DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications: amendment filed on 12/3/2025 to application filed on 10/03/2022 which has provisional application filed on 10/06/2021.
Claims 1, 6-7, 10, 15-16 are currently amended.
Claims 3-5, 8-9, 12-14, 18-23 have been canceled.
Claims 24-34 are new.
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, 15-17, 24-34 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 10 and 16 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, 15-17, 24-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorai et al. (US 2005/0193335 A1) in view of Wilner (US 2019/0065038 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Dorai discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a processing device associated with a … generation system, a request to generate a … document, a system to aid a content creator in constructing materials (P 0040), based on a source document, including base material (P 0040):
based on the request, retrieving, by the processing device, the source document from the … word processing system via an application programming interface (API) of the … word processing system, the base material is accessed through a creation or editing application (P 0049),
wherein the source document comprises a sequence of content items each having at least one style element that is native to the … word processing system, the base material includes a body of text with sequences of content items (Fig 4);
extracting, by the processing device, one or more key elements from the source document, based on a set of extraction rules associated with the … generation system, the content creation system uses key words to extract topics using textual analysis applied to the base material or content (P 0048) keyword extraction (P 0050) and phrases (Claim 1),
wherein the set of extraction rules define a correspondence between (i) a key element category, associated with the … generation system and (ii) a respective style element that is native to the … word processing system, analyzing the base content includes determining keywords, analyzing images to recognize text within the images and performing natural language analysis (Claim 4) a personalization preference includes the format of material suitable for inclusion, where the format includes categories of text, audio, visual and audio-visual materials (Claim 5);
dividing, by the processing device, the sequence of content items into a plurality of content segments based on the one or more key elements, sentences and paragraphs are identified in the base content and associated with topics (P 0050) analyzing the base content to determine words and phrases which are candidates for conditioning (Claim 1), by;
initiating parsing of the sequence of content items of the source document, the content creation system uses key words to extract topics using textual analysis applied to the base material or content (P 0048) keyword extraction (P 0050) and phrases (Claim 1) analyzing the base content includes determining keywords, analyzing images to recognize text within the images and performing natural language analysis (Claim 4) a personalization preference includes the format of material suitable for inclusion, where the format includes categories of text, audio, visual and audio-visual materials (Claim 5);
upon detecting, based on the parsing, that a respective content item corresponds to a key element of the one or more key elements, associating the respective content item and one or more subsequent content items … with a first content segment of the plurality of content segments, the topics extracted from the base content are mapped to supplemental elements (P 0054-0056) the subsequent content items are supplemental and not in the base content though the supplemental content is displayed in a single view with the base content, and
upon detecting, based on the parsing, that an additional respective content item corresponds to an additional key element of the one or more key elements, associating the additional respective content item and one or more additional subsequent content items … with a second content segment of the plurality of content segments, the topics extracted from the base content are mapped to supplemental elements (P 0054-0056); and
generating, by the processing device, the … document for display via a graphical user interface, the … document comprising the plurality of content segments, displaying the selected material formatted together in a single view (P 0056).
Dorai does not disclose a newsletter generation system, a request to generate a newsletter document; a set of extraction rules associated with the newsletter generation system; associated with the newsletter generation system; generating, by the processing device, the newsletter document; the newsletter document comprising the plurality of content segments, as disclosed in the claims. However, in the same field of invention, Wilner discloses a newsletter creation system (P 0033). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dorai and Wilner, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine a newsletter generation system, a request to generate a newsletter document; a set of extraction rules associated with the newsletter generation system; associated with the newsletter generation system; generating, by the processing device, the newsletter document; the newsletter document comprising the plurality of content segments with the teachings of Dorai with the motivation to provide a design system that generates an abundance of algorithmically assembled initial designs relevant to aesthetic choices expressed by the User, and then provides an interface that enables the User to explore a universe of design possibilities using simple controls, which contain within them contextual access to progressively more refined control (Wilner: P 0004).
