DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 08/28/2025. These drawings are accepted by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes the term “eye-safe wavelength” will be interpreted as wavelengths longer than approximately 1.2 microns as stated in paragraph [0019] of the Applicant’s specification.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claim 3 has been withdrawn in light of the amendment made to claim 3.
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amendments made to claims 1,3 and 15-18 and the cancellation of claim 8. No new claims have been added. Examiner also acknowledges the amendments made to paragraphs [0017] and [0048] with the addition of element numbers in regard to the updated drawings filed 08/28/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument made on page 11 of the remarks filed 08/28/2025 that Eichenholz gain medium [410] would not work in Giaretta’s VESCEL resonator, Examiner has fully considered the argument but respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the Applicant is arguing against the combination of implementing the gain medium [410] of Eichenholz into the device of Giaretta, although the combination disclosed in the Non-Final rejection dated 06/02/2025 discloses the use of the circulating pump beam structure of Giaretta being implemented with the laser pump diodes in the device of Eichenholz. Examiner notes that the combination being argued against is not the combination being used in the rejection of claim 1 in the rejection dated 06/02/2025.
Even though Eichenholz states that “greater than 60%,80%,90%,95% or 99% of the pump beam is absorbed in the gain medium during its first pass through the gain medium” in paragraph [0140], this does not mean that one of ordinary skill in the art would still not be motivated to introduce the circular beam pumping action as disclosed in Giaretta.
Regarding the argument made on page 12 of the remarks filed on 08/28/2025 that there is no provision in Eichenholz which would allow the gain medium [410] to be in a different resonator than the saturable absorber [420], Examiner has fully considered the argument but respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that Figure 3 of Giaretta discloses a circulating pump beam between laser diodes [305] and [310]. The combination of Eichenholz and Giaretta discloses implementing the gain region structure of Giaretta into the device of Eichenholz, therefore making the gain element [410] of Eichenholz between the two gain regions as shown in Giaretta.
Figure 13 of Eichenholz discloses a saturable absorber [420] separated from the gain element [410] of Eichenholz by an air gap [510]. Paragraph [0150] of Eichenholz states the air gap length can be up to 50mm. The gain region structure shown in Giaretta creates a circulating beam path (seen as the “second resonator”) around the gain element [410] of Eichenholz which is thereby still separated from the saturable absorber [420] by the air gap [510], therefore having the saturable absorber [420] outside of the second resonator. Further, paragraph [0105] of Eichenholz states that the end surfaces of a laser cavity are formed by a back surface [470] of the gain element [410] and an output surface [480] of the saturable absorber [420]. This cavity between [470] and [480] of Eichenholz equates to “a first resonator associated with the passively Q-switched laser” as described in the claimed application and shown as element number [101] in Fig. 4A of the claimed application. (See Para. [0034] of the specification of the claimed application as well.)
Examiner notes that the remarks made in regard to claim 1 are fully relevant to remarks made regarding claim 15. Therefore, Examiner directs the Applicant to see the response to arguments of claim 1 above.
In regard to the Applicant’s arguments against the rejection of claim 18 as disclosed on page 15 of the remarks filed on 08/28/2025, Examiner notes that the arguments are being made toward Fig. 11 of Eichenholz which is not the embodiment being relied on in the rejection of claim 18.
Further, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiner notes that Giaretta discloses a circulating pump beam and the combination of the device of Eichenholz in view of Giaretta with the circulating beam structure of Giaretta implemented into Eichenholz is what is being relied on in the rejection of claim 18. (See response to arguments of claim 1 above for repeated remarks)
In regard to the arguments made against the rejection of claims 1,2,6,7 and 11-12 over the modified device of Peterson on pages 18 and 19 of the remarks filed on 08/28/2025,Examiner has fully considered the arguments and found them not persuasive.
