DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment filed on 5/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jockisch (US PAT. 8,276,882).
Jockisch teaches an apparatus, as per claim 1, and a system, as per claim 15, configured to enable off-platform presentation of a cable assembly for prior to platform installation of the cable assembly, the apparatus comprising: an elongated and substantially planar body having a first surface (24, Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 12-15) disposed between proximal and distal ends of the body and configured to receive thereupon the cable assembly (14, 16, Fig. 1, col. Lines 56-58), the first surface having formed therethrough a plurality of apertures arranged in accordance with a spacing of cable connections (20, Figs. 1 and 4) of the cable assembly; and a retention assembly (22, Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 5-11), configured to temporarily secure the cable assembly to the first surface in a manner allowing mechanical manipulation of the cable assembly; wherein the cable assembly is configured for platform installation when secured to the first surface such that cable connections and corresponding apertures are operatively aligned a shown in Figs. 1-4.
According to Jockisch, “the panel 24 may be fabricated of any suitable material having flexibility but which is preferably non-stretchable at least in a direction along a tool axis 12 of the pull tool 10” (col. 6, lines 42-44), and “the panel 24 may be fabricated of polyester, polyester-cotton or any other material or combination thereof. The panel 24 may also be fabricated of at least one of plastic-impregnated or plastic-coated canvas to reduce the coefficient of friction of the outer surface” (col. 7, lines 12-23). At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention) was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the planar body as recited in the claimed invention because Applicant has not disclosed that the elongated, rigid, and substantially planar body as recited in the claimed invention provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with Jockisch because the elongated, rigid, and substantially planar body as recited in the claimed invention would perform equally well such as a plastic material (a rigid material) used for the panel in Jockisch. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable rangers involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (il-A). Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice that is within the purview of one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the elongated, rigid and substantially planar body of Jockisch to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1 and 15.
Re. claim 2: The apparatus is configured to be operatively engaged with the planar body such that the cable connections are located proximate respective corresponding platform connections as shown in Fig. 1.
Re. claim 3: The retention assembly is capable of releasing the cable assembly because the retention assembly is optionally included. It is noted that the phrase “such that the apparatus may be withdrawn from the platform after installation of the cable assembly on the platform” describes how the apparatus can be used. Therefore, the limitation appears to be an intended use.
Re. claim 4: The proximal and distal ends of the body correspond to, respectively, fore and aft platform orientations of the cable assembly as shown in Fig. 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-14 and 16 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
However, applicant's arguments are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose the claimed invention such as an elongated, rigid, and substantially planar body. Examiner traverses the argument that Jockisch discloses the material used for the panel such as a plastic material. One of ordinary skill in the art could easily select the plastic material to result providing the elongated, rigid, and substantially planar body in the required differing compositions. Also, applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose apertures that correspond to the cable connections. Examiner traverse that argues that Fig. 4 of Jockisch clearly shows the plurality apertures that correspond to the cable connections. Therefore, Jockisch teaches all limitations as set forth above and examiner maintains his rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL D KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729