DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive in part and are persuasive in part, as discussed below. The previous rejections are modified to address the claim amendments, and new grounds of rejection are applied as necessitated by the amendments.
Regarding Feature 1: “the first Uu RLC bearer is used to transmit Uu signaling of a remote terminal; the Uu signaling includes RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling”
Applicant argues that Du fails to disclose a Uu RLC bearer configured to transmit Uu signaling, specifically RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling, of a remote terminal. Applicant contends that Du’s embodiments are directed to a Layer-3 (L3) UE-to-network relay architecture where the remote UE does not establish an RRC connection with the base station, and accordingly, the Uu DRBs configured in Du carry IP data packets of the remote UE rather than RRC or NAS signaling. Applicant further argues that while RRC reconfiguration signaling appears in Du’s communication process of Figure 4, those RRC reconfiguration messages are used to configure the air interface DRB or PC5 DRB of the relay UE, and when such RRC reconfiguration information is sent, the air interface DRB has not yet been established. Applicant concludes that the established air interface DRB in Du is not for sending RRC reconfiguration signaling, but rather for sending IP data packets.
The Examiner has fully considered this argument and finds it persuasive with respect to Du standing alone. The Examiner acknowledges that Du’s detailed embodiments operate within a Layer-3 UE-to-network relay architecture, as confirmed by Du at paragraph [0171], which states that “for L3 UE-to-network relay, no RRC connection is established between the remote UE and the base station, that is, the base station neither identifies the remote UE nor stores the context of the remote UE.” Du further confirms at paragraph [0172] that in the L3 relay scenario “the relay UE does not need to forward control plane data.” Accordingly, the Uu DRBs configured in Du carry IP data packets of the remote UE, and the Examiner withdraws reliance on Du alone for the limitation requiring that the first Uu RLC bearer is used to transmit Uu signaling including RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling of the remote terminal.
However, this limitation is addressed by Kim (U.S. Pat. 10,757,681 B2), which is already of record and was previously applied to dependent claims 5, 10, and 12. Kim teaches a Layer-2 relay architecture in which the relay UE receives and forwards RRC signaling and NAS signaling of the remote UE to the base station through the Uu bearer established between the relay UE and the eNB. Specifically, Kim discloses at Column 12, Table 3 that “the eRelay-UE is a Layer 2 relay,” and at Column 12, lines 20 through 24 that “UP and CP data of an evolved ProSe Remote UE are relayed above the RLC sublayer via an evolved ProSe UE-to-network relay UE.” Kim further teaches at Column 13, lines 28 through 31 that “upon receipt of a network connection request (an RRC message, a NAS message, a PC5-S message, or user traffic) from a remote UE, an idle-mode relay UE should transmit the request to a network by transitioning to connected mode.” At Column 14, lines 38 through 47, Kim discloses that the relay UE forwards the remote UE’s RRC Connection Request message generated from the AS layer of the remote UE to the eNB. At Column 15, lines 9 through 23, Kim discloses that the relay UE transmits an RRC Connection Setup Complete message to the eNB that includes a Service Request message, which is a NAS message generated by the NAS layer of the remote UE. Kim therefore teaches that in a Layer-2 relay scenario, the bearer between the relay UE and the base station is used to transmit Uu signaling of the remote terminal, where that signaling expressly includes both RRC signaling and NAS signaling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Du’s bearer configuration framework to apply to a Layer-2 relay architecture as taught by Kim, because Du itself recognizes both Layer-2 and Layer-3 relay architectures. Du states at paragraph [0034] that “access stratum (Layer2)-based relay technology” involves the remote UE establishing “a connection with the gNB and the core network through the relay UE” and forwarding “bearer data between the relay UE and the gNB.” Du further acknowledges at paragraph [0035] that Layer-2 relay “supports better reliability and safety than the Layer3-based relay and can effectively support the mobility and safety of the remote UE.” One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have been motivated to apply the Uu RLC bearer configuration techniques disclosed in Du to a Layer-2 relay scenario as taught by Kim in order to support remote UEs that require direct RRC and NAS connectivity with the base station, thereby expanding relay functionality with improved mobility management, reliability, and security. Accordingly, the combination of Du and Kim addresses the amended limitation, and the rejection is maintained on modified grounds.
Regarding Feature 2: “when the relay terminal is in an idle state / inactive state / RRC connected state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling”
Applicant argues that Han is inapplicable because Han’s UE1 is not used as a relay UE for relaying data between UE2 and BS1. Applicant contends that UE1 in Han is merely the initiating UE for sidelink communication whose purpose is to establish sidelink communication with UE2, and that the purpose of UE1 sending a sidelink DRX configuration request message to BS1 is to request BS1 to determine the sidelink DRX configuration in order to align UE2’s sidelink DRX configuration with Uu DRX configuration. Applicant further argues that Han does not disclose whether the sidelink DRX configuration request message is carried by a specific message such as an RRC connection establishment request or RRC connection establishment completion message, and that the uplink signaling sent by the UE to the BS disclosed by Han does not equal the first uplink signaling sent after RRC connection establishment and recovery are completed, or in the RRC connection state, as recited in the present application.
