DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions – Withdrawn
Applicant’s election with traverse of 1-16 in the reply filed on 08/21/2025 is acknowledged. However, in view of the prior art, as well as the claim amendments and arguments submitted 08/21/2025, the examiner is withdrawing the restriction requirement. Accordingly, the claims under current examination are claims 1-20.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 11 recites “wherein the flexible and stretchable material is a poly vinyl pyrrolidone matrix.” The examiner is interpreting this to mean the first layer and the second layer of claim 1 are polyvinylpyrrolidone.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the flexible and stretchable material is a polyacrylate or a polyacrylate copolymer.” The examiner is interpreting this to mean the first layer and the second layer of claim 1 are a polyacrylate or a polyacrylate copolymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Instant claim 8 recites “the hydrogel includes water in a range from about 5% to about 50%”. It is unclear how the percent range is measured (e.g., v/w or w/w). For the purposes of examination, the percent range will be interpreted as percent by weight.
The term “configured for” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “configured for” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how the how the material is “configured” for self-application. For the purposes of examination, “configured for” will be interpreted as “capable of.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1) Claims 1-6, 9, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (KR 100550065 B1, publication date 02/08/2006; citing English translation).
Hong discloses an adhesive for whitening teeth “comprising one or more hydrogel matrix layers, tooth attachment site protective layers, and exposed site protective layers" [abstract]. In one example, see first paragraph of page 7, the hydrogel is made with polyacrylic acid (i.e., polyacrylate and water swellable polymer1; limitation of instant claim 3, 6, and 9), and includes hydrogen peroxide (i.e., whitening agent; limitation of instant claim 13) and sodium stearate (i.e., a salt; limitation of instant claim 15). The hydrogel is applied to a PET film (polyethylene terephthalate) and laminated to a PE film (polyethylene; limitation of instant claim 2). According to Hong the polyethylene terephthalate film is an attachment site protective layer (i.e., release liner, limitation of instant claims 4 and 5) [p. 5, last paragraph].
The prior art is anticipatory insofar as it discloses a tape for use in the mouth comprising two layers that are laminated together and that include a first layer polyethylene polymer film and a second layer of polyacrylic acid, a water swellable hydrogel material, wherein a whitening agent and salt are associated with the hydrogel. The oral tape further comprises a third layer of polyethylene terephthalate as a release layer. Because the prior art contains substantially the same components as instantly claimed, it would have been expected to have the same properties, i.e. flexible and stretchable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1) Claims 7, 8, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (KR 100550065 B1, publication date 2/8/2006; citing English translation) as applied to claims 1-6, 9, 13, and 15 above.
Regarding instant claims 7 and 8, Hong discloses a material for the hydrogel is carboxymethyl cellulose (i.e., alkylated derivative of cellulose) which may be present in amounts from 0.01% to 70% [p. 4, paragraph 9].
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have selected carboxymethyl cellulose, the alkylated derivative of cellulose, as the hydrogel material because Hong discloses it is an option. MPEP 2144.07. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that, considering the discloses range of carboxymethyl cellulose, the water content of the hydrogel would range from 99.99% to 30%. As a result, the percent range of the water content in the prior art overlaps with the instantly claimed range and a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have produced the layered flexible and stretchable material disclosed by Hong with a hydrogel comprising an alkylated derivative of cellulose and with a water content as instantly claimed.
Regarding instant claim 14, Hong discloses the hydrogel may contain medicinal ingredients [p. 5, paragraph 5] and is an adhesive [p. 4, first paragraph]. It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at, at the time of filling, to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results by following the teachings of Hong . MPEP 2143 and 2144.06(I). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have produced the adhesive of the prior art such that it provided a medicinal delivery system.
Regarding instant claim 17-19, Hong discloses the hydrogel layer may comprise gum disease prevention components [p. 5, para. 5]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have understood a gum disease prevention component to be a therapeutic agent for transmission to the soft tissue of the mouth.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have combined the gum disease prevention component with the oral adhesive taught by Hong above. One would have been motivated and had an expectation of success in doing so because Hong discloses the gum disease prevention component is a desirable additive. Additionally, in combining these elements one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have produced the therapeutic sticker from the oral adhesive taught by Hong. The oral adhesive taught by Hong, and discussed above, comprises a flexible material which is made up of a polymer layer and a hydrogel material, and is infused with an ingredient for oral care (whitening agent) and salts. The therapeutic sticker, which would have been obvious at the time of filling, further comprises a therapeutic agent for transmission to the soft tissue of the mouth (i.e., gum disease prevention component).
