DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 7/30/2026 overcame the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korman (9,814,528).
Regarding the double patenting rejections, applicant requested these rejections be held in abeyance.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following from claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
(c) a portable carrier is a bra adapted to be worn by the user and shaped to mimic natural breasts, wherein the bra holds configured to hold one or more of the source of inflation medium, and wherein the source of inflation medium comprises an outward facing surface mimicking a natural appearance of a normal, healthy breast.
The examiner does not accept applicant’s figure 9A wherein the inflation medium mimics the natural appearance of a normal, healthy breast. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-23, 26-37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 claims, “(c) a portable carrier is a bra adapted to be worn by the user and shaped to mimic natural breasts, wherein the bra holds the source of inflation medium, and wherein the source of inflation medium comprises an outward facing surface mimicking a natural appearance of a normal, healthy breast”. The scope and demarcation of wherein the inflation medium mimics the natural appearance of a normal, healthy breast and where it does not mimic, in light of figure 9A and claim 33, makes the language indefinite. Note applicant’s claim 33 claims the portable carrier for the inflation medium is located on a lateral side.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 26-33 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korman (9,814,528) in view of Lee et al (2014/0196189) or Shailer (6,241,575).
Korman teaches a system for expanding tissue of a user, said system comprising:
(a) an expandable bladder 16 adapted to be located beneath a region of skin of the user to be expanded;
(b) a pump 12 (adapted to be connected to a source of inflation medium and to deliver said inflation medium to the expandable bladder (functional language, fully capable of)); and
(c) a portable carrier (30, see 3:65 et seq.) configured to hold one or more of the source of inflation medium and the pump, wherein the portable carrier is adapted to be worn by the user, wherein the portable carrier comprises a bra-like jacket, vest, a backpack, or a belt; see 3:65-4:4.
However, the portable carrier is not interpreted as being a bra adapted to be worn by the user and shaped to mimic natural breasts, wherein the bra holds the source of inflation medium, and wherein the source of inflation medium comprises an outward facing surface mimicking a natural appearance of a normal, healthy breast”.
Figure 3 of Lee teaches a portable carrier having a pouch 34 (see reference number 35 above) which is fully capable of being worn on the lateral side of the breast. Applicant’s claim 33 teaches that this mimics the natural appearance of a normal healthy breast.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the portable carrier which is a bra of Lee et al for the portable carrier of Korman to obtain predictable results; see MPEP 2143. Additional benefits include the bra of Korman is capable of holding at least the inflation medium closer to the wear’s body for a more natural appearance and less swinging and striking the wearer’s body.
Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have included the bra of Lee et al as an additional component of the system of Korman as a more complete post breast mastectomy system.
Shailer also teaches a portable carrier which is a bra 10 adapted (functional language) to be worn and shaped to mimic natural breast, wherein the bra holds a source of a source of inflation medium 18 which comprises an outward facing surface mimicking a natural appearance of a normal healthy breast.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted or tried the portable carrier which is a bra of Shailer for the portable carrier of Korman to obtain predictable results and/or with a reasonable expectation of success; MPEP 2143. Additional benefits include the bra of Shailer is capable of keeping at least the inflation medium closer to the wear’s body for a more natural appearance and less swinging and striking the wearer’s body.
Also, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have included the bra of Lee et al as an additional component of the system of Korman as a more complete post breast mastectomy system wherein it could be used including to estimate desired cup size.
Claims 2-3, Lee et al teaches many pouches 34 configured to hold the source of inflation medium 22 and the pump 12. Shailer teaches pouches 18 and a pump can be hung/attached to a strap.
Claim 4, Korman teaches: (a) a pressure sensor 20 adapted to monitor a pressure within the expandable bladder on a substantially continuous basis (see at least the abstract); and (b) a controller (14) which receives pressure data from the pressure sensor.
Claim 5, Korman teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the pump to deliver the inflation medium to the expandable bladder when the pressure within the expandable bladder falls below a lower threshold value; see at least the abstract.
Claim 6, Korman teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the pump to deliver the inflation medium to the expandable bladder until a predetermined volume of the inflation medium is delivered to the expandable bladder; see at least the abstract teaching “reaches a predetermined maximum volume”.
Claim 7, Korman teaches wherein the controller is programmable; see at least 4:5-19.
Claim 8, Korman teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the pump to deliver the inflation medium, terminate delivery of the inflation medium, and/or resume delivery of the inflation medium after a predetermined interval; see claim 1.
Claim 9, claim 10 of Korman teaches the predetermined interval is at least one hour.
Claim 10, Korman teaches wherein the controller is programmed to deliver the inflation medium until the pressure within the expandable bladder reaches an upper threshold value; see claim 3.
