DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Swanson et al (U.S. Patent 5,935,079).
Referring to claim 1, Swanson et al teaches a method for safety control of radio frequency operation, comprising steps of: when connecting ends (38) of a plurality of radio frequency circuits connect an operated object (20) to a radio frequency host (32 which includes elements 36 and 42) (Col. 5, lines 15-38; Figures 2-3), acquiring detection values of the plurality of radio frequency circuits (Col. 11, lines 54-63; Figure 11); determining whether change amounts of the detection values reach a preset value range, wherein when the change amounts of the detection values of one or more radio frequency circuits of the plurality of radio frequency circuits reach the preset value range, the one or more radio frequency circuits are defined as first target radio frequency circuits (Col. 11, line 64 through Col. 12, line 41; Figures 11 and 12);
when a number of the first target radio frequency circuits is not less than a preset number, selecting the preset number of the first target radio frequency circuits from the first target radio frequency circuits according to a preset selection rule as radio frequency input circuits, and inputting radio frequency energy into the radio frequency input circuits (Col. 12, lines 42-48; Figures 11 and 12); and when the number of the first target radio frequency circuits is less than the preset number, not inputting the radio frequency energy to any of the plurality of radio frequency circuit circuits (Col. 12, lines 49-56; Figures 11 and 12).
Referring to claim 2, Swanson et al teaches after the step of inputting radio frequency energy into the radio frequency input circuits, a step of: when detecting that the number of the first target radio frequency circuit is less than the preset number, reducing the radio frequency energy (Col. 5, line 59 through Col. 6, line 64 and Col. 8, line 48 through Col. 9, line 41).
Referring to claim 3, Swanson et al teaches wherein the step of reducing the radio frequency energy comprises cutting off a connection (via switch in position “B” off position) between each radio frequency input circuit and the operated object (Col. 5, line 59 through Col. 6, line 64 and Col. 8, line 48 through Col. 9, line 41).
Referring to claim 4, Swanson et al teaches wherein the step of selecting the preset number of the first target radio frequency circuits from the first target radio frequency circuits according to a preset selection rule as radio frequency input circuits comprises steps of: acquiring preset series numbers of the first target radio frequency circuits; determining connecting areas corresponding to the first target radio frequency circuits according to the series numbers; and correspondingly selecting the radio frequency input circuits in the first target radio frequency circuits according to operation areas of a current radio frequency operation and a number of circuits required by each operation area (Col. 5, lines 15-38; Col. 9, lines 42-55; Col. 11, line 64 through Col. 12, line 56; Figures 2-3 and 11-12). Swanson et al teaches that the step of selecting the preset number of the first target radio frequency circuits (Cest) varies according to the physiology of the patent, the structure of the electrode support assembly, and the medical judgement of the physician (Col. 9, lines 42-55).
Referring to claim 13, Swanson et al teaches wherein when the number of the first target radio frequency circuits is less than the preset number, issuing an alarm (position contrary signal) (Col. 9, lines 30-32 and Col. 12, lines 49-56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson et al (U.S. Patent 5,935,079) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Swanson et al (PG Publication 2001/0012918) (hereinafter referred to as Swanson2).
Swanson et al teaches wherein the detection values comprise voltage values of the plurality of radio frequency circuits (Col. 10, line 65 through Col. 11, line 4), however fails to teach wherein the detection values comprise voltage values of primary coils of transformers of the plurality of radio frequency circuits. Swanson2 teaches an analogous method for safety control of radio frequency operation comprising wherein the detection values comprise voltage values of primary coils of transformers of the plurality of radio frequency circuits (paragraph 0119). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify determining the detection values comprising voltage values of the plurality of radio frequency circuits, as taught by Swanson et al, to include the voltage values of primary coils of transformers of the plurality of radio frequency circuits, as taught by Swanson2, because the transformers provide additional safety protection to the patient (paragraph 0119).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson et al (U.S. Patent 5,935,079) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Huelman et al (PG Pub 2016/0220314).
Referring to claim 14, Swanson et al teaches issuing an alarm (position contrary signal) to the output display (52) (Col. 6, lines 4-7 and Col. 9, lines 30-32), however is silent with regard to the specifics of what this includes. Huelman et al teaches an analogous method for safety control in a surgical environment comprising issuing an alarm wherein the alarm comprises flashing of an alarm light, buzzing, and displaying texts on a display screen (paragraphs 0065, 0071 and 0081; Figure 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alarm, as taught by Swanson et al, to include flashing of an alarm light, buzzing, and displaying texts on a display screen, as taught by Huelman et al, in order to notify the surgeon (paragraph 0081).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHADIJEH A VAHDAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/SAMANTHA M GOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3794