Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 1/29/2026. Claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 10-16 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, and 10-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the diverging region" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim previously states that there are two diverging regions, but does not clarify which diverging region is non-parallel to the first groove wall. For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as both diverging regions being non-parallel.
6. Claims 2, 5-8, and 10-16 are also indefinite for depending on an indefinite base in claim 1 and failing to cure the deficiencies of said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10, 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2010/0096060 A1 – of Record) in view of Sakaguchi et al. (US 2010/0122759 A1 – of Record), Matsumoto (US Patent No. 5,921,303 – of Record), and Kim (KR 2003-0050417 A – of Record).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches a tire (Para. [0022]) comprising a tread portion (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 4) and a pair of sidewall surfaces (Fig. 1, outside of recessed rib), where the tread has a pair of shoulders (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 63 and an equatorial region (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 61). The tread also includes a circumferential groove (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 53) forming a secondary rib (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 631) where the groove has a first groove wall and a second groove wall (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 5). Suzuki also teaches that the rib has a radially outer width (Fig. 1, Right below the tread surface) and a groove bottom width (Fig. 1, at the groove bottom) However, Suzuki does not teach that the secondary rib is recessed.
In an analogous art, Sakaguchi teaches a tire (Para. [0023]) with a shoulder circumferential rib (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 5) that forms a recessed rib (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 42, H) in the shoulder portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki with Sakaguchi in order to form the secondary rib has a recessed rib. This modification will suppress uneven wear in the shoulder region. However, modified Suzuki does not teach that the groove has a protruding portion.
In an analogous art, Matsumoto teaches a tire with a circumferential groove (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 10) where the second groove wall facing toward from the tire equatorial plane is provided with a protruding portion (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 10). The protruding portion of the second groove wall comprises two diverging regions (Recreated Fig. 7 below) that is non-parallel to part of the first groove wall and a non-diverging region (Recreated Fig. 7 below) that is parallel to a portion of the first groove wall. Matsumoto teaches a that the groove bottom has a semi-circle arc (Fig. 7) and any point along the groove wall in between the non-diverging region and the groove bottom can be considered where a transition happens between the two.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Suzuki with Matsumoto to add the protruding portion to the second groove wall. This modification will ensure the crushing deformation of the groove (Matsumoto; Col. 7, Lines 55-61). With the recess added to Suzuki, as the circumferential groove wall extends at the same angle as the tire sidewall (Suzuki; Fig. 1), the radially inner width located at the non-diverging portion of the recess will have a smaller width than the radially outer and groove bottom widths due to the recess in the wall (Matsumoto; Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 10). Modified Suzuki doesn’t teach that the width combinations change a concentration of strain magnitude at the groove bottom; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the groove of modified Suzuki to do so as it has the same structure as the claimed groove. However, modified Suzuki does not teach the radial extension of the diverging regions.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches a tire with a protrusion on a circumferential groove (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 4) where the protrusion comprises two diverging regions (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. H2-H3, H4-H5). The total height of the protruding portion is H2-H5 which is 0.33H to 0.83H (Para. [17], [20]), the heights of the diverging regions are H2-H3 which is 0-0.33H (Para. [17], [18]) and H4-H5 which is 0-0.5H (Para. [19], [20]). This would make the total radial extension of the diverging regions be between 0% and 100% of the radial extension of the protruding portion. Kim does not expressly disclose a value of 25% to 45%; however, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the total radial extension of the diverging regions within the claimed range since Kim discloses the total radial extension of the diverging regions as between 0% and 100%, said range overlapping the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Suzuki with Kim to have the diverging regions be 0 to 100% of the height of the protruding portion. This modification will allow the groove to maintain the intended design shape to exert its performance (Kim; Para. [22]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Suzuki teaches that the surface area of the first groove wall is less than the second groove wall as the protrusion on the second groove wall (Matsumoto; Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 10) will increase the wall’s surface area.
Regarding claim 5, modified Suzuki teaches that the radial extension of the circumferential groove (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 53) is essentially parallel to the outer surface of the recessed rib.
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki teaches that the circumferential grove has a groove bottom that comprises a circular arc (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 53).
Regarding claim 7, modified Suzuki teaches that the radial extension of the protruding portion (Kim; Fig. 3, Ref. Num. H2-H5) is 33% to 83% (Para. [17], [20]) of the radial extension of the second groove wall. Kim does not expressly disclose a value of 50% to 70%; however, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the radial extension of the protruding portion within the claimed range since Kim discloses the radial extension of the protruding portion as between 33% to 83%, said range overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claim 8, modified Suzuki teaches that the protruding portion starts (Kim, Fig. 3, Ref. Num. H2) at a position of 16.7% to 50% (Para. [17]) of the radial extension of the second groove wall and ends at a radial position (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. H5) of 83.3% to 100% (Para. [20]) of the second groove wall. Kim does not expressly disclose a value of 30% to 50%; however, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the start position of the protruding portion within the claimed range since Kim discloses the start position of the protruding portion as between 16.7% to 50% (Para. [17]), said range overlapping the claimed range.
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki teaches that the tread portion comprises at least one main groove (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 52) forming a main rib (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 63) located on the side of the circumferential groove closer to the equatorial region.