The Examiner has fully considered these arguments but finds them not persuasive. Regarding Applicant’s contention that Han is not applicable to relay scenarios, the Examiner respectfully notes that the test for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is not whether the secondary reference operates in an identical scenario as the claimed invention, but whether a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); MPEP § 2145(III). Han is analogous art under MPEP § 2141.01(a) because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, namely, how a UE communicates configuration-related requests to a base station over the Uu interface depending on the UE’s current RRC state. Both Han and the claimed invention address sidelink communication scenarios in which a UE must convey a configuration request to a network-side device, and both must account for the UE’s RRC connection state when doing so. That Han’s specific use case is sidelink DRX alignment rather than relay bearer configuration does not negate its teaching of the mechanism by which a UE sends a request to a base station conditioned upon its RRC state. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the general principle of sending a configuration request to the base station while the UE is in the RRC connected state, as taught by Han, is directly applicable to the relay terminal sending a relay request while in the RRC connected state.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Han does not disclose whether the request message is carried by a specific RRC message type such as an RRC connection establishment request or RRC connection setup complete message, the Examiner notes that the amended independent claims do not recite a particular message type. The independent claims recite “sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling” when the relay terminal is in a particular RRC state. The term “first uplink signaling” is broad and encompasses any uplink signaling from the UE to the base station. Han, at paragraph [0059], teaches that “if UE1 is in the RRC-connected mode, which means the UE1 is already RRC connected with BS1, then UE1 can send a sidelink DRX configuration request message to BS1.” A message sent from a UE to a base station while in RRC connected mode necessarily traverses uplink signaling and therefore meets the claim limitation. The Examiner further notes that the more specific RRC message types that Applicant appears to contemplate, such as adding the relay request to an RRC connection setup request or an RRC connection resume complete message, are recited in dependent claim 5. The independent claims’ broader “first uplink signaling” language is fully met by Han’s teaching.
Additionally, the Examiner notes that the amended claims recite three alternative conditions connected by “and/or,” which means that only one of the three alternatives need be satisfied for the limitation to be met. Han teaches at minimum the third alternative, namely, when the relay terminal is in an RRC connected state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling. Even if Applicant were to successfully argue that Han does not teach the idle state or inactive state alternatives, the claim as a whole would still be met because the “and/or” structure requires only one branch to be satisfied.
Regarding Applicant’s amendment changing “if” to “when” in claims 1 and 20, and the restructuring of claim 16 to read “when the network-side device receiving the first relay request sent by the relay terminal,” the Examiner acknowledges that these amendments make the conditional limitations mandatory rather than optional. However, because the three alternatives remain connected by “and/or,” satisfaction of any single branch satisfies the overall limitation. As discussed above, Han teaches the RRC connected state alternative, and therefore the amendment does not overcome the Han rejection for this feature. The Examiner further notes that Applicant’s amendment to claim 16 introduces potential indefiniteness concerns under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), which are addressed separately in this Office Action.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Han into the combination of Du and Kim in order to ensure that the relay terminal properly utilizes its existing RRC connection state when sending configuration requests to the network-side device, thereby reducing unnecessary connection setup overhead and quickly aligning configurations in sidelink communications. See Han, paragraph [0059]; MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Regarding the Dependent claims, Applicant asserts that dependent claims 2 through 15 and 17 through 19 are allowable “for at least the same reasons” as the independent claims and further states that these claims “add further limitations that also render them separately allowable.” However, Applicant provides no specific argument directed to any particular dependent claim or any explanation of why the additional limitations of the dependent claims render them separately allowable over the cited prior art. Accordingly, because the independent claims are not allowable for the reasons discussed above, and because Applicant has not provided any particularized arguments for the dependent claims, the dependent claims are not allowable and the rejections of those claims are maintained. See MPEP § 707.07(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites, in the limitation defining the receiving step:
“wherein the receiving a first relay request sent by a relay terminal comprises: when the network-side device receiving the first relay request sent by the relay terminal in an idle state through first uplink signaling after the RRC connection is completed; and/or when the network-side device receiving the first relay request sent by the relay terminal in an inactive state through first uplink signaling after RRC connection resume is completed; and/or when the network-side device receiving the first relay request sent by the relay terminal in RRC connected state through first uplink signaling.”
This limitation is indefinite for the reasons set forth below.
