DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks, filed 26 Nov 2025, have been considered, but are moot the new ground of rejection now addresses the newly-amended claims, as set forth below.
Claim Objections
Objections to claims 4-5, 15, and 18 are withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6-7 are indefinite because they both depend from claim 2, which has been cancelled. Claims 8-9 are similarly rejected as they incorporate all of the limitations of claim 7. For examination purposes, it is understood that claims 6-7 were intended to be dependent on claim 1 instead of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The factual inquiries for establiShi et al.ng a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-9, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0212385) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0119298), Yokoyama et al. (US 2011/0195291), and Chen et al. ‘180 (US 2020/0287180).
As to claim 1, Shi et al. discloses a battery pack comprising:
a pack case (see e.g. lower box body 210, and upper box cover 220, [0077] and Fig. 5); and
a plurality of cell stacks (see e.g. battery modules 100, [0077] and Fig. 5) accommodated in an accommodation space of the pack case (see e.g. battery modules 100 are accommodated within 210/220, Fig. 5),
wherein the pack case includes a lower plate (see e.g. lower box body 210, [0077] and Fig. 5) on which the plurality of cell stacks is disposed and a partition member (see e.g. partition plate 7, [0082] and Fig. 5) partitioning the accommodation space, and at least a portion of the partition member is formed of a material different from a material of the lower plate (see e.g. partition plate 7 is formed of asbestos or mica plate, while lower box body 210, which is part of housing 20, is formed of aluminum, [0082] and [0077]).
Shi et al. does not disclose a battery back wherein the partition member includes a support frame coupled to the lower plate and a blocking frame coupled to the support frame and disposed to face at least one of the cell stacks.
Shi et al. also does not disclose a battery back wherein the support frame includes the same material as the material of the lower plate.
Shi et al. also does not disclose a battery back wherein the support frame is fastened to the lower plate by welding.
Chen et al., also working in the field of battery packs, teaches a partition member (see e.g. protective plate 2, Chen et al.: [0068] and Fig. 1) that includes a support frame (see e.g. body 21, Chen et al.: [0075] and Fig. 1) and a blocking frame (see e.g. fireproof part 22, Chen et al.: [0075] and Fig. 1) that is coupled to the support frame (see e.g. 22 is embedded in 21, Chen et al.: [0075] and Fig. 1) and is disposed to face at least one of the cell stacks (see e.g. 22 can reasonably be said to face battery cells 11, Chen et al.: Fig. 1). While neither Shi et al. nor Chen et al. explicitly disclose that the support frame is coupled to the lower plate, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the support frame and lower plate would necessarily have to be coupled together in order for the support frame to remain in position and thereby function as a partition. Chen et al.’s partition is designed to Shi et al.eld adjacent battery cells in the event of a thermal runaway event (see e.g. Chen et al.: [0008]), which is the same function performed by Shi et al.’s partition (see e.g. Shi et al.: [0090]). Additionally, Chen et al.’s partition has a guide groove that directs the flow direction of flame ejected from the battery away from passengers ([0097]-[0099]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi et al.’s battery pack by replacing Shi et al.’s partition members with a partition member that includes a support frame coupled to the lower plate and a blocking frame coupled to the support frame and disposed to face at least one of the cell stacks, as taught by Chen et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution in order to direct the flow of ejected flame away from passengers, as taught by Chen et al..
Further regarding claim 1, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches a support frame (see e.g. body 21, Chen et al.: [0075]), but does not particularly limit that material that the support frame is composed of, and Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. does not does not teach a battery back wherein the support frame includes the same material as the material of the lower plate
Yokoyama et al., also working on the problem of partitions for battery packs, teaches a battery pack comprising a partition (see e.g. partition plate 16, Yokoyama et al.: [0070] and Fig. 4) that also comprises a support frame (see e.g. support plate 17, Yokoyama et al.: [0070] and Fig. 4) and a blocking frame (see e.g. heat insulating layer 15, Yokoyama et al.: [0070] and Fig. 4) that provides thermal insulation between battery cells (see e.g. Yokoyama et al.: [0083]), which is the same function performed by the partition of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. (see e.g. Shi et al.: [0090]).Yokoyama et al.’s support frame includes aluminum (see e.g. Yokoyama et al.: [0071]), which is the same material as the lower plate of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. (see e.g. Shi et al.: [0077]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. by making the support frame out of aluminum, which is the same material as the lower plate, in the manner taught by Yokoyama et al.. This is because Yokoyama et al. teaches an aluminum support frame that is a functional equivalent to the support frame of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al..
