DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 23-26, 28, 30-33, 35, 37-39, 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen et al. (US# 2023/0133904 hereinafter referred to as Turtinen) in view of Wu (US# 2019/0045571).
RE Claim 21, Turtinen discloses a method applied for a reduced capability (REDCAP) user equipment (UE) or a process of the REDCAP UE See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – REDCAP UEs), the method comprising:
receiving a system information block 1 (SIB1) (See Turtinen [0033]) and random access channel (RACH) configuration information from a network device, wherein the RACH configuration information indicates M RACH resource sets (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0038] – UE receiving RACH resource configuration), the M RACH resource sets correspond to N terminal types, the N terminal types are associated with at least one of bandwidth types or random access types of terminals, and M and N are positive integers (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0040] – different RACH resource sets corresponding to legacy or REDCAP UE types (i.e. bandwidth types)), wherein the SIB1 further configures at least one uplink (UL) initial BWP corresponding to the N terminal types (See Turtinen [0033] – initial UL BWP configured by SIB1 for the different terminal types); and
determining, based on the RACH configuration information, a RACH resource set to send a random access request to a network device, wherein a bandwidth type of a terminal belongs to the bandwidth types (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0041], [0043] – determining RACH resources to use by UE based on RACH resource configuration to perform random access procedure), wherein the random access request is carried in message1 (Msg1) or messageA (MsgA), and the Msg1 or MsgA indicates the bandwidth type or terminal type of the terminal (See Turtinen [0045] - the UE may indicate, in a message A (MsgA), its inability to support the configured initial BWP BW, may indicate to be a REDCAP NR UE, or may indicate their maximum supported BW).
Turtinen does not specifically disclose receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information.
However, Wu teaches of receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information (See Wu [0061] – UE receiving SIB1 on first DL BWP; SIB1 comprising RACH configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, comprising receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information, as taught in Wu. One is motivated as such in order to better handle radio link communication and radio link failure (See Wu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 23, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 21 above, wherein the RACH configuration information further indicates a first RACH configuration or a second RACH configuration (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – receiving RACH configuration),
wherein the first RACH configuration is that the M RACH resource sets correspond to the N terminal types, M is less than N, and M is equal to 1 (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – i.e. 2 terminal types (legacy, REDCAP), 1 RACH resource set (i.e. common resource set)); and
the second RACH configuration is that the M RACH resource sets correspond to the N terminal types, M is equal to N, and M is greater than 1 (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – i.e. 2 terminal types (legacy, REDCAP), 2 RACH resource sets, initial resource set and reduced resource set (reduced resource set can be configured separately from initial resource set)).
RE Claim 25, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 21 above, wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_legacy (See Turtinen [0036]-[0040] – REDCAP UE and legacy UE) correspond to a same UL initial BWP (See Turtinen [0032], [0036] – legacy and REDCAP UE bandwidth correspond to same initial BWP).
RE Claim 26, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 25 above, wherein the same UL initial BWP is for communicating random access requests on a first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH and a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_REDCAP type2 and 4-step RACH (See Turtinen [0038]-[0044] – 4-step RACH for both legacy/REDCAP associated UEs); or
the same UL initial BWP is for communicating random access requests on a second RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_REDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH and on a third RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH.
RE Claim 28, Turtinen discloses a communication apparatus in a reduced capability (REDCAP) user equipment (UE), comprising one or more processors (See Turtinen FIGs 4a, 4b) in communication with a non-transitory medium storing computer instructions (See Turtinen FIGs 4a, 4b), wherein the computer instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the communication apparatus to:
receive a system information block 1 (SIB1) (See Turtinen [0033]) and random access channel (RACH) configuration information, wherein the RACH configuration information indicates M RACH resource sets (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0038] – UE receiving RACH resource configuration), the M RACH resource sets correspond to N terminal types, the N terminal types are associated with bandwidth types or random access types of terminals, and M and N are positive integers (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0040] – different RACH resource sets corresponding to legacy or REDCAP UE types (i.e. bandwidth types)), wherein the SIB1 further configures at least one uplink (UL) initial BWP corresponding to the N terminal types (See Turtinen [0033] – initial UL BWP configured by SIB1 for the different terminal types); and
determine, based on the RACH configuration information, a RACH resource set to be used by a terminal to send a random access request to a network device, wherein a bandwidth type of the terminal belongs to the bandwidth types (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0041], [0043] – determining RACH resources to use by UE based on RACH resource configuration to perform random access procedure), wherein the random access request is carried in message1 (Msg1) or messageA (MsgA), and the Msg1 or MsgA indicates the bandwidth type or terminal type of the communication apparatus (See Turtinen [0045] - the UE may indicate, in a message A (MsgA), its inability to support the configured initial BWP BW, may indicate to be a REDCAP NR UE, or may indicate their maximum supported BW).
