DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments in Applicant’s responses filed 08/26/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 12-14 that the prior art fails to teach determining a number of components above a noise floor of the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data” because Ntziachristos, et al., US 20150247999 A1 only mentions excluding “background” components of the multispectral data (las paragraph of page 12) and Boyden, et al., US 20090281412 A1 only groups detected optical energy by reference to a deviation from a cluster centroid.
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s argument that Ntziachristos only excludes background is correct and the rejection admits to that but the rejection further relies on Boyden which, as noted in the rejection, indicates that spectral information associated with a detected emitted or remitted energy is clustered into related groups based on similarity, dissimilarity, pairwise similarities, distances from a threshold value (e.g., a cluster centroid deviation), rate of change, affinity between points in Euclidean space, a hierarchy, an index of clustering, or the like in [0229]. This is disclosure sufficiently teaches the limitation in question. The “noise floor” is the threshold value in Boyden and the “components” of the “multi-spectral photoacoustic image data” is tantamount to the groups of spectral information. That is, here, Boyden is teaching clustering the multispectral data into groups where each group of multispectral data is based on a distance from a threshold value or how far removed the multispectral information of interest is from the threshold value. This teaching is indistinguishable from the limitation “determining a number of components above a noise floor of the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data” as claimed.
Applicant further remarks on pages 14-15 that prior art Sarvazyan, N., US 20200008681 A1 only discloses a target spectrum that serves as a reference for comparison to a measured spectrum (first point), does not determine a correlation among the component spectra within a group (second point); and classifies and marks pixels of an image (third point).
To Applicant’s first and third points, while not explicitly stated, the target spectra comprise a number or value such as in fig. 11F [0039], wherein the tissue was illuminated with 365 nm LED UV light, and the reflected light was acquired from 420 nm to 600 nm range using 10 nm step. So in classifying a selected spectrum into a given subset, the selected spectrum has to match a range of the target spectra, such as 420 nm to 600 nm. Spectra outside of this range are matched to different target spectra and classified into the respective subset. Further, [0050] that “the spectra from each pixel can be classified into different subsets using principal component analysis” and that “pixels with spectra that match the target spectrum to a specified level of confidence are then marked as potential targets”, hence the step does not merely classify and mark pixels but rather pixels of a certain spectral signature or band.
Examiner notes, however, that in Sarvazyan, the target spectra (correlation value) dictates a criteria or threshold for classifying into a specific subset or a bar each spectrum has to clear to be added into a specific subset but does not indicate how the plurality of spectra within a subset are similar or dissimilar to one another, as argued for. That is, the target spectra in Sarvazyan does not compare spectra within a same group using a correlation value.
However, newly found prior art Lin, et al., US 20170340212 A1 teaches hybrid spectroscopy methods and systems that detect and differentiate epileptogenic from eloquent and normal cortices (abstract).
Applicant further asserts on pages 15-16 that the prior art of record, Ntziachristos, et al., US 20150247999 A1 in view of Boyden, et al., US 20090281412 A1 and Sarvazyan, N., US 20200008681 A1, all require a comparison against reference information defined in advance and hence do not teach “an unsupervised spectral unmixing process based on limited or no human intervention”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The limitation requiring application of an unsupervised spectral unmixing process based on limited or no human intervention is rejected based on Ntziachristos that explicitly includes the application of a principal component analysis (PCA), non-negative matrix factorization (NNMF), multivariate curve resolution (MCR) or independent component analysis (ICA) to the spectral data analysis (paragraph 70 of Ntziachristos). PCA is an unsupervised technique. Furthermore, the instant application lists PCA along with singular value decomposition (SVD), sparse filtering (SF), independent component analysis (ICA), reconstruction independent component analysis (RICA), non-negative matrix factorization (NNMF) in paragraphs 26 and 28 of the P. G. Pub. version of the specification, as examples of unsupervised spectral unmixing processes or algorithm.
Applicant further asserts on page 16 that there is no reason to combine the prior art of record because the benefit identified in Boyden [0089] is only attributable to differential measurement between two regions of a biological subject and not to clustering or partitioning of spectral information into subsets, or a noise floor.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The statement of “differential” measurements in [0089] is an exemplification of how such comparison measurements improve the signal to noise ratio. The paragraph includes that as a non-limiting example, certain systems, devices, and methods, described herein provide technologies or methodologies for actively sensing, treating, or preventing an intravascular obstruction present in, for example, dense tissue or regions of that are spectrally complex. Clustering and partitioning as performed in other sections of the document [0229]-[0130] are under this “differential” measurements umbrella which includes as clustering and partitioning inherently requires analyzing similarities/differences of spectral components. And hence the motivation noted in [0089] applies to the clustering and partitioning steps.