Further regarding claim 1, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Yokoyama et al. does not teach disclose a battery pack wherein the support frame is fastened to the lower plate by welding.
Chen et al. ‘180, also working in the field of battery packs, teaches a pack case that includes a lower plate (see e.g. the bottom of box body 3, Chen et al. ‘180: [0068] and Fig. 1), and a component (see e.g. fixing beams 31 Chen et al. ‘180: [0068] and Fig. 1) that is fastened to the lower plate by welding (see e.g. Chen et al. ‘180: [0068]).
I would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Yokoyama et al. by fastening the support frame to the lower plate by welding, because Chen et al. ’180 teaches that welding is a suitable method of fastening a component to the lower plate of a battery pack.
As to claim 3, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the blocking frame (see e.g. fireproof part 22, Chen et al.: [0075]) includes a material having a melting point higher than that of the material of the lower plate (see e.g. fireproof part 22, which is made of mica, which has a melting point higher than that of lower box body 210, which is part of housing 20, which is formed of aluminum, Chen et al.: [0077] and Shi et al.: [0077]).
As to claim 4, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 3, wherein the blocking frame (see e.g. fireproof part 22, Chen et al.: [0075]) includes a material having a melting point that of 700°C or higher (see e.g. fireproof part 22, which is made of mica, which has a melting point that is higher than 700°C).
As to claim 6, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the support frame (see e.g. body 21, Chen et al.: [0075] and Fig. 1) is formed of a material including aluminum (see e.g. Yokoyama et al.: [0071] and Shi et al.: [0077]. See also the rejection of claim 1 above, showing that Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al. teaches an aluminum support frame), and the blocking frame (see e.g. fireproof part 22, Chen et al.: [0075]) is formed of a material including at least one of steel and mica (see e.g. fireproof part 22, which is made of mica, Chen et al.: [0077]).
As to claim 7, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 2, wherein the blocking frame (see e.g. fireproof part 22, Chen et al.: [0075]) includes: a lower frame (see e.g. the bottom surface of 22, Chen et al.: [0075], Fig. 10 and Illustration 1 below) coupled to the support frame (see e.g. body 21, Chen et al.: [0075] and Fig. 1); an upper frame (see e.g. the bottom surface of 22, Chen et al.: [0075], Fig. 10 and Illustration 1 below) spaced apart from the lower frame by a predetermined distance and disposed to be parallel to the lower frame (see e.g. Illustration 1 below, the upper and lower frames can reasonably be said to be spaced apart by a predetermined distance and are parallel); and an intermediate frame (see e.g. the middle portion of 22, Chen et al.: Fig. 10 and Illustration 1 below) connecting the upper frame to the lower frame.
Illustration 1: Reproduction with modification of Fig. 10 of Chen et al..
As to claim 8, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, wherein the at least one of the cell stacks (see e.g. battery modules 100, Chen et al.: [0077] and Fig. 5) includes a terminal (see e.g. first and second terminals 131 and 132, Chen et al.: [0086] and Fig. 7) to which a busbar (see e.g. bus bar 5, Chen et al.: [0086] and Fig. 7) is fastened, and the terminal is disposed to face the intermediate frame (see e.g. Chen et al., Figs. 6-7, the battery modules 100 are oriented sideways such that they would face the intermediate frame when Shi et al. is modified by Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 as set forth above).