Turtinen does not specifically disclose receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information.
However, Wu teaches of receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information (See Wu [0061] – UE receiving SIB1 on first DL BWP; SIB1 comprising RACH configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, comprising receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information, as taught in Wu. One is motivated as such in order to better handle radio link communication and radio link failure (See Wu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 30, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a communication apparatus, as set forth in claim 28 above, wherein the RACH configuration information further indicates a first RACH configuration or a second RACH configuration (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – receiving RACH configuration),
and the first RACH configuration is that the M RACH resource sets correspond to the N terminal types, M is less than N, and M is equal to 1 (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – i.e. 2 terminal types (legacy, REDCAP), 1 RACH resource set (i.e. common resource set));
the second RACH configuration is that the M RACH resource sets correspond to the N terminal types, M is equal to N, and M is greater than 1 (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – i.e. 2 terminal types (legacy, REDCAP), 2 RACH resource sets, initial resource set and reduced resource set (reduced resource set can be configured separately from initial resource set)).
RE Claim 32, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a communication apparatus, as set forth in claim 28 above, wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_legacy (See Turtinen [0036]-[0040] – REDCAP UE and legacy UE) correspond to a same UL initial BWP (See Turtinen [0032], [0036] – legacy and REDCAP UE bandwidth correspond to same initial BWP).
RE Claim 33, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a communication apparatus, as set forth in claim 32 above, wherein the same UL initial BWP is for communicating random access requests on a first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH and a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_REDCAP type2 and 4-step RACH (See Turtinen [0038]-[0044] – 4-step RACH for both legacy/REDCAP associated UEs); or
the same UL initial BWP is for communicating random access requests on a second RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_REDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH and on a third RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH.
RE Claim 35, Turtinen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising executable instructions, wherein the executable instructions, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to:
receive a system information block 1 (SIB1) (See Turtinen [0033]) and random access channel (RACH) configuration information, wherein the RACH configuration information indicates M RACH resource sets (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0038] – UE receiving RACH resource configuration), the M RACH resource sets correspond to N terminal types, the N terminal types are associated with at least one of bandwidth types or random access types of terminals, and M and N are positive integers (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0040] – different RACH resource sets corresponding to legacy or REDCAP UE types (i.e. bandwidth types)), and wherein the SIB1 further configures at least one uplink (UL) initial BWP corresponding to the N terminal types (See Turtinen [0033] – initial UL BWP configured by SIB1 for the different terminal types); and
determine, based on the RACH configuration information, a RACH resource set to send a random access request to a network device, wherein a bandwidth type of the terminal belongs to the bandwidth types (See Turtinen FIG 1; [0036]-[0041], [0043] – determining RACH resources to use by UE based on RACH resource configuration to perform random access procedure), wherein the random access request is carried in message1 (Msg1) or messageA (MsgA), and the Msg1 or MsgA indicates the bandwidth type or terminal type of the terminal (See Turtinen [0045] - the UE may indicate, in a message A (MsgA), its inability to support the configured initial BWP BW, may indicate to be a REDCAP NR UE, or may indicate their maximum supported BW).
Turtinen does not specifically disclose receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information.
However, Wu teaches of receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information (See Wu [0061] – UE receiving SIB1 on first DL BWP; SIB1 comprising RACH configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, comprising receiving the SIB1 on a downlink initial bandwidth part (DL initial BWP), wherein the SIB1 comprises RACH configuration information, as taught in Wu. One is motivated as such in order to better handle radio link communication and radio link failure (See Wu Background; Summary).
RE Claim 37, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, as set forth in claim 35 above, wherein the RACH configuration information further indicates one of a first RACH configuration or a second RACH configuration (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – receiving RACH configuration),
wherein the first RACH configuration is that the M RACH resource sets correspond to the N terminal types, M is less than N, and M is equal to 1 (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – i.e. 2 terminal types (legacy, REDCAP), 1 RACH resource set (i.e. common resource set));
the second RACH configuration is that the M RACH resource sets correspond to the N terminal types, M is equal to N, and M is greater than 1 (See Turtinen [0038], [0042]-[0043] – i.e. 2 terminal types (legacy, REDCAP), 2 RACH resource sets, initial resource set and reduced resource set (reduced resource set can be configured separately from initial resource set)).