Therefore, the claims stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9, 11-13, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ntziachristos, et al., US 20150247999 A1 in view of Boyden, et al., US 20090281412 A1 and Sarvazyan, N., US 20200008681 A1 and Lin, et al., US 20170340212 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Ntziachristos teaches a photoacoustic imaging method (hybrid optical/opto-acoustic imaging apparatus 100 of paragraph 83) comprising:
receiving multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (paragraphs 64-66 describe collection of opto-acoustic data for multi-spectral opto-acoustic tomography (MSOT)) from a photoacoustic imaging system (paragraphs 64-66 describe collection of opto-acoustic data for multi-spectral opto-acoustic tomography (MSOT));
pre-processing the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data, wherein the pre-processing comprises determining a number of components above a background distribution of the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (paragraph 70 indicates using multivariate data analysis and matrix factorization algorithms, such as principal component analysis (PCA), non-negative matrix factorization (NNMF), multivariate curve resolution (MCR) or independent component analysis (ICA) in spectral unmixing methods (paragraphs 66-69) to separate from background distribution. The separation of the principal components from the background distribution inherently removes unwanted spectral data);
detecting tissue chromophores based on the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data using an unsupervised spectral unmixing process based on limited or no human intervention (paragraphs 60-69 indicate reconstructing a spatial distribution (image) of the chromophore of interest using the above mentioned PCA and ICA. NB: Paragraph 26 of the P.G. Pub version of the specification states that “The unsupervised spectral unmixing process or algorithm, for example, can be singular value decomposition (SVD), principal component analysis (PCA), sparse filtering (SF), independent component analysis (ICA)…” and paragraph 28 states that “the unsupervised spectral unmixing process or algorithm can allow a system, apparatus, or processor to learn from multi-spectral photoacoustic image data with limited or no human intervention by detecting or recognizing representative spectral patterns”. Since Ntziachristos teaches the processor (data processor of paragraph 87) that executes the PCA and ICA disclosed in paragraphs 60-69, which is disclosed in the specification as being the unsupervised spectral unmixing process or algorithm, Ntziachristos achieves the recited “using an unsupervised spectral unmixing process based on limited or no human intervention”), and
display the detected tissue chromophores in an abundance map (paragraph 68 indicates that a spatial distribution (image) of the chromophore is generated for display on the display in paragraph 87).
Ntziachristos does not teach that the background distribution, that is, the determining of a number of components, comprises a noise floor above which the principal components are separated, and wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises clustering of the number components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data and windowing of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Boyden teaches a photoacoustic blood occlusion monitoring system (paragraph 32 discloses an occlusion-monitoring system) wherein the background distribution, that is, the determining of a number of components, comprises a noise floor above which the principal components are separated (“spectral information associated with a detected emitted or remitted energy is clustered into related groups based on similarity, dissimilarity, pairwise similarities, distances from a threshold value (e.g., a cluster centroid deviation)” paragraph 229) and wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises clustering of the number components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (“clustering includes assigning spectral information into clusters such that spectral parameters from the same cluster are more similar to each other than spectral parameters from different clusters” paragraph 230); and windowing of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (“At 1020, the method 1000 includes partitioning the spectral information into one or more information subsets. At 1022, partitioning the spectral information into the one or more information subsets includes grouping the spectral information into one or more information subsets using a clustering protocol” paragraph 259).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos wherein the background distribution, that is, the determining of a number of components, comprises a noise floor above which the principal components are separated, and wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises clustering of the number components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data; and windowing of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data, as taught by Boyden, to allow for better signal to noise, and may minimize the effect of other spectral parameters of the body that vary over time, (paragraph 89), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden fails to teach wherein the windowing includes determining a group of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on a comparison of the correlation value to a threshold value; and characterizing at least one biomarker based on the detected tissue chromophores; and providing the at least one biomarker for assessment or monitoring of a disease or medical condition.