First, the phrase “when the network-side device receiving the first relay request” is grammatically incomplete and renders the scope of the limitation unclear. The clause lacks a properly conjugated verb; it is unclear whether Applicant intends “when the network-side device receives the first relay request” (reciting a positive step of receipt) or “the network-side device receiving the first relay request” (reciting a condition or participial modifier). Because the clause is amenable to more than one plausible interpretation, the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined. See MPEP § 2173.02(I); In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 110 USPQ2d 1785 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Second, it is unclear whether the phrase “in an idle state,” “in an inactive state,” and “in RRC connected state” modifies the “network-side device” or the “relay terminal.” Grammatically, each phrase immediately follows “the relay terminal,” suggesting it modifies the relay terminal; however, each phrase could also be read as modifying the “network-side device” that is the subject of the clause. The distinction is material because the claim is directed to the network-side device, and the RRC state (idle, inactive, or connected) is a state attribute properly attributable to the relay terminal, not the network-side device. This ambiguity leaves one of ordinary skill in the art unable to ascertain whose RRC state governs each alternative.
Third, the phrase “after the RRC connection is completed” is indefinite because it is unclear to which entity’s RRC connection this phrase refers. It is unclear whether “the RRC connection” refers to (a) an RRC connection between the relay terminal and the network-side device, (b) an RRC connection associated with the remote terminal, or (c) some other connection. Furthermore, the use of the definite article “the RRC connection” lacks proper antecedent basis, as no RRC connection has been previously recited in claim 16, rendering it unclear which connection is being referenced. See MPEP § 2173.05(e).
Fourth, the corresponding independent claims 1 and 20 recite this limitation in the active voice from the relay terminal’s perspective (i.e., “sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling after RRC connection setup is completed”), whereas claim 16 recites the limitation from the network-side device’s perspective in a manner that does not clearly parallel claims 1 and 20. For example, claim 1 recites “after RRC connection setup is completed,” while claim 16 recites “after the RRC connection is completed,” and this inconsistency in terminology creates further uncertainty as to whether the two claims are intended to recite the same or different conditions.
For the foregoing reasons, claim 16 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 17, 18, and 19 each depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 16 and therefore incorporate all of the limitations of claim 16, including the indefinite limitation discussed above. Accordingly, claims 17–19 inherit and do not cure the indefiniteness of claim 16, and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons. See MPEP § 2143.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du (CN 111901784 A) (Note: application Du (U.S. Pub. 2023/0063139 A1) is an official translation and being used for citations.) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. 10,757,681 B2, hereinafter Kim) and further in view of Han et al. (U.S. Pub. 2023/0064488 A1, hereinafter Han).
Regarding Claim 1, Du teaches a method for remote terminal (e.g., Remote UE) connection management, applied to a relay terminal (e.g., Relay UE) and comprising:
sending a first relay request to a network-side device, wherein the first relay request is used to request the network-side device (e.g., Base station) to perform relay function-related configuration (FIG. 4, paragraphs [0203], [0213]; remote UE sends a relay request to the relay UE, which is then forwarded to the network-side device (base station) in the form of a relay request and PC5 unicast connection request as indicated by S290);
and receiving first configuration information sent by the network-side device, wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a first Uu radio link control RLC bearer (Paragraphs [0203], [0214], [0218], and [0227]; the relay UE establishes a Uu DRB and a downlink PC5 DRB according to configuration information delivered by the base station as indicated by S2100; configuration information includes related parameters required for sending a sidelink radio bearer (SLRB); an RLC acknowledged mode (AM) or unacknowledged mode (UM); and other RLC-related and logical channel-related configuration information).
Du teaches the configuration of Uu RLC bearers for the relay UE and teaches both Layer-2 and Layer-3 relay architectures in the abstract (paragraph [0034]: “Access stratum (Layer2)-based relay technology: The remote UE establishes a connection with the gNB and the core network through the relay UE and forwards bearer data between the relay UE and the gNB”). However, Du’s detailed embodiments focus on Layer-3 relay where the Uu DRB carries IP data packets rather than RRC/NAS signaling of the remote terminal. Du does not expressly teach:
(i) the first Uu RLC bearer is used to transmit Uu signaling of a remote terminal; the Uu signaling includes RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling; and
(ii) wherein the sending a first relay request to a network-side device comprises: when the relay terminal is in an idle state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling after RRC connection setup is completed; and/or when the relay terminal is in an inactive state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling after RRC connection resume is completed; and/or when the relay terminal is in an RRC connected state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling.
Regarding deficiency (i), Kim teaches a method for performing a paging-related operation by a base station of a second user equipment (UE) having a connection to a first UE in a wireless communication system, wherein in a Layer-2 relay architecture (Col. 12, Table 3: “The eRelay-UE is a Layer 2 relay”; Col. 12, lines 20–24: “UP and CP data of an evolved ProSe Remote UE are relayed above the RLC sublayer via an evolved ProSe UE-to-network relay UE”), the relay UE receives and forwards RRC signaling and NAS signaling of the remote UE to the base station through the Uu bearer established between the relay UE and the eNB. Specifically:
Col. 13, lines 28–31: “Upon receipt of a network connection request (an RRC message, a NAS message, a PC5-S message, or user traffic) from a remote UE, an idle-mode relay UE should transmit the request to a network by transitioning to connected mode.”
