DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2026 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 03/20/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-15, 17-18, 20-22, 24, and 26-32 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-15, 17-18, 20-22, 24, and 26-32 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-15, 17-18, 20-22, 24, and 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen (US 2020/0315849, of record) in view of Knox (US 2018/0231696, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Rosen discloses an ophthalmic lens (Fig 1A) comprising: a lens body made of a transparent material having a lens material refractive index (see Fig 21; Para [0205]; a lens body with refractive index of n1), wherein the lens body comprises first sub-volumes of the lens body having a first distribution of refractive index variations relative to the lens material refractive index (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; an IOL, interocular lens, may have a first sub volume in an interior layer n2, wherein the interior layer may have power written variation as seen in Fig 12), wherein the first sub-volumes of the lens body form a first optical structure configured to provide a first refractive correction (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; an IOL may have a first sub volume in an interior layer n2, wherein the interior layer may have power written variation as seen in Fig 12), wherein the first optical structure is disposed within a first layer of the lens body and comprises a first elongated portion formed of a first contiguous sequence of the first sub-volumes disposed at depth modulated distances perpendicular to a mid-surface of the first layer so that the first elongated portion of the first optical structure comprises segments that extend through the mid-surface of the first layer (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section of refractive index n2 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially and has a thickness of 50-200microns).
Rosen does not disclose wherein the first optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a first adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the first optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the first adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer.
Rosen and Knox are related because both discloses ophthalmic lenses with multiple refractive indices.
Knox discloses an ophthalmic lens (see Fig 21) wherein the first optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a first adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the first optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the first adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer (see Fig 21; Para [0200]; Knox discloses a first optical structure 605-1 in contact with a first adjacent portion, which examiner interprets as a region surrounding element 605-1 composed of the material of 600 as seen in the annotated Fig 21 below; the first adjacent portion protrudes through the mid surface of the first layer as seen in said annotated Fig 21).
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Figure 21 of Knox discloses the first and second adjacent portions of the lens bodies together with mid-surface centerlines of each.)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with wherein the first optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a first adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the first optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the first adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer of Knox for the purpose of improving the capabilities of the lens to correct refractive error in situ (Para [0119]).
Regarding claim 2, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 1 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the segments of the first elongated portion extend at least 5 microns above and below the mid-surface of the first layer of the lens body (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section of refractive index n2 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially; with a thickness of 50microns a mid-surface extension would be of 25microns).
Regarding claim 4, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 2 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the segments of the first elongated portion of the first optical structure extend at least 20 microns above and below the mid-surface of the first layer of the lens body (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section of refractive index n2 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially; with a thickness of 50microns a mid-surface extension would be of 25microns).
Regarding claim 5, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 4 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein: the first optical structure comprises a second elongated portion formed of a second contiguous sequence of the first sub-volumes disposed at depth modulated distances perpendicular to a mid-surface of the first layer so that the second elongated portion comprises segments that extend through the mid-surface of the first layer; and the second elongated portion is separated from the first elongated portion by an intervening line spacing (see Fig 14; Para [0198]; the steps of the lens in Fig 14 may be divided between a first central portion till around the minimum at 1.4mm and a peripheral second elongated portion at 1.6 to edge of lens; a spacing of 0.2 exists between portions and structures extend vertically from a mid-thickness of the layer).
Regarding claim 7, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 4 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein each of the segments of the first elongated portion is substantially straight, and extends transverse to an adjoining segment of the segments of the first elongated portion extends (see Fig 4; Para [0109]; segments of the first portion may have straight portions as seen in Fig 4 that extend transverse to elongation direction).
Regarding claim 8, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 1. Rosen does not disclose wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens.
Knox discloses a methods of manufacturing lenses (see Fig 2) wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens (see Fig 21; Para [0003]; writable lens may be a contact lens).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens of Knox for the purpose of improving the easy of correction of an ophthalmic lens (see Para [0119])
Regarding claim 9, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 1 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises an intraocular lens (see Fig 1A; Para [0031]; ophthalmic lens is an intraocular lens).
Regarding claim 10, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 1 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the lens body further comprises second sub-volumes of the lens body having a second distribution of refractive index variations relative to the lens material refractive index (see Fig 21; Para [0202-0207]; a second distribution of refractive index may be in a lens 2110), wherein second sub-volumes of the lens body form a second optical structure configured to provide a second refractive correction (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; an IOL, interocular lens, may have a second sub volume in an interior layer 2110 of n4, wherein the interior layer may have power written variation as seen in Fig 12), wherein the second optical structure is disposed within a second layer of the lens body and comprises a first elongated portion formed of a contiguous sequence of the second sub-volumes of the lens body disposed at depth modulated distances perpendicular to a mid-surface of the second layer so that the first elongated portion of the second optical structure comprises segments that extend through the mid-surface of the second layer (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section 2110 of refractive index n4 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially and has a thickness of 50-200microns).