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sarvazyan teaches systems and methods for hyperspectral analysis of cardiac tissue including visualizing ablation lesions includes illuminating at one or more illumination wavelengths a surface of tissue having an ablation lesion; collecting a spectral data set comprising spectral images of the illuminated tissue acquired at multiple spectral bands each at one or more acquisition wavelengths; distinguishing between the ablation lesion and an unablated tissue based on one or more spectral differences between the ablation lesion and unablated tissue; and creating a composite image of the tissue showing the ablation lesion and the unablated tissue (see abstract). Sarvazyan teaches wherein the windowing includes determining a group of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (paragraph 50 states that the “spectra from each pixel can be classified into different subsets using principal component analysis or other mathematical algorithms referred hereafter as spectral unmixing”) based on a comparison of the correlation value to a threshold value (paragraph 50 also states that pixels with spectra that match the target spectrum to a specified level of confidence are then marked as potential targets for binning. The target spectrum comprising the claimed correlation value and the specified level of confidence comprising the threshold);
characterizing at least one biomarker based on the detected tissue chromophores (paragraph 51 discloses using reflectance, fluorescence, and absorption of collagen as a marker for attesting ablation sites); and
providing the at least one biomarker for assessment or monitoring of a disease or medical condition (paragraph 54 discloses a visualization of an ablation site using the ablation visualization system that incorporates the use of collagen in assessing the ablation site as noted in paragraph 51 and paragraph 66 mentions the imaging process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Ntziachristos, wherein the windowing includes determining a group of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on a comparison of the correlation value to a threshold value; and characterizing at least one biomarker based on the detected tissue chromophores; and providing the at least one biomarker for assessment or monitoring of a disease or medical condition, as taught by Sarvazyan, to precisely identify locations, shape, size, and depth of the tissue of interest (paragraph 82), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan fails to teach wherein the clustering includes determining a correlation value between component spectra of the number of components and grouping the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on the correlation value.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches hybrid spectroscopy methods and systems that detect and differentiate epileptogenic from eloquent and normal cortices (abstract). Lin teaches wherein the clustering includes determining a correlation value between component spectra of the number of components and grouping the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on the correlation value (Paragraph 121 discloses a method for mapping epileptic cortices comprising “[0126] acquiring images of an exposed cortical surface at 500 nm and 700 nm simultaneously, continuously, and intraoperatively using a dynamic intrinsic optical signal imaging (DIOSI) system, [0128] analyzing a time series for each pixel R(x,y,t) in both a time domain and a frequency domain; [0129] filtering the time series R(p,t), where p=(x,y), using a band-pass FIR filter (˜0.02-0.1 Hz) to give R.sub.low(p,t); [0130] removing artifacts (originating from light source and vessel movements) from R.sub.low(p,t) using a principal component analysis method to give R.sub.pca (p,t) at each pixel; [0131] generating a power spectral density map using R.sub.pca (p,t) for the 500 nm and 700 nm wavelengths; [0132] creating a correlation coefficient map (CCM) by calculating the extent of correlation between R.sub.pca (p,t) at 500 nm and 700 nm for each pixel; [0133] extracting pixels with negative correlations from the CCM and removing isolated pixels to leave only spatially connected pixel groups (using an arbitrary threshold of 25 pixels to identify those spatially-connected pixel groups); [0134] classifying the pixels into multiple clusters, using a mean shift clustering method, based upon their temporal profiles in R.sub.pca (p,t) at both the 500 nm and 700 nm wavelengths”; “[0136] analyzing the effective and functional connectivity of the clusters as R.sub.ci (p,t)”. This means that the correlation coefficients provide a measure of an extent of correlation of pixels within a spatially connected pixel group based on the thresholding step).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Ntziachristos, wherein the clustering includes determining a correlation value between component spectra of the number of components and grouping the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on the correlation value, as taught by Lin, as such modification would provide a robust classification of spectral signal (paragraph 86), and improve clinical outcomes (paragraph 3), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 2, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ntziachristos fails to teach displaying a component spectra with the determined number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data.
However, Boyden further teaches displaying a component spectra with the determined number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (paragraph 170 discloses “a visual display of at least one spectral parameter, and the like” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos including displaying a component spectra with the determined number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data, as taught by Boyden, to allow for better signal to noise, and may minimize the effect of other spectral parameters of the body that vary over time, (paragraph 89), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 3, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 2.
