DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to Amendment filed on 11/21/2025. Claims 1, 3-17, 19-27, and 29
have been amended. Claims 1, 3-17, 19-27, and 29 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 11/21/2025 has been entered.
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 11-14), filed on 11/21/2025, with respect to the 103 rejections of
claim 1 have been fully considered but are moot because new ground of rejections using a newly introduced reference (Park et al. US 2024/0073879 Al) is applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1, 4-15, 17, 20-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et
al. (US 2022/0369421 Al, hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of Maleki et al. (US 2023/0104198 Al, hereinafter “Maleki”) and in further view of Park et al. (US 2024/0073879 Al, hereafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising (The communication network may comprise an LTE network, a 5G network, or any other network for wireless communications. Apparatuses, systems may be described as implemented on one or more devices (e.g., wireless device), Zhou: [0241]):
one or more processors (wireless device may comprise at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]);
memory coupled with the one or more processors (wireless device may comprise memory, Zhou: [0233]); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, from a network node, control signaling indicating a first downlink bandwidth part and a first uplink bandwidth part, or a first downlink sub-band and a first uplink sub-band, or both, for performing sub-band fullduplex communications (base station may send one or more messages comprising configuration parameters indicating a cell comprising a default BWP and multiple other BWPs in a cell, Zhou: [0537], [0545]);
receive, from the network node, a downlink control information message indicating to switch to a second downlink bandwidth part and a second uplink bandwidth part, or to switch to a second downlink sub-band and a second uplink sub-band, or both (wireless device may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP after or in response to receiving DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP, with uplink BWP and downlink BWP switched independently or simultaneously, Zhou: [0287], [0355]),
wherein the downlink control information message indicates (DCI may comprise a BWP indicator field, Zhou: [0284]):
one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (base station may send (e.g., transmit) DCI comprising: a first field indicating a BWP, and/or a second field indicating a BWP action. The BWP action may comprise one or more of: switching to the BWP, activating the BWP, and/or deactivating the BWP. A base station may send (e.g., transmit) a MAC CE comprising an n-bit bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap associated with 4 bits for DL BWPs and/or 4 bits for UL BWPs, or any other quantity of bits) indicating that one or more BWPs may be activated/deactivated (e.g., activated or deactivated). base station and/or a wireless device may communicate via multiple active BWPs of a plurality of BWPs for sending and/or receiving multiple types of services in a cell. receiving DCI indicating BWP switching to the default BWP, and/or a first BWP timer associated with the first active BWP expiring, Zhou: [0379], [0422]-[0423], [0517]); and
one or more additional bit field values indicating an other of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (base station and/or a wireless device may communicate via multiple active BWPs of a plurality of BWPs for sending and/or receiving multiple types of services in a cell. receiving DCI indicating BWP switching to the default BWP, and/or a second BWP timer associated with the second active BWP expiring, Zhou: [0517]); and
perform full-duplex communications with the network node within the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part, or within the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band, or both based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values and the one or more additional bit field values (one or more DCIs may be sent (e.g., transmitted) with DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 indicating a PDSCH scheduling. The one or more fields may comprise at least one of: a carrier indicator; an identifier for a DCI format; a BWP indicator. wireless device may switch operation to the second BWP, for example, by deactivating the first BWP and activating the second BWP, for example, if contents of the action indication field indicate a first value (e.g., "00"). The wireless device may activate the second BWP, for example, if contents of the action indication field indicate a second value (e.g., "01"), Zhou: [0412], [0488]).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose:
based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches:
based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (UE 100 may be configured with a sparse search space in one or more BWPs. When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. DCI may include an additional bit field for a switch command or switch indication. network may send the UE a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication to cause the UE to switch from the BWP with the sparse search space to the BWP with the packed search space. the sparse search space and packed search space may be configured in different BWPs, Maleki: [0054], [0057]-[0058]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Maleki in order to further modify one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part from the teachings of Maleki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE energy consumption can be significantly reduced and improves the UE energy efficiency even further (Maleki: [0004]).
