DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shioda et al. (JP 2000200585 A, “Shioda”). The machine translation is used herein for citation purposes.
Regarding claim 1, Shioda discloses a packing structure, comprising an accommodating part and a sealing part extending from the accommodating part (see FIG. 3 describes “package 7” & see [0016] describes “battery unit 2 housed in the box-shaped portion of the laminate sheet 6” which reads on accommodating part & “sealing portion 14 is formed to be wide enough to seal the battery unit 2” which reads on sealing part & see FIG. 3A describes “22a sealing portion” which describes extending from the accommodating part & see [0032] “10 battery housing portion”), wherein, the accommodating part comprises a first edge, a second edge, a third edge and a fourth edge; wherein the first edge, the second edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge are connected in sequence; the first edge and the third edge are disposed oppositely; the second edge is connected to the first edge and the third edge; and the fourth edge is connected to the first edge and the third edge; wherein an entire length of the first edge is less than an entire length of the second edge, and the entire length of the first edge is less than an entire length of the fourth edge (see annotated FIG. 3C describes the 4 edges);
Shioda discloses and wherein the sealing part is disposed at the second edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge (see FIG. 3A describes “22a sealing portion” & “22b sealing portion” & “22a sealing portion” & see annotated FIG. 3C “2”, “3”, “4”); the sealing part comprises a first sealing edge disposed along the second edge and a second sealing edge disposed along the fourth edge (see FIG. 3B “1se” annotated which describes a first sealing edge along the 2nd edge & annotated “2se” which describes a second sealing edge along the 4th edge); wherein a part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge and a part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge are folded towards the first edge (see FIG. 3B describes & annotated “1se” & “2se” & “22c portion” & see [0032] “fold the portion 22c mentioned above back towards the short side of the package and align it with the seal portion 22b” & see FIG. 3C describes “22c” are folded towards the first edge) so that the sealing part forms a protruding part along at least a part of the first edge (see FIG. 3C describes “22c” protrudes out from “22b”); wherein the packaging structure is formed by turning over and sealing of a packaging film, and the first edge corresponds to a turning-over region of the packaging film (see FIG. 3B & FIG. 3C describes “22c portion” & see [0032]); and wherein the sealing part is a part of the packaging film directly connecting with and extending away from edges of the accommodating part (see FIG. 3 & FIG. 3A & “package 7” & [0032] “10 battery housing portion” & “22a sealing portion” & “22b sealing portion”) and the sealing part is not disposed along at least a part of the first edge (see FIG. 3C describes “22c” is folded over and does not cover the whole 1st edge).
Regarding claim 2, Shioda discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the entire length of the first edge is equal to an entire length of the third edge (see annotated FIG. 3C).
Regarding claim 3, Shioda discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses wherein an entire length of the part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 3B “1se” describes first sealing edge & FIG. 3C annotated “1” describes the first edge).
Regarding claim 4, Shioda discloses the packaging structure of claim 3 and further discloses wherein an entire length of the part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 3B “2se” describes second sealing edge & FIG. 3C annotated “1” describes the first edge).
Regarding claim 5, Shioda discloses the packaging structure of claim 4 and further discloses wherein a sum of the entire length of the part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge and the entire length of the part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 3 B “1se” & “2se” & annotated FIG. 3C “1” reads on first edge).
Regarding claim 6, Shioda discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the first edge is an uneven edge (see [0030] “the seal portion 16 can be processed by passing it through a curling shape as shown in B” & see FIG. 2A describes the edge is an uneven edge).
Regarding claim 7, Shioda discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the accommodating part is a cuboid (see [0011] “battery package of the present invention has a battery housing portion that houses a battery body” & see FIG. 3 describes “2 battery body” which reads on cuboid).
Regarding claim 8, Shioda discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses an electrochemical device (see [0002] “batteries are used as the main power source or backup power source for various devices”) wherein the cell is accommodated in the accommodating part (see [0016] & FIG. 3). Regarding claim 9, Shioda discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the entire length of the first edge is equal to the entire length of the third edge (see annotated FIG. 3C).
Regarding claim 10, Shioda discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein an entire length of the part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 3C “22c” & annotated “1” reads on 1st edge & FIG. 3B “1se”).
Regarding claim 11, Shioda discloses the electrochemical device of claim 10 and further discloses wherein an entire length of the part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 3C “22c” & annotated “1” reads on 1st edge & see FIG. 3B “2se”).
Regarding claim 12, Shioda discloses the electrochemical device of claim 11 and further discloses wherein a sum of the entire length of the part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge and the entire length of the part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 3 B “1se” & “2se” & annotated FIG. 3C “1” reads on first edge).
Regarding claim 13, Shioda discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the first edge is an uneven edge (see [0030] “the seal portion 16 can be processed by passing it through a curling shape as shown in B” & see FIG. 2A describes the edge is an uneven edge).
Regarding claim 14, Shioda discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the accommodating part is a cuboid (see [0011] “battery package of the present invention has a battery housing portion that houses a battery body” & see FIG. 3 describes “2 battery body” which reads on cuboid).
Regarding claim 15, Shioda discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the electrochemical device further comprises a tab (see FIG. 3A-3C describes “12 lead terminals” which reads on tab), one end of the tab is located in the accommodating part and connected to the cell, and the other end of the tab extends from the packaging structure along the sealing part (see [0007] “lead terminals 12 for electrically connecting the battery body 1 to the outside of the package are brought out to the outside through the seal portion 8”).
Regarding claim 16, Shioda discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses wherein along a direction perpendicular to the first edge, a length of the sealing part extending beyond the first edge is shorter than a length of a third sealing edge disposed along the third edge (see annotated FIG. 3B describes annotated “l1” is less than annotated “l3”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see P6 par 1, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang (US 20190296271 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shioda et al. (JP 2000200585 A, “Shioda”).
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 09/15/2026