2) Claims 16 and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (KR 100550065 B1, publication date 2/8/2006; citing English translation) as applied to claims 1-9, 13-15 and 17-19 above, and further in view of Giniger et al. (US 2007/0122362 A1, publication date 5/31/2007).
Hong, which is taught above, differs from instant claims 16 and 20 insofar as it does not teach the length or width of the film and does not teach a semi-circular shape. Hong does teach the thickness to be between 10 and 100 µm (i.e. 0.001 cm to 0.1 cm; p. 6, paragraph 4) and that it may be cut into a shape [p. 6, paragraph 7].
Giniger discloses a “hydrophilic cohesive hydrogel products which are adapted for a variety of oral uses” [0018] such as whitening teeth [abstract]. Giniger discloses the hydrogel product may be short strips that are about 8 mm wide and about 24 mm long (i.e. 0.8 cm and 2.4 cm) [paragraph 32].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to produce the film discloses by Hong in the dimensions disclosed by Giniger. One would have been motivated to do so because Hong teaches the film for whitening teeth should be cut to size but does not disclose a specific size. One would have had an expectation of success because Giniger discloses a suitable dimensions for a tooth whitening film. The result would have been a film, as taught by Hong, with a length of 2.4 cm, a width of 0.8 cm and a thickness between 0.001 cm to 0.1 cm. In the case, such as the present case, where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have produced a material with at least a polymer layer and a hydrogel material layer with the dimensions instantly claimed.
Regarding instant claim 20, Giniger discloses the hydrogel can be in a semi-circular shape [page 5, images]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have cut the film disclosed in Hong into a semi-circular shape following Giniger’s disclosure. One would have been motivated to do so because Hong teaches the film should be cut to size but does not disclose a specific size. One would have had an expectation of success because Giniger discloses a similar product that is shaped in a semi-circle. Additionally, in combining these elements one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Therefore, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have cut the film and therapeutic sticker taught by Hong into a semicircular shape. Because the prior art contains substantially the same components as instantly claimed, it would have been expected to have the same properties, i.e. capable of adhering to the soft tissue inside the mouth.
3) Claims 1, 6, 7, 10-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US 2004/0224007 A1, publication date 9/11/2004).
Regarding instant claims 1, 6, 7 and 10-12, Zhang discloses an oral “drug delivery device comprises a water-dissolvable backing layer, an adhesive layer adjacent to at least a portion of the backing layer, and an active layer” (abstract). The backing layer is a hydrogel comprising at least on component selected from ethyl cellulose (instant claims 6 and 7), polyvinylpyrrolidone (limitation of instant claim 11), polyacrylic acid (limitation of instant claim 12), and derivatives thereof (limitation of instant claim 10) [p. 9, claim 7]. The adhesive layer may comprise polyvinyl pyrrolidone (limitation of instant claim 11) and/or polyacrylic acid polymer (limitation of instant claim 12) [p. 9, claim 5].
Zhang is not anticipatory because it does not disclose all the instantly claimed components in one example or embodiment.
However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at, at the time of filling, to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results by following the teachings of Zhang . MPEP 2143 and 2144.06(I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have produced an oral adhesive comprising two or more layers (i.e., water-dissolvable backing layer, an adhesive layer, and an active layer) laminated together. Wherein the first and second layers (i.e., the flexible and stretchable material) are either polyacrylic acid (i.e., a polyacrylate) or a polyvinyl pyrrolidone matrix.
Similarly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have produced the oral adhesive taught by Zhang comprising ethyl cellulose, an alkylated derivative of cellulose, and its derivatives as the hydrogel.
Regarding instant claim 13 and 14, Zhang discloses the device may contain morphine (i.e., pain reliever) [p. 9, claim 2]. As a result, the device would have had adhesive properties and provided a medicinal delivery system.
Regarding instant claim 15, Zhang discloses the device may contain plasticizers [p. 9, claim 8].
Regarding instant claim 17-19, Zhang discloses the active layer to be a matrix material [0066] which may be polyacrylic acids (i.e. an acrylic polymer) [0069] and may further include sodium laurylsulfate (i.e., a salt) [0068] and flavorants. Flavoring agents are an ingredient to improve oral care according to the instant specification at page 19, paragraph 2.