Regarding claim 13, modified Suzuki teaches the tire of claim 1 as detailed above and also teaches the tire being mounted on a rim for being connected to an axle of a vehicle (Para. [0026])
Regarding claim 15, modified Suzuki teaches that the bottom of the groove past the protrusion curve until the groove has a width of 0 at the bottom (Matsumoto; Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 10), That means that there will be a second section radially inside of the protrusion that has the same width as the section radially outside of the protrusion.
Regarding claim 16, modified Suzuki teaches that the protruding portion is only located on the recessed rib (Fig. 7, Ref. Num. 10).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2010/0096060 A1) in view of Sakaguchi et al. (US 2010/0122759 A1), Matsumoto (US Patent No. 5,921,303), and Kim (KR 2003-0050417 A) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Mathews (US 2009/0065115 A1 – of Record).
Regarding claim 11, modified Suzuki does not teach that the main rib comprises several sipes.
In an analogous art, Mathews teaches a tire with a circumferential groove (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 18) and a recessed rib (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 24) where the main rib (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 12) comprises several sipes (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 34) that are perpendicular to the circumferential groove and connect to the circumferential grooves. These sipes have a depth of 75% of the circumferential groove depth (Para. [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Suzuki with Mathews in order to add sipes to the main groove that connect with the circumferential groove and have a depth of 75% of the circumferential groove depth. This modification will disrupt the spread of damage on the outer end of the main rib (Mathews; Para. [0021]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Suzuki teaches that the exterior surface of the recessed rib is bald (Matthews; Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 24).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2010/0096060 A1), Sakaguchi et al. (US 2010/0122759 A1) and Kim (KR 2003-0050417 A) applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suita (US 2020/0361247 A1 – of Record).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki teaches a tire (Para. [0022]) comprising a tread portion (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 4) and a pair of sidewall surfaces (Fig. 1, outside of recessed rib), where the tread has a pair of shoulders (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 63 and an equatorial region (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 61). The tread also includes a circumferential groove (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 53) forming a secondary rib (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 631) where the groove has a first groove wall and a second groove wall (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 5). Suzuki also teaches that the rib has a radially outer width (Fig. 1, Right below the tread surface) and a groove bottom width (Fig. 1, at the groove bottom) However, Suzuki does not teach that the secondary rib is recessed.
In an analogous art, Sakaguchi teaches a tire (Para. [0023]) with a shoulder circumferential rib (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 5) that forms a recessed rib (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 42, H) in the shoulder portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Suzuki with Sakaguchi in order to form the secondary rib has a recessed rib. This modification will suppress uneven wear in the shoulder region. However, modified Suzuki does not teach that the groove has a protruding portion.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches a tire (Para. [14]) with a circumferential groove (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 2) where both the first and second groove wall are provided with a protruding portion (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 4). The protruding portion of the second groove wall comprises two diverging regions (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. H2-H3, H4-H5) that is non-parallel to part of the first groove wall and a non-diverging region (Fig. 3, Ref. Num. H3-H4) that is parallel to a portion of the first groove wall. The total height of the protruding portion is H2-H5 which is 0.33H to 0.83H (Para. [17], [20]), the heights of the diverging regions are H2-H3 which is 0-0.33H (Para. [17], [18]) and H4-H5 which is 0-0.5H (Para. [19], [20]). This would make the total radial extension of the diverging regions be between 0% and 100% of the radial extension of the protruding portion. Kim does not expressly disclose a value of 25% to 45%; however, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to configure the total radial extension of the diverging regions within the claimed range since Kim discloses the total radial extension of the diverging regions as between 0% and 100%, said range overlapping the claimed range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify modified Suzuki with Kim to add theses protruding portions to the groove walls of the circumferential groove. This modification will allow the groove to maintain the intended design shape while the tire is loaded (Kim; Para. [22]) which would be relevant to the circumferential groove of Sakaguchi as the recessed rib is part of the road contact surface (Para. [0030]), the circumferential groove forming the recessed rib will also deform. With the recess added to Suzuki, as the circumferential groove wall extends at the same angle as the tire sidewall (Fig. 1), the radially inner width located at the non-diverging portion of the recess will have a smaller width than the radially outer and groove bottom widths due to the recess in the wall (Kim; Fig. 3, Ref. Num. 31). Modified Suzuki doesn’t teach that the width combinations change a concentration of strain magnitude at the groove bottom; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the groove of modified Suzuki to do so as it has the same structure as the claimed groove. However, modified Suzuki in view of Kim does not teach a tire mold for molding this tire.
In an analogous art, Suita teaches a tire mold (Para. [0010]) that includes a groove molding portion with a protrusion (blade) (Para. [0010]) that protrudes from the tire mold to mold a circumferential groove (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 36) of the tire.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Suzuki with Suita in order to create a tire mold with a groove molding blade to mold the tread pattern of the modified Suzuki. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to create a tire mold for this trad pattern as tire molds with blades are a common and known way to mold tire treads.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claims that the rejection of record does not teach the new limitation of the bottom groove formed of a semicircle that transitions to one of the diverging regions. However, Matsumoto teaches a that the groove bottom has a semi-circle arc (Fig. 7) and any point along the groove wall in between the non-diverging region and the groove bottom can be considered where a transition happens between the two. There is nothing in the claims that state the transition region cannot be a curved surface.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/JUSTIN R FISCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749