DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 8th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 28-29, 33 and 36 have been amended. Claims 48-56 are newly added and claims 37-47 are presently canceled. Claims 28-36 and 48-56 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments that Saito (US 20160073856 A1) does not disclose “the first wire direction being oriented at an angle to the second wire direction” the examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed below, the first wire direction is being considered the direction in which the pulley wire wraps/ winds around the winding section, as depicted in FIG. 5, which would be oriented at an angle to the second wire direction which is being considered as the longitudinal direction in which the angle wire extends. Moreover, the applicant argues that the sections of the wires before and after the wire guide are in a straight line, however, the claim requires the first section to extend between the surface of the wire guide and the circumference of the pulley, therefore, the portion of the wire winding around the pulley, as depicted in FIG. 5, meets these requirements.
In response to arguments that Chu et al. (US 20210100429 A1) does not disclose “the first wire direction being oriented at an angle to the second wire direction” the examiner respectfully disagrees. As detailed below, the first wire direction is being considered the direction in which the proximal portion of pull wire wraps/ winds around the pull wheel, as depicted in FIG. 13, which would be oriented at an angle to the second wire direction which is being considered as the longitudinal direction in which the distal portion of the pull wire extends. Moreover, the applicant argues that the sections of the wires before and after the wire guide are in a straight line, however, the claim requires the first section to extend between the surface of the wire guide and the circumference of the pulley, therefore, the portion of the wire winding around the pulley, as depicted in FIG. 13, meets these requirements.
Therefore, the examiner is maintaining the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) with Saito (US 20160073856 A1) and Chu et al. (US 20210100429 A1) respectively.
Examiner’s Comments
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 28-33, 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito (US 20160073856 A1).
Regarding Claim 28, Saito discloses
An operation portion (control body 11, FIG. 1) for use with an insertion device (small-diameter insertion section 12, FIG. 1; par. 26 discloses control body controls bending of insertion section), the operation portion comprising:
a pulley (pulley 30, FIG. 3);
a wire (continuous bending control wire W1, FIG. 3) configured to operate a bending portion (bendable section 16, FIG. 1) of the insertion device (par. 35 discloses bending control wires operate bendable section);
a sheath (hollow sheath coil 35, FIG. 3) receiving the wire (FIG. 3, par. 32 disclose wires inserted into hollow sheath coils); and
a wire guide (wire interconnection member 38, FIG. 3) configured to guide a portion (pulley wire 31, FIG. 3) of the wire extending between a circumference of the pulley and the sheath so that the portion of the wire is movable relative to an axis of the wire guide (par. 33 discloses pulley wires and angle wires are provided within retainers of the wire interconnection member to form one continuous bending control wire, FIG. 3, par. 34 disclose wire interconnection members are movable along guide surfaces, i.e. to guide the pulley wire, and the movement of the bending control wires can be adjusted and is determined by the maximum movement of the wire interconnection members, i.e. wires movable relative to an axis of the movable wire interconnection members, specifically an axis in the direction of movement, i.e. cartesian xyz axes),
wherein the wire guide is located on a side toward a shaft (non-circular shaft 25a, FIG. 3) of the pulley with respect to a tangential line to the circumference of the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 3 below),
the tangential line passing through a point on an end of the sheath closer to the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 3 below),
wherein the portion of the wire extending between the circumference of the pulley and the sheath includes a first wire section (pulley wire 31, FIG. 3) extending between the circumference of the pulley and a surface of the wire guide (depicted in FIGS. 3-5) and
a second wire section (angle wire 33, FIG. 3) extending between the surface of the wire guide and the sheath (depicted in FIG. 3), and
wherein the first wire section extends in a first wire direction and the second wire section extends in a second wire direction (FIG. 5 depicts pulley wire wound around winding section and extending in a first direction, par. 37 discloses same winding profile for both pulley wires; FIG. 3 depicts angle wire extending in a longitudinal direction, i.e. second direction),
the first wire direction being oriented at an angle to the second wire direction (depicted in FIGS. 3-5).
Modified FIG. 3 (US 20160073856 A1)
Regarding Claim 29, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28, wherein the second wire direction extends in a longitudinal direction of the operation portion (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 30, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 29, wherein the sheath has a channel inserting the wire (par. 32 discloses sheath coils are hollow and angle wires extend through them toward the distal end, i.e. channel in sheath coils),
the channel extends along the longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 31, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28, wherein during a rotation of the pulley, the wire is in contact with the wire guide (FIG. 3, par. 33-35 disclose wires and wire interconnection members are constantly in contact, even during rotation of pulley).
Regarding Claim 32, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28, wherein the sheath is configured to guide the wire such that a friction generated between the wire and the sheath is reduced (par. 34 discloses movement of wires in a direction towards sheath coils is restricted by the sheath coils, i.e. to reduce friction).
Regarding Claim 33, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28,
wherein the wire is a first wire (continuous bending control wire W1, FIG. 3),
the sheath is a first sheath (hollow sheath coil 35, FIG. 3),
the wire guide is a first wire guide (wire interconnection member 38, FIG. 3), and
the tangential line is a first tangential line (depicted in Modified FIG. 3 below),
wherein the operation portion further comprises:
a second wire (continuous bending control wire W2, FIG. 3) configured to operate a bending portion of the insertion device (par. 35 discloses bending control wires operate bendable section),
a second sheath (hollow sheath coil 36, FIG. 3) receiving the second wire (FIG. 3, par. 32 disclose wires inserted into hollow sheath coils), and
a second wire guide (wire interconnection member 39, FIG. 3) configured to guide a portion (pulley wire 32, FIG. 3) of the second wire extending between the circumference of the pulley and the second sheath so that the portion of the second wire is movable relative to an axis the second wire guide (par. 33 discloses pulley wires and angle wires are provided within retainers of the wire interconnection member to form one continuous bending control wire, FIG. 3, par. 34 disclose wire interconnection members are movable along guide surfaces, i.e. to guide the pulley wire, and the movement of the bending control wires can be adjusted and is determined by the maximum movement of the wire interconnection members, i.e. wires movable relative to an axis of the movable wire interconnection members, specifically an axis in the direction of movement, i.e. cartesian xyz axes), and
wherein the second wire guide is located on a side toward the shaft of the pulley with respect to a second tangential line to the circumference of the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 3 below),
the second tangential line passing through a point on an end of the second sheath closer to the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 3 below).
Modified FIG. 3 (US 20160073856 A1)
Regarding Claim 35, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 33, wherein a longitudinal axis of the first sheath is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the second sheath (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 36, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28,
wherein the wire guide is configured to guide the wire from the circumference of the pulley toward the sheath (depicted in FIG. 3),
the sheath extending along a first direction (depicted in FIG. 3), and
wherein the first direction of the sheath is the same as the second wire direction of the second wire section (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 48, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 33,
wherein the portion of the second wire extending between the circumference of the pulley and the sheath includes a third wire section (pulley wire 32, FIG. 3) extending between the circumference of the pulley and a surface of the second wire guide (depicted in FIGS. 3-5) and
a fourth wire section (angle wire 33, FIG. 3) extending between the surface of the second wire guide and the second sheath (depicted in FIG. 3), and
wherein the third wire section extends in a third wire direction and the fourth wire section extends in a fourth wire direction (FIG. 5 depicts pulley wire wound around winding section and extending in a third direction; FIG. 3 depicts angle wire extending in a longitudinal direction, i.e. fourth direction),
the third wire direction being oriented at a second angle to the fourth wire direction (depicted in FIGS. 3-5).
Regarding Claim 49, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 48, wherein a value of the angle between the first wire direction and the second wire direction and a value of the angle between the third wire direction and the fourth wire direction are the same (FIGS. 3-5, par. 37 disclose section of the winding section on which both pulley wires are wound has the same profile, i.e. the first and third wire directions are the same, and since the second and fourth wire sections are the same, as depicted in FIG. 3, the value of the two angles must be the same).
Regarding Claim 50, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 48, wherein the second wire direction and the fourth wire direction are parallel to each other (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 51, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 48,
wherein a value of the angle between the first wire direction and the second wire direction and a value of the angle between the third wire direction and the fourth wire direction are the same (FIGS. 3-5, par. 37 disclose section of the winding section on which both pulley wires are wound has the same profile, i.e. the first and third wire directions are the same, and since the second and fourth wire sections are the same, as depicted in FIG. 3, the value of the two angles must be the same), and
wherein the second wire direction and the fourth wire direction are parallel to each other (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 52, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 33, wherein the fourth wire direction extends in a longitudinal direction of the operation portion (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 53, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 52,
wherein the second sheath has a channel inserting the second wire (par. 32 discloses sheath coils are hollow and angle wires extend through them toward the distal end, i.e. channel in sheath coils),
the channel extends along the longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 54, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 33, wherein during a rotation of the pulley, the second wire is in contact with the second wire guide (FIG. 3, par. 33-35 disclose wires and wire interconnection members are constantly in contact, even during rotation of pulley).
Regarding Claim 55, Saito discloses
The operation portion according to claim 33, wherein the second sheath is configured to guide the second wire such that a friction generated between the second wire and the second sheath is reduced (par. 34 discloses movement of wires in a direction towards sheath coils is restricted by the sheath coils, i.e. to reduce friction).
Claim(s) 28, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 20210100429 A1, hereinafter Chu).
Regarding Claim 28, Chu discloses
An operation portion (handle portion 200, FIG. 2) for use with an insertion device (shaft portion 100, FIG. 1; par. 72 discloses handle portion controls bending of shaft portion), the operation portion comprising:
a pulley (pull wheel 254, FIGS. 11-12);
a wire (handle pull wire 250, FIGS. 11-12) configured to operate a bending portion (endoscopic shaft 104, FIG. 1) of the insertion device (par. 72 discloses handle portion controls bending of endoscopic shaft via wires);
a sheath (shaft 240, FIGS.11-12) receiving the wire (depicted in FIGS. 11-12); and
a wire guide (pulley wheel 256, FIGS. 11-12) configured to guide a portion of the wire extending between a circumference of the pulley and the sheath so that the portion of the wire is movable relative to an axis of the wire guide (par. 74 discloses portions of the pull wires are supported, i.e. guided, by pulley wheels when the wire is under tension and the pulley wheels prevent unwanted migration/ movement of the wire, i.e. movement of wires is regulated by pulley wheels, therefore, wires are movable relative to rotation axis of pulley wheels),
wherein the wire guide is located on a side toward a shaft of the pulley with respect to a tangential line to the circumference of the pulley (FIGS. 11-12 depict shaft of pull wheel in center; depicted in Modified FIG. 11 below),
the tangential line passing through a point on an end of the sheath closer to the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 11 below),
wherein the portion of the wire extending between the circumference of the pulley and the sheath includes a first wire section extending between the circumference of the pulley and a surface of the wire guide (FIG. 13 depicts proximal portion of handle pull wire which wraps around pull wheel and extends to pulley wheel, i.e. first wire section) and
a second wire section extending between the surface of the wire guide and the sheath (FIG. 13 depicts distal portion of handle pull wire which extends from pulley wheel to shaft, i.e. second wire section), and
wherein the first wire section extends in a first wire direction and the second wire section extends in a second wire direction (FIG. 13 depicts first wire section wrapping around pull wheel, i.e. extending in a first wire direction, and the second wire section extending along the longitudinal direction, i.e. second wire section),
the first wire direction being oriented at an angle to the second wire direction (depicted in FIG. 13).
Modified FIG. 11 (US 20210100429 A1)
Regarding Claim 29, Chu discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28, wherein the second wire direction extends in a longitudinal direction of the operation portion (depicted in FIG. 11).
Regarding Claim 30, Chu discloses
The operation portion according to claim 29,
wherein the sheath has a channel (pocket 246, FIG. 11) inserting the wire (FIG. 11, par. 73 disclose pull wire received in pocket),
the channel extends along the longitudinal direction (depicted in FIG. 11).
Regarding Claim 31, Chu discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28, wherein during a rotation of the pulley, the wire is in contact with the wire guide (depicted in FIG. 12).
Regarding Claim 33, Chu discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28,
wherein the wire is a first wire (first pull wire portion 250(1), FIGS. 11-13),
the sheath is a first sheath (first shaft 240(1), FIGS. 11-13),
the wire guide is a first wire guide (first pulley wheel 256, FIGS. 11-13), and
the tangential line is a first tangential line (depicted in Modified FIG. 11 below),
wherein the operation portion further comprises:
a second wire (second pull wire portion 250(2), FIGS. 11-13) configured to operate the bending portion of the insertion device (par. 72 discloses handle portion controls bending of endoscopic shaft via wires),
a second sheath (second shaft 240(2), FIGS. 11-13) receiving the second wire (depicted in FIGS. 11-13), and
a second wire guide (second pulley wheel 256, FIGS. 11-13) configured to guide a portion of the second wire extending between the circumference of the pulley and the second sheath so that the portion of the second wire is movable relative to an axis the second wire guide (par. 74 discloses portions of the pull wires are supported, i.e. guided, by pulley wheels when the wire is under tension and the pulley wheels prevent unwanted migration/ movement of the wire, i.e. movement of wires is regulated by pulley wheels, therefore, wires are movable relative to rotation axis of pulley wheels), and
wherein the second wire guide is located on a side toward the shaft of the pulley with respect to a second tangential line to the circumference of the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 11 below),
the second tangential line passing through a point on an end of the second sheath closer to the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 11 below).
