DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 16 and 18 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,934,385 to Robinson et al. (hereinafter Robinson) in view of “Stability of cross-linked acetic acid lignin-containing polyurethane” to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claims 20 and 2. Robinson teaches a polyurethane elastomer composition comprising: (a) an organic diisocyanate; (b) a polyester resin; (c) a chain extender; (d) a crosslinker; (e) a surfactant; (f) a foaming agent; (g) a plasticizer; and from 1 – 10 weight percent of a bio-additive (Column 3, Lines 43 – 48; and Claim 2).
Robinson does not expressly teach the bio-additive is an alkylated lignin. However, Wang teaches the concept of providing a modified lignin as an additive in a polyurethane composition (Page 294, second paragraph in first column). The lignin is specifically prepared by reacting spruce wood chips, i.e. milled wood lignin, with acetic acid in the presence of an acid catalyst (HCL) (Page 294, “Preparation of acetic acid lignin (AL)” in second column), thereby by providing acetic acid/acetylated lignin. Acetylated lignin is set forth as a species of esterified lignin in instant Claim 2. Robinson and Wang are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely bio-based polyurethanes. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select acetylated lignin, as taught by Wang, as the bio-additive in Robinson. The motivation would have been that Wang teaches lignin derivatives at low loading levels can simultaneously enhance the strength and elongation of the polyurethanes in which they are included (Page 294, second paragraph in first column).
Wang does not expressly characterize the above described acetylated lignin is soluble in the polyurethane elastomer. However, "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. Wang and the instant claims both set forth products of identical chemical structure, namely acetylated lignin prepared by substantially the same process. The properties claimed by applicant, i.e. solubility in the claimed polyurethane elastomer, are thus also necessarily present in the acetylated lignin of Wang.
Regarding Claims 3 – 6. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20. As detailed in the rejection of Claim 1, it is the Office’s position that it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide lignin obtained from milled wood and modified with acetic acid in the presence of an acid catalyst (HCL), as taught by Wang, as the bio-additive in Robinson.
The references do not expressly teach this alkylated lignin is further obtained with an organic anhydride and also does not expressly teach the catalyst corresponds to one of the instantly claimed species. However, such limitations appear to be product-by-process limitations that are not further limiting in as so far as the structure of the product is concerned. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113) Though Wang uses acetic acid instead of acetic anhydride and a catalyst which does not correspond to the instantly claimed species, the product of the prior art is the same – namely a lignin in which the hydroxyl groups have been substituted with acetyl groups. Once a product appearing substantially identical is found, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (MPEP 2113)
Regarding Claim 7. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the elastomer has a hardness value of about 15 to about 60 Asker C, a tensile strength of about 1 to about 10 MPa, a resilience of about 25 to about 60%, an elongation at break of from about 150 to 700 percent, and a tear strength of about 2 to about 4 N/mm2 (Column 3, Lines 43 – 55; and Claims 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 8. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the elastomer may have a bio-content of from about 60 to about 90% (Column 3, Lines 30 -32).
Regarding Claim 9. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 may further comprise a colorant (Column 3, Line 48).
Regarding Claim 10. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 9 wherein the colorant may be a die, pigment, or mixture thereof. The colorant is provided in an amount of about 0.5 to about 5 weight percent (Column 5, Lines 4 – 5).
The polyester resin may be a semi-crystalline polyester resin having a melting point of less of about 10 to 49°C, such as a copoly(1,3-propylenesuccinate)-copoly(1,2-propylenesuccinate) (Column 8, Lines 40 – 59).
The foaming agent may be carbon dioxide or water (Column 12, Lines 1 – 2).
Regarding Claim 11. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the polyester resin is a semi-crystalline resin obtained by a polycondensation reaction of an organic diacid and an organic diol (Column 6, Lines 20 – 24). Suitable organic diacids include succinic acid, adipic acid, 1,12-dodedacendioic acid, and dimer diacids (Column 6, Lines 43 – 59). Suitable organic diacids include 1,5-petanediol, 1,2-propanediol, 1,3-propanediol, 1,4-butanediol, 1,6-hexanediol, ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, and dipropylene glycol (Column 6, Line 63 – Column 7, Line). Both the organic diol and organic diacid may be obtained by fermentation of natural/bio-based sources (Column 6, Lines 43 – 46 and 63 – 65).
Regarding Claim 12. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the organic diisocyanate may be diphenylmethane 4,4’-diisocyanate (Column 12, Lines 10 – 22).
Regarding Claim 13. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the organic diisocyanate may be diphenylmethane 4,4’-diisocyanate (Column 12, Lines 10 – 22), i.e. a methylenediphenyl diisocyanate.