Para. [0038] of the specification of the claimed application states that “the external feedback may be a reflection from the opposed lateral face 513 of the optically pumped gain element 510,” and further discloses the external feedback may cause each gain region to lase resulting in a circulating pump beam. Para. [0051] of Peterson, discloses a reflectance coating [32] on an opposed lateral face of the pump source, therefore causing a circulating pump beam.
Further, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant states the Peterson does not have a plurality of electrically pumped semiconductor gain regions. Examiner notes that the combination of Peterson in view of Seurin is used to anticipate the limitation of “a plurality of surface emitting semiconductor gain regions”. As disclosed in the previous Non-Final rejection dated 06/02/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,4,9,10,14,15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenholz et al. (hereinafter Eichenholz) (US 20200076152 A1) in view of Giaretta et al. (hereinafter Giaretta) (US 20090296752 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Eichenholz discloses in Fig. 13,
A passively Q-switched laser [400] (Para. [0104]) configured to operate at a first wavelength (Para. [110]) comprising:
an optically pumped gain element [410] absorptive at a second wavelength (Para. [0154]),
a saturable absorber element [420] (Para. [0150]), wherein the optically pumped gain element [410] and the saturable absorber element [420] are disposed within a first resonator associated with the passively Q-switch laser [between back surface 470 and output surface 480] (Para. [0150]) configured to oscillate at the first wavelength (Para. [0150]); and
a plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [430-1,430-2] (Para. [0150]) configured to lase at the second wavelength (Para. [0152])
Eichenholz fails to disclose,
a plurality of surface emitting semiconductor gain regions forming a circulating pump beam within a second, vertical extended cavity surface emitting resonator between at least one of the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions and an external optical element, wherein the optically pumped gain element is disposed within the circulating pump beam.
Giaretta discloses,
a plurality of surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [310,305] (Para. [0047]) forming a circulating pump beam (Para. 0053]) as a vertical extended cavity surface emitting resonator (Paras. [0046,0047]) between at least one of the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [310] and an external optical element [305] (Para. [0053])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the VECSEL circulating pump emitter structures in optical communication with each other as shown in Giaretta into the device of Eichenholz with the pump diodes of Eichenholz for the purpose of increasing the effective gain available in the cavity. (Giaretta Para. [0047])
When the emitter structure of Giaretta is implemented into the device of Eichenholz, the gain element [410 Eichenholz] will be placed between the gain regions of Eichenholz as shown with the structure [335] between the gain regions and mirrors [320,325] of Giaretta.
Examiner notes that the rightmost gain region (shown by location of [305] of Giaretta) is also interpreted as an external optical element as shown in Fig. 4A of the claimed application and disclosed in paragraph [0034] of the claimed application.
For the remainder of this action since the pump diodes of Eichenholz are taking the structure of the gain regions of Giaretta, the gain regions of Giaretta will be cited as the electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions for clarity of structure.
Regarding claim 3, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein the passively Q-switched laser [Eichenholz 400 Fig. 13] is a single passively Q-switched lasers (Eichenholz Para. [0133]) optically pumped by the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions (Giaretta [310,305] Para. [0047]).
Regarding claim 4, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein the first wavelength is an eye-safe wavelength between approximately 1200 to 1400 nm (Eichenholz Para. [0115]).
Regarding claim 9, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein the optically pumped gain element (Eichenholz 410 Para. [0150]) has a high gain laser transition and a low gain laser transition (Para. [0128]) and the first wavelength is generated by the low gain laser transition (Eichenholz Para. [0128]).
Examiner notes that the device of Eichenholz comprises a gain medium [410] with a composition of neodymium doped YAG (Para. [0110] Eichenholz), emitting light pulses at wavelengths approximately between 1319nm and 1339nm (Para. [0110] Eichenholz) with a pumping wavelength of approximately 808nm or 869nm for pumping a Nd:YAG crystal (Eichenholz Para. [0115]). This configuration is the same as the claimed application with a neodymium doped YAG crystal gain element (Applicant’s specification Para. [0025]) and a pump light wavelength within the range of approximately 750nm to 950nm (Applicant’s specification Para. [0028]). Therefore, the device of Eichenholz must share the same gain transition relationships as the device of the claimed application.