Yet, Zhou in view of Maleki does not explicitly disclose:
whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE (One or more BWP indicator fields may be provided in Downlink Control Information (DCI). A value of a BWP indicator field may indicate which BWP in a set of configured BWPs is an active downlink BWP for one or more downlink receptions. The value of the one or more BWP indicator fields may indicate an active uplink BWP for one or more uplink transmissions. The UE may process information contained in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant). the wireless device may receive downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., via PDCCH) that indicates a scheduling of a PUSCH transmission. The wireless device may receive the deactivation indication via at least one of: a MAC CE, a downlink control information (DCI) via a PDCCH, Park: [0122], [0198], [0229], [0252]-[0253]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou and Maleki in view of Park in order to further modify whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for carrying downlink control information (DCI), which may include downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands (Park: [0094]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more additional bit field values comprise a modulation and coding scheme bit field (association with one or more parameters used for other purposes (e.g., Modulation and Coding Scheme) which may be indicated by the DCI. information in the DCI formats may comprise a time resource allocation and MCS, Zhou: [0248], [0257], [0329]).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more additional bit field values comprise a time domain resource allocation bit field (a second field indicating a time domain resource assignment, Zhou: [0412]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, from the network node, a radio resource control message indicating a downlink control information format comprising one or more reserved bits used to switch downlink bandwidth parts, uplink bandwidth parts, or both, wherein the downlink control information message is associated with the downlink control information format (RRC message may configure different BWPs for sending DCI for indicating a BWP change based on whether the one or more primary BWPs are switchable by DCI. DCI may have a plurality of fields associated with a BWP control, Zhou: [0381]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, from the network node, a radio resource control message indicating a downlink control information format comprising one or more reserved bits used to switch downlink sub-bands, uplink sub-bands, or both, wherein the downlink control information message is associated with the downlink control information format (RRC message may configure different sub-bands/BWPs for sending DCI for indicating a sub-band/BWP change based on whether the one or more primary sub-bands/BWPs are switchable by DCI. DCI may have a plurality of fields associated with a sub-band/BWP control, Zhou: [0381]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, via the downlink control information message, a first bit value of a bandwidth part indicator field indicating the second downlink bandwidth part (configuring multiple BWPs comprising multiple bit fields of downlink BWP, Zhou: Fig. 21, [0358]); and
receive, via the downlink control information message, a second bit value of the bandwidth part indicator field indicating the second uplink bandwidth part, wherein the full-duplex communications are performed within the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part based at least in part on the first bit value and the second bit value of the bandwidth part indicator field (configuring multiple BWPs comprising multiple bit fields of uplink BWP, Zhou: Fig. 21, [0358]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, via the downlink control information message, a first pair of bit values of a bandwidth part indicator field indicating the second downlink bandwidth part (configuring multiple BWPs comprising multiple pair of bit fields of downlink BWP, Zhou: Fig. 22, [0360]); and
receive, via the downlink control information message, a second pair of bit values of the bandwidth part indicator field indicating the second uplink bandwidth part, wherein the full-duplex communications are performed within the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part based at least in part on the first pair of bit values and the second pair of bit values of the bandwidth part indicator field (configuring multiple BWPs comprising multiple pair of bit fields of uplink BWP, Zhou: Fig. 22, [0360]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, via the downlink control information message, one or more bit values of a bandwidth part indicator field indicating a downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifier associated with the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part (DCI format may comprise an identifier of DCI format, carrier indicator, bandwidth part indication, and resource allocation type, Zhou: [0328]-[0329]).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, from the network node via the control signaling, additional control signaling, or both, an indication of a plurality of downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifiers, wherein each downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifier is associated with a respective downlink bandwidth part and a respective uplink bandwidth part, wherein the plurality of downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifiers include the downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifier, and wherein receiving the downlink control information message is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the plurality of downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifiers (network node may transmit RRC message for configuring multiple BWPs, Zhou: [0358]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 10, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, from the network node, a radio resource control message indicating a downlink control information format comprising one or more bits of the bandwidth part indicator field used to switch downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifiers, wherein the downlink control information message is associated with the downlink control information format (wireless device may receive the DCI on the active downlink BWP and switch the current BWP to another BWP, Zhou: [0359]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may comprise at least one set of program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory and executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0233]):
