DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0271996 (PRAKASH) and United States Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0117225 (SUZUKI).
PRAKASH teaches a beverage with ethanol in an amount of 625 ppm to 10,000 ppm [0280]. Prakash does not limit the beverage to non-alcoholic beverages. Rather, Prakash points out that certain ingredients (i.e., not claimed) must be used in limited amounts when added to an alcoholic beverage [0280], [0345]. In [0005], it is taught to D-psicose should be limited in alcoholic beverages. It would have been obvious to vary the alcohol content based on ingredients used and FDA regulations.
Preservatives such as sodium benzoate can be added [0348]. In Tables 26-29, it is shown that sodium benzoate can be added in an amount of 0.018 g/100ml beverage. However, it would have been obvious to use this amount in other types of beverage, as PRAKASH teaches sodium benzoate is a preservative for beverages. Moreover, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the amount of preservative based on the level of stability needed.
A sweetener enhancer such as rebaudioside D can be added. Reb D can be added in an amount of 1 ppm to 500ppm. [0010, 0016]. This encompasses the claimed range. However, it would have been obvious to vary this amount based on the desired sweetness.
PRAKASH teaches that sugar can be added with other sweeteners [0148]. Sucrose is in an amount of 0.5 to 10% by weight [0150]. This overlaps the claimed amount as 0.5 to 10% by weight is equivalent to 0.5 g to 10 g per 100 ml. However, it would have been obvious to vary the amount of sugar based on the desired sweetness.
The pH of the beverage may be from about 2.5 to 4.2 [0179]. This overlaps the claimed range. The preferred pH is 3.3. This falls within that claimed.
The beverage can be bottled [0422]. It would have been obvious to bottle beverages so that the beverage can be stored and distributed.
In [0026] of PRAKASH, the beverage is carbonated.
Ethanol can be added in an amount of 635ppm to about 10,000ppm [0280]. 10,000ppm is equivalent to 1 v/v%. However, it would have been obvious to vary the amount of ethanol based on desired final flavor.
However, PRAKASH does not specifically teach adding lemon juice with a content of 0.1 to 20 w/v% in terms of straight juice basis.
SUZUKI teaches that 20 w/v% lemon juice can be used [0064] to provide a lemon flavor. In Table 2, the beverage contains 4.9 to 5.0% alcohol [0051].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use lemon juice in the recited concentration as SUZUKI teaches a desirable lemon flavor is provided.
In [0358], electrolytes are added to improve hydration. This includes sodium. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to vary the amount of sodium based on the amount of hydration needed.
The pH of the beverage may be from about 2.5 to 4.2 [0179]. This overlaps the claimed range. The preferred pH is 3.3. This falls within that claimed.
PRAKASH teaches that ethanol can be added in an amount of 635ppm to about 10,000ppm [0280]. 10,000ppm is equivalent to 1 v/v%.
It is also noted that SUZUKI teaches in Table 2 that the beverage contains 4.9 to 5.0% alcohol [0051].
In this regard, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use lemon juice in the recited concentration as SUZUKI teaches a desirable lemon flavor is provided.
However, it would have been obvious to vary the amount of ethanol based on desired final flavor and alcohol content.
As to claims 13-14, PRAKASH teaches the pH of the beverage may be from about 2.5 to 4.2 [0179]. This overlaps the claimed range. The preferred pH is 3.3. This falls within that claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The filing of the third Declaration Under 37 CFR §1.132 on 10/21/2025 is acknowledged and has been considered but it is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1 and 9-14 based upon PRAKASH in view of SUZUKI as set forth in the last office action for the reasons below.
Applicant argues that the Third Declaration provides evidence of unexpected results where the results set forth in the Third Declaration are commensurate in scope with the claims.
However, TABLE A-2 contains shows the samples of the present invention contain citric acid and sodium citrate and do not exclude ingredients of PRAKASH such as lemon lime flavor and D-psicose.
It is also argued that the claimed invention may be compared with the closest subject matter that exists.
However, as noted above, the issue is that the experimental results are still not commensurate with what is in the claims.
Moreover, any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. (MPEP 716.02). The ingredients set forth in the claims are known ingredients acting in a known manner.
Moreover, the claimed invention is directed to a recipe for an alcoholic beverage. The applicant is also respectfully reminded that while food items are patentable, the culinary creativity of chefs is not the type of creativity which meets the standards for patentability. See General Mills v. Pillsbury Co.,378 F.2d 666 (8th Cir.1967) (first commercially successful one step mix for angel food cakes is not patentable because of nonobviousness standard since alleged invention is only the exact proportion of an already known leavening agent). In this regard, courts have taken the position that new recipes or formulas for cooking food which involve the addition or elimination of common ingredients, or for treating them in ways which differ from the former practice, do not amount to invention merely because it is not disclosed that, in the constantly developing art of preparing food, no one else ever did the particular thing upon which the applicant asserts his right to a patent. In re Levin, 178 F.2d 945, 948 (C.C.P.A.1949) (butter substitute not patentable).
Conclusion
/PHILIP A DUBOIS/Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791