DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 9 June 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Species 1 embodiment in the reply filed on 17 March 2025 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 7-10, drawn to a nonelected embodiment of the invention, are withdrawn from further consideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 4-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0013846 (published Jan. 9, 2020) (hereinafter “Kwon”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0212113 (filed June 22, 2015) (hereinafter “Rantala”), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2017/0144220 (filed June 16, 2015) (hereinafter “Suganuma”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kwon discloses: A display device (FIG. 1C, display device 1000, [0040]), comprising:
a first substrate (FIG. 1C, first substrate 110, [0042]) including an active area (FIG. 1D, active area AA, [0044]) and a non-active area (FIG. 1D, non-active area NA, [0044]) surrounding the active area (FIG. 1D, [0044]: “In the first substrate 110, an active area AA and a non-active area NA surrounding the active area AA may be defined.”);
a display unit (FIG. 1C, display unit 120, [0042]) including an organic light emitting diode ([0046]: “The display unit 120 displays an image. In one embodiment, an organic light emitting element and a circuit unit for driving the organic light emitting element are included in the display unit 120.”) disposed on an upper surface of the first substrate (FIG. 1C, [0049]: “Specifically, the display unit 120 is on the first or top surface 102 of the first substrate 110 and the second substrate 130 is on the display unit.”);
a plurality of signal lines (FIG. 1C, signal lines 150, [0042]) disposed on the upper surface of the first substrate (FIG. 1C, [0051]: “Referring to FIG. 1C, the plurality of signal lines 150 are disposed on a top surface 102 of the first substrate 110 and the plurality of link lines 160 are disposed on a rear surface 104 of the first substrate 110.”) and electrically connected to the display unit ([0051]: “The plurality of signal lines 150 are electrically connected to components of the display unit 120 to transfer signals to the display unit 120.”);
a plurality of link lines (FIG. 1C, link lines 160, [0042]) disposed below the first substrate (FIG. 1C, [0051]: “Referring to FIG. 1C, the plurality of signal lines 150 are disposed on a top surface 102 of the first substrate 110 and the plurality of link lines 160 are disposed on a rear surface 104 of the first substrate 110.”); and
a plurality of side lines (FIG. 1C, side lines 170, [0042]) disposed on a side surface of the first substrate (FIG. 1C, [0056]: “Referring to FIG. 1C, the plurality of side lines 170 are disposed on a side surface 106 of the first substrate 110.”) and connecting the plurality of signal lines and the plurality of link lines (FIG. 1C, [0056]: “The plurality of side lines 170 serve to electrically connect the plurality of signal lines 150 disposed on the top surface 102 of the first substrate 110 to the plurality of link lines 160 disposed on the rear surface 104 of the first substrate 110.”).
Kwon does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of side lines further includes a binder resin, and wherein the plurality of side lines includes the conductive particle of 72 wt% to 85 wt% with respect to a sum of the conductive particle and the binder resin.
In the same field of endeavor, Rantala discloses a display device (FIG. 5, [0049]: “Illustrated in FIG. 5 is a flip chip type package for an LED device,”) including a plurality of electrical connection or pad areas, 47, connected via a siloxane particle adhesive 46. Regarding the siloxane particle adhesive, in [0100], Rantala states: “The obtained siloxane polymer may then be combined with additional components depending upon the final desired use of the polymer. Preferably, the siloxane polymer is combined with a filler to form a composition . . . .” Rantala further states, in [0138]: “The filler can be particles that are any suitable metal or semi-metal particles such as those selected from gold, silver, copper, platinum, palladium . . . .”
Regarding the siloxane particle adhesive, Rantala discusses the use of resins in [0101]: “Cross-linking silicon or non-silicon based resins and oligomers can be used to enhance cross linking between siloxane polymers. The functionality of added cross-linking oligomer or resin is chosen by functionality of siloxane polymer. If for example epoxy based alkoxysilanes were used during polymerization of siloxane polymer, then epoxy functional oligomer or resin can be used.”
Regarding the conductive particles, Rantala states in [0141] that “[p]articles of any suitable size can be used, depending upon the final application,” and further wherein “the term ‘average particle size’ refers to the D50 value of the cumulative volume distribution curve at which 50% by volume of the particles have a diameter less than that value,” and in [0142] discloses: “In one example, the smaller particles have an average particle size of less than 1 micron and melt or sinter at a temperature less than the bulk temperature of the same material. Depending upon the particle material selected, and the average particle size, the melting and sintering temperatures will be different.”
Regarding the conductive particle content, Rantala states in [0161]: “If the siloxane material is to be used where electrical conductivity is desired, such as in a semiconductor package, the particles may be metal particles added at from 60 to 95% by weight.”