receive, via the downlink control information message, a first pair of bit values of a bandwidth part indicator field indicating a first downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifier associated with the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part (DCI may comprise a BWP indicator field and indicate an active downlink/uplink BWP. wireless device detects DCI indicating an active downlink/uplink BWP, Zhou: [0284]); and
receive, via the downlink control information message, a second pair of bit values of the bandwidth part indicator field indicating a second downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifier associated with half-duplex communications at the UE (base station may configure a wireless device with one or more BWPs. A wireless device may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP after response to receiving DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP, Zhou: [0287]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the downlink control information message comprises a group-common downlink control information message (wireless device may monitor a group common search space which may be used by the base station for transmitting DCIs, Zhou: [0267]).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the downlink control information message indicates to switch to the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to (wireless device may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP after or in response to receiving DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP, Zhou: [0287]):
receive, via the downlink control information message, an indication of respective starting and ending resource block indices associated with each of the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band, an indication of respective resource block set indices associated with each of the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band, or both (BWP may comprise monitoring a downlink control channel on a search space set in a control resource set for receiving a radio resource assignment, and receiving or transmitting a transport block based on the radio resource assignment, Zhou: [0556]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou discloses:
A network node for wireless communications, comprising (The communication network may comprise an LTE network, a 5G network, or any other network for wireless communications, Zhou: [0241]):
one or more processors (base station may comprise at least one processor, Zhou: [0220]);
memory coupled with the one or more processors (base station may comprise at least one program code instructions that may be stored in non-transitory memory, Zhou: [0220]); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the network node to (base station may comprise at least one program code instructions executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0220]):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a first downlink bandwidth part and a first uplink bandwidth part, or a first downlink sub-band and a first uplink sub-band, or both, for performing sub-band full-duplex communications, or both (base station configure a wireless device for a cell with a downlink BWP and an uplink BWP, Zhou: [0282]);
transmit, to the UE, a downlink control information message indicating to switch to a second downlink bandwidth part and a second uplink bandwidth part, or to switch to a second downlink sub-band and a second uplink sub-band, or both (base station may transmit DCI one or more messages for configuring and switching multiple BWPs, with uplink BWP and downlink BWP switched independently or simultaneously, Zhou: [0355], [0359]),
wherein the downlink control information message indicates (DCI may comprise a BWP indicator field, Zhou: [0284]):
one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (base station may send (e.g., transmit) DCI comprising: a first field indicating a BWP, and/or a second field indicating a BWP action. The BWP action may comprise one or more of: switching to the BWP, activating the BWP, and/or deactivating the BWP. A base station may send (e.g., transmit) a MAC CE comprising an n-bit bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap associated with 4 bits for DL BWPs and/or 4 bits for UL BWPs, or any other quantity of bits) indicating that one or more BWPs may be activated/deactivated (e.g., activated or deactivated). base station and/or a wireless device may communicate via multiple active BWPs of a plurality of BWPs for sending and/or receiving multiple types of services in a cell. receiving DCI indicating BWP switching to the default BWP, and/or a first BWP timer associated with the first active BWP expiring, Zhou: [0379], [0422]-[0423], [0517]); and
one or more additional bit field values indicating an other of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (base station and/or a wireless device may communicate via multiple active BWPs of a plurality of BWPs for sending and/or receiving multiple types of services in a cell. receiving DCI indicating BWP switching to the default BWP, and/or a second BWP timer associated with the second active BWP expiring, Zhou: [0517]); and
perform full-duplex communications with the UE within the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part, or within the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band, or both (one or more DCIs may be sent (e.g., transmitted) with DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 indicating a PDSCH scheduling. The one or more fields may comprise at least one of: a carrier indicator; an identifier for a DCI format; a BWP indicator. wireless device may switch operation to the second BWP, for example, by deactivating the first BWP and activating the second BWP, for example, if contents of the action indication field indicate a first value (e.g., "00"). The wireless device may activate the second BWP, for example, if contents of the action indication field indicate a second value (e.g., "01"), Zhou: [0412], [0488]).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose:
based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches:
based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (UE 100 may be configured with a sparse search space in one or more BWPs. When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. DCI may include an additional bit field for a switch command or switch indication. network may send the UE a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication to cause the UE to switch from the BWP with the sparse search space to the BWP with the packed search space. the sparse search space and packed search space may be configured in different BWPs, Maleki: [0054], [0057]-[0058]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Maleki in order to further modify one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part from the teachings of Maleki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE energy consumption can be significantly reduced and improves the UE energy efficiency even further (Maleki: [0004]).