Rosen does not disclose wherein the second optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a second adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the second optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the second adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the second layer.
Knox further discloses an ophthalmic lens (see Fig 21) wherein the second optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a second adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the second optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the second adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the second layer (see Fig 21; Para [0200]; Knox discloses a first optical structure 605-2 in contact with a first adjacent portion, which examiner interprets as a region surrounding element 605-2 composed of the material of 600 as seen in the annotated Fig 21 below; the first adjacent portion protrudes through the mid surface of the first layer as seen in said annotated Fig 21).
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Figure 22 of Knox discloses the first and second adjacent portions of the lens bodies together with mid-surface centerlines of each.)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with wherein the second optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a second adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the second optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the second adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the second layer of Knox for the purpose of improving the capabilities of the lens to correct refractive error in situ (Para [0119]).
Regarding claim 11, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 10 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the mid-surface of the second layer is separated from the mid-surface of the first layer by at least 5 microns (see Fig 21; Para [0203]; depth of refractive layer may be for example 20 microns which is more than 5microns; since a layer is disposed between a first 2016 layer and a second 2110 layer).
Regarding claim 12, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 1 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the first sub-volumes that form the first elongated portion of the first optical structure are disposed at distances perpendicular to the mid-surface of the first layer that have a one-directionally modulated depth distribution (see Fig 21; Para [0202-0207]; examiner is interpreting this to mean that surface is modulated only in a x direction as seen in Fig 21).
Regarding claim 13, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the ophthalmic lens of claim 1(see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the first sub-volumes that form the first elongated portion of the first optical structure are disposed at distances perpendicular to the mid-surface of the first layer that have a concentrically modulated depth distribution (see Fig 21; Para [0202-0207]; the first sub volume 2106 depth is concentrically distributed as seen in Fig 21 in element 2104).
Regarding claim 14, Rosen discloses a method of inducing a distribution of refractive index variations within an ophthalmic lens (see Fig 1A), the method comprising: focusing a first sequence of laser pulses onto a sequence of first sub-volumes of a lens body having a lens material refractive index to induce changes in refractive indexes of the sequence of first sub-volumes to form a first optical structure within the lens body that provides a first refractive correction (see Fig 1A, 11, 12, and 21; Para [0044-0050; 0198, 0202-0206]; an IOL, interocular lens, may have a first sub volume 2106 in an interior layer n2, wherein the interior layer may have power written variation as seen in Fig 12), wherein the first sequence of laser pulses is scanned and a depth of focus of the first sequence of laser pulses is modulated so that the first optical structure is disposed within a first layer of the lens body and comprises an elongated portion formed of a contiguous sequence of the sequence of first sub- volumes (see Fig 1A, 11, 12, and 21; Para [0044-0050; 0198, 0202-0206]; an IOL, interocular lens, may have a first sub volume 2106 in an interior layer n2, wherein the interior layer may have power written variation which elongate laterally as seen in Fig 12) disposed at depth modulated distances perpendicular to a mid-surface of the first layer so that the elongated portion of the first optical structure comprises segments that extend through the mid-surface of the first layer (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section of refractive index n2 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially and has a thickness of 50-200microns that extend through an arbitrary mid surface).
Rosen does not disclose wherein the first optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a first adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the first optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the first adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer.
Rosen and Knox are related because both discloses ophthalmic lenses with multiple refractive indices.
Knox discloses an ophthalmic lens (see Fig 21) wherein the first optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a first adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the first optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the first adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer (see Fig 21; Para [0200]; Knox discloses a first optical structure 605-1 in contact with a first adjacent portion, which examiner interprets as a region surrounding element 605-1 composed of the material of 600 as seen in the annotated Fig 21 below; the first adjacent portion protrudes through the mid surface of the first layer as seen in said annotated Fig 21).
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Figure 23 of Knox discloses the first and second adjacent portions of the lens bodies together with mid-surface centerlines of each.)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with wherein the first optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a first adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the first optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the first adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer of Knox for the purpose of improving the capabilities of the lens to correct refractive error in situ (Para [0119]).
