DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 9/25/2025 for
response of the office action mailed on 6/26/2025. Claims 4, 10-11, 18, and 22-23 have been canceled. Claims 1, 7, and 16 have been amended. Claims 24-26 have been added. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 12-17, 19-21, and 24-26 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 7-9), filed on 9/25/2025, with respect to claim 1, 7, and 16 have
been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (Wu et al. US 2023/0106809 Al) is applied in the current rejection.
Regarding remarks in page 7 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Wu fails to disclose that the RLF notification includes the N BAP routing identifiers, and that rerouting is based on these included N BAP routing identifiers.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. ISHII (US 2023/0089657 A1) discloses (IAB-node may receive a notification representing the radio condition of the upstream radio link. The IAB-donor node that receives the report message may initiate reconfiguration for updated topology and/or routing of the relay network accordingly. backhaul RLF indication including identifications of one or more cells is used by the one or more child nodes to trigger a re-establishment procedure. the node serving cell information is transmitted by a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) signaling, Ishii: [0180], [0313], [0315],[0388]-[0398]. The method may further include generating, by the MT of the communication device, a BAP control element including the congestion indication. Transmitting the congestion indication to the first parent node may include transmitting, by the MT of the communication device, the BAP control element to the first parent node. the communication device 320C may transmit a congestion indication to its parent node(s) (e.g., communication device 320A) via a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) signaling message when it is determined that the congestion happens at the communication device 320C. BAP control element may include channel ID of the concerned ingress RLC channel, Wu_ 2023: [0008], [0084], [0097]-[0103]).
Regarding remarks in page 8 for dependent claim 12, applicant asserts that the undersigned notes that the analysis of claim 12 on page 8 of the instant Office Action appears to be directed to some other claim, as the analyzed language is substantially different than claim 12 as previously presented.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. Wu et al. (US 2022/0408308 A1) discloses (Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs on the backhaul link between donor node and IAB node may establish a link to another donor node. BAP entities located at different IAB nodes have different addresses and used to identify a unique IAB node, Wu: [0027]-[0028], [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 6-7, 12-13, 15-16, 20 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by
ISHII (US 2023/0089657 A1, hereinafter “Ishii”) in view of Wu et al. (US 2022/0408308 A1, hereinafter “Wu”) and in further view of Wu et al. (US 2023/0106809 Al, hereinafter “Wu_2023”).
Regarding claim 1, Ishii discloses:
A communication method, comprising:
receiving, by a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, a radio link failure (RLF) notification from a second IAB node, wherein the first IAB node is a child node of the second IAB node and the second IAB node is a parent node of the first IAB node (reception of the Upstream RLF notifications from a parent node, Ishii: [0151]); and
wherein the RLF notification includes the N BAP routing identifiers (IAB-node may receive a notification representing the radio condition of the upstream radio link. The IAB-donor node that receives the report message may initiate reconfiguration for updated topology and/or routing of the relay network accordingly. backhaul RLF indication including identifications of one or more cells is used by the one or more child nodes to trigger a re-establishment procedure. the node serving cell information is transmitted by a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) signaling, Ishii: [0180], [0313], [0315], [0388]-[0398]),
rerouting, by the first IAB node, based on the RLF notification, uplink data that corresponds to the N BAP routing identifiers (backhaul RLF indication including identifications of one or more cells is used by the one or more child nodes to trigger a re-establishment procedure based on the BAP signaling, Ishii: [0290], [0313], [0315], [0388]-[0398]).
Ishii does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the RLF notification indicates that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers,
wherein a routing path that corresponds to each of the BAP routing identifiers includes the wireless backhaul link on which the RLF occurs, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
wherein the RLF notification indicates that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers (Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs on the backhaul link between donor node and IAB node, IAB node may establish a link to another donor node. the identifier for identifying the parent node may be a backhaul adaption protocol (BAP) entity address for the parent node. BAP entities located at different IAB nodes have different addresses and used to identify a unique IAB node, Wu: [0027]-[0028], [0066]),
wherein a routing path that corresponds to each of the BAP routing identifiers includes the wireless backhaul link on which the RLF occurs, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (for a RLC channel between IAB node and IAB node, there are another pair of BAP entities located at IAB node and IAB node, respectively. BAP entities located at different nodes have different addresses. Thus, a BAP entity address may be used to identify a unique child node of an IAB node, regardless of whether it is a UE or another IAB node, Wu: [0074]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii in view of Wu in order to further modify indicating RLF notification that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers from the teachings of Wu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be improving the flow control (Wu: [0004]).