RE Claim 39, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, as set forth in claim 35 above, wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_legacy (See Turtinen [0036]-[0040] – REDCAP UE and legacy UE) correspond to a same UL initial BWP (See Turtinen [0032], [0036] – legacy and REDCAP UE bandwidth correspond to same initial BWP).
RE Claim 43, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 22 above, wherein:
a PRACH resource of Msg1 indicates the bandwidth type of the terminal or the terminal type of the terminal; or
a PRACH resource of MsgA or a PUSCH of MsgA indicates the bandwidth type of the terminal or the terminal type of the terminal (See Turtinen [0045] - The UE may determine which 2-step RACH resources it is allowed to use by checking which of the PRACH occasions and associated PUSCH occasions fall within the BW of CORESET #0 or within the configured reduced UL BW. Similar to the above indication in Msg3, the UE may indicate, in a message A (MsgA), its inability to support the configured initial BWP BW, may indicate to be a REDCAP NR UE, or may indicate their maximum supported BW).
RE Claim 44, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a communication apparatus, as set forth in claim 28 above, wherein
a PRACH resource of Msg1 indicates the bandwidth type of the terminal or the terminal type of the terminal; or
a PRACH resource of MsgA or a PUSCH of MsgA indicates the bandwidth type of the terminal or the terminal type of the terminal (See Turtinen [0045] - The UE may determine which 2-step RACH resources it is allowed to use by checking which of the PRACH occasions and associated PUSCH occasions fall within the BW of CORESET #0 or within the configured reduced UL BW. Similar to the above indication in Msg3, the UE may indicate, in a message A (MsgA), its inability to support the configured initial BWP BW, may indicate to be a REDCAP NR UE, or may indicate their maximum supported BW).
Claims 22, 29, 36, 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen et al. (US# 2023/0133904 hereinafter referred to as Turtinen) in view of Wu (US# 2019/0045571), Wang et al. (US# 2022/0377705 hereinafter referred to as Wang) and Takeda et al. (US# 2019/0281539 hereinafter referred to as Takeda).
RE Claim 22, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 21 above, wherein the bandwidth type of the terminal is NR-legacy or NR_REDCAP type 2 (See Turtinen [0036]-[0040] – REDCAP UE or legacy UE), a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20 MHz (See Turtinen [0033] – REDCAP UE bandwidth 20 MHz); and
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, and a frequency domain resource (See Turtinen [0007], [0012], [0041]).
Turtinen does not specifically disclose wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz; or
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (emphasis added).
However, Wang teaches of wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz (See Wang [0008] – NR UEs support 100 MHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, modified by Wu, wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz, as taught in Wang. One is motivated as such in order to adhere to NR specifications (See Wang Background; Summary).
Turtinen, modified by Wang, does not specifically disclose
Wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz; or
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (emphasis added).
However, Takeda teaches of
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (See Takeda [0069] – RACH resource defined in terms of time, frequency, and orthogonal code sequence), and
Any two different RACH resource sets in the M RACH resource sets are different in one or more of the frequency domain resource, the time domain resource, or the orthogonal code sequence resource (See Takeda [0069] – monitoring for different RACH resource target region depends on RACH resource region/information in terms of time, frequency, and orthogonal code sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, modified by Wu and Wang, wherein each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH, and
Any two different RACH resource sets in the M RACH resource sets are different in one or more of the frequency domain resource, the time domain resource, or the orthogonal code sequence resource, as taught in Takeda. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication using proper search space (See Takeda [0007]-[0012]).
Turtinen, modified by Wu, Wang, and Takeda, does not specifically disclose
Wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz.
However, since Turtinen teaches that a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20 MHz and Wang teaches wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz, having the UEs only support a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz and 100 MHz, respectively, would have been obvious as directed to removal of an element and its function if the function of the element is not desired (Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989)). That is, the UEs in Turtinen and Wang support more bandwidths other than 20 MHz and 100 MHz, respectively, and removing the support for other bandwidths such that only 20 MHz and 100 MHz are supported (i.e. maximum), respectively, would be removal of the support for other bandwidths.