Col. 14, lines 38–47: The relay UE forwards the remote UE’s RRC Connection Request message generated from the AS layer of the remote UE to the eNB via step S1204. The message “may include an RRC Connection Request message generated from the AS layer of the remote UE, UE #1.”
Col. 14, lines 55–59: The message may include information indicating that the RRC Connection Request message is “for the remote UE, UE #1” or is “relayed by the relay UE, UE #2.”
Col. 15, lines 9–23: The relay UE transmits an RRC Connection Setup Complete message to the eNB that includes a Service Request message (NAS message) generated by the NAS layer of the remote UE.
Kim therefore teaches that in a Layer-2 relay scenario, the bearer between the relay UE and the base station is used to transmit Uu signaling of the remote terminal, including RRC signaling and NAS signaling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Du with the teachings of Kim to incorporate a first Uu RLC bearer used to transmit Uu signaling of a remote terminal, wherein the Uu signaling includes RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling. The motivation to combine is that Du itself recognizes both Layer-2 and Layer-3 relay architectures (Du, paragraph [0034]–[0035]) and acknowledges that Layer-2 relay “supports better reliability and safety than the Layer3-based relay and can effectively support the mobility and safety of the remote UE” (Du, paragraph [0035]). Kim teaches the specific Layer-2 relay implementation where the Uu bearer carries RRC/NAS signaling of the remote UE (Kim, Col. 13, lines 28–31), and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Du’s bearer configuration framework to a Layer-2 relay to provide improved mobility and security support for the remote terminal.
Regarding deficiency (ii), Han teaches a method for sidelink communication comprising:
when the UE is in an RRC connected state, sending a request through uplink signaling to the base station (paragraph [0059]: “If UE1 is in the RRC-connected mode, which means the UE1 is already RRC connected with BS1, then UE1 can send a sidelink DRX configuration request message to BS1”; read as: when the terminal is in an RRC connected state, it sends the request through uplink signaling to the network-side device).
The Examiner notes that the amended claim recites three alternatives connected by “and/or,” and thus only one alternative need be satisfied. Han teaches at minimum the third alternative (when the relay terminal is in an RRC connected state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further incorporated the teachings of Han into the combination of Du and Kim in order to ensure that the relay terminal properly utilizes its existing RRC connection state when sending configuration requests to the network-side device, thereby quickly aligning configurations in sidelink communications and reducing connection setup delays. See Han, paragraph [0059]; MPEP § 2143(I)(G) (some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Du, Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first Uu RLC bearer is a Uu signaling radio bearer SRB RLC bearer or a Uu data radio bearer DRB RLC bearer (See Du, FIG. 4, paragraphs [0203], [0204], and [0226]; schematic diagram of a process of establishing a Uu data forwarding bearer (DRB) when relay UE forwards data for a remote UE to the base station; the base station configures a Uu data forwarding bearer (relay DRB) for the relay UE which includes an RLC mode and/or RLC-related configuration. See also Kim, Col. 14, lines 53–56: the eNB and the relay UE set up a user plane radio bearer (i.e., a DRB), and Col. 15, line 5: “the relay UE, UE #2 has established a signaling radio bearer with the network,” teaching both SRB and DRB).
Regarding claim 3, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein if there is more than one remote terminal (See Du, Paragraph [0182]; relay UE may need to select different mapping configurations in the case multiple remote UEs are connected to the same relay UE),
Uu signaling of different remote terminals is transmitted by using different first Uu RLC bearers (See Du, Paragraphs [0182] and [0183]; in the event multiple remote UEs are connected to the same relay UE, IP data of different remote UEs is sent through different Uu DRBs separately; see also Kim, FIG. 11, Col. 13, lines 14–16: “for Layer-2 relay, a serving MME (i.e., MME #1) exists for a remote UE, UE #1, and a serving MME (i.e., MME #2) exists for a relay UE, UE #2. That is, there are S1-MMEs for the UEs,” teaching separate signaling paths for different remote UEs);
or Uu signaling of different remote terminals is transmitted by using a same first Uu RLC bearer;
or, wherein different types of Uu signaling of a same remote terminal is transmitted by using a same first Uu RLC bearer;
or different types of Uu signaling of a same remote terminal is transmitted by using different first Uu RLC bearers.
Regarding claim 4, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein at least one of the following indication information is carried in the Uu signaling or sent simultaneously with the Uu signaling:
an identifier of the remote terminal (See Du, Paragraph [0178]; relay UE receives the IP data packet from the remote UE and parses the IP data packet and determines if the packet needs to be relayed or forwarded to the base station through the ID in the MAC sub header. See also Kim, Col. 14, lines 55–59: “the RRC Connection Request message may then include information indicating that this message is for the remote UE, UE #1”);
and a type of the Uu signaling.