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (see MPEP 2144.07). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed this active layer as a hydrogel because Zhang discloses a polyacrylic acid hydrogel. The result would have been a material comprising two or more layers including a first layer of polymer film (i.e., adhesive layer) and a second layer of hydrogel material (i.e., active layer) with a therapeutic agent associated with the hydrogel, where the hydrogel is an acrylic polymer (i.e. polyacrylic acids) and further includes a salt (i.e. sodium laurylsulfate) and an ingredient to improve oral care. Wherein the therapeutic agent is for transmission to the soft tissue of the mouth.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11, 13-18 and 21-26 of copending Application No. 17/581,825 and in view of Hong et al. (KR 100550065 B1, publication date 2/8/2006; citing English translation), Zhang (US 2004/0224007 A1, publication date 9/11/2004) and Giniger et al. (US 2007/0122362 A1, publication date 5/31/2007).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both embrace a flexible and stretchable material infused with an ingredient (i.e. sorbitol; claim 13), with an adhesive (claim 1), for application to braces (claim 1). The material comprises a dissolvable polymer (i.e. polyvinyl pyrrolidone).
The copending claims do not disclose all the specific polymers instantly claimed.
Hong discloses an adhesive for whitening teeth “comprising one or more hydrogel matrix layers, tooth attachment site protective layers, and exposed site protective layers" [abstract]. In one example, see first paragraph of page 7, the hydrogel is made with polyacrylic acid (i.e., polyacrylate and water swellable polymer2; limitation of instant claim 3, 6, 9 and 19), and includes hydrogen peroxide (i.e., whitening agent; limitation of instant claim 13 and 17) and sodium stearate (i.e., a salt; limitation of instant claim 15 and 17). The hydrogel is applied to a PET film (polyethylene terephthalate) and laminated to a PE film (polyethylene; limitation of instant claim 2). According to Hong the polyethylene terephthalate film is an attachment site protective layer (i.e., release liner, limitation of instant claims 4 and 5) [p. 5, last paragraph].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have combined the polymers of Hong with the adhesive disclosed by the copending claims. In combining these elements, one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
Regarding instant claims 7 and 8, Hong discloses a material for the hydrogel is carboxymethyl cellulose (i.e., alkylated derivative of cellulose) which may be present in amounts from 0.01% to 70% [p. 4, paragraph 9].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have appreciated that, considering the discloses range of carboxymethyl cellulose, the water content of the hydrogel would range from 99.99% to 30%. As a result, the percent range of the water content in the prior art overlaps with the instantly claimed range and a prima facie case of obviousness exist. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP§2144.05(I).
The copending claims and Hong do not disclose the flexible stretchable material (all layers) are polyvinylpyrrolidone or polyacrylate.
Zhang discloses an oral “drug delivery device comprises a water-dissolvable backing layer, an adhesive layer adjacent to at least a portion of the backing layer, and an active layer” (abstract). The backing layer is a hydrogel comprising at least on component selected from ethyl cellulose (instant claims 6 and 7), polyvinylpyrrolidone (limitation of instant claim 11), polyacrylic acid (limitation of instant claim 12), and derivatives thereof (limitation of instant claim 10) [p. 9, claim 7]. The adhesive layer may comprise polyvinyl pyrrolidone (limitation of instant claim 11) and/or polyacrylic acid polymer (limitation of instant claim 12) [p. 9, claim 5].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filling, to have combined the polymers of Zhang with the adhesive disclosed by the copending claims. In combining these elements, one would have expected nothing more than predictable results because, when combined, each prior art element would have performed the same function as it had separately. See MPEP 2143, Exemplary Rationale A.
The copending claims, Hong and Zhang do not disclose a semicircular shape.
Regarding instant claim 20, Giniger discloses an oral adhesive comprising a hydrogel can be in a semi-circular shape [page 5, images].
It would have been obvious to form the adhesive of the copending application into a semicircle because Giniger discloses a semicircle is a suitable shape. MPEP 2144.07.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Technological Background
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. J. Elliott et al., Polymer, Volume 45, Issue 5, 2004, Pages 1503-1510 is pertinent for teaching that polyacrylic acids in hydrogels are a swellable polymer.
Conclusion
/C.T.W./ Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/WALTER E WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612
1 J. Elliott et al., Polymer, Volume 45, Issue 5, 2004, Pages 1503-1510
2 J. Elliott et al., Polymer, Volume 45, Issue 5, 2004, Pages 1503-1510