As to claim 9, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 7, wherein the intermediate frame (see e.g. the middle portion of 22, Fig. 10 and Illustration 1 above) includes one side connected to a center of the upper frame and the other side connected to a center of the lower frame (see e.g. Chen et al.: Fig. 10 and Illustration 1, showing one side of the intermediate frame connected to the center of the upper frame and the other side connected to the center of the lower frame).
As to claim 14, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 1, further comprising two venting flow paths (see e.g. the spaces to the left and right of the partition member 7, which can reasonably be said to be venting flow paths. Chen et al.: Fig. 6) spatially separated by the single partition member (see e.g. partition plate 7, Chen et al.: [0082] and Fig. 6).
As to claim 16, Shi et al. discloses a battery pack comprising:
a pack case (see e.g. lower box body 210, and upper box cover 220, [0077] and Fig. 5) including sidewalls (see e.g. the sidewalls of 210 and 220, Fig. 2) and a lower plate (see e.g. lower box body 210, [0077] and Fig. 5) engaged to form an internal space, and an upper plate (see e.g. the upper surface of 220, Fig. 5) engaged to the sidewalls and lower plate to enclose the internal space (see e.g. Fig. 5, showing the upper surface and sidewalls of 220 engaged to 210 to form an internal space);
partition members (see e.g. partition plate 7, [0082] and Fig. 5) engaged to sidewalls of the pack case and located in the internal space of the pack case (see e.g. partition plate 7 is part of the pack case assembly, and therefore is engaged with 220 and 210. Partition plate 7 is disposed in the internal space of 220/210, Fig. 5) to partition the internal space into an array of separate accommodation spaces; and
a plurality of battery modules (see e.g. battery modules 100, each grouping of cells 100 reads on the claimed battery modules, [0077] and Fig. 5) that are disclosed inside the separate accommodation spaces, respectively, one battery module per accommodating space,
each battery module including one or more battery cells (see e.g., battery modules 100 comprise a plurality of battery cells 1, [0082] and Fig. 5).
Shi et al. does not disclose a battery back wherein the partition member includes wherein each partition member includes a support frame coupled to the lower plate and a blocking frame coupled to the support frame and disposed to face at least a respective battery module.
Shi et al. also does not disclose a battery back wherein the support frame includes the same material as the material of the lower plate.
Shi et al. also does not disclose a battery back wherein the support frame is fastened to the lower plate by welding.
Chen et al., also working in the field of battery packs, teaches a partition member (see e.g. protective plate 2, Chen et al.: [0068] and Fig. 1) that includes a support frame (see e.g. body 21, Chen et al.: [0075] and Fig. 1) and a blocking frame (see e.g. fireproof part 22, Chen et al.: [0075] and Fig. 1) that is coupled to the support frame (see e.g. 22 is embedded in 21, Chen et al.: [0075] and Fig. 1) and is disposed to face a respective battery module (see e.g. 22 can reasonably be said to face battery cells 11, Chen et al.: Fig. 1). While neither Shi et al. nor Chen et al. explicitly disclose that the support frame is coupled to the lower plate, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the support frame and lower plate would necessarily have to be coupled together in order for the support frame to remain in position and thereby function as a partition. Chen et al.’s partition is designed to Shi et al.eld adjacent battery cells in the event of a thermal runaway event (see e.g. Chen et al.: [0008]), which is the same function performed by Shi et al.’s partition (see e.g. Shi et al.: [0090]). Additionally, Chen et al.’s partition has a guide groove that directs the flow direction of flame ejected from the battery away from passengers ([0097]-[0099]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shi et al.’s battery pack by replacing Shi et al.’s partition members with a partition member that includes a support frame coupled to the lower plate and a blocking frame coupled to the support frame and disposed to face at least a respective battery module, as taught by Chen et al.. Said artisan would have been motivated to make such a substitution in order to direct the flow of ejected flame away from passengers, as taught by Chen et al..