Yet, Zhou in view of Maleki does not explicitly disclose:
whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE (One or more BWP indicator fields may be provided in Downlink Control Information (DCI). A value of a BWP indicator field may indicate which BWP in a set of configured BWPs is an active downlink BWP for one or more downlink receptions. The value of the one or more BWP indicator fields may indicate an active uplink BWP for one or more uplink transmissions. The UE may process information contained in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant). the wireless device may receive downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., via PDCCH) that indicates a scheduling of a PUSCH transmission. The wireless device may receive the deactivation indication via at least one of: a MAC CE, a downlink control information (DCI) via a PDCCH, Park: [0122], [0198], [0229], [0252]-[0253]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou and Maleki in view of Park in order to further modify whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for carrying downlink control information (DCI), which may include downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands (Park: [0094]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The network node of claim 18, wherein the one or more additional bit field values comprise a modulation and coding scheme bit field (association with one or more parameters used for other purposes (e.g., Modulation and Coding Scheme) which may be indicated by the DCI, Zhou: [0248], [0257]).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The network node of claim 17, wherein the one or more additional bit field values comprise a time domain resource allocation bit field (a second field indicating a time domain resource assignment, Zhou: [0412]).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The network node of claim 17, wherein the downlink control information message indicates to switch to the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network node to (wireless device may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP after or in response to receiving DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP, Zhou: [0287]):
transmit, to the UE, a radio resource control message indicating a downlink control information format comprising one or more bits used to switch downlink bandwidth parts, downlink sub-bands, uplink bandwidth parts, uplink sub-bands, or any combination thereof, wherein the downlink control information message is associated with the downlink control information format (RRC message may configure different BWPs for sending DCI for indicating a BWP change based on whether the one or more primary BWPs are switchable by DCI. DCI may have a plurality of fields associated with a BWP control, Zhou: [0381]).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The network node of claim 17, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network node to (base station may comprise at least one program code instructions executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0220]):
transmit, via the downlink control information message, a first bit value of bandwidth part indicator field indicating the second downlink bandwidth part (configuring multiple BWPs comprising multiple bit fields of downlink BWP, Zhou: Fig. 21, [0358]); and
transmit, via the downlink control information message, a second bit value of the bandwidth part indicator field indicating the second uplink bandwidth part, wherein the full-duplex communications are performed within the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part based at least in part on the first bit value and the second bit value of the bandwidth part indicator field (configuring multiple BWPs comprising multiple bit fields of uplink BWP, Zhou: Fig. 21, [0358]).
Regarding claim 24, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The network node of claim 17, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network node to (base station may comprise at least one program code instructions executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0220]):
transmit, via the downlink control information message, a first pair of bit values of a bandwidth part indicator field indicating the second downlink bandwidth part (configuring multiple BWPs comprising multiple pair of bit fields of downlink BWP, Zhou: Fig. 22, [0360]); and
transmit, via the downlink control information message, a second pair of bit values of the bandwidth part indicator field indicating the second uplink bandwidth part, wherein the full-duplex communications are performed within the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part based at least in part on the first pair of bit values and the second pair of bit values of the bandwidth part indicator field (configuring multiple BWPs comprising multiple pair of bit fields of uplink BWP, Zhou: Fig. 22, [0360]).
Regarding claim 25, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The network node of claim 17, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network node to (base station may comprise at least one program code instructions executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0220]):
transmit, via the downlink control information message, one or more bit values of a bandwidth part indicator field indicating a downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifier associated with the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part (network node may transmit one or more RRC messages for configuring multiple BWPs comprising a downlink BWP and a uplink BWP, Zhou: [0358]).
Regarding claim 26, Zhou-Maleki-Park teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 25 above.
Zhou further discloses:
The network node of claim 25, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network node to (base station may comprise at least one program code instructions executable by the at least one processor, Zhou: [0220]):
transmit, from the UE via the control signaling, additional control signaling, or both, an indication of a plurality of downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifiers, wherein each downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifier is associated with a respective downlink bandwidth part and a respective uplink bandwidth part, wherein the plurality of downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifiers include the downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifier, and wherein transmitting the downlink control information message is based at least in part on transmitting the indication of the plurality of downlink and uplink bandwidth part pair or set identifiers (network node may transmit RRC message for configuring multiple BWPs, Zhou: [0358]).