Yet, Ishii and Wu do not explicitly disclose:
the inclusion of the N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states in buffers corresponding to the N BAP routing identifiers; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu_2023 teaches:
the inclusion of the N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states in buffers corresponding to the N BAP routing identifiers (The method may further include generating, by the MT of the communication device, a BAP control element including the congestion indication. Transmitting the congestion indication to the first parent node may include transmitting, by the MT of the communication device, the BAP control element to the first parent node. the communication device 320C may transmit a congestion indication to its parent node(s) (e.g., communication device 320A) via a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) signaling message when it is determined that the congestion happens at the communication device 320C. BAP control element may include channel ID of the concerned ingress RLC channel, Wu_ 2023: [0008], [0084], [0097]-[0103]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii and Wu in view of Wu_2023 in order to further modify N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states from the teachings of Wu_2023.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because improved methods for flow control are required for a wireless communication system to support multi-hop backhauling and multi-connectivity (Wu_2023: [0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ishii further discloses:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
selecting, by a media access control (MAC) layer of the first IAB node, when assembling an uplink data packet, a logical channel (LCH) that corresponds to a BAP routing identifier other than the N BAP routing identifiers (re-establishment indication may be carried by a MAC Control Element and BAP layer signaling, Ishii: [0284]).
Regarding claim 7, Ishii discloses:
A communication apparatus, which is a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node or included in the first IAB node, comprising (child node that communicates with an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, Ishii: [0315]):
one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are coupled to a memory (include addressable memory in electronic communication with a processor, Ishii: [0104]); and
the memory, configured to store a computer program, wherein one or more the processors are configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising (instructions may be stored in the memory and are executable to process received packets and/or transmit, Ishii: [0104]):
receiving a radio link failure (RLF) notification from a second IAB node, wherein the first IAB node is a child node of the second IAB node and the second IAB node is a parent node of the first IAB node (reception of the notifications from a parent node of Upstream RLF notification, Ishii: [0151]); and
wherein the RLF notification includes the N BAP routing identifiers (IAB-node may receive a notification representing the radio condition of the upstream radio link. The IAB-donor node that receives the report message may initiate reconfiguration for updated topology and/or routing of the relay network accordingly. backhaul RLF indication including identifications of one or more cells is used by the one or more child nodes to trigger a re-establishment procedure. the node serving cell information is transmitted by a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) signaling, Ishii: [0180], [0313], [0315], [0388]-[0398]),
rerouting, based on the RLF notification, uplink data that corresponds to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 node (backhaul RLF indication including identifications of one or more cells is used by the one or more child nodes to trigger a re-establishment procedure, Ishii: [0313], [0315], [0388]-[0398]).
Ishii does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the RLF notification indicates that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers,
and wherein a routing path that corresponds to each of the BAP routing identifiers includes the wireless backhaul link on which the RLF occurs, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
wherein the RLF notification indicates that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers (Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs on the backhaul link between donor node and IAB node, IAB node may establish a link to another donor node. the identifier for identifying the parent node may be a backhaul adaption protocol (BAP) entity address for the parent node. BAP entities located at different IAB nodes have different addresses and used to identify a unique IAB node, Wu: [0027]-[0028], [0066]),
and wherein a routing path that corresponds to each of the BAP routing identifiers includes the wireless backhaul link on which the RLF occurs, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (for a RLC channel between IAB node and IAB node, there are another pair of BAP entities located at IAB node and IAB node, respectively. BAP entities located at different nodes have different addresses. Thus, a BAP entity address may be used to identify a unique child node of an IAB node, regardless of whether it is a UE or another IAB node, Wu: [0074]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii in view of Wu in order to further modify indicating RLF notification that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers from the teachings of Wu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be improving the flow control (Wu: [0004]).