Ntziachristos further teaches determining a disease or medical condition based on at least one of the abundance map or the component spectra (paragraph 102 indicates using the disclosed multi-spectral method for oral cancers, peripheral arterial disease, oxygenation measurements).
Regarding claim 5, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises nonnegative matrix factorization (paragraph 70 discloses using non-negative matrix factorization (NNMF)).
Regarding claim 7, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises singular value decomposition, principal component analysis, independent component analysis, reconstruction independent component analysis, or sparse filtering (paragraph 70 discloses using PCA and ICA, which have been demonstrated above as comprising the “unsupervised spectral unmixing process”).
Regarding claim 8, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein at least one of the number of components or noise floor is determined using an eigenvalue algorithm (paragraph 71 discloses that PCA can be calculated as a singular value decomposition of M or as an eigenvalue decomposition of its covariance matrix).
Regarding claim 9, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden fails to teach wherein the clustering and windowing comprises: dividing the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data into one or more subsets; and searching for the number of components in the one or more subsets.
However, Boyden further teaches wherein the clustering and windowing comprises: dividing the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data into one or more subsets; and searching for the number of components in the one or more subsets (paragraph 259 states that “At 1022, partitioning the spectral information into the one or more information subsets includes grouping the spectral information into one or more information subsets using a clustering protocol” and paragraph 260 states that “At 1030, the method 1000 includes comparing at least one parameter associated with a second spectral information from a biological subject associated to at least one parameter associated with at least one of the one or more information subsets. At 1040, the method 1000 may include generating a response based on the comparison of the at least one parameter associated with the second spectral information to the at least one parameter associated with at least one of the one or more information subset”. In performing the comparison step, the subset is searched for the one or more spectral information within the subset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Ntziachristos wherein the clustering and windowing comprises: dividing the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data into one or more subsets; and searching for the number of components in the one or more subsets, as taught by Boyden, to allow for better signal to noise, and may minimize the effect of other spectral parameters of the body that vary over time, (paragraph 89), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 11, Ntziachristos teaches a photoacoustic imaging apparatus (hybrid optical/opto-acoustic imaging apparatus 100 of paragraph 83) comprising: at least one memory comprising computer program code (paragraph 87 discloses that “The image reconstruction device 40 includes at least one data processor which is adapted to process the signals collected with the light detector device 20 and the acoustic detector device 30 and to create an optical image”, and hence it is inherent that the device 40 would include at least one memory comprising computer program code for the optical image creation): at least one processor (data processor of paragraph 87):
wherein the at least one memory comprising the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor (paragraph 87 states that “data processor which is adapted to process the signals collected with the light detector device 20 and the acoustic detector device 30 and to create an optical image, an opto-acoustic image and/or a hybrid optical/opto-acoustic image 42” and it is inherent/necessarily require that the image reconstruction device 40 further comprises at least one memory/storage comprising computer program code for processing the signals into an image), to cause the photoacoustic imaging apparatus at least to:
receive multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (paragraphs 64-66 describe collection of opto-acoustic data for multi-spectral opto-acoustic tomography (MSOT)):
pre-process the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data, wherein the pre-processing comprises determining a number of components above a background distribution of the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (paragraph 70 indicates using multivariate data analysis and matrix factorization algorithms, such as principal component analysis (PCA), non-negative matrix factorization (NNMF), multivariate curve resolution (MCR) or independent component analysis (ICA) in spectral unmixing methods (paragraphs 66-69) to separate from a background distribution. The separation of the principal components from the background distribution inherently removes unwanted spectral data):
detect tissue chromophores based on the number of significant components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data using an unsupervised spectral unmixing process based on limited or no human intervention (paragraph 60-69 indicate reconstructing a spatial distribution (image) of the chromophore of interest using the above mentioned PCA and ICA. NB: Paragraph 26 of the P.G. Pub version of the specification states that “The unsupervised spectral unmixing process or algorithm, for example, can be singular value decomposition (SVD), principal component analysis (PCA), sparse filtering (SF), independent component analysis (ICA)…” and paragraph 28 states that “the unsupervised spectral unmixing process or algorithm can allow a system, apparatus, or processor to learn from multi-spectral photoacoustic image data with limited or no human intervention by detecting or recognizing representative spectral patterns”. Since Ntziachristos teaches the processor (data processor of paragraph 87) that executes the PCA and ICA disclosed in paragraphs 60-69, which is disclosed in the specification as being the unsupervised spectral unmixing process or algorithm, Ntziachristos achieves the recited “using an unsupervised spectral unmixing process based on limited or no human intervention”).
display the detected tissue chromophores in an abundance map (paragraph 68 indicates that a spatial distribution (image) of the chromophore is generated for display on the display in paragraph 87).