Regarding claim 10, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein the optically pumped gain element (Eichenholz 410 Para. [0150]) has a high gain laser transition and a low gain laser transition and the first resonator is configured to suppress lasing on the high gain laser transition (Eichenholz Para. [0129]).
Examiner notes that the device of Eichenholz comprises a gain medium [410] with a composition of neodymium doped YAG (Para. [0110] Eichenholz), emitting light pulses at wavelengths approximately between 1319nm and 1339nm (Para. [0110] Eichenholz) with a pumping wavelength of approximately 808nm or 869nm for pumping a Nd:YAG crystal (Eichenholz Para. [0115]). This configuration is the same as the claimed application with a neodymium doped YAG crystal gain element (Applicant’s specification Para. [0025]) and a pump light wavelength within the range of approximately 750nm to 950nm (Applicant’s specification Para. [0028]). Therefore, the device of Eichenholz must share the same gain transition relationships and suppression of wavelengths as the device of the claimed application.
Regarding claim 14, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Eichenholz Figs. 1 and 13,
A laser ranging system [100 Fig. 1] (Para. [0157]) comprising:
the passively Q-switched laser [400 Fig. 13] (Para. [0157]) as recited in claim 1;
a photodetector [140 Fig. 1] (Para. [0038,0160]); and
a control unit [150] (Para. [0157]) that measures an elapsed time between emission of an output pulse and detection of the output pulse reflected from a target to determine a distance between the laser ranging system and the target (Para. [0023]).
Regarding claim 17, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claims 1 and 14 above further discloses in Eichenholz
wherein the optically pumped gain element [410] (Para. [0110]) has a high gain laser transition and a low gain laser transition and the first wavelength corresponds to the low gain laser transition (Para. [0129]).
Examiner notes that the device of Eichenholz comprises a gain medium [410] with a composition of neodymium doped YAG (Para. [0110] Eichenholz), emitting light pulses at wavelengths approximately between 1319nm and 1339nm (Para. [0110] Eichenholz) with a pumping wavelength of approximately 808nm or 869nm for pumping a Nd:YAG crystal (Eichenholz Para. [0115]). This configuration is the same as the claimed application with a neodymium doped YAG crystal gain element (Applicant’s specification Para. [0025]) and a pump light wavelength within the range of approximately 750nm to 950nm (Applicant’s specification Para. [0028]). Therefore, the device of Eichenholz must share the same gain transition relationships as the device of the claimed application.
Regarding claim 15, Eichenholz discloses in Fig. 13,
A passively Q-switched laser [400] (Para. [0104]) configured to operate at a first wavelength (Para. [110]) comprising:
an optically pumped gain element [410] absorptive at a second wavelength (Para. [0154]),
a saturable absorber element [420] (Para. [0150]), wherein the optically pumped gain element [410] and the saturable absorber element [420] are disposed within a first resonator associated with the passively Q-switched laser configured to oscillate at the first wavelength (Para. [0150]); and
two electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [430-1,430-1] (Para. [0150]) configured to lase at the second wavelength (Para. [0152])
Eichenholz fails to disclose,
the two surface emitting gain regions in optical communication with each other and configured to lase at the second wavelength forming a circulating pump beam of a second laser having a second resonator different than the first resonator
Giaretta discloses in Fig. 3,
two surface emitting gain regions [310,305] (Para. [0047]) in optical communication with each other (Para. [0047,0053]) forming a circulating pump beam (Para. [0053]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the VECSEL emitter structures in optical communication with each other as shown in Giaretta into the device of Eichenholz for the purpose of increasing the effective gain available in the cavity. (Giaretta Para. [0047])
When the emitter structure of Giaretta is implemented into the device of Eichenholz, the gain element [410 Eichenholz] will be placed between the gain regions [310 and 305 Giaretta] as shown with the structure [335] between the gain regions and mirrors [320,325] of Giaretta.