Further regarding claim 16, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. teaches a support frame (see e.g. body 21, Chen et al.: [0075]), but does not particularly limit that material that the support frame is composed of, and Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. does not does not teach a battery back wherein the support frame includes the same material as the material of the lower plate
Yokoyama et al., also working on the problem of partitions for battery packs, teaches a battery pack comprising a partition (see e.g. partition plate 16, Yokoyama et al.: [0070] and Fig. 4) that also comprises a support frame (see e.g. support plate 17, Yokoyama et al.: [0070] and Fig. 4) and a blocking frame (see e.g. heat insulating layer 15, Yokoyama et al.: [0070] and Fig. 4) that provides thermal insulation between battery cells (see e.g. Yokoyama et al.: [0083]), which is the same function performed by the partition of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. (see e.g. Shi et al.: [0090]).Yokoyama et al.’s support frame includes aluminum (see e.g. Yokoyama et al.: [0071]), which is the same material as the lower plate of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. (see e.g. Shi et al.: [0077]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. by making the support frame out of aluminum, which is the same material as the lower plate, in the manner taught by Yokoyama et al.. This is because Yokoyama et al. teaches an aluminum support frame that is a functional equivalent to the support frame of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al..
Further regarding claim 16, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Yokoyama et al. does not teach disclose a battery pack wherein the support frame is fastened to the lower plate by welding.
Chen et al. ‘180, also working in the field of battery packs, teaches a pack case that includes a lower plate (see e.g. the bottom of box body 3, Chen et al. ‘180: [0068] and Fig. 1), and a component (see e.g. fixing beams 31 Chen et al. ‘180: [0068] and Fig. 1) that is fastened to the lower plate by welding (see e.g. Chen et al. ‘180: [0068]).
I would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Shi et al. in view of Chen et al. and Yokoyama et al. by fastening the support frame to the lower plate by welding, because Chen et al. ’180 teaches that welding is a suitable method of fastening a component to the lower plate of a battery pack.
As to claim 17, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 1, wherein the blocking frame (see e.g. fireproof part 22, Chen et al.: [0075]) includes a material having a melting point higher than that of the material of the lower plate (see e.g. fireproof part 22, which is made of mica, which has a melting point higher than that of lower box body 210, which is part of housing 20, which is formed of aluminum, Chen et al.: [0077] and Shi et al.: [0077]).
As to claim 18, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 3, wherein the blocking frame (see e.g. fireproof part 22, Chen et al.: [0075]) includes a material having a melting point that of 700°C or higher (see e.g. fireproof part 22, which is made of mica, which has a melting point that is higher than 700°C).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2020/0212385) in view of Chen et al. (US 2021/0119298), Yokoyama et al. (US 2011/0195291), and Chen et al. ‘180 (US 2020/0287180) as applied to claim 4 above, and further as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Miller et al. (US 2019/0207188).
Regarding claim 5, Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 teaches the battery pack of claim 4.
Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 does not teach that the blocking frame includes a metal or an inorganic binder.
Miller et al., also working in the field of thermal insulators for battery systems, teaches an inorganic refractory platelet composition (see e.g. coating composition and inorganic platelets, Miller et al.: [0017], [0028]-[0029]) used as a thermal insulating material that contains both mica and an inorganic binder (see e.g. Miller et al.: [0017], [0028]-[0029], and [0047]-[0048]). Miller et al. teaches that this composition is useful as a thermal insulator in battery modules (see e.g. Miller et al.: Abstract and [0079]-[0080]).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the mica blocking frame of the prior art structure taught by Shi et al. in view of Chen et al., Yokoyama et al., and Chen et al. ‘180 with the mica/inorganic binder composition taught by Miller et al.. Said artisan would have found such a substitution to be obvious, because Miller et al. teaches that this composition is a functional alternative material used for the same purpose of providing thermal insulation for a battery module.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the closes prior art of record are Shi et al. (EP 3675215A1) and Chen et al. (US 2021/0119298), which, as applied to claim 2 above, teach a partition comprising a blocking frame. However, the prior art of record does not teach or disclose a blocking frame that is provided in a plate form and is stacked on both surfaces of a coupling portion (compare Figs. 9-10 of Chen et al. with Fig. 10 of the Instant Specification).
Claim 13 is allowable as it incorporates all of the limitations of claim 12.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1723
/TONG GUO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723