Ntziachristos does not teach that the background distribution, that is, the determining of a number of components, comprises a noise floor above which the principal components are separated, and wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises clustering of the number components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data; and windowing of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Boyden teaches a photoacoustic blood occlusion monitoring system (paragraph 32 discloses an occlusion-monitoring system) wherein the background distribution, that is, the determining of a number of components, comprises a noise floor above which the principal components are separated (“spectral information associated with a detected emitted or remitted energy is clustered into related groups based on similarity, dissimilarity, pairwise similarities, distances from a threshold value (e.g., a cluster centroid deviation)” paragraph 229) and wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises clustering of the number components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (“clustering includes assigning spectral information into clusters such that spectral parameters from the same cluster are more similar to each other than spectral parameters from different clusters” paragraph 230); and windowing of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (“At 1020, the method 1000 includes partitioning the spectral information into one or more information subsets. At 1022, partitioning the spectral information into the one or more information subsets includes grouping the spectral information into one or more information subsets using a clustering protocol” paragraph 259).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos wherein the background distribution, that is, the determining of a number of components, comprises a noise floor above which the principal components are separated, and wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises clustering of the number components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data; and windowing of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data, as taught by Boyden, to allow for better signal to noise, and may minimize the effect of other spectral parameters of the body that vary over time, (paragraph 89), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden fails to teach wherein the windowing includes determining a group of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on a comparison of the correlation value to a threshold value; and characterizing at least one biomarker based on the detected tissue chromophores; and providing the at least one biomarker for assessment or monitoring of a disease or medical condition.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sarvazyan teaches systems and methods for hyperspectral analysis of cardiac tissue including visualizing ablation lesions includes illuminating at one or more illumination wavelengths a surface of tissue having an ablation lesion; collecting a spectral data set comprising spectral images of the illuminated tissue acquired at multiple spectral bands each at one or more acquisition wavelengths; distinguishing between the ablation lesion and an unablated tissue based on one or more spectral differences between the ablation lesion and unablated tissue; and creating a composite image of the tissue showing the ablation lesion and the unablated tissue (see abstract). Sarvazyan teaches wherein the windowing includes determining a group of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (paragraph 50 states that the “spectra from each pixel can be classified into different subsets using principal component analysis or other mathematical algorithms referred hereafter as spectral unmixing”) based on a comparison of the correlation value to a threshold value (paragraph 50 also states that pixels with spectra that match the target spectrum to a specified level of confidence are then marked as potential targets for binning. The target spectrum comprising the claimed correlation value and the specified level of confidence comprising the threshold);
characterizing at least one biomarker based on the detected tissue chromophores (paragraph 51 discloses using reflectance, fluorescence, and absorption of collagen as a marker for attesting ablation sites); and
providing the at least one biomarker for assessment or monitoring of a disease or medical condition (paragraph 54 discloses a visualization of an ablation site using the ablation visualization system that incorporates the use of collagen in assessing the ablation site as noted in paragraph 51 and paragraph 66 mentions the imaging process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Ntziachristos, wherein the windowing includes determining a group of the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on a comparison of the correlation value to a threshold value; and characterizing at least one biomarker based on the detected tissue chromophores; and providing the at least one biomarker for assessment or monitoring of a disease or medical condition, as taught by Sarvazyan, to precisely identify locations, shape, size, and depth of the tissue of interest (paragraph 82), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan fails to teach wherein the clustering includes determining a correlation value between component spectra of the number of components and grouping the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on the correlation value.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches hybrid spectroscopy methods and systems that detect and differentiate epileptogenic from eloquent and normal cortices (abstract). Lin teaches wherein the clustering includes determining a correlation value between component spectra of the number of components and grouping the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on the correlation value (Paragraph 121 discloses a method for mapping epileptic cortices comprising “[0126] acquiring images of an exposed cortical surface at 500 nm and 700 nm simultaneously, continuously, and intraoperatively using a dynamic intrinsic optical signal imaging (DIOSI) system, [0128] analyzing a time series for each pixel R(x,y,t) in both a time domain and a frequency domain; [0129] filtering the time series R(p,t), where p=(x,y), using a band-pass FIR filter (˜0.02-0.1 Hz) to give R.sub.low(p,t); [0130] removing artifacts (originating from light source and vessel movements) from R.sub.low(p,t) using a principal component analysis