Regarding claim 27, Zhou discloses:
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising (The communication network may comprise an LTE network, a 5G network, or any other network for wireless communications. Apparatuses, systems may be described as implemented on one or more devices (e.g., wireless device), Zhou: [0241]):
receiving, from a network node, control signaling indicating a first downlink bandwidth part and a first uplink bandwidth part, or a first downlink sub-band and a first uplink sub-band, or both, for performing sub-band full-duplex communications (configure a wireless device for a cell with a downlink BWP and an uplink BWP, Zhou: [0282]);
receiving, from the network node, a downlink control information message indicating to switch to a second downlink bandwidth part and a second uplink bandwidth part, or to switch to a second downlink sub-band and a second uplink sub-band, or both (wireless device may switch an active BWP from a first BWP to a second BWP after or in response to receiving DCI indicating the second BWP as an active BWP, with uplink BWP and downlink BWP switched independently or simultaneously, Zhou: [0287], [0355]),
wherein the downlink control information message indicates (DCI may comprise a BWP indicator field, Zhou: [0284]):
one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (base station may send (e.g., transmit) DCI comprising: a first field indicating a BWP, and/or a second field indicating a BWP action. The BWP action may comprise one or more of: switching to the BWP, activating the BWP, and/or deactivating the BWP. A base station may send (e.g., transmit) a MAC CE comprising an n-bit bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap associated with 4 bits for DL BWPs and/or 4 bits for UL BWPs, or any other quantity of bits) indicating that one or more BWPs may be activated/deactivated (e.g., activated or deactivated). base station and/or a wireless device may communicate via multiple active BWPs of a plurality of BWPs for sending and/or receiving multiple types of services in a cell. receiving DCI indicating BWP switching to the default BWP, and/or a first BWP timer associated with the first active BWP expiring, Zhou: [0379], [0422]-[0423], [0517]); and
one or more additional bit field values indicating an other of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (base station and/or a wireless device may communicate via multiple active BWPs of a plurality of BWPs for sending and/or receiving multiple types of services in a cell. receiving DCI indicating BWP switching to the default BWP, and/or a second BWP timer associated with the second active BWP expiring, Zhou: [0517]); and
performing full-duplex communications with the network node within the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part, or within the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band, or both (by activating the second BWP, wireless device may improve bi-directional communications with a base station, Zhou: [0238], [0526]).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose:
based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches:
based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (UE 100 may be configured with a sparse search space in one or more BWPs. When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. DCI may include an additional bit field for a switch command or switch indication. network may send the UE a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication to cause the UE to switch from the BWP with the sparse search space to the BWP with the packed search space. the sparse search space and packed search space may be configured in different BWPs, Maleki: [0054], [0057]-[0058]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Maleki in order to further modify one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part from the teachings of Maleki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE energy consumption can be significantly reduced and improves the UE energy efficiency even further (Maleki: [0004]).
Yet, Zhou in view of Maleki does not explicitly disclose:
whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE (One or more BWP indicator fields may be provided in Downlink Control Information (DCI). A value of a BWP indicator field may indicate which BWP in a set of configured BWPs is an active downlink BWP for one or more downlink receptions. The value of the one or more BWP indicator fields may indicate an active uplink BWP for one or more uplink transmissions. The UE may process information contained in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant). the wireless device may receive downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., via PDCCH) that indicates a scheduling of a PUSCH transmission. The wireless device may receive the deactivation indication via at least one of: a MAC CE, a downlink control information (DCI) via a PDCCH, Park: [0122], [0198], [0229], [0252]-[0253]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou and Maleki in view of Park in order to further modify whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for carrying downlink control information (DCI), which may include downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands (Park: [0094]).