Yet, Ishii and Wu do not explicitly disclose:
the inclusion of the N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states in buffers corresponding to the N BAP routing identifiers; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu_2023 teaches:
the inclusion of the N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states in buffers corresponding to the N BAP routing identifiers (The method may further include generating, by the MT of the communication device, a BAP control element including the congestion indication. Transmitting the congestion indication to the first parent node may include transmitting, by the MT of the communication device, the BAP control element to the first parent node. the communication device 320C may transmit a congestion indication to its parent node(s) (e.g., communication device 320A) via a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) signaling message when it is determined that the congestion happens at the communication device 320C. BAP control element may include channel ID of the concerned ingress RLC channel, Wu_ 2023: [0008], [0084], [0097]-[0103]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii and Wu in view of Wu_2023 in order to further modify N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states from the teachings of Wu_2023.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because improved methods for flow control are required for a wireless communication system to support multi-hop backhauling and multi-connectivity (Wu_2023: [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Ishii-Wu_2023 does not explicitly disclose:
the RLF notification indicates that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to the N BAP routing identifiers, and wherein a routing path that corresponds to one BAP routing identifier of the N BAP routing identifiers includes a wireless backhaul link on which the RLF occurs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
the RLF notification indicates that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to the N BAP routing identifiers, and wherein a routing path that corresponds to one BAP routing identifier of the N BAP routing identifiers includes a wireless backhaul link on which the RLF occurs (Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs on the backhaul link between donor node and IAB node may establish a link to another donor node. BAP entities located at different IAB nodes have different addresses and used to identify a unique IAB node, Wu: [0027]-[0028], [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii and Wu_2023 in view of Wu in order to further modify RLF notification from the teachings of Wu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be improving the flow control (Wu: [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Ishii further discloses:
the RLF notification carries related information about the link between the second IAB node and the parent node of the second IAB node (RLF indication indicates the IAB node fails to recover and performs a re-establishment procedure, Ishii: [0444]).
Regarding claim 15, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Ishii further discloses:
The apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise:
selecting, when assembling an uplink data packet, a logical channel (LCH) that corresponds to a BAP routing identifier other than the N BAP routing identifiers node (re-establishment indication may be carried by MAC Control Element and BAP layer signaling, Ishii: [0284]).
Regarding claim 16, Ishii discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a computer programs for execution by one or more processors of a first integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node, the computer program including instructions to (include addressable memory in electronic communication with a processor, Ishii: [0104]):
receive a radio link failure (RLF) notification from a second IAB node, wherein the first IAB node is a child node of the second IAB node and the second IAB node is a parent node of the first IAB node (reception of the notifications from a parent node, such as Upstream RLF notification, Ishii: [0151]); and
wherein the RLF notification includes the N BAP routing identifiers (IAB-node may receive a notification representing the radio condition of the upstream radio link. The IAB-donor node that receives the report message may initiate reconfiguration for updated topology and/or routing of the relay network accordingly. backhaul RLF indication including identifications of one or more cells is used by the one or more child nodes to trigger a re-establishment procedure. the node serving cell information is transmitted by a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) signaling, Ishii: [0180], [0313], [0315], [0388]-[0398]),
reroute, based on the RLF notification, uplink data that corresponds to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (backhaul RLF indication including identifications of one or more cells is used by the one or more child nodes to trigger a re-establishment procedure, Ishii: [0313], [0315], [0388]-[0391]).
Ishii does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the RLF notification indicates that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers,
and wherein a routing path that corresponds to each of the BAP routing identifiers includes the wireless backhaul link on which the RLF occurs, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
wherein the RLF notification indicates that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers (Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs on the backhaul link between donor node and IAB node, IAB node may establish a link to another donor node. the identifier for identifying the parent node may be a backhaul adaption protocol (BAP) entity address for the parent node. BAP entities located at different IAB nodes have different addresses and used to identify a unique IAB node, Wu: [0027]-[0028], [0066]),
and wherein a routing path that corresponds to each of the BAP routing identifiers includes the wireless backhaul link on which the RLF occurs, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (for a RLC channel between IAB node and IAB node, there are another pair of BAP entities located at IAB node and IAB node, respectively. BAP entities located at different nodes have different addresses. Thus, a BAP entity address may be used to identify a unique child node of an IAB node, regardless of whether it is a UE or another IAB node, Wu: [0074]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii in view of Wu in order to further modify indicating RLF notification that the RLF occurs on wireless backhaul links that correspond to N backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) routing identifiers from the teachings of Wu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be improving the flow control (Wu: [0004]).