Rantala follows with an example of a conductive compound in [0176]: “A siloxane polymer with epoxy as a crosslinking functional group (18.3 g, 18.3%), silver flake with average size (D50) of 4 micrometer (81 g, 81%), 3-methacrylatepropyltrimethoxysilane (0.5 g, 0.5%) and King Industries K-PURE CXC-1612 thermal acid generator (0.2%) where mixed together using high shear mixer. The composition has a viscosity of 15000 mPas.”
In [0143] Rantala provides an example of the effect of the siloxane particle adhesive: “As one example, very small silver nanoparticles can melt at less than 120° C., and sinter at even lower temperatures. As such, if desired, the smaller particles can have a melting or sintering temperature equal to or lower than the polymer curing temperature, so as to form a web of melted or sintered particles connecting the larger particles together prior to full cross-linking and curing of the siloxane polymeric material. . . . The sintering or melting of the smaller particles prior to substantial polymerization of the siloxane material, allows for greater interconnectivity of a formed metal “lattice” which increases the final electrical conductivity of the cured layer. Substantial polymerization prior to substantial sintering or melting of the smaller particles decreases the amount of formed metal “lattice” and lowers the electrical conductivity of the final cured layer. Of course, it is also possible to provide only the particles of the smaller average particle size, e.g. sub micron size, which can still achieve the benefits of lower sintering and melting points as compared to the same bulk material (or the same particles having an average particle size of greater than 1 micron for example).”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Kwon by substituting the siloxane particle adhesive of Rantala containing resin and a having a conductive particle content ranging from 60 wt% to 95 wt% for the patterned metal layer of the side lines 170 of Kwon in order to ensure strong and stable performance of the side lines across a broad range of temperatures, thereby maximizing the lifetime of the display device, which Rantala discloses in [0005], [0010], and [0015] as a characteristic of the disclosed siloxane particle adhesive. See Rantala [0100], [0101], [0141]-[0143], [0161], [0176].
The ranges disclosed in Rantala “discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range,” and thus establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (quoting In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003)); see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1382 (“In fact, when, as here, the claimed ranges are completely encompassed by the prior art, the conclusion is even more compelling than in cases of mere overlap. The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”) (citing In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) (emphasis added).
Kwon in view of Rantala does not specifically disclose wherein the plurality of side lines includes a conductive particle having a D50 particle size of 0.5 μm to 1 μm.
In the same field of endeavor, Suganuma discloses a conductive paste composition including conductive particles ([0091]: “Consequently, the conductive paste according to the present embodiment contains the alcohol and the silver micro-particles P2 each having a polyhedral shape. More preferably, the conductive paste contains the silver micro-particles P2 each having a polyhedral shape, the silver nanoparticles P3, and the alcohol. For example, the silver particles P2 and P3 synthesized in the polyalcohol PA2 are separated from the polyalcohol PA2 and the separated silver particles P2 and P3 are washed three or four times using water or ethanol. The washed silver particles P2 and P3 are then dispersed in an alcohol (for example, ethanol). Through the above procedure, a conductive paste can be produced. The conductive paste according to the present embodiment can be used as a wiring material or a bonding material.”), wherein a plurality conductive particles having specific size ranges are present in the conductive paste, including conductive particles ranging from 100 nm to 1 μm ([0063]: “The silver particles P3 may be referred to below as silver nanoparticles P3. The silver nanoparticles P3 preferably have an average particle diameter (median diameter) of at least 100 nm and less than 1 μm.”). Regarding the conductive particle size ranges, in [0063], Suganuma states: “Silver particles P3 having an average particle diameter smaller than the silver micro-particles P2 are synthesized in the course of synthesis of the silver micro-particles P2 in the present embodiment. The silver particles P3 have an average particle diameter (median diameter) in the order of nanometers. Synthesis of the silver particles P3 can yield further improvement of packability. Specifically, the silver particles P3 serve to fill gaps between the silver micro-particles P2.” Suganuma further states in [0119]: “As described above, silver particles having improved packability can be obtained according to the present embodiment. Further, production of a conductive paste using the silver particles can attain sufficiently low resistivity (volume resistivity in the order of 10−5 Ω·cm) even in a configuration that is subjected to baking at low temperature (about 150° C.). Furthermore, through the above, use of the conductive paste according to the present embodiment as a bonding material can enable sufficient reduction in resistivity between bonding members that are bonded together.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the siloxane particle adhesive of Rantala by adding the nanoparticles of Suganuma having a diameter ranging from 100 nm to 1 μm in order to achieve a desired packability and resistivity as disclosed in Suganuma in [0063] and [0119].
The ranges disclosed in Suganuma “discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range,” and thus establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP § 2144.05(I) (quoting In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330 (Fed. Cir. 2003)); see also In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1382 (“In fact, when, as here, the claimed ranges are completely encompassed by the prior art, the conclusion is even more compelling than in cases of mere overlap. The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”) (citing In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) (emphasis added).
Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed ranges are for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the plurality of side lines (FIG. 1C, side lines 170) includes a conductive part formed by sintering the conductive particles (Rantala [0143]: “[I]f desired, the smaller particles can have a melting or sintering temperature equal to or lower than the polymer curing temperature, so as to form a web of melted or sintered particles connecting the larger particles together prior to full cross-linking and curing of the siloxane polymeric material. . . . The sintering or melting of the smaller particles prior to substantial polymerization of the siloxane material, allows for greater interconnectivity of a formed metal “lattice” which increases the final electrical conductivity of the cured layer.”) and a resin part formed by curing the binder resin (Rantala [0143]: “[I]f desired, the smaller particles can have a melting or sintering temperature equal to or lower than the polymer curing temperature, so as to form a web of melted or sintered particles connecting the larger particles together prior to full cross-linking and curing of the siloxane polymeric material. . . . Substantial polymerization prior to substantial sintering or melting of the smaller particles decreases the amount of formed metal “lattice” and lowers the electrical conductivity of the final cured layer.”).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon in view of Rantala further discloses wherein the display device (FIG. 1C, display device 1000) further comprises a protective layer (FIG. 1C, insulating layer 180, [0042]) which is formed as one layer (FIG. 1E, [0070]: “As shown in FIG. 1E, the insulating layer 180 is formed as a single layer . . . .”) to enclose all side surfaces of the first substrate and cover all the plurality of side lines (FIG. 1E, [0070]: “As shown in FIG. 1E, the insulating layer 180 is formed as a single layer to cover all of the plurality of side lines 170 and disposed continuously along the edge of the first substrate 110.”) or is patterned so as to correspond to each of the plurality of side lines (FIG. 2B, [0070]: “However, the insulating layer 280 shown in FIG. 2A and FIG. 2B has a plurality of patterned insulating structures corresponding to the respective side lines 170.”).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon in view of Rantala further discloses wherein the display device (FIG. 1C, display device 1000) further comprises a second substrate (FIG. 1C, second substrate 130, [0042]) disposed on the display unit and facing the first substrate (FIG. 1C, [0049]: “FIG. 1C further shows the second substrate 130 disposed on the display unit 120, opposite to the first substrate 110.”), wherein the first substrate (FIG. 1C, first substrate 110) protrudes outwardly from the second substrate and the plurality of signal lines is disposed on the protruding first substrate (FIG. 1C, the first substrate 110 protrudes relative to the second substrate 130 and signal lines 150, such that there is a step between ends of the first substrate 110 and the second substrate 130, so that the plurality of signal lines 150 extend beyond a side surface of the second substrate 130, [0109]), and the plurality of side lines (FIG. 1C, side lines 170) is disposed to be in contact with exposed upper surface and side surface of the plurality of signal lines (FIG. 1C, the plurality of signal lines 150 extend beyond a side surface of the second substrate 130 such that top surfaces of the plurality of signal lines 150 are exposed to the outside and may form pads PAD1 and PAD2 on the step, wherein the plurality of side lines 170 are disposed to cover the exposed top surfaces of the plurality of signal lines 150, [0109]-[0110]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Patent Publication Nos.: 20190351484 (filed June 24, 2018) (disclosing silver nanoparticle containing conductive paste compositions similar to those of Suganuma); 20180301648 (filed Oct. 10, 2016) (disclosing silver nanoparticle containing conductive paste compositions similar to those of Suganuma); NPL references: Shancan Fu et al., Pressureless sintering of nanosilver paste at low temperature to join large area (≥100 mm2) power chips for electronic packaging, 128 Materials Letters 42, 42-25 (2014) (disclosing silver nanoparticle containing conductive paste compositions encompassing parameters similar to those disclosed by Applicant); Masahiro Inoue et al., Design of Interfacial Chemistry for Inducing Low Temperature Sintering of Silver Micro-fillers within Epoxy-based Binders, presented at the 2019 22nd European Microelectronics and Packaging Conference & Exhibition (EMPC) (held 16-19 September 2019) (disclosing silver nanoparticle containing conductive paste compositions encompassing parameters similar to those disclosed by Applicant); Peng Peng et al., Joining of Silver Nanomaterials at Low Temperatures: Processes, Properties, and Applications, 7 ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 12597, 12597-12618 (2015) (disclosing silver nanoparticle containing conductive paste compositions encompassing parameters similar to those disclosed by Applicant); Tiam Foo Chen & Kim Shyong Siow, Comparing the mechanical and thermal-electrical properties of sintered copper (Cu) and sintered silver (Ag) joints, 866 J. of Alloys and Compounds 158783 (June 15th, 2021) (disclosing silver nanoparticle containing conductive paste compositions encompassing parameters similar to those disclosed by Applicant); Jie Li et al., A novel multiscale silver paste for die bonding on bare copper by low-temperature pressure-free sintering in air, 140 Materials & Design 64, 64-72 (2018) (disclosing silver nanoparticle containing conductive paste compositions encompassing parameters similar to those disclosed by Applicant).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813