Regarding claim 29, Zhou discloses:
A method for wireless communication at a network node, comprising (The communication network may comprise an LTE network, a 5G network, or any other network for wireless communications, Zhou: [0241]):
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a first downlink bandwidth part and a first uplink bandwidth part, or a first downlink subband and a first uplink sub-band, or both, for performing sub-band full-duplex communications, or both (base station configure a wireless device for a cell with a downlink BWP and an uplink BWP, Zhou: [0282]);
transmitting, to the UE, a downlink control information message indicating to switch to a second downlink bandwidth part and a second uplink bandwidth part, or to switch to a second downlink sub-band and a second uplink sub-band, or both (base station may transmit DCI one or more messages for configuring and switching multiple BWPs, with uplink BWP and downlink BWP switched independently or simultaneously, Zhou: [0355], [0359]),
wherein the downlink control information message indicates (DCI may comprise a BWP indicator field, Zhou: [0284]):
one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (base station may send (e.g., transmit) DCI comprising: a first field indicating a BWP, and/or a second field indicating a BWP action. The BWP action may comprise one or more of: switching to the BWP, activating the BWP, and/or deactivating the BWP. A base station may send (e.g., transmit) a MAC CE comprising an n-bit bitmap (e.g., an 8-bit bitmap associated with 4 bits for DL BWPs and/or 4 bits for UL BWPs, or any other quantity of bits) indicating that one or more BWPs may be activated/deactivated (e.g., activated or deactivated). base station and/or a wireless device may communicate via multiple active BWPs of a plurality of BWPs for sending and/or receiving multiple types of services in a cell. receiving DCI indicating BWP switching to the default BWP, and/or a first BWP timer associated with the first active BWP expiring, Zhou: [0379], [0422]-[0423], [0517]); and
one or more additional bit field values indicating an other of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (base station and/or a wireless device may communicate via multiple active BWPs of a plurality of BWPs for sending and/or receiving multiple types of services in a cell. receiving DCI indicating BWP switching to the default BWP, and/or a second BWP timer associated with the second active BWP expiring, Zhou: [0517]); and
performing full-duplex communications with the UE within the second downlink bandwidth part and the second uplink bandwidth part, or within the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band, or both (by activating the second BWP, wireless device may improve bi-directional communications with a base station, Zhou: [0238], [0526]).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose:
based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Maleki teaches:
based at least in part on the one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part (UE 100 may be configured with a sparse search space in one or more BWPs. When the network 10 expects downlink data for the UE 100, the network 10 may send DCI to the UE 100 in the sparse search space to cause the UE 100 to change to the packed search space for PDCCH monitoring. DCI may include an additional bit field for a switch command or switch indication. network may send the UE a scheduling DCI with a BWP change indication to cause the UE to switch from the BWP with the sparse search space to the BWP with the packed search space. the sparse search space and packed search space may be configured in different BWPs, Maleki: [0054], [0057]-[0058]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou in view of Maleki in order to further modify one or more bandwidth part indicator field values indicating the one of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part from the teachings of Maleki.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UE energy consumption can be significantly reduced and improves the UE energy efficiency even further (Maleki: [0004]).
Yet, Zhou in view of Maleki does not explicitly disclose:
whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Park teaches:
whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE (One or more BWP indicator fields may be provided in Downlink Control Information (DCI). A value of a BWP indicator field may indicate which BWP in a set of configured BWPs is an active downlink BWP for one or more downlink receptions. The value of the one or more BWP indicator fields may indicate an active uplink BWP for one or more uplink transmissions. The UE may process information contained in the DCI (e.g., a scheduling assignment, an uplink grant). the wireless device may receive downlink control information (DCI) (e.g., via PDCCH) that indicates a scheduling of a PUSCH transmission. The wireless device may receive the deactivation indication via at least one of: a MAC CE, a downlink control information (DCI) via a PDCCH, Park: [0122], [0198], [0229], [0252]-[0253]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou and Maleki in view of Park in order to further modify whether the downlink control information message schedules data at the UE from the teachings of Park.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for carrying downlink control information (DCI), which may include downlink scheduling commands, uplink scheduling grants, and uplink power control commands (Park: [0094]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 16, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be
allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The Examiner
has conducted a search of Patent and Non-Patent Literature and was unable to find any prior art which solely or in combination with another reference teaches the limitation of:
Claim 3 – wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: determine that the one or more additional bit field values indicate the other of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part based at least in part on the downlink control information message not scheduling the data at the UE.
Claim 16 – wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: determine that one or more bit field values received via the downlink control information message indicate the second downlink sub-band and the second uplink sub-band based at least in part on the downlink control information message not scheduling data at the UE, wherein the one or more bit field values comprise a modulation and coding scheme bit field, a time domain resource allocation bit field, or both.
Claim 19 – wherein the one or more additional bit field values indicate the other of the second downlink bandwidth part or the second uplink bandwidth part based at least in part on the downlink control information message not scheduling the data at the UE.
Conclusion
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 January 30, 2026