Regarding claim 5, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending a first relay request to a network-side device also comprises:
if the relay terminal is in an idle state, adding the first relay request to a radio resource control RRC connection setup request to be sent to the network-side device (See Kim, FIG. 12, steps S1201–S1205, Col. 14, lines 39–55; the idle relay UE receives the relay request from UE #1 (e.g., remote UE), the relay UE performs a random-access procedure with the base station according to the network connection request from the remote UE, and the relay UE then performs an RRC connection request in response to the random-access response from the base station. The RRC Connection Request message may include an RRC Connection Request message generated from the AS layer of the remote UE, UE #1 (Col. 14, lines 55–59), thereby adding the relay-related request to the RRC connection setup request),
or adding the first relay request to an RRC connection setup complete to be sent to the network-side device;
and/or if the relay terminal is in an inactive state, adding the first relay request to an RRC connection resume request to be sent to the network-side device,
or adding the first relay request to an RRC connection resume complete to be sent to the network-side device.
The motivation to combine Du and Kim with Han is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
establishing, based on configuration information of a first sidelink RLC bearer on a relay terminal side, the first sidelink RLC bearer with the remote terminal (See Du, FIG. 4, Paragraphs [0207] and [0208]; remote UE discovers the relay UE and starts the L2 link establishment process via higher-layer signaling),
wherein the first sidelink RLC bearer is used to transmit Uu signaling of the remote terminal (See Du, Paragraph [0039]; the first communication node (e.g., relay UE) is used to forward remote UE transmission data between the relay and third communication node (e.g., base station). See also Kim, Col. 13, lines 28–31; relay UE forwards RRC messages and NAS messages of the remote UE),
and the first sidelink RLC bearer has a mapping relationship with the first Uu RLC bearer (See Du, Paragraph [0187]; the relay UE maps the IP data to be forwarded to the Uu DRB based on a mapping relationship between PC5 DRBs and Uu DRBs which is configured or preconfigured by the base station).
Regarding claim 7, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the mapping relationship is configured by the network-side device or the relay terminal (See Du, Paragraph [0187]; the relay UE maps the IP data to be forwarded to the Uu DRB based on a mapping relationship between PC5 DRBs and Uu DRBs which is configured or preconfigured by the base station),
or wherein the first sidelink RLC bearer is a sidelink DRB bearer or a sidelink SRB RLC bearer,
or wherein before the establishing the first sidelink RLC bearer with the remote terminal, the method further comprises:
sending the configuration information of the first sidelink RLC bearer on a remote terminal side to the remote terminal.
Regarding claim 8, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the configuration information of the first sidelink RLC bearer is determined in at least one of the following manners:
being configured by the network-side device (See Du, Paragraph [0187]; the relay UE maps the IP data to be forwarded to the Uu DRB based on a mapping relationship between PC5 DRBs and Uu DRBs which is configured or preconfigured by the base station);
being configured by the relay terminal; and
being specified by a protocol,
wherein the being configured by the relay terminal comprises at least one of the following:
being configured by the relay terminal after the relay terminal agrees to provide a relay service for the remote terminal;
being configured by the relay terminal after the relay terminal is accepted by the network-side device as a relay terminal;
being configured by the relay terminal after the relay terminal receives the configuration information of the first Uu RLC bearer (See Du, FIG. 4, paragraphs [0211], [0227]; the base station configures the PC5 DRB for the relay UE);
being configured by the relay terminal based on the configuration information of the first Uu RLC bearer; and
being configured by the relay terminal based on a default parameter of a protocol.
Regarding claim 9, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the configuration information of the first Uu RLC bearer and the configuration information of the first sidelink RLC bearer comprise at least one of the following:
RLC configuration (See Du, Paragraph [0227]; the base station configures the PC5 DRB for the relay UE; configuration information includes related parameters required for sending a sidelink radio bearer (SLRB); and RLC acknowledged mode (AM) or unacknowledged mode (UM); and other RLC-related and logical channel-related configuration information);
and media access control MAC configuration, wherein the MAC configuration comprises at least one of the following:
logical channel identifier (See Du, Paragraphs [0176] and [0177]; a PC5 unicast bearer established through RRC signaling between the remote UE and relay UE, may be defined by logical channel identifier distinguished by the ID included in a media access control (MAC) sub header),
logical channel priority, and
prioritized bit rate.
Regarding claim 10, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving the Uu signaling of the remote terminal from the remote terminal by using a sidelink RRC message, wherein the sidelink RRC message comprises at least indication information of a type of the Uu signaling, and the type comprises at least one of the following:
RRC signaling and non-access stratum NAS signaling (See Kim, Col. 13, lines 28–31; relay UE receives network connection request (an RRC message, NAS message, a PC5-S message, or user traffic) from remote UE. A PC5 interface is also referred to as a sidelink interface. See also Kim, FIG. 12, Col. 14, lines 38–47; step S1201 indicates relay UE receives a relay request message which may explicitly or implicitly indicate inclusion of the RRC message from the remote UE, including an RRC Connection Request message generated from the AS layer of the remote UE).