Dorai does not disclose associated with a cloud-based word processing system; the source document from the cloud-based word processing system via an application programming interface (API) of the cloud-based word processing system; at least one style element that is native to the cloud-based word processing system; a respective style element that is native to the cloud-based word processing system, as disclosed in the claims. However, Wilner discloses content elements such as HTML/CSS constructs and graphical elements are stored in the cloud servers to be universally available (P 0053). Therefore, considering the teachings of Dorai and Wilner, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine associated with a cloud-based word processing system; the source document from the cloud-based word processing system via an application programming interface (API) of the cloud-based word processing system; at least one style element that is native to the cloud-based word processing system; a respective style element that is native to the cloud-based word processing system with the teachings of Dorai and Wilner with the motivation to provide a design system that generates an abundance of algorithmically assembled initial designs relevant to aesthetic choices expressed by the User, and then provides an interface that enables the User to explore a universe of design possibilities using simple controls, which contain within them contextual access to progressively more refined control (Wilner: P 0004).
Dorai does not disclose upon detecting, based on the parsing, that a respective content item corresponds to a key element of the one or more key elements, associating the respective content item and one or more subsequent content items of the sequence of content items with a first content segment of the plurality of content segments, and upon detecting, based on the parsing, that an additional respective content item corresponds to an additional key element of the one or more key elements, associating the additional respective content item and one or more additional subsequent content items of the sequence of content items with a second content segment of the plurality of content segments, as disclosed in the claims. However, Wilner discloses a designed is saved (P 0098) to be called up later to recall the design (P 0099-0100). That is, the user works with one file. When combined with Dorai, different content in a document may be associated based on common topics. Therefore, considering the teachings of Dorai and Wilner, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine upon detecting, based on the parsing, that a respective content item corresponds to a key element of the one or more key elements, associating the respective content item and one or more subsequent content items of the sequence of content items with a first content segment of the plurality of content segments, and upon detecting, based on the parsing, that an additional respective content item corresponds to an additional key element of the one or more key elements, associating the additional respective content item and one or more additional subsequent content items of the sequence of content items with a second content segment of the plurality of content segments with the teachings of Dorai and Wilner with the motivation to provide a design system that generates an abundance of algorithmically assembled initial designs relevant to aesthetic choices expressed by the User, and then provides an interface that enables the User to explore a universe of design possibilities using simple controls, which contain within them contextual access to progressively more refined control (Wilner: P 0004).
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1, Dorai discloses wherein the key elements comprise indications of one or more of: article title; article authors; premium content; or article teaser, the topics are based on titles or descriptions of materials (P 0053) date or origin, author (P 0057).
Claims 3-5. Canceled.
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 1, Dorai discloses wherein generating the newsletter document comprises generating a hypertext markup language (HTML) file comprising the plurality of content segments organized by the associated key element, the selected materials come from the web (P 0041) the topics extracted from the base content are mapped to supplemental elements (P 0054-0056).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 6, Dorai discloses further comprising generating a uniform resource locator (URL) associated with the newsletter document, wherein the URL enables a user to access the newsletter document via the newsletter generation system, a url is provided to the supplemental materials (P 0053, 0066).
Claims 8-9. Canceled.
Claims 10-11, 15 are for a system, comprising memory and a processing device coupled to the memory, wherein the processing device is to perform the method of claims 1-2, 6 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 12-14. Canceled.
Claims 16-17 are for a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed, cause a processing device to perform the method of claims 1-2 respectively and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 18-23. Canceled.
Regarding Claim 24, which is dependent on Claim 1, Dorai discloses detecting an update to the source document via the cloud-based word processing system, wherein the update comprises at least one of an addition of one or more content items to the sequence of content items, a removal of one or more content items from the sequence of content items, or a modification of one or more content items of the sequence of content items; and updating the generated newsletter in accordance with the detected update to the source document, the supplemental material is selected (P 0052) and formatted in a single view with the base material (P 0056).
Regarding Claim 25, which is dependent on Claim 1, Dorai discloses wherein the respective style element that is native to the cloud-based word processing system comprises at least one of a title style element or a header style element, the topics are based on titles or descriptions of materials (P 0053) date or origin, author (P 0057).
Regarding Claim 26, which is dependent on claim 1, Dorai discloses generating a content data structure element that comprises, for each respective content segment of the plurality of content segments, a region of the newsletter document comprising the respective content segment, the supplemental material is formatted in a single view with the base material (P 0056) the entire supplementary material may be included, but in other cases, only a topic sentence, topic paragraph or relevant section will be desired (P 0062). It is clear from figure 6 that the supplemental material is incorporated in specific regions.
Regarding Claim 27, which is dependent on claim 1, Dorai discloses wherein the newsletter document is generated responsive to a user request received from a client device for the generation of the newsletter document, the user’s system is a client system (P 0047 Fig 2).