Claim 11, Korman teaches wherein the upper threshold level is in the range from about 5 mmHg to about 35 mmHg; see claim 4.
Claim 12, Korman teaches wherein the controller is programmed to stop delivering the inflation medium after a target total volume of inflation medium has been delivered to the user; see the last paragraph of claim 1.
Claim 13, Korman teaches wherein the target total volume of inflation medium is in the range from about 150 cc to about 800 cc; see claim 5.
Claim 14, Korman teaches wherein the target total volume of inflation medium is in the range from about 200 cc to about 600 cc; see claim 6.
Claim 15, rejection in view of Lee et al only. Lee teaches many pouches 34 for/capable of holding the controller.
Claims 16 and 33, both Lee et al and Shailer teach the pouch on the lateral side.
Claim 17, the controller 14 of Korman is configured to receive an activation device (pressure sensor or memory) for activating operation of the pump”.
Claim 26, wherein the expandable bladder is configured and fully capable of being placed in a subpectoral pocket of the patient following a mastectomy. See 3:29-49 and claim 1.
Claim 27, wherein the expandable bladder is fully capable of being initially inflated with a volume of saline in the range from about 50 cc to about 100 cc; see claim 8 teaching this limitation.
Claim 28, wherein the inflation medium comprises saline, see claim 11.
Claim 29 and 31, see the source of the inflation medium 22 or Korman or 30 of Shailer. Claim 31, an inflation medium has any shape.
Claim 30, wherein the source of the inflation medium is housed within the portable carrier 22 or Korman or 30 of Shailer.
Claim 32, see claims 2-3 above.
Claim 34, the controller 14 or the pressure sensor is considered “an activation device for activating operation of the pump”.
Claim 39 describes the inflation fluid which is not positively claimed.
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korman (9,814,528) in view of Lee et al (2014/0196189) or Shailer (6,241,575). Evidenced by Korman (2016/0242865) or Logan et al (A Control Unit for Maximal-Rate Continuous Tissue Expansion (CTE)).
Korman (9,814,528) in view of Lee et al (2014/0196189) or Shailer (6,241,575) teach the system as described above, however, fail to teach claims 21-23:
Claim 21, the pump and the controller are disposed with the same housing.
Claim 22, wherein the pump comprises a syringe pump.
Claim 23, wherein the pump comprises a peristaltic pump.
Korman ‘865 teaches a syringe pump 16 wherein the pump and controller 14 are disposed with the same housing 12. See at least figure 1.
Logan et al teaches a peristaltic pump 16 wherein the pump and controller are disposed with the same housing. See diagram 2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have disposed the pump and controller in the same housing as evidenced for simplicity and to have used either a syringe pump or peristaltic pump which meet the needed parameters of the system as evidenced.
Claims 17-20 and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korman (9,814,528) in view of Lee et al (2014/0196189) or Shailer (6,24.,575) and further in view of LaBove et al (4,087,864).
Korman in view of Lee et al or Shailer teach a system for expanding tissue, as described above, comprising an activation device (controller 14) which is programmable including predetermined intervals of a least one hour. See claims 9-10. Said controller (digital microprocessor, see 4:55) inherently has a memory.
Regarding claim 17-18 and 35, Korman fails to teach the memory is a SIM card (activation device).
Shalon et al also teaches a system for expanding tissue comprising a controller 350 which can use various memory types such as a SIM card; see par. 0292.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have tried a SIM card, as taught by Shalon et al, for the memory of Korman with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 17-18, the combination places the SIM card as part of the controller, therefore, the controller is configured to receive the SIM card (activation device).
Claims 19-20 and 36-37: wherein the activation device is configured to enable operation of the pump for a prescribed duration after being received by the controller is inherent. As stated above and claim 10, Korman teaches a prescribed duration of at least hour which meets all claimed prescribed duration of about 1 day, about 2 days, about 1 week, about 2 weeks, about 1 month, or about 3 months.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 17, 24-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all claims of U.S. Patent No. Korman (9,814,528). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other both claim a system for expanding tissue. Current claim is much broader. See the description under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above.
Claims 1-15, 17, 24-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over all claims of U.S. Patent No. Korman (9,814,528). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other both claim a system for expanding tissue. Current claim is much broader. See the description under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) above.
Claims 1, 4-16, 24-30, 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/186,070. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other and are self-evident. Current claim 1 is much broader than claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/186,070.
Claim 15, a backpack inherently has a pouch.
Claims 24-25, a vest is interpreted as bra-like.
All other claims are self-evident.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mori (2005/0261805) with SIM card 32.
/BRUCE E SNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774