Modified FIG. 11 (US 20210100429 A1)
Regarding Claim 34, Chu discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28,
wherein the wire guide comprises a pulley (pulley wheel 256, FIGS. 11-12) or a bearing configured to rotate around a shaft and to guide the wire (par. 74 discloses portions of the pull wires are supported, i.e. guided, by pulley wheels when the wire is under tension and moved, the pulley wheels control slack and unwanted migration of the wire when under tension, i.e. by moving around the shaft depicted in FIGS. 11-12 at the center of the pulley wheels).
Regarding Claim 35, Chu discloses
The operation portion according to claim 33, wherein a longitudinal axis of the first sheath is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the second sheath (depicted in FIG. 11).
Regarding Claim 36, Chu discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28,
wherein the wire guide is configured to guide the wire from the circumference of the pulley toward the sheath (depicted in FIG. 11),
the sheath extending along a first direction (depicted in FIG. 11), and
wherein the first direction of the sheath is the same as the second wire direction of the second wire section (depicted in FIGS. 11-13).
Regarding Claim 56, Chu discloses
The operation portion according to claim 33,
wherein the first wire guide comprises a first pulley (first pulley wheel 256, FIGS. 11-12) or a first bearing configured to rotate around a first shaft and to guide the first wire (par. 74 discloses portions of the pull wires are supported, i.e. guided, by pulley wheels when the wire is under tension and moved, the pulley wheels control slack and unwanted migration of the wire when under tension, i.e. by moving around the shaft depicted in FIGS. 11-12 at the center of the pulley wheels), and
wherein the second wire guide comprises a second pulley (second pulley wheel 256, FIGS. 11-12) or a second bearing configured to rotate around a second shaft and to guide the second wire (par. 74 discloses portions of the pull wires are supported, i.e. guided, by pulley wheels when the wire is under tension and moved, the pulley wheels control slack and unwanted migration of the wire when under tension, i.e. by moving around the shaft depicted in FIGS. 11-12 at the center of the pulley wheels).
Claim(s) 28 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kenji (JP 3087604 B2, translated from 阿部健治).
Regarding Claim 28, Kenji discloses
An operation portion (main body operation unit, FIGS. 1-2) for use with an insertion device (insertion portion 2, FIGS. 1-2),
the operation portion comprising:
a pulley (pulley 6, FIG. 1);
a wire (operation wire 11, FIGS. 1, 3) configured to operate a bending portion of the insertion device (FIG. 1, par. 27-30 disclose bending of insertion portion via wires);
a sheath (sleeve 14, FIG. 1) receiving the wire (depicted in FIG. 1); and
a wire guide (eccentric pushing piece 20, FIG. 1) configured to guide a portion of the wire extending between a circumference of the pulley and the sheath so that the portion of the wire is movable relative to an axis of the wire guide (FIG. 1, par. 41-42 disclose at a position between the pulley and the sleeve, the operation wire is moved via eccentric pushing piece),
wherein the wire guide is located on a side toward a shaft of the pulley with respect to a tangential line to the circumference of the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 1 below),
the tangential line passing through a point on an end of the sheath closer to the pulley (depicted in Modified FIG. 1 below),
wherein the portion of the wire extending between the circumference of the pulley and the sheath includes a first wire section extending between the circumference of the pulley and a surface of the wire guide (FIG. 1, par. 41-42 disclose portion of operation wire extending between the pulley and the sleeve which contacts the surface of the sleeve, i.e. first wire section) and
a second wire section extending between the surface of the wire guide and the sheath (FIG. 1, par. 41-42 disclose portion of operation wire extending after contact with the surface of the sleeve, i.e. second wire section), and
wherein the first wire section extends in a first wire direction and the second wire section extends in a second wire direction (depicted in FIG. 1),
the first wire direction being oriented at an angle to the second wire direction (depicted in FIG. 1).
Modified FIG. 1 (JP 3087604 B2)
Regarding Claim 34, Kenji discloses
The operation portion according to claim 28, wherein the wire guide comprises a pulley or a bearing (eccentric pushing piece 20, FIG. 1) configured to rotate around a shaft (rotating shaft 21, FIG. 1) and to guide the wire (FIG. 1, par. 34 disclose eccentric pushing piece rotates around rotating shaft and contacts operation wire to adjust tension, i.e. guide the wire, par. 41-42 disclose operation wire is moved by the eccentric pushing piece).
Conclusion
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795