The motivation to combine Du, Kim, and Han is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above. In particular, Kim teaches a Layer-2 relay architecture in which the remote UE’s RRC and NAS signaling is explicitly indicated and forwarded via the sidelink interface to the relay UE.
Regarding claim 11, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information further comprises:
configuration information of a first Uu DRB RLC bearer (See Du, Paragraphs [0203], [0214], [0218], and [0227]; the relay UE establishes a Uu DRB and a downlink PC5 DRB according to configuration information delivered by the base station as indicated by S2100; configuration information includes related parameters required for sending a sidelink radio bearer (SLRB); an RLC acknowledged mode (AM) or unacknowledged mode (UM); and other RLC-related and logical channel-related configuration information),
and the first Uu DRB RLC bearer is used to transmit service data of the remote terminal (See Du, Paragraphs [0226] and [0228]; the base station configures the mapping relationship between PC5 data and Uu data forwarding bearer (relay DRB) for the relay UE to forward the uplink and downlink data of the remote UE).
Regarding claim 12, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein after the sending a first relay request to a network-side device, the method further comprises:
sending a third relay request to the network-side device, wherein the third relay request is used to request the network-side device to configure a Uu RLC bearer for transmitting service data of the remote terminal (See Kim, FIG. 12, Col. 14, lines 39–47, Col. 15, lines 9–13 and 56–60; steps S1201, S1207, S1211: remote UE transmits a first relay message requesting relay of UL traffic to the network to the relay UE, which is then forwarded to the eNB (base station). The eNB and the relay UE set up a user plane radio bearer (DRB) to provide a network connection for the remote UE. Remote UE transmits a second relay message after the relay UE established an RRC connection with the base station. Kim, Col. 12, Table 3, teaches the eRelay-UE is a Layer-2 Relay, indicating relay UE relays at the MAC layer which is connected to the RLC layer per Col. 7, lines 62–65. Kim, FIG. 9, Col. 12, lines 43–51, teaches it is possible to multiplex traffic of the evolved ProSe UE-to-network relay UE itself onto the Uu DRB, mapping between sidelink bearers and Uu bearers is up to eNB implementation and is configured for the evolved ProSe UE-to-network relay UE by the eNB);
and receiving configuration information of a second Uu DRB RLC bearer sent by the network-side device, wherein the second Uu DRB RLC bearer is used to transmit service data of the remote terminal (See Kim, FIG. 12, Col. 15, lines 57–60; step S1211: eNB (base station) sets up a user plane radio bearer, used to provide a network connection service to the remote UE, based on the initial context setup provided to the eNB as indicated in step S1210; step S1221 indicates establishment of a second radio bearer),
wherein the third relay request comprises at least one of the following:
an identifier of the remote terminal (See Kim, Col. 14, lines 39–47, lines 55–59; the remote UE sends a relay request to the relay UE which may include an RRC connection request message generated from the NAS layer of the remote UE; the RRC connection request message may then include information indicating that this message is for the remote UE (e.g., identifier of the remote terminal));
and service information of the remote terminal.
The motivation to combine is the same as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, and additionally because such a third relay request message is used to configure bearers for service data in the event the relay UE transitions from an idle state and does not initially have a data bearer to the base station (Kim, Col. 13, lines 28–36).
Regarding claim 13, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first relay request comprises at least one of the following:
relay indication information, wherein the relay indication information is used to indicate that a current message is the first relay request;
an identifier of the remote terminal;
service information of the remote terminal (See Du, Paragraph [0203]; the relay UE reports QoS-related information in the relay request and PC5 unicast connection request to the base station);
and relay information.
Regarding claim 14, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 13, wherein the service information comprises at least one of the following:
quality of service flow identifier QFI;
QoS profile (See Du, Paragraph [0203]; the relay UE reports QoS-related information in the relay request and PC5 unicast connection request to the base station);
QoS parameter or QoS indicator;
maximum flow bit rate MBR/MFBR; and
guaranteed flow bit rate GBR/GFBR,
or, wherein the relay information comprises at least one of the following:
supported relay hop count; relay architecture option; and whether a multi-connectivity relay architecture is supported.
Regarding claim 15, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein before the sending a first relay request to a network-side device, the method further comprises:
performing a relay related discovery procedure and/or connection establishment procedure between the relay terminal and the remote terminal (See Du, FIG. 4, paragraphs [0207] and [0208]; remote UE discovers relay UE as indicated by step S230 and begins connection procedure as indicated by step S240),
wherein the discovery procedure and/or connection establishment procedure is performed by using a signaling radio bearer of a PC5 link (See Du, Paragraph [0219]; remote UE establishes an L2 link with the relay UE via higher-layer signaling; the relay UE then maps PC5 QoS flow (such as PQI, MFBR and GFBR) obtained in the L2 link establishment process to a Uu QoS flow. See also Kim, Col. 13, lines 28–31: the connection request from the remote UE may be a PC5-S message).
Regarding Claim 16, Du teaches a method for remote terminal (e.g., Remote UE) connection management, applied to a network-side device and comprising:
receiving a first relay request sent by a relay terminal, wherein the first relay request is used to request the network-side device to perform relay function-related configuration (See Du, FIG. 4, paragraphs [0203], [0213]; remote UE sends a relay request to the relay UE, which is then forwarded to the network-side device (base station) in the form of a relay request and PC5 unicast connection request as indicated by S290);
and sending first configuration information to the relay terminal based on the first relay request, wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a first Uu RLC bearer (See Du, Paragraphs [0203], [0214], [0218], and [0227]; the relay UE establishes a Uu DRB and a downlink PC5 DRB according to configuration information delivered by the base station as indicated by S2100; configuration information includes related parameters required for sending a sidelink radio bearer (SLRB); an RLC acknowledged mode (AM) or unacknowledged mode (UM); and other RLC-related and logical channel-related configuration information).
Du does not expressly teach:
(i) the first Uu RLC bearer is used to transmit Uu signaling of a remote terminal; the Uu signaling includes RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling; and
(ii) the receiving step comprising: when the network-side device receiving the first relay request sent by the relay terminal in an idle state through first uplink signaling after the RRC connection is completed; and/or when the network-side device receiving the first relay request sent by the relay terminal in an inactive state through first uplink signaling after RRC connection resume is completed; and/or when the network-side device receiving the first relay request sent by the relay terminal in RRC connected state through first uplink signaling.
Regarding deficiency (i), Kim teaches a Layer-2 relay architecture in which the relay UE receives and forwards RRC signaling and NAS signaling of the remote UE to the base station through the Uu bearer established between the relay UE and the eNB (Col. 12, Table 3: “The eRelay-UE is a Layer 2 relay”; Col. 13, lines 28–31: relay UE receives “an RRC message, a NAS message, a PC5-S message, or user traffic” from remote UE; Col. 14, lines 38–47: relay UE forwards the remote UE’s RRC Connection Request message to the eNB; Col. 15, lines 9–23: relay UE transmits RRC Connection Setup Complete message including a Service Request (NAS) message generated by the NAS layer of the remote UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Du with the teachings of Kim to incorporate a first Uu RLC bearer used to transmit Uu signaling of a remote terminal, wherein the Uu signaling includes RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling, for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding deficiency (ii), Han teaches that when UE1 is in the RRC-connected mode, UE1 sends a sidelink DRX configuration request message to BS1 (paragraph [0059]: “If UE1 is in the RRC-connected mode, which means the UE1 is already RRC connected with BS1, then UE1 can send a sidelink DRX configuration request message to BS1”). From the network-side device’s perspective, the base station receives the request from a UE that is already in the RRC connected state through uplink signaling.
The amended claim recites three alternatives connected by “and/or,” and thus only one alternative need be satisfied. Han teaches at minimum the third alternative (when the network-side device receiving the first relay request sent by the relay terminal in RRC connected state through first uplink signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further incorporated the teachings of Han into the combination of Du and Kim in order to ensure that the relay terminal properly utilizes its existing RRC connection state when sending configuration requests to the network-side device, thereby quickly aligning configurations in sidelink communications and reducing connection setup delays. See Han, paragraph [0059]; MPEP § 2143(I)(G) (some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art).
Regarding claim 17, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein the first Uu RLC bearer is a Uu SRB RLC bearer or a Uu DRB RLC bearer (See Du, FIG. 4, paragraphs [0203], [0204], and [0226]; the base station configures a Uu data forwarding bearer (relay DRB) for the relay UE which includes an RLC mode and/or RLC-related configuration. See also Kim, Col. 15, line 5: “the relay UE, UE #2 has established a signaling radio bearer with the network”).
Regarding claim 18, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 16, wherein if there is more than one remote terminal (See Du, Paragraph [0182]; relay UE may need to select different mapping configurations in the case multiple remote UEs are connected to the same relay UE),
Uu signaling of different remote terminals is transmitted by using different first Uu RLC bearers (See Du, Paragraphs [0182] and [0183]; in the event multiple remote UEs are connected to the same relay UE, IP data of different remote UEs is sent through different Uu DRBs separately);
or Uu signaling of different remote terminals is transmitted by using a same first Uu RLC bearer;
or, wherein different types of Uu signaling of a same remote terminal is transmitted by using a same first Uu RLC bearer;
or different types of Uu signaling of a same remote terminal is transmitted by using different first Uu RLC bearers.