Yet, Ishii and Wu do not explicitly disclose:
the inclusion of the N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states in buffers corresponding to the N BAP routing identifiers; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu_2023 teaches:
the inclusion of the N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states in buffers corresponding to the N BAP routing identifiers (The method may further include generating, by the MT of the communication device, a BAP control element including the congestion indication. Transmitting the congestion indication to the first parent node may include transmitting, by the MT of the communication device, the BAP control element to the first parent node. the communication device 320C may transmit a congestion indication to its parent node(s) (e.g., communication device 320A) via a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) signaling message when it is determined that the congestion happens at the communication device 320C. BAP control element may include channel ID of the concerned ingress RLC channel, Wu_ 2023: [0008], [0084], [0097]-[0103]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii and Wu in view of Wu_2023 in order to further modify N BAP routing identifiers indicating congestion states from the teachings of Wu_2023.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because improved methods for flow control are required for a wireless communication system to support multi-hop backhauling and multi-connectivity (Wu_2023: [0004]).
Regarding claim 20, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 16 above.
Ishii further discloses:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 16, further comprising:
select, by a media access control (MAC) layer of the first IAB node, when assembling an uplink data packet, a logical channel (LCH) that corresponds to a BAP routing identifier other than the N BAP routing identifiers (re-establishment indication may be carried by MAC Control Element and BAP layer signaling, Ishii: [0284]).
Regarding claim 24, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ishii and Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the RLF notification further comprises BAP addresses that correspond to the wireless backhaul links on which the RLF occurs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
wherein the RLF notification further comprises BAP addresses that correspond to the wireless backhaul links on which the RLF occurs (Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs on the backhaul link between donor node and IAB node, IAB node may establish a link to another donor node. the identifier for identifying the parent node may be a backhaul adaption protocol (BAP) entity address for the parent node. BAP entities located at different IAB nodes have different addresses and used to identify a unique IAB node, Wu: [0027]-[0028], [0066]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii and Wu_2023 in view of Wu in order to further modify the RLF notification comprising BAP addresses that correspond to the wireless backhaul links on which the RLF occurs from the teachings of Wu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be improving the flow control (Wu: [0004]).
Regarding claim 25, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ishii further discloses:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the RLF notification carries related information about the link between the second IAB node and the parent node of the second IAB node (a cell served by either an IAB-node or an IAB-donor may broadcast a state, e.g., via a flag, as an indication indicating the IAB capability, which may further comprise an indication of the IAB functionality, a node type (IAB node or IAB-donor), a hop count and/or the current state of the connectivity to the parent node. RLF indication indicates the IAB node fails to recover and performs a re-establishment procedure, Ishii: {0125], [0444]).
Regarding claim 26, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Ishii and Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 17, wherein the RLF notification further comprises BAP addresses that correspond to the wireless backhaul links on which the RLF occurs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
wherein the RLF notification further comprises BAP addresses that correspond to the wireless backhaul links on which the RLF occurs (Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs on the backhaul link between donor node and IAB node, IAB node may establish a link to another donor node. the identifier for identifying the parent node may be a backhaul adaption protocol (BAP) entity address for the parent node. BAP entities located at different IAB nodes have different addresses and used to identify a unique IAB node, Wu: [0027]-[0028], [0066]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii and Wu_2023 in view of Wu in order to further modify the RLF notification comprising BAP addresses that correspond to the wireless backhaul links on which the RLF occurs from the teachings of Wu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be improving the flow control (Wu: [0004]).
Claims 2-3, 5, 8-9, 14, 17, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii -Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao et al. (US 2021/0058826 A1, hereinafter “Mao”).
Regarding claim 2, I Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
replacing, by the first IAB node, at least one BAP routing identifier in at least one BAP header of the uplink data with another BAP routing identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches:
replacing, by the first IAB node, at least one BAP routing identifier in at least one BAP header of the uplink data with another BAP routing identifier (The IAB node assigns BAP routing IDs to each packet to be carried over the backhaul in proportion to the fraction associated with the BAP routing ID, Mao: [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao in order to further modify assigning BAP routing ID from the teachings of Mao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have enhanced network reliability and reducing delay (Mao: [0003]).