The polyester resin may be semi-crystalline polyester resin, such as a copoly(1,3-propylenesuccinate)-copoly(1,2-propylenesuccinate) (Column 8, Lines 40 – 59).
Regarding Claim 14. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the plasticizer may be tributyl citrate (Column 9, Lines 32 – 33).
Regarding Claim 15. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the surfactant may be a silicone surfactant (Column 10, Lines 44 – 46).
Regarding Claim 16. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the chain extender may be an alkylene glycol (Column 10, Lines 24 – 33).
The polyester resin may be a semi-crystalline polyester resin, such as a copoly(1,3-propylenesuccinate)-copoly(1,2-propylenesuccinate) (Column 8, Lines 40 – 59).
The plasticizer may be tributyl citrate (Column 9, Lines 32 – 33).
The crosslinker may be an amine compound (Column 10, Lines 1 – 7).
The foaming agent may be carbon dioxide or water (Column 12, Lines 1 – 2).
The polyurethane elastomer may also further comprise a colorant which is a dye (Column 5, Lines 4 – 5).
Regarding Claim 18. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the crosslinker may be diethanolamine (Column 10, Lines 1 – 3).
Regarding Claim 19. Robinson teaches the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 wherein the plasticizer may be present in an amount of about 0.1 to about 30% by weight (Column 9, Lines 32 – 64).
Regarding Claim 21. Robinson teaches a polyurethane elastomer foam comprising the polyurethane elastomer of Claim 20 (Column 5, Lines 22 – 32).
Double Patenting
Claims 2 – 16 and 18 – 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1 – 19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,124,675 in view of “Stability of cross-linked acetic acid lignin-containing polyurethane” to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang).
The claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,124,675 do not expressly set forth the lignin included in the composition is esterified. However, Wang teaches the concept of providing lignin or a modified lignin as an additive in a polyurethane composition (Page 294, second paragraph in first column). The modified lignin is specifically prepared by reacting spruce wood chips, i.e. milled wood lignin, with acetic acid in the presence of an acid catalyst (HCL) (Page 294, “Preparation of acetic acid lignin (AL)” in Column 2), thereby by providing acetic acid/acetylated lignin. Acetylated lignin is set forth as a species of esterified lignin in instant Claim 2. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the acetylated lignin taught by Wang for the lignin in the composition set forth in the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,124,675. The motivation would have been that it is obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. (MPEP 2144.06) Wang teaches both lignin and lignin derivatives can enhance the mechanical strength and abrasion resistance of the polyurethane in which it is included (Column 1, Lines 60 – 67), thus providing obviousness of substituting one for the other in such compositions.
Wang does not expressly characterize the above described acetylated lignin is soluble in the polyurethane elastomer. However, "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. Wang and the instant claims both set forth products of identical chemical structure, namely acetylated lignin. The properties claimed by applicant, i.e. solubility in the claimed polyurethane elastomer, are thus also necessarily present in the acetylated lignin of Wang.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 3, 2025 have been fully considered. The Office responds as follows:
A) The Office agrees that the present amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome all outstanding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Accordingly, all rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been withdrawn.
B) Applicant argues that the references applied in the outstanding 103 and obviousness-type double patenting rejections do not teach the alkylated lignin now claimed, which is prepared by esterification of lignin with an organic anhydride or acid and which is soluble within the polyurethane elastomer. In response, the Office respectfully submits that newly applied “Stability of cross-linked acetic acid lignin-containing polyurethane” to Wang et al. is relied upon to teach these limitations. This reference teaches the concept of providing a modified lignin as an additive in a polyurethane composition (Page 294, second paragraph in first column). The modified lignin is specifically prepared by reacting spruce wood chips, i.e. milled wood lignin, with acetic acid in the presence of an acid catalyst (HCL) (Page 294, “Preparation of acetic acid lignin (AL)” in second column), thereby by providing acetic acid/acetylated lignin. Acetylated lignin is set forth as a species of esterified lignin in instant Claim 2.
Further, while Wang does not expressly characterize the above described acetylated lignin is soluble in the polyurethane elastomer,"[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. Wang and the instant claims both set forth products of identical chemical structure, namely acetylated lignin. The properties claimed by applicant, i.e. solubility in the claimed polyurethane elastomer, are thus also necessarily present in the acetylated lignin of Wang.
C) Applicant’s arguments that the other applied references do not teach the claimed alkylated lignin are not persuasive, as the alleged deficiencies are addressed by Wang as detailed in the new grounds of rejection and in item B) of the present section.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764