Regarding Claim 28, which is dependent on claim 1, Dorai discloses wherein the sequence of content items comprises at least one of a text content item or an image content item, the content is textual (P 0047, 0050) or images (P 0057).
Regarding Claim 29, which is dependent from claim 28, Dorai discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of content segments comprises the image content item, wherein a placement of the image content item in the newsletter document corresponds to a placement of the image content item relative to other content items of the sequence of content items of the source document, the output may be in a linear arrangement in which one piece of content follows another like a movie, or it may be arranged in parallel or branching arrangements, and the base material and the supplemental material can be arranged in any format which the output format will accommodate (P 0044) the content is textual (P 0047, 0050) or images (P 0057) the editor may access material previews that show the effect of various combinations of supplemental material formatted with the base material in a single view (P 0056).
Regarding Claim 30, which is dependent on claim 1, Dorai discloses receiving a request to access the newsletter document via the graphical user interface; and providing the newsletter document for display via the graphical user interface in accordance with at least one of: a preview mode, wherein at least one of an article title or an article teaser of each respective content segment of the plurality of content segments is provided for display via the graphical user interface, or a full view mode, wherein each content item of at least one content segment of the plurality of content segments is provided for display via the graphical user interface, the editor may access material previews that show the effect of various combinations of supplemental material formatted with the base material in a single view (P 0056).
Regarding Claim 31, which is dependent on claim 10, Dorai discloses wherein the processing device is further to: detect an update to the source document via the cloud-based word processing system, wherein the update comprises at least one of an addition of one or more content items to the sequence of content items, a removal of one or more content items from the sequence of content items, or a modification of one or more content items of the sequence of content items; and update the generated newsletter in accordance with the detected update to the source document, the supplemental material is selected (P 0052) and formatted in a single view with the base material (P 0056).
Regarding Claim 32, which is dependent on claim 10, Dorai discloses wherein the respective style element that is native to the cloud-based word processing system comprises at least one of a title style element or a header style element, the topics are based on titles or descriptions of materials (P 0053) date or origin, author (P 0057).
Regarding Claim 33, which is dependent on claim 16, Dorai discloses wherein the operations further comprise: detecting an update to the source document via the cloud-based word processing system, wherein the update comprises at least one of an addition of one or more content items to the sequence of content items, a removal of one or more content items from the sequence of content items, or a modification of one or more content items of the sequence of content items; and updating the generated newsletter in accordance with the detected update to the source document, the supplemental material is selected (P 0052) and formatted in a single view with the base material (P 0056).
Regarding Claim 34, which is dependent on claim 16, Dorai discloses wherein the respective style element that is native to the cloud-based word processing system comprises at least one of a title style element or a header style element, the topics are based on titles or descriptions of materials (P 0053) date or origin, author (P 0057).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The amendments have been rejected over new prior art reference Dorai in view of Wilner.
Dorai discloses a system to aid a content creator in constructing materials, including base material (P 0040). The base material is accessed through a creation or editing application (P 0049) and includes a body of text with sequences of content (Fig. 4). The content creation system uses key words to extract topics using textual analysis applied to the base material or content (P 0048) using keyword extraction (P 0050) and applied to phrases (Claim 1). The base content is analyzed by determining keywords, analyzing images to recognize text within the images and performing natural language analysis (Claim 4). A personalization preference includes the format of material suitable for inclusion, where the format includes categories of text, audio, visual and audio-visual materials (Claim 5). Sentences and paragraphs are identified in the base content and associated with topics (P 0050). The base content is analyzed to determine words and phrases which are candidates for conditioning (Claim 1). The content creation system uses key words to extract topics using textual analysis applied to the base material or content (P 0048).
Dorai does not disclose that the content creation system is applied to generating a newsletter. Wilner discloses a content creation system for a newsletter (P 0033). Content elements such as HTML/CSS constructs and graphical elements are stored in the cloud servers to be universally available (P 0053). A designed is saved (P 0098) to be called up later to recall the design (P 0099-0100). Combining Wilner with Dorai provides a design system that generates an abundance of algorithmically assembled initial designs relevant to aesthetic choices expressed by the User, and then provides an interface that enables the User to explore a universe of design possibilities using simple controls, which contain within them contextual access to progressively more refined control (Wilner: P 0004).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2145 1/3/2026
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145