Regarding claim 3, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023-Mao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 does not explicitly disclose:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same target IAB donor centralized unit (CU).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same target IAB donor centralized unit (CU) (The IAB node may be further configured to adjust split from the ratio configured by the CU, based on flow control BAP layer feedbacks, Mao: [0099]-[0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao in order to further modify IAB node configuration from the teachings of Mao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be enhancing network reliability and reducing delay (Mao: [0003]).
Regarding claim 5, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023-Mao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 does not explicitly disclose:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same or different target IAB donor distributed unit (DU).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same or different target IAB donor distributed unit (DU) (configuration of BAP routing identifiers and updating of routing tables of the IAB donor DU and all IAB nodes, Mao: [0173]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao in order to further modify configuration of BAP routing from the teachings of Mao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have increased network efficiency and decrease latency (Mao: [0049]).
Regarding claim 8, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
replacing at least one BAP routing identifier in at least one BAP header of the uplink data with another BAP routing identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches:
replacing at least one BAP routing identifier in at least one BAP header of the uplink data with another BAP routing identifier (The IAB node assigns BAP routing IDs to each packet to be carried over the backhaul in proportion to the fraction associated with the BAP routing ID, Mao: [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao in order to further modify replacement BAP routing ID from the teachings of Mao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have enhanced network reliability and reducing delay (Mao: [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023-Mao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same target IAB donor centralized unit (CU).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same target IAB donor centralized unit (CU) (The IAB node may be further configured to adjust split from the ratio configured by the CU, based on flow control BAP layer feedbacks, Mao: [0099]-[0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao in order to further modify configuration of IAB node from the teachings of Mao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have increased network reliability and reducing delay (Mao: [0003]).
Regarding claim 14, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023-Mao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same or different target IAB donor distributed unit (DU).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same or different target IAB donor distributed unit (DU) (configuration of BAP routing identifiers and updating of routing tables of the IAB donor DU and all IAB nodes, Mao: [0173]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao in order to further modify configuration of BAP routing identifiers from the teachings of Mao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have increased network reliability and reducing delay (Mao: [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 teach all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 16 above.
Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
replace at least one BAP routing identifier in at least one BAP header of the uplink data with another BAP routing identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches:
replace at least one BAP routing identifier in at least one BAP header of the uplink data with another BAP routing identifier (The IAB node assigns BAP routing IDs to each packet to be carried over the backhaul in proportion to the fraction associated with the BAP routing ID, Mao: [0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao in order to further modify configuration of BAP routing identifiers from the teachings of Mao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have increased network reliability and reducing delay (Mao: [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023-Mao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same or different target IAB donor distributed unit (DU).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mao teaches:
the N BAP routing identifiers and another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same or different target IAB donor distributed unit (DU) identifier (configuration of BAP routing identifiers and updating of routing tables of the IAB donor DU and all IAB nodes, Mao: [0173]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023 in view of Mao in order to further modify configuration of BAP routing identifiers from the teachings of Mao.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would have increased network efficiency and decrease latency (Mao: [0049]).
Regarding claim 21, Ishii-Wu-Wu_2023-Mao teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Ishii-Wu_2023 do not explicitly disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable medium according to claim 17, wherein the N BAP routing identifiers and the another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same target IAB centralized unit (CU).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches:
wherein the N BAP routing identifiers and the another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same target IAB centralized unit (CU) (the identifier allocated by the donor node to the child node may be a gNB-CU UE F1AP identifier or a gNB-DU UE F1AP identifier. The gNB-CU UE F1AP identifier uniquely identifies a child node of an IAB node over the F1 interface within a CU. the identifier for identifying a child node of an IAB node may be a BAP entity address for the child node, Wu: [0073]-[0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ishii-Wu_2023 in view of Wu in order to further modify N BAP routing identifiers and the another BAP routing identifier correspond to a same target IAB centralized unit (CU) from the teachings of Wu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would be improving the flow control (Wu: [0004]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MICHAEL J MOORE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467