Paragraph [0105] of Eichenholz states that the end surfaces of a laser cavity are formed by a back surface [470] of the gain element [410] and an output surface [480] of the saturable absorber [420]. This cavity between [470] and [480] of Eichenholz equates to “a first resonator associated with the passively Q-switched laser” as described in the claimed application and shown as element number [101] in Fig. 4A of the claimed application. (See Para. [0034] of the specification of the claimed application as well.)
Examiner notes that when the circulating pump structure of Giaretta is implemented around the gain region [410] of Eichenholz, the saturable absorber [420] remains outside of the circulating pump.
Regarding claim 18, Eichenholz discloses in Fig. 13,
A passively Q-switched laser [400] (Para. [0104]) configured to output a pulsed laser beam [460] (Para. [0105]) comprising:
a vertical extended cavity surface emitting laser [430-1,430-2] (Para. [0120]) (VESCEL) configured to generate a pump beam [440] (Para. [0119]) at a VECSEL lasing wavelength (Para. [0152]) in the extended cavity;
an optically pumped gain element [410] (Para. [0150]) disposed within the extended cavity having a first gain element surface [470] and a second gain element surface [Surface A] (Para. [0150]), the optically pumped gain element having a high gain laser transition and a low gain laser transition (Para. [0134]),
a high reflectivity coating at a Q-switched lasing wavelength forming a first end of a Q- switched resonator [470] (Para. [0122]) and an output coupler [480] (Para. [0141]) at the Q-switched lasing wavelength forming a second end of the Q-switched resonator (Para. [0141]); and
a saturable absorber element [420] (Para. [0150]) disposed in the Q-switched resonator (Para. [0150]), but outside of the extended cavity of the VECSEL
wherein the Q-switched lasing wavelength is an eye-safe wavelength (Para. 0115]) and is generated by the low gain laser transition (Para. [0134]).
Eichenholz fails to disclose,
a circulating pump beam and,
wherein an optical path of the circulating pump beam extends at least between the first gain element surface and the second gain element surface
Giaretta discloses in Fig. 3,
two surface emitting gain regions [310,305] (Para. [0047]) forming a circulating pump beam (Para. [0053]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the VECSEL emitter structures in optical communication with each other as shown in Giaretta into the device of Eichenholz for the purpose of increasing the effective gain available in the cavity. (Giaretta Para. [0047])
When the emitter structure of Giaretta is implemented into the device of Eichenholz, the gain element [410 Eichenholz] will be placed between the gain regions [310 and 305 Giaretta] as shown with the structure [335] between the gain regions and mirrors [320,325] of Giaretta.
Examiner notes that the device of Eichenholz comprises a gain medium [410] with a composition of neodymium doped YAG (Para. [0110] Eichenholz), emitting light pulses at wavelengths approximately between 1319nm and 1339nm (Para. [0110] Eichenholz) with a pumping wavelength of approximately 808nm or 869nm for pumping a Nd:YAG crystal (Eichenholz Para. [0115]). This configuration is the same as the claimed application with a neodymium doped YAG crystal gain element (Applicant’s specification Para. [0025]) and a pump light wavelength within the range of approximately 750nm to 950nm (Applicant’s specification Para. [0028]). Therefore, the device of Eichenholz must share the same gain transition relationships as the device of the claimed application.
Examiner notes that when the circulating pump structure of Giaretta is implemented around the gain region [410] of Eichenholz, the saturable absorber [420] remains outside of the circulating pump.
Regarding claim 19, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claim 18 above further discloses,
wherein the vertical extended cavity surface emitting laser is comprised of a plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions (Giaretta [310,305] Para. [0047])
Regarding claim 20, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claim 118 above further discloses in Fig. 13 of Eichenholz,
the Q-switched resonator [400] has higher losses for a wavelength generated by the high gain laser transition than the Q-switched lasing wavelength (Para. [0110]) generated by the low gain laser transition (Para. [0129]).