method to give R.sub.pca (p,t) at each pixel; [0131] generating a power spectral density map using R.sub.pca (p,t) for the 500 nm and 700 nm wavelengths; [0132] creating a correlation coefficient map (CCM) by calculating the extent of correlation between R.sub.pca (p,t) at 500 nm and 700 nm for each pixel; [0133] extracting pixels with negative correlations from the CCM and removing isolated pixels to leave only spatially connected pixel groups (using an arbitrary threshold of 25 pixels to identify those spatially-connected pixel groups); [0134] classifying the pixels into multiple clusters, using a mean shift clustering method, based upon their temporal profiles in R.sub.pca (p,t) at both the 500 nm and 700 nm wavelengths”; “[0136] analyzing the effective and functional connectivity of the clusters as R.sub.ci (p,t)”. This means that the correlation coefficients provide a measure of an extent of correlation of pixels within a spatially connected pixel group based on the thresholding step).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure modified Ntziachristos, wherein the clustering includes determining a correlation value between component spectra of the number of components and grouping the number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data based on the correlation value, as taught by Lin, as such modification would provide a robust classification of spectral signal (paragraph 86), and improve clinical outcomes (paragraph 3), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 12, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above.
Ntziachristos fails to teach wherein the at least one memory comprising the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: display a component spectra with the determined number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data.
However, Boyden further teaches wherein the at least one memory comprising the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to (paragraph 170 discloses a memory 160 that stores instructions configured to cause the processor to generate a second response from information encoded in the data structure 168): display a component spectra with the determined number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (paragraph 170 discloses “a visual display of at least one spectral parameter, and the like”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos, wherein the at least one memory comprising the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to: display a component spectra with the determined number of components from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data, as taught by Boyden, hence providing an easy and accurate method of identifying regions of interest within the spectral data (paragraphs 11-12), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 13, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 12 above.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein the at least Ntziachristos further teaches wherein the at least one memory comprising the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus at least to: determine a disease or medical condition based on at least one of the abundance map or the component spectra (paragraph 102 indicates using the disclosed multi-spectral method for oral cancers, peripheral arterial disease, oxygenation measurements and hence teaching determining a medical condition based on the component spectra).
Regarding claim 15, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises nonnegative matrix factorization (paragraph 70 discloses applying non-negative matrix factorization (NNMF)).
Regarding claim 17, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein the unsupervised spectral unmixing process comprises singular value decomposition, principal component analysis, independent component analysis, reconstruction independent component analysis, or sparse filtering (paragraph 70 discloses using PCA and ICA, which have been demonstrated above as comprising the “unsupervised spectral unmixing process”).
Regarding claim 18, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein at least one of the number of components or noise floor is determined using an eigenvalue algorithm ((paragraph 71 discloses that PCA can be calculated as a singular value decomposition of M or as an eigenvalue decomposition of its covariance matrix).
Regarding claim 19, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above.
Ntziachristos fails to teach wherein the clustering and windowing comprises: dividing the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data into one or more subsets; and searching for the number of components in the one or more subsets.
However, Boyden further teaches wherein the clustering and windowing comprises: dividing the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data into one or more subsets; and searching for the number of components in the one or more subsets (paragraph 259 states that “At 1022, partitioning the spectral information into the one or more information subsets includes grouping the spectral information into one or more information subsets using a clustering protocol” and paragraph 260 states that “At 1030, the method 1000 includes comparing at least one parameter associated with a second spectral information from a biological subject associated to at least one parameter associated with at least one of the one or more information subsets. At 1040, the method 1000 may include generating a response based on the comparison of the at least one parameter associated with the second spectral information to the at least one parameter associated with at least one of the one or more information subset”. In performing the comparison step, the subset is searched for the one or more spectral information within the subset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos wherein the clustering and windowing comprises: dividing the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data into one or more subsets; and searching for the number of components in the one or more subsets, as taught by Boyden, to allow for better signal to noise, and may minimize the effect of other spectral parameters of the body that vary over time, (paragraph 89), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ntziachristos, et al., US 20150247999 A1 in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan, as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively above, and further in view of Alfano, et al., US 20050240107 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 2 above.