Regarding claim 15, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the method of claim 14 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the first sequence of laser pulses is scanned and the depth of focus of the first sequence of laser pulses is modulated so that the segments of the elongated portion of the first optical structure extend at least 5 microns above and below the mid-surface of the first layer of the lens body (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section of refractive index n2 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially; with a thickness of 50microns a mid-surface extension would be of 25microns).
Regarding claim 17, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the method of claim 15.
Rosen further discloses wherein the segments of the elongated portion of the first optical structure extend at least 20 microns above and below the mid-surface of the first layer of the lens body (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section of refractive index n2 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially; with a thickness of 50microns a mid-surface extension would be of 25microns).
Regarding claim 18, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the method of claim 17 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein: further comprising: focusing a second sequence of laser pulses onto a sequence of second sub-volumes of the lens body to induce changes in refractive indexes of the sequence of second sub- volumes (see Fig 21; Para [0202-0207]; a second distribution of refractive index may be in a lens 2110) to form a second optical structure within the lens body that provides a second refractive correction (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; an IOL, interocular lens, may have a second sub volume in an interior layer 2110 of n4, wherein the interior layer may have power written variation as seen in Fig 12), wherein the second sequence of laser pulses is scanned and a depth of focus of the second sequence of laser pulses is modulated so that the second optical structure is disposed within a second layer of the lens body and comprises an elongated portion formed of a contiguous sequence of the sequence of second sub-volumes disposed at depth modulated distances perpendicular to a mid-surface of the second layer so that the elongated portion of the second optical structure comprises segments that extend through the mid- surface of the second layer (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section 2110 of refractive index n4 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially and has a thickness of 50-200microns).
Rosen does not disclose wherein the second optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a second adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the second optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the second adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the second layer.
Knox further discloses an ophthalmic lens (see Fig 21) wherein the second optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a second adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the second optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the second adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the second layer (see Fig 21; Para [0200]; Knox discloses a first optical structure 605-2 in contact with a first adjacent portion, which examiner interprets as a region surrounding element 605-2 composed of the material of 600 as seen in the annotated Fig 21 below; the first adjacent portion protrudes through the mid surface of the first layer as seen in said annotated Fig 21).
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Figure 24 of Knox discloses the first and second adjacent portions of the lens bodies together with mid-surface centerlines of each.)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with wherein the second optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by a second adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the second optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the second adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the second layer of Knox for the purpose of improving the capabilities of the lens to correct refractive error in situ (Para [0119]).
Regarding claim 20, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the method of claim 14.
Rosen does not disclose wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens. Rosen and Knox are related because both discloses methods of manufacture lenses.
Knox discloses a methods of manufacturing lenses (see Fig 21) wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens (see Fig 21; Para [0003]; writable lens may be a contact lens).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens of Know for the purpose of improving the easy of correction of an ophthalmic lens (see Para [0119])
Regarding claim 21, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the method of claim 14 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises an intraocular lens (see Fig 1A; Para [0031]; ophthalmic lens is an intraocular lens).
Regarding claim 22, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the method of claim 21 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the first optical structure is formed with the intraocular lens in an implanted state within an eye of a patient (see Fig 1A; Para [0066]; ophthalmic lens is an intraocular lens that may be already implanted in a patient).
Regarding claim 24, Rosen discloses the method of claim 18 (see Fig 1A). Rosen further discloses wherein the mid-surface of the second layer is separated from the mid-surface of the first layer by at least 5 micros (see Fig 21; Para [0203]; depth of each refractive index layer may be of 20microns thus distance between layers 2106 and 2110 would be of 20 microns).
Regarding claim 26, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the method of claim 14 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the sequence of first sub-volumes are disposed at distances perpendicular to the mid-surface of the first layer that have a one-directionally modulated depth distribution (see Fig 21; Para [0202-0207]; examiner is interpreting this to mean that surface is modulated only in a x direction as seen in Fig 21).
Regarding claim 27, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the method of claim 14 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the sequence of first sub-volumes are disposed at distances perpendicular to the mid-surface of the first layer that have a concentrically modulated depth distribution (see Fig 21; Para [0202-0207]; the first sub volume 2106 depth is concentrically distributed as seen in Fig 21 in element 2104).