RE Claim 29, Turtinen discloses a communication apparatus, as set forth in claim 28 above, wherein the bandwidth type of the terminal is NR-legacy or NR_REDCAP type 2 (See Turtinen [0036]-[0040] – REDCAP UE or legacy UE), a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20 MHz (See Turtinen [0033] – REDCAP UE bandwidth 20 MHz); and
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, and a frequency domain resource (See Turtinen [0007], [0012], [0041]).
Turtinen does not specifically disclose wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz; or
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (emphasis added).
However, Wang teaches of wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz (See Wang [0008] – NR UEs support 100 MHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, modified by Wu, wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz, as taught in Wang. One is motivated as such in order to adhere to NR specifications (See Wang Background; Summary).
Turtinen, modified by Wang, does not specifically disclose
Wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz; or
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (emphasis added).
However, Takeda teaches of
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (See Takeda [0069] – RACH resource defined in terms of time, frequency, and orthogonal code sequence), and
Any two different RACH resource sets in the M RACH resource sets are different in one or more of the frequency domain resource, the time domain resource, or the orthogonal code sequence resource (See Takeda [0069] – monitoring for different RACH resource target region depends on RACH resource region/information in terms of time, frequency, and orthogonal code sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, modified by Wu and Wang, wherein each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH, and
Any two different RACH resource sets in the M RACH resource sets are different in one or more of the frequency domain resource, the time domain resource, or the orthogonal code sequence resource, as taught in Takeda. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication using proper search space (See Takeda [0007]-[0012]).
Turtinen, modified by Wu, Wang, and Takeda, does not specifically disclose
Wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz.
However, since Turtinen teaches that a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20 MHz and Wang teaches wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz, having the UEs only support a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz and 100 MHz, respectively, would have been obvious as directed to removal of an element and its function if the function of the element is not desired (Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989)). That is, the UEs in Turtinen and Wang support more bandwidths other than 20 MHz and 100 MHz, respectively, and removing the support for other bandwidths such that only 20 MHz and 100 MHz are supported (i.e. maximum), respectively, would be removal of the support for other bandwidths.
RE Claim 36, Turtinen discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, as set forth in claim 35 above, wherein the bandwidth type of the terminal is NR-legacy or NR_REDCAP type 2 (See Turtinen [0036]-[0040] – REDCAP UE or legacy UE), a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20 MHz (See Turtinen [0033] – REDCAP UE bandwidth 20 MHz); and
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, and a frequency domain resource (See Turtinen [0007], [0012], [0041]).
Turtinen does not specifically disclose wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz; or
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (emphasis added).
However, Wang teaches of wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz (See Wang [0008] – NR UEs support 100 MHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, modified by Wu, wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz, as taught in Wang. One is motivated as such in order to adhere to NR specifications (See Wang Background; Summary).
Turtinen, modified by Wang, does not specifically disclose
Wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz; or
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (emphasis added).
However, Takeda teaches of
Each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH (See Takeda [0069] – RACH resource defined in terms of time, frequency, and orthogonal code sequence), and
Any two different RACH resource sets in the M RACH resource sets are different in one or more of the frequency domain resource, the time domain resource, or the orthogonal code sequence resource (See Takeda [0069] – monitoring for different RACH resource target region depends on RACH resource region/information in terms of time, frequency, and orthogonal code sequence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, modified by Wu and Wang, wherein each set of the M RACH resource sets includes a combination of a time domain resource, a frequency domain resource, and an orthogonal code sequence resource of a RACH, and
Any two different RACH resource sets in the M RACH resource sets are different in one or more of the frequency domain resource, the time domain resource, or the orthogonal code sequence resource, as taught in Takeda. One is motivated as such in order to improve communication using proper search space (See Takeda [0007]-[0012]).
Turtinen, modified by Wu, Wang, and Takeda, does not specifically disclose
Wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz; or
wherein a maximum bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20MHz.
However, since Turtinen teaches that a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type 2 supports is 20 MHz and Wang teaches wherein a bandwidth that a terminal of bandwidth type NR_Legacy supports is 100 MHz, having the UEs only support a maximum bandwidth of 20 MHz and 100 MHz, respectively, would have been obvious as directed to removal of an element and its function if the function of the element is not desired (Ex parte Wu, 10 USPQ 2031 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989)). That is, the UEs in Turtinen and Wang support more bandwidths other than 20 MHz and 100 MHz, respectively, and removing the support for other bandwidths such that only 20 MHz and 100 MHz are supported (i.e. maximum), respectively, would be removal of the support for other bandwidths.