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin fails to teach wherein the component spectra represents a pure molecule absorption spectrum extracted from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data.
However, Alfano teaches spectral optical imaging at one or more key water absorption fingerprint wavelengths measures the difference in water content between a region of cancerous or precancerous tissue and a region of normal tissue (see abstract), including the calculation of chromophore in tissues (paragraphs 11-12 discloses determining attenuation due to absorption to concentration of chromophores tissues) wherein the component spectra represents a pure molecule absorption spectrum extracted from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (see fig. 5, which shows a graph comparing the absorption spectra of normal prostate tissue (330 .mu.m thickness), cancerous prostate tissue (330 .mu.m thickness), and water (200 .mu.m thickness) for wavelengths between 400 and 2400 nm; and paragraph 62 where the absorption spectra of pure water is disclosed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos as modified by Boyden and Sarvazyan such that the component spectra represents a pure molecule absorption spectrum extracted from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data, as taught by Alfano, providing an effective way of differentiating tissues suspected of being diseased (paragraphs 25-28), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 14, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above.
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan fails to teach wherein the component spectra represents a pure molecule absorption spectrum extracted from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data.
However, Alfano teaches spectral optical imaging at one or more key water absorption fingerprint wavelengths measures the difference in water content between a region of cancerous or precancerous tissue and a region of normal tissue (see abstract), including the calculation of chromophore in tissues (paragraphs 11-12 discloses determining attenuation due to absorption to concentration of chromophores tissues) wherein the component spectra represents a pure molecule absorption spectrum extracted from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data (see fig. 5, which shows a graph comparing the absorption spectra of normal prostate tissue (330 .mu.m thickness), cancerous prostate tissue (330 .mu.m thickness), and water (200 .mu.m thickness) for wavelengths between 400 and 2400 nm; and paragraph 62 where the absorption spectra of pure water is disclosed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos as modified by Boyden and Sarvazyan such that the component spectra represents a pure molecule absorption spectrum extracted from the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data, as taught by Alfano, providing an effective way of differentiating tissues suspected of being diseased (paragraphs 25-28), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ntziachristos, et al., US 20150247999 A1 in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan, as applied to claims 5 and 15, respectively, and further in view of Montcuquet, et al., US 20120032094 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 5 above.
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan fails to teach wherein the nonnegative matrix factorization is represented by
, where W represents abundance distribution component values, S represents main spectral curves, and X represents the multi-spectral observations.
However, Montcuquet teaches locating at least one fluorescent tag in a scattering medium, wherein: a) at least one tag is introduced into the medium, b) a fluorescence image is performed by an infrared excitation of the medium along a first axis, the image including a fluorescence component due to the tag, and an auto-fluorescence component due to a medium part other than the tags, c) the image is processed by factorizing into two non-negative matrices, and d) an image of the distribution of the tag(s) is determined, without the auto-fluorescence component (see abstract), wherein the nonnegative matrix factorization (paragraph 149 indicates an algorithm for factorizing into non-negative matrices) is represented by
, where W represents abundance distribution component values, S represents main spectral curves, and X represents the multi-spectral observations (paragraphs 151-170 indicates minimization of a cost function QFMN. Specifically, the equations in paragraph 156, 159 and 164).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to Ntziachristos as modified Boyden and Sarvazyan such that the nonnegative matrix factorization is represented by
, where W represents abundance distribution component values, S represents main spectral curves, and X represents the multi-spectral observations, allowing smoothing of spectral data (paragraph 156), and hence allowing differentiation of the data from unwanted data (paragraph 3), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 16, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above.
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan fails to teach wherein the nonnegative matrix factorization is represented by
, where W represents abundance distribution component values, S represents main spectral curves, and X represents the multi-spectral observations.