Regarding claim 19, Du in view of Kim and Han teaches the method according to claim 18, wherein at least one of the following indication information is carried in the Uu signaling or sent simultaneously with the Uu signaling:
an identifier of the remote terminal (See Du, Paragraph [0178], relay UE receives the IP data packet from the remote UE and parses the IP data packet and determines if the packet needs to be relayed or forwarded to the base station though the ID in the MAC sub header);
and a type of the Uu signaling.
Regarding Claim 20, Du teaches a terminal (FIG. 4, Relay UE; FIG. 11, communication device),
comprising a processor (FIG. 11, processor 710),
a memory (FIG. 11, memory 720),
and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the processor is configured to perform the following steps (Paragraph [0502]; memory 720 configured to store software programs and/or instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors 710 cause the one or more processors to perform the method):
sending a first relay request to a network-side device, wherein the first relay request is used to request the network-side device (e.g., Base station) to perform relay function-related configuration (See Du, FIG. 4, paragraphs [0203], [0213]; remote UE sends a relay request to the relay UE, which is then forwarded to the network-side device (base station) in the form of a relay request and PC5 unicast connection request as indicated by S290);
and receiving first configuration information sent by the network-side device, wherein the first configuration information comprises configuration information of a first Uu radio link control RLC bearer (See Du, Paragraphs [0203], [0214], [0218], and [0227]; the relay UE establishes a Uu DRB and a downlink PC5 DRB according to configuration information delivered by the base station as indicated by S2100; configuration information includes related parameters required for sending a sidelink radio bearer (SLRB); an RLC acknowledged mode (AM) or unacknowledged mode (UM); and other RLC-related and logical channel-related configuration information).
Du does not expressly teach:
(i) the first Uu RLC bearer is used to transmit Uu signaling of a remote terminal; the Uu signaling includes RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling; and
(ii) wherein the sending a first relay request to a network-side device comprises: when the relay terminal is in an idle state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling after RRC connection setup is completed; and/or when the relay terminal is in an inactive state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling after RRC connection resume is completed; and/or when the relay terminal is in an RRC connected state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling.
Regarding deficiency (i), Kim teaches a Layer-2 relay architecture in which the relay UE receives and forwards RRC signaling and NAS signaling of the remote UE to the base station through the Uu bearer established between the relay UE and the eNB (Col. 12, Table 3: “The eRelay-UE is a Layer 2 relay”; Col. 12, lines 20–24: “UP and CP data of an evolved ProSe Remote UE are relayed above the RLC sublayer via an evolved ProSe UE-to-network relay UE”; Col. 13, lines 28–31: relay UE receives “an RRC message, a NAS message, a PC5-S message, or user traffic” from remote UE; Col. 14, lines 38–47: relay UE forwards the remote UE’s RRC Connection Request message generated from the AS layer of the remote UE to the eNB; Col. 15, lines 9–23: relay UE transmits an RRC Connection Setup Complete message including a Service Request message, which is a NAS message generated by the NAS layer of the remote UE). Kim therefore teaches that in a Layer-2 relay scenario, the Uu RLC bearer between the relay UE and the base station is used to transmit Uu signaling of the remote terminal, where that signaling includes both RRC signaling and NAS signaling.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Du with the teachings of Kim to incorporate a first Uu RLC bearer used to transmit Uu signaling of a remote terminal, wherein the Uu signaling includes RRC signaling and/or NAS signaling. The motivation to combine is that Du itself recognizes both Layer-2 and Layer-3 relay architectures (Du, paragraphs [0034]–[0035]) and acknowledges that Layer-2 relay “supports better reliability and safety than the Layer3-based relay and can effectively support the mobility and safety of the remote UE” (Du, paragraph [0035]); accordingly, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply Du’s bearer configuration framework to a Layer-2 relay as taught by Kim to support remote terminals requiring direct RRC/NAS connectivity with the base station, thereby providing improved mobility and security support.
Regarding deficiency (ii), Han teaches that when a UE is in the RRC-connected mode, the UE sends a configuration request message to the base station through uplink signaling (paragraph [0059]: “If UE1 is in the RRC-connected mode, which means the UE1 is already RRC connected with BS1, then UE1 can send a sidelink DRX configuration request message to BS1”; read as: when the relay terminal is in an RRC connected state, the relay terminal sends the first relay request through first uplink signaling to the network-side device).
The Examiner notes that the claim recites three alternatives connected by “and/or,” and thus only one alternative need be satisfied. Han teaches at minimum the third alternative (when the relay terminal is in an RRC connected state, sending the first relay request through first uplink signaling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further incorporated the teachings of Han into the combination of Du and Kim in order to ensure that the relay terminal properly utilizes its existing RRC connection state when sending configuration requests to the network-side device, thereby quickly aligning configurations in sidelink communications and reducing connection setup overhead. See Han, paragraph [0059]; MPEP § 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
SPE interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645