective filing date of the instant application is 1/13/2017, which is the filing date of PCT/EP2017/050718. Priority applications US 62/278,283 and PCT/EP2016/066353 do not provide support for the instant MAP kinase inhibitors, such as ERK inhibitors, as generically claimed.
In this regard, WO 2016005593 (WO 593) was excepted under 102(b)(2)(C) in parent application 16/069,395. However, WO 593 has counterpart WIPO docs, US Publications and US Patents with priority dates that are “effectively filed” before the effective filing date (1/13/2017) of the instant application under 102(a)(2), with unknown ownership, and therefore must also be excepted as “commonly owned” under 102(b)(2)(C). The patent families of WO 593 are shown on the next pages:
Moreover, any of references in the patent families published before 1/13/2017 also qualify as prior art under 102(a)(1) and must also be excepted under 102(b)(1)(A) or 102(b)(1)(B) (e.g., WO 2016005593).
In view of the above, the following new grounds of rejection are now entered:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, 13, 14, 25, 30, 32, 33, 35-38, 41, 44, 48-50, 54, 57-60, 64, 66, 67, 68, 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015193430 (WO 430, previously cited) in view of Wan et al., Cell, Vol. 116, 855–867, March 19, 2004 (Wan, previously cited) in further view of WO 2016005593 (WO 593), and counterparts (based on the above):
WO 2017009258
US 20180326084
US 20190233522
US 20200397913
US 20170157250
US 10512688
US 20180214549
US 10201607
US 20190275149
US 10765743
US 20190160170
US 10500276
US 20200171152
US 20240091352
WO 430 describes anti AXL antibodies and ADC’s thereof to be used for treating cancers such as melanomas in combination with other chemotherapeutics, such as sorafenib (page 51, § 1, page 52, § 1). WO 430 describes the use of anti-AXL antibody drug conjugates (ADC) to treat cancer including melanomas.
See page 28
The anti-AXL antibodies were conjugated to MMAE. Combination with agents such as sorafenib is proposed, see pages 51+. In particular, the use of MAP kinase inhibitors or the treatment of melanomas with specific mutations/resistances represent some of several straightforward possibilities from which the skilled person would select, in accordance with circumstances, without the exercise of inventive skill.
With regard to BRAF mutations, there is no particular effect associated with the difference since there is no evidence in the application relating to the treatment of melanomas with the specific mutations or resistances i.e. vemurafenib or dabrafenib etc. Neither there is any evidence that there is a particular effect associated with the difference in the sequences of the antibodies.
The claims require an inhibitor of the MAPK pathway (e.g., B-RAF (BRAF) inhibitor, a MEK inhibitor, or an ERK inhibitor). it is for that proposition the examiner joins Wan et al., Cell, Vol. 116, 855–867, March 19, 2004, which teaches that sorafenib (i.e., BAY43-9006), as taught by WO 430 is a mutant V600E mutant B-Raf inhibitor. Specifically, Wan teaches that BAY43-9006 (Sorafenib, Nexavar) is a V600E mutant B-Raf and C-Raf inhibitor approved by the FDA for the treatment of primary liver and kidney cancer. Bay43-9006 disables the B-Raf kinase domain by locking the enzyme in its inactive form. The inhibitor accomplishes this by blocking the ATP binding pocket through high-affinity for the kinase domain. It then binds key activation loop and DFG motif residues to stop the movement of the activation loop and DFG motif to the active conformation. Finally, a trifluoromethyl phenyl moiety sterically blocks the DFG motif and activation loop active conformation site, making it impossible for the kinase domain to shift conformation to become active. For example:
In this manner, the applied references provide a reasonable expectation that a combination of anti-AXL ADC’s and B-RAF inhibitors can treat cancer. Specifically, the difference between WO 430 and the claimed inventions is that WO 430 does not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, WO 430 teaches the elements of the claimed invention with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
WO 430 and Wan may not explicitly teach the instant anti-AXL antibodies. However, these antibodies were known at the time of the invention. WO 593 discloses ADC comprising antibodies to Axl, wherein the antibody can be used in ADC’s wherein the drug is MMAE linked to the antibody through a val-cit. (SEQ ID NO. 1 of the reference contains applicant's CDRs of SEQ ID NO. 36, 37 and 38 and is applicant's SEQ ID NO. 1; SEQ ID NO. 2 of the reference contains applicant's CDRs of SEQ ID NO. 39, GAS and 40 and is applicant's SEQ ID NO. 2; SEQ ID NO. 5 of the reference contains applicant's CDRs of SEQ ID NO. 46, 47 and 48 and is applicant's SEQ ID NO. 5; SEQ ID NO. 4 of the reference contains applicant's CDRs of SEQ ID NO. 49, AAS and 50 and is applicant's SEQ ID NO. 4; SEQ ID NO. 34 of the reference contains applicant's CDRs of SEQ ID NO. 114, 115 and 116 and is applicant's SEQ ID NO. 34; SEQ ID NO. 35 of the reference contains applicant's CDRs of SEQ ID NO. 117, DAS and 118 and is applicant's SEQ ID NO. 35) (see summary, pages 12-15, 22-23, 25, 47, 51, 66-69, 70 and entire reference). Page 53 specifically discloses the ADC of applicant's claims 2-4 and 52).
In this manner, WO 593 demonstrates that the specific anti-AXL antibodies, and ADC’s thereof, covered by the rejected claims were known, and moreover, those of ordinary skill could have used these antibodies in the instant combinations with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, using the antibodies covered by the rejected claims in the recited combination for the purpose of treating cancers would have been prima facie obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10, 11, 13, 14, 25, 30, 32, 33, 35-38, 41, 44, 48-50, 54, 57-60, 64, 66, 67, 68 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 85-93, 95-97, 99-11 of copending Application No. 16/891,796.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Specifically, the rejected claims recite methods of treating with a combination of anti-AXL antibodies and MAP kinase inhibitors in a manner that anticipate the rejected claims. Alternatively, the difference between the methods recited in the conflicting claims and those recited by the rejected claims is that the conflicting claims may not recite the instant methods and combinations of anti-AXL antibodies and MAP kinase inhibitors with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, the conflicting claims recite the elements of the instant methods with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646