However, Montcuquet teaches locating at least one fluorescent tag in a scattering medium, wherein: a) at least one tag is introduced into the medium, b) a fluorescence image is performed by an infrared excitation of the medium along a first axis, the image including a fluorescence component due to the tag, and an auto-fluorescence component due to a medium part other than the tags, c) the image is processed by factorizing into two non-negative matrices, and d) an image of the distribution of the tag(s) is determined, without the auto-fluorescence component (see abstract), wherein the nonnegative matrix factorization (paragraph 149 indicates an algorithm for factorizing into non-negative matrices) is represented by
, where W represents abundance distribution component values, S represents main spectral curves, and X represents the multi-spectral observations (paragraphs 151-170 indicates minimization of a cost function QFMN. Specifically, the equations in paragraph 156, 159 and 164).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to Ntziachristos as modified Boyden and Sarvazyan such that the nonnegative matrix factorization is represented by
, where W represents abundance distribution component values, S represents main spectral curves, and X represents the multi-spectral observations, allowing smoothing of spectral data (paragraph 156), and hence allowing differentiation of the data from unwanted data (paragraph 3), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ntziachristos, et al., US 20150247999 A1 in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan as applied to claims 1 and 11, respectively above, and further in view of Mihashi, et al., US 20080007691 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein the data reduction comprises using a squared region of interest of 4x4 pixels, stating in paragraph 67 that “Spectral unmixing methods based on differential or fitting algorithms use the known spectral information to process the image on a pixel-by-pixel basis. Those methods try to find the source component (e.g. a distribution of a certain contrast agent) that best fits its known absorption spectrum in the least-squares sense”. Examiner further notes that the clustering/grouping of the spectral information is a known data reduction process. While Ntziachristos does not specifically state that the region is a 4x4 matrix of pixels, selecting such an area as the region of interest comprises Use of Known Technique To Improve Similar Devices (Methods, or Products) in the Same Way. See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan fails to teach wherein the pre-processing of the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data further comprises at least one of data correction or data reduction, wherein the data correction comprises a Gaussian filter.
However, Mihashi further teaches wherein the pre-processing of the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data further comprises at least one of data correction or data reduction, wherein the data correction comprises a Gaussian filter (paragraph 88 indicates applying a Laplacian-Gaussian filter to extract edges with high contrast and applies a gaussian function to smooth them in order to remove noise).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos as modified Boyden and Sarvazyan, such that the pre-processing of the multi- spectral photoacoustic image data further comprises at least one of data correction or data reduction, wherein the data correction comprises a Gaussian filter, as taught by Mihashi, hence providing a resultant high-contrast image (paragraph 89) that provide a way of identifying each part in spectral fundus images based on its spectral characteristic easily and accurately (paragraph 90), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Regarding claim 20, Ntziachristos in view of Boyden, Sarvazyan, and Lin teaches all the limitations of claim 11 above.
Ntziachristos further teaches wherein the data reduction comprises using a squared region of interest of 4x4 pixels, stating in paragraph 67 that “Spectral unmixing methods based on differential or fitting algorithms use the known spectral information to process the image on a pixel-by-pixel basis. Those methods try to find the source component (e.g. a distribution of a certain contrast agent) that best fits its known absorption spectrum in the least-squares sense”. Examiner further notes that the clustering/grouping of the spectral information is a known data reduction process. While Ntziachristos does not specifically state that the region is a 4x4 matrix of pixels, selecting such an area as the region of interest comprises Use of Known Technique To Improve Similar Devices (Methods, or Products) in the Same Way. See MPEP 2143(I)(C).
Ntziachristos in view of Boyden and Sarvazyan fails to teach wherein the pre-processing of the multi- spectral photoacoustic image data further comprises at least one of data correction or data reduction, wherein the data correction comprises a Gaussian filter.
However, Mihashi further teaches wherein the pre-processing of the multi-spectral photoacoustic image data further comprises at least one of data correction or data reduction, wherein the data correction comprises a Gaussian filter (paragraph 88 indicates applying a Laplacian-Gaussian filter to extract edges with high contrast and applies a gaussian function to smooth them in order to remove noise).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure Ntziachristos as modified Boyden and Sarvazyan such that the pre-processing of the multi- spectral photoacoustic image data further comprises at least one of data correction or data reduction, wherein the data correction comprises a Gaussian filter, as taught by Mihashi, hence providing a resultant high-contrast image (paragraph 89) that provide a way of identifying each part in spectral fundus images based on its spectral characteristic easily and accurately (paragraph 90), with a reasonable expectation of success as modified Ntziachristos also strives to provide an improved imaging system with improved sensitivity for acquiring signals from the target region (paragraph 11).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAROUK A BRUCE/Examiner, Art Unit 3797