DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 26 January 2026 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claims 1, 14, 16-17, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 3-4, 6, 8-10, and 15 are cancelled.
Claims 21-26 are new.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 11-14, and 16-26 are pending.
The amendment to claim 1 has overcome the rejections of claims 1-2 and 4-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudreault et al. (US 2020/0227659 A1) (hereafter “Boudreault”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”) set forth in the last Office action. The rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1, 17, and 20 have overcome the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 11, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (US 2012/0223634 A1) (hereafter “Xia”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”) set forth in the last Office action as well as the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (US 2012/0223634 A1) (hereafter “Xia”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”), and further in view of Lamansky et al. (US 2002/0182441 A1) (hereafter “Lamansky”) set forth in the last Office action. The rejections have been withdrawn.
The terminal disclaimer filed 26 January 2026 has obviated the rejection of claims 1-2 and 4-14 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,369,488 B2 set forth in the last Office action. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2 and 4-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boudreault et al. (US 2020/0227659 A1) (hereafter “Boudreault”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”) set forth in the last Office action have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-8, 11, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (US 2012/0223634 A1) (hereafter “Xia”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”) set forth in the last Office action as well as the rejection of claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et al. (US 2012/0223634 A1) (hereafter “Xia”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”), and further in view of Lamansky et al. (US 2002/0182441 A1) (hereafter “Lamansky”) set forth in the last Office action have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 26 January 2026 regarding each of the provisional rejections on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting set forth in the last Office action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the current claims are allowable and thus the provisional rejections should be withdrawn.
However, for the reasons described below, the current claims are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2: Claim 2 recites the substituent variable “RA”. However, the structural formula of claim 1—Formula Ib—does not recite the substituent variable “RA”. Therefore, it is unclear to what the substituent variable “RA” is referring, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the substituent variable “RA” is being interpreted as being the same as the substituent variable “RAA”.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5: Claim 5 recites that the metal M can be selected from the group consisting of Ir, Rh, Ru, Os, Pt, Pd, Ag, Au, and Cu. However, claim 1 recites that the metal M is Ir. It is unclear if the metal M can be Rh, Ru, Os, Pt, Pd, Ag, Au, or Cu, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted such that the metal M is Ir as described by claim 1.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12: Claim 12 recites that the compound can be selected from a selection of compounds in which the metal M is Ir or from a selection of compound in which the metal M is Pt. However, claim 1 recites that the metal M is Ir. It is unclear if the metal M can be Pt, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purposes of examination, the claim is being interpreted such that the metal M is Ir as described by claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 5: Claim 5 recites that the metal M can be selected from the group consisting of Ir, Rh, Ru, Os, Pt, Pd, Ag, Au, and Cu. However, claim 1 recites that the metal M is Ir. Therefore the claim fails to include all of the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 12: Claim 12 recites that the compound can be selected from a selection of compounds in which the metal M is Ir or from a selection of compound in which the metal M is Pt. However, claim 1 recites that the metal M is Ir. Therefore the claim fails to include all of the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 16: Claim 16 recites that the compound has the structure of Formula II in which the metal M is Pt. However, claim 1 recites that the metal M is Ir. It is unclear if the metal M can be Pt, rendering the claim indefinite. Therefore the claim fails to include all of the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 11-14, 17-18, 21, 23, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al. (US 2007/0237981 A1) (hereafter “Shen”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 7, 11-14, 17-18, 21, 23, and 25: Shen discloses an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {(paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and Table 1: Device comprising Compound 2), (p. 10, structure of Compound 2)}.
The organic layer is a light emitting layer and further comprises a host material that is CBP, having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and Table 1: Device comprising Compound 2}.
The Ir compound shown above does not meet the current claim limitations because the compound does not comprise a silyl substituent.
Ragini teaches metal complex compounds having the structure shown below {paragraph [0016]}.
Where in the structurally formula above rings CY1 and CY2 can each be aromatic rings and A^B is a monoanionic bidentate ligand {paragraph [0016]}. At least one of CY1, CY2, and A^B comprises a silyl substituent {paragraph [0016]}.
The compounds of Ragini are useful as phosphorescent light-emitting dopants in the light-emitting layer of organic light-emitting devices {abstract and paragraphs [0014]-[0015] and [0057]-[0060]}.
Ragini teaches that silyl substituted cyclometalated transition metal complexes have heat stability {paragraph [0029]}. Ragini exemplifies trimethylsilyl {paragraphs [0057]-[0060]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Shen shown above by substituting the pyridyl-thienyl rings with a trimethylsilyl group, based on the teaching of Ragini. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a metal complex having heat stability and efficient luminescence, as taught by Ragini.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have placed the substituent at the pyridyl-thienyl rings. The selection of the pyridyl-thienyl rings would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions—the possible places where the substituent could be placed—with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 21: Shen teaches all of the features with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
The resultant compound would have the structure of one of the following structural formulas of claim 21:
or
.
Regarding claim 23: Shen teaches all of the features with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
The resultant compound would have the structure of one of the following structural formulas of claim 21: LA23-(G1)(R1)(R1)(R1) having the structure
, LA24-(G1)(R1)(R1)(R1) having the structure
, or LA32-(G1)(R1)(R1)(R1) having the structure
.
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 7, 11-13, 17-18, 21, and 26: Shen discloses an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {(paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and Table 1: Device comprising Compound 1), (paