Claim Status
Claims 1, 9, and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-12 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Joye et al. (WO 2011134828, Espacenet machine translation provided for reference) in view of De Paoli et al. (U.S. 20130122341).
With respect to claim 1, Joye discloses a battery pack (1) (Fig. 1) comprising:
a pack housing (2 – external casing) structured to enclose an internal space (3 – reception chamber) (Fig. 1 and 2);
at least one cell stack body (43 – battery packs) accommodated in the internal space (3) of the pack housing (2) (Fig. 3);
at least one electronic component (67 – electrical devices) accommodated in the internal space (3) of the pack housing (2) (Fig. 3, [0075]);
a connecting member (68 – electrical connection cables and wires) electrically connected to at least one of the at least one cell stack body (43) and the at least one electronic component (67) (Fig. 3, [0095]); and
a partition wall (33 – partitioning) partitioning the internal space (3) and accommodating at least a portion of the connecting member (68) disposed along a length direction of the partition wall (33) (Fig. 3 and 6, [0095]).
Joyce does not disclose that at least a portion of the electrical connectors extends within the partition wall in the length direction of the partition wall, instead disclosing the connectors extend along a width of the wall.
De Paoli discloses a partition wall (450 - holders) which separate adjacent cell stacks (S1-S4 - segments) (Fig. 1) and teaches the partition wall (450) accommodates at least a portion of connecting members (105 – wire) along a length direction of the partition wall (450) (Fig. 13). De Paoli further teaches that this arrangement allows for the connection of the connecting member (105) to electrical components within the battery pack (1) ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed that the connecting members disclosed by Joye could extend in a length direction of the partition wall as taught by De Paoli in order to allow for the connection of the connecting member to electrical components within the battery pack.
With respect to claim 2, Joye discloses the partition wall (33) includes a void (labeled, internal space formed by wedging lugs 48) in the partition wall (33) (Fig. 6 - below), and the connecting member (68) is accommodated in the void (formed by 48) (Fig. 6, [0095]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Void (internal space formed by 48) )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Lower frame)][AltContent: textbox (Upper frame)]
With respect to claim 3, Joye disclose the partition wall (33) includes a lower frame (labeled) and an upper frame (labeled) coupled to the lower frame (labeled) (Fig. 6 – below), and the void (formed by 48) is formed between the lower frame (labeled) and upper frame (labeled) (Fig. 6 – below).
With respect to claim 4, Joye discloses the partition wall (33) includes a recess (41 – notches) in a (upper) side surface (Fig. 6), and the connecting member (68) is accommodated in the recess (Fig. 6, [0095]).
With respect to claim 5, Joye discloses the connecting member (68) includes a conductive member and an insulating member surrounding the conductive member (insulated electrical cable) ([0076]).
With respect to claim 7, Joye discloses the at least one electrical component (67) is a battery management system (device for managing the battery) ([0075]), and the connecting member is a low voltage harness (electrical voltage measuring wires) connected to the battery management system (67) ([0082]).
It is noted that applicant’s definition of “low voltage harness” is wires which “obtain information on a plurality of battery modules included in the pack,” ([0005]). Based on this definition, Joye’s description of the cables (68) being electrical voltage measuring wires which connect the batteries (43) to the BMS (67) reads on “low voltage harness.”
With respect to claim 8, Joye discloses the partition wall (33) includes a void (labeled, formed by 48) and a recess (41) (Fig. 6- above), each accommodating the connection member (68) ([0095]), and the void (formed by 48) and the recess (41) are spatially separated from each other (Fig. 6- above).
With respect to claim 9, Joye discloses a battery pack (1) (Fig. 1) comprising:
a housing (2) structured to enclose an internal space (3) (Fig. 1 and 2);
partition walls (36) located in the internal space (3) of the housing (2) and engaged to the housing (2) to separate the internal space (3) into an array of separate accommodation spaces (34 – secondary compartment) (Fig. 2);
a plurality of battery modules (43) disposed inside the separate accommodation spaces (34) (Fig. 2), respectively, one battery module (43) per accommodating space (34) (Fig. 2), each battery module (43) including one or more battery cells (electrical accumulator assemblies) ([0061]);
one or more electronic components (67) located in the internal space (3) of the housing (3) (Fig. 3); and
electrical connectors (68) electrically coupled to provide electrical connections to the battery modules (43) and the one or more electronic components (67) (Fig. 3 and 6, [0079]),
wherein one or more partition walls (33) are structured to accommodate at least a portion of one or more of the electrical connectors (68) disposed along a length direction of the partition wall (33) (Fig. 3 and 6, [0095]).
Joyce does not disclose that at least a portion of the electrical connectors extends within the partition wall in the length direction of the partition wall, instead disclosing the connectors extend along a width of the wall.
De Paoli discloses a partition wall (450 - holders) which separate adjacent cell stacks (S1-S4 - segments) (Fig. 1) and teaches the partition wall (450) accommodates at least a portion of connecting members (105 – wire) along a length direction of the partition wall (450) (Fig. 13). De Paoli further teaches that this arrangement allows for the connection of the connecting member (105) to electrical components within the battery pack (1) ([0088]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed that the connecting members disclosed by Joye could extend in a length direction of the partition wall as taught by De Paoli in order to allow for the connection of the connecting member to electrical components within the battery pack.
With respect to claim 10, Joye discloses the partition wall (33) includes a void (labeled, internal space formed by wedging lugs 48) in which the one or more electrical connectors (68) is located (Fig. 6 - above, [0095]).
With respect to claim 11, Joye discloses at least one of the partition walls (33) includes a lower frame (labeled) and an upper frame (labeled) coupled to the lower frame (labeled) to form a void (formed by 48) is formed between the lower frame (labeled) and upper frame (labeled) for accommodating a portion of one or more of the electrical connectors (68) (Fig. 6 – above, [0095]).
With respect to claim 12, Joye discloses the partition wall (33) includes a recess (41 – notches) in a (upper) side surface (Fig. 6), and the portion of the one or more of the electrical connectors (68) is accommodated in the recess (Fig. 6, [0095]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joye et al. in view of De Paoli et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 20190181405).
With respect to claim 6, Joye discloses the connecting member is an insulated electrical wire, not a bus bar.
Kim discloses a partition wall (180 - partition block) separating adjacent battery modules (110) (Fig. 2) and teaches that the partition wall (180) can be configured to allow a cable for electrical connection or a bus bar to pass therethrough ([0059]). Kim further teaches that both the cable and bus bar allow for power connection between the modules (110) ([0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively files to use either cables or a bus bar as taught by Kim to pass through the partition of Joye in order to electrically connect adjacent modules.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-11 of response, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to the specification objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The specification objection has been withdrawn in light of the amendment to the title.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new limitations which limits at least a portion of the connecting member extend in a length direction inside the partition wall was referenced by new prior art, De Paoli et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727