Examiner notes that the device of Eichenholz comprises a gain medium [410] with a composition of neodymium doped YAG (Para. [0110] Eichenholz), emitting light pulses at wavelengths approximately between 1319nm and 1339nm (Para. [0110] Eichenholz) with a pumping wavelength of approximately 808nm or 869nm for pumping a Nd:YAG crystal (Eichenholz Para. [0115]). This configuration is the same as the claimed application with a neodymium doped YAG crystal gain element (Applicant’s specification Para. [0025]) and a pump light wavelength within the range of approximately 750nm to 950nm (Applicant’s specification Para. [0028]). Therefore, the device of Eichenholz must share the same gain transition relationships and losses for wavelengths in the high gain transition as the device of the claimed application.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Seurin et al. (hereinafter Seurin) (US 20140247841 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta as applied to claim 1 further discloses,
a plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [Giaretta Fig. 3 310,305 (Para. 0047)]
Eichenholz in view of Giaretta fails to disclose,
wherein the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions are disposed on a monolithic semiconductor die.
Seurin discloses,
a plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [510] (Para. [0060]) are disposed on a monolithic semiconductor die [512] (Para. [0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the semiconductor gain regions of Eichenholz in view of Giaretta onto a monolithic semiconductor die as shown in Seurin for the purpose of having a simple method of manufacturing the gain regions on the same level.
Regarding claim 16, Eichenholz in view of Giaretta and further in view of Seurin as applied to claim 5 above further discloses,
wherein the two electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [Giaretta 310,305 Fig. 3 (Para. 0047)] are disposed on a monolithic semiconductor die [Seurin 512 Fig. 5 (Para. 0060)].
Claims 1,2,6,7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peterson et al. (hereinafter Peterson) (US 20020094007 A1) in view of Seurin (US 20140247841 A1) and further in view of Filgas et al. (hereinafter Filgas) (US 20030161375 A1) and Eichenholz (US 20200076152 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Peterson discloses in Fig. 1
A passively Q-switched laser [10] (Para. [0026]) configured to operate at a first wavelength (Para. [0027]) comprising:
an optically pumped gain element [12] (Para. [0026]) absorptive at a second wavelength;
a saturable absorber element [14] (Para. [0026]), wherein the optically pumped gain element [12] and the saturable absorber element [14] are disposed within a first resonator associated with the passively Q-switched laser [between 18 and back edge of 14 adjacent to 20] configured to oscillate at the first wavelength (Para. [0027]); and
a plurality of electrically pumped semiconductor gain regions [22] (Para. [0033]) configured to lase at the second wavelength (Para. [0034]) wherein the optically pumped gain element [12] is disposed within the pump beam [Fig. 1].
Peterson fails to disclose,
The plurality of semiconductor gain regions being surface emitting semiconductor gain regions, and
The gain regions forming a circulating pump beam within a second, vertical extended cavity surface emitting resonator between at least one of the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions and an external optical element, wherein the gain element is disposed within a circulating pump beam of the second resonator
And the saturable absorber outside of the extended cavity of the VECSEL
Seurin discloses in Fig. 5,
a plurality of surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [510] (Para. [0060])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the plurality of surface emitting semiconductor gain regions as shown in Fig. 5 of Seurin into the device of Peterson as the pump source for the purpose of providing a uniform intensity cross section with low divergence and effective cooling of the pumping array. (Para. [0060])
Peterson in view of Seurin fails to disclose,
The gain regions forming a circulating pump beam within a second, vertical extended cavity surface emitting resonator between at least one of the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions and an external optical element, wherein the gain element is disposed within a circulating pump beam of the second resonator
And the saturable absorber outside of the extended cavity of the VECSEL
Filgas discloses in Fig. 6a,
The gain regions being configured to lase between at least one of the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [600 bottom] and an external optical element [600 top] (Para. [0118]) forming a circulating pump beam [602] (Para. [0118]) (See Fig. 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the double-sided pumping structure shown in Filgas into the modified device of Peterson in view of Seurin for the purpose of having more light pumped into the gain element.