Regarding claim 28, Rosen discloses a system for inducing a distribution of refractive index variations within an ophthalmic lens (see Fig 2), the system comprising: a laser pulse source operable to generate a sequence of laser pulses, each of the sequence of laser pulses being configured to induce a change of refractive index of a sub- volume of a lens body of an ophthalmic lens when focused onto the sub-volume (see Fig 2; Para [0044-0050]; a laser system 202 is used to generate pulses configured to induce change of refractive index of a lens); a focusing assembly controllable to focus each respective laser pulse of the sequence of laser pulses onto a respective selected sub-volume of the ophthalmic lens having a lens material refractive index, wherein the respective selected sub-volume can be located at any selected depth of different depths within the ophthalmic lens and can be located at any selected transverse location within the ophthalmic lens in two dimensions (see Fig 2; Para [0047]; an optical relay unit 206 comprises focusing elements to deliver light where controller indicates; wherein lens contains a predetermined refractive index); and a control unit operatively coupled with the laser pulse source and the focusing assembly, wherein the control unit is configured to control operation of the focusing assembly to sequentially focus each of the sequence of laser pulses onto a respective sub- volume of a sequence of sub-volumes of the ophthalmic lens to form an optical structure within the ophthalmic lens (see Fig 2; Para [0044-0051]; a control system 204 is connected to the rest of the system and used to control the patterning of laser pulses), wherein the sequence of laser pulses is scanned and a depth of focus of the sequence of laser pulses is modulated so that the optical structure is disposed within a first layer of the lens body and comprises an elongated portion (see Fig 1A, 11, 12, and 21; Para [0044-0050; 0198, 0202-0206]; an IOL, interocular lens, may have a first sub volume 2106 in an interior layer n2, wherein the interior layer may have power written variation as seen in Fig 12) formed of a contiguous sequence of the selected sub-volumes disposed at depth modulated distances perpendicular to a mid-surface of the first layer so that the elongated portion of the optical structure comprises segments that extend through the mid-surface of the first layer (see Figs 11, 12, and 21; Para [0198, 0202-0206]; the IOL section of refractive index n2 may have a refractive variation as seen in Fig 12 which varies radially and has a thickness of 50-200microns that extend through an arbitrary mid surface).
Rosen does not disclose wherein the optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by an adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer.
Rosen and Knox are related because both discloses ophthalmic lenses with multiple refractive indices.
Knox discloses an ophthalmic lens (see Fig 21) wherein the optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by an adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer (see Fig 21; Para [0200]; Knox discloses a first optical structure 605-1 in contact with a first adjacent portion, which examiner interprets as a region surrounding element 605-1 composed of the material of 600 as seen in the annotated Fig 21 below; the first adjacent portion protrudes through the mid surface of the first layer as seen in said annotated Fig 21).
[AltContent: textbox (Annotated Figure 25 of Knox discloses the first and second adjacent portions of the lens bodies together with mid-surface centerlines of each.)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with wherein the optical structure is in contact with an enclosed by an adjacent portion of the lens body that is not part of the optical structure and has the lens material refractive index and wherein the adjacent portion of the lens body comprises regions that protrude through the mid-surface of the first layer of Knox for the purpose of improving the capabilities of the lens to correct refractive error in situ (Para [0119]).
Regarding claim 29, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the system of claim 28.
Rosen does not disclose further comprising an interface assembly configured to restrain a position and an orientation of an ophthalmic lens relative to the focusing assembly. Rosen and Knox are related because both discloses systems of manufacture lenses.
Knox discloses a system of manufacturing lenses (see Fig 21) further comprising an interface assembly configured to restrain a position and an orientation of an ophthalmic lens relative to the focusing assembly (see Fig 7; Para [0132-0137]; interface assembly configured to restraint sample/lens to focusing assembly as seen in Fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with further comprising an interface assembly configured to restrain a position and an orientation of an ophthalmic lens relative to the focusing assembly of Know for the purpose of improving the easy of correction of an ophthalmic lens (see Para [0119])
Regarding claim 30, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the system of claim 28.
Rosen does not disclose wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens. Rosen and Knox are related because both discloses systems of manufacture lenses.
Knox discloses a system of manufacturing lenses (see Fig 21) wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens (see Fig 21; Para [0003]; writable lens may be a contact lens).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rosen with wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises a contact lens of Know for the purpose of improving the easy of correction of an ophthalmic lens (see Para [0119])
Regarding claim 31, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the system of claim 28 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses wherein the ophthalmic lens comprises an intraocular lens (see Fig 1A; Para [0031]; ophthalmic lens is an intraocular lens).
Regarding claim 32, Rosen in view of Knox discloses the system of claim 31 (see Fig 1A).
Rosen further discloses configured to form the optical structure with the intraocular lens in an implanted state within an eye of a patient (see Fig 1A; Para [0066]; ophthalmic lens is an intraocular lens that may be already implanted in a patient).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872