RE Claim 42, Turtinen, modified by Wu, Wang, and Takeda, discloses a method, a set forth in claim 22 above, wherein any two different RACH resource sets in the M RACH resource sets are different in one or more of the frequency domain resource, the time domain resource, or the orthogonal code sequence resource (See Takeda [0069] – monitoring for different RACH resource target region depends on RACH resource region/information in terms of time, frequency, and orthogonal code sequence).
Claims 27, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turtinen et al. (US# 2023/0133904 hereinafter referred to as Turtinen) in view of Wu (US# 2019/0045571), and Molavianjazi et al. (US# 2021/0058971 hereinafter referred to as Molavianjazi).
RE Claim 27, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 21 above. Turtinen, modified by Wu, does not specifically disclose wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 corresponds to a second UL initial BWP, and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR legacy corresponds to a third UL initial BWP, and wherein
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on the first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH; or
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a second RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a third RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH.
However, Molavianjazi teaches of wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 corresponds to a second UL initial BWP, and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR legacy corresponds to a third UL initial BWP (See Molavianjazi [0276] – first and second BWPs (initial BWP) for legacy terminals and REDCAP terminals, respectively), and wherein
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on the first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH (See Molavianjazi [0075], [0213], [0245], [0259], [0275]-[0276] – different type terminals communicating RA request on RACH resources using 4-step RACH which can be same RACH resources (RACH resource repetition)); or
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a second RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a third RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_REDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH (See Molavianjazi [0075], [0213], [0245], [0259], [0275]-[0276] – different type terminals communicating RA request on RACH resources using 4-step RACH which can be different RACH resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, modified by Wu, wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 corresponds to a second UL initial BWP, and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR legacy corresponds to a third UL initial BWP, and wherein
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on the first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH; or
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a second RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a third RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH, as taught in Molavianjazi. One is motivated as such in order to enhance PRACH transmissions (See Molavianjazi Background; Summary).
RE Claim 34, Turtinen, modified by Wu, discloses a communication apparatus, as set forth in claim 28 above. Turtinen, modified by Wu, does not specifically disclose wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 corresponds to a second UL initial BWP, and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR legacy corresponds to a third UL initial BWP, and wherein
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on the first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH; or
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a second RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a third RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH.
However, Molavianjazi teaches of wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 corresponds to a second UL initial BWP, and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR legacy corresponds to a third UL initial BWP (See Molavianjazi [0276] – first and second BWPs (initial BWP) for legacy terminals and REDCAP terminals, respectively), and wherein
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on the first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH (See Molavianjazi [0075], [0213], [0245], [0259], [0275]-[0276] – different type terminals communicating RA request on RACH resources using 4-step RACH which can be same RACH resources (RACH resource repetition)); or
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a second RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a third RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_REDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH (See Molavianjazi [0075], [0213], [0245], [0259], [0275]-[0276] – different type terminals communicating RA request on RACH resources using 4-step RACH which can be different RACH resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH configuration system, as disclosed in Turtinen, modified by Wu, wherein a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR_REDCAP type2 corresponds to a second UL initial BWP, and a terminal type associated with a bandwidth type NR legacy corresponds to a third UL initial BWP, and wherein
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on the first RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH; or
the second UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a second RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NR_legacy and 4-step RACH, and the third UL initial BWP is for communicating a random access request on a third RACH resource set by a terminal of a terminal type associated with NRREDCAP type2 and 4- step RACH, as taught in Molavianjazi. One is motivated as such in order to enhance PRACH transmissions (See Molavianjazi Background; Summary).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant's argument that the cited references do not teach “wherein the random access request is carried in message1 (Msg1) or messageA (MsgA), and the Msg1 or MsgA indicates the bandwidth type or terminal type of the terminal” the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Turtinen teaches wherein the random access request is carried in message1 (Msg1) or messageA (MsgA), and the Msg1 or MsgA indicates the bandwidth type or terminal type of the terminal (See Turtinen [0045] - the UE may indicate, in a message A (MsgA), its inability to support the configured initial BWP BW, may indicate to be a REDCAP NR UE, or may indicate their maximum supported BW) (emphasis added).
Conclusion
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477