Peterson in view of Seurin and Filgas fails to disclose,
the saturable absorber outside of the extended cavity of the VECSEL
Eichenholz discloses in Fig. 13,
a saturable absorber element [420] disposed outside of a resonator separated from a gain element [410] with dielectric coatings [surface A and surface B] (Para. [0150])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the saturable absorber of the modified device of Peterson outside of the gain medium resonator with the dielectric coatings as shown in Eichenholz for the purpose of allowing selection of cavity length and specific reflectivity values. (Eichenholz Para. [0150])
Examiner notes that Eichenholz further discloses a resonator between the back surface [480] of the saturable absorber and the front surface [470] of the gain medium. (Para. [0150])
Examiner also notes when the pumping structure of Filgas in implemented in to the modified device of Peterson, the gain element will still be disposed within the circulating pump beam of the “second resonator”.
Regarding claim 2, Peterson in view of Seurin, Filgas and Eichenholz as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein the passively Q-switched laser [Peterson Fig. 6 Para. (0050)] is a plurality of passively Q-switched lasers [Peterson 10 Para. (0060)] optically pumped by the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [Seurin 510 Fig. 5 Para. (0060)].
Regarding claim 6, Peterson in view of Seurin, Filgas and Eichenholz as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein the plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [Seurin 510 Fig. 5 Para. (0060)] is a first plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions and the external optical element is a second plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [Seurin 510 Fig. 5 Para. (0060)].
Examiner notes that when the double-sided structure of Filgas is implemented into the modified device of Peterson, the second plurality of semiconductor gain regions is interpreted as the external optical element as shown in Fig. 6 of the claimed application.
Regarding claim 7, Peterson in view of Seurin, Filgas and Eichenholz as applied to claim 6 above further discloses,
wherein the first plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [Seurin 510 Fig. 5 Para. (0060)] are disposed on a first monolithic semiconductor die [Seurin 512 Fig. 5 Para. (0060)] and the second plurality of electrically pumped surface emitting semiconductor gain regions [Seurin 510 Fig. 5 Para. (0060)] are disposed on a second monolithic semiconductor die [Seurin 512 Fig. 5 Para. (0060)].
Examiner notes that when the double-sided structure of Filgas is implemented into the modified device of Peterson, the second plurality of semiconductor gain regions is formed the same way as the original shown in Fig. 5 of Seurin.
Regarding claim 11, Peterson in view of Seurin, Filgas and Eichenholz as applied to claim 1 above further discloses,
wherein an optical path [Filgas 602 Fig. 6] (Para. [0118]) through the optically pumped gain element [Peterson 12 Fig. 1 Para. (0026)] at the first wavelength is a zig-zag path [Filgas Fig. 6] having a reflection from an adjacent and an opposed lateral side [Filgas 600,601 top and bottom] (para. [0118]) of the optically pumped gain element (Peterson Para. [0028,0029]).
Examiner notes that the double sided, zig-zag optical path of Filgas is implemented with the gain elements of the modified device of Peterson. See Fig. 6 of Filgas
Regarding claim 12, , Peterson in view of Seurin, Filgas and Eichenholz as applied to claim 11 above further discloses,
wherein the reflection from the adjacent lateral side [Filgas top 600,601 Fig. 6] and the reflection from the opposed lateral side [Filgas bottom 600,601 Fig. 6] is a plurality of reflections from the adjacent lateral side and a plurality of reflections from the opposed lateral side (Filgas Para. [0117]).
Examiner notes Peterson discloses reflective surfaces [18,32] (Peterson Paras. [0051,0052])
Regarding claim 13, Peterson in view of Seurin, Filgas and Eichenholz as applied to claim 1 above further discloses in Filgas,
wherein the reflection from the adjacent lateral side is aligned with the circulating pump beam (Para. [0118]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.J.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /TOD T VAN ROY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828