DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jiang (US 20190296271 A1, “Jiang”).
The applied reference has a common applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses a packaging structure, comprising an accommodating part and a sealing part extending from the accommodating part (see abstract “package structure”; see [0030] “electrode assembly 28 to be packaged may be accommodated in the electrode assembly accommodating groove” & see FIG. 2 describes “14 sealing side” which extends from the accommodating part), wherein, the accommodating part comprises a first edge, a second edge, a third edge and a fourth edge; wherein the first edge, the second edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge are connected in sequence (see annotated FIG. 2 “1” describes the first edge, “2” describes the second edge”, “3” describes the third edge” & “4” describes the fourth edge); the first edge and the third edge are disposed oppositely (see annotated FIG. 2); the second edge is connected to the first edge and the third edge (see annotated FIG. 2); and the fourth edge is connected to the first edge and the third edge (see annotated FIG. 2); wherein an entire length of the first edge is less than an entire length of the second edge, and the entire length of the first edge is less than an entire length of the fourth edge (see annotated FIG. 2); and wherein the sealing part is disposed at the second edge, the third edge, and the fourth edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “14 sealing side”; see [0028] “top edge 20” & see [0014] “top seal and the sealing side” & see [0036] “top seal 24”); the sealing part comprises a first sealing edge disposed along the second edge and a second sealing edge disposed along the fourth edge (see annotated FIG. 2); wherein a part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge and a part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge are folded towards the first edge respectively (see FIG. 2 & [0026] “folded along the fold line A”); wherein the packaging structure is formed by turning over and sealing of a packaging film, and the first edge corresponds to a turning-over region of the packaging film (see FIG. 2 & [0026] “folded along the fold line A” & “sealing side 14” & see annotated FIG. 1); and wherein the sealing part is a part of the packaging film directly connecting with and extending away from edges of the accommodating part (see FIG. 2 “sealing segment 18” & “sealing side 14”), and the sealing part is not disposed along at least a part of the first edge (see FIG. 2 annotated “1” & see [0025] “sealing segment 18” is not disposed along a part of “1”).
Regarding claim 2, Jiang discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the entire length of the first edge is equal to an entire length of the third edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “1” & “3”).
Regarding claim 3, Jiang discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses wherein an entire length of the part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “1” & “sealing segment 18”).
Regarding claim 4, Jiang discloses the packaging structure of claim 3 and further discloses wherein an entire length of the part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “2” & “18 sealing segment”).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang discloses the packaging structure of claim 4 and further discloses wherein a sum of the entire length of the part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge and the entire length of the part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “18” & “1” & “2”).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 13, Jiang discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the first edge is an uneven edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “1” is an uneven edge).
Regarding claim 7 and claim 14, Jiang discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the accommodating part is a cuboid (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses an electrochemical device (see [0003] “battery”), comprising a cell (see FIG. 2 describes “28 electrode assembly”), wherein the cell is accommodated in the accommodating part (see [0030] “electrode assembly 28 to be packaged may be accommodated in the electrode assembly accommodating groove”).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the entire length of the first edge is equal to the entire length of the third edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “1” & “3”).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein an entire length of the part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “18” & “1”).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang discloses the electrochemical device of claim 10 and further discloses wherein an entire length of the part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “18” & “1” & “2”).
Regarding claim 12, Jiang discloses the electrochemical device of claim 11 and further discloses wherein a sum of the entire length of the part of the first sealing edge extending beyond the first edge and the entire length of the part of the second sealing edge extending beyond the first edge is less than the entire length of the first edge (see annotated FIG. 2 “18” & “1” & “2”).
Regarding claim 15, Jiang discloses the electrochemical device of claim 8 and further discloses wherein the electrochemical device further comprises a tab (see FIG. 1 describes “100 electrode tab”), one end of the tab is located in the accommodating part and connected to the cell, and the other end of the tab extends from the packaging structure along the sealing part (see FIG. 1 & [0028] “the electrode tab 100 is arranged on the top edge 20 and the second sealing segment 18 is formed on the bottom edge 22. That is, when the package is completed, the electrode tab 100 on the top of the electrode assembly 28 may be exposed by the top of the package structure 10”; see [0036] “top seal 24”).
Regarding claim 16, Jiang discloses the packaging structure of claim 1 and further discloses wherein along a direction perpendicular to the first edge, a length of the sealing part extending beyond the first edge is shorter than a length of a third sealing edge disposed along the third edge (see annotated FIG. 2 describes “18” & “3”; see [0036] “top seal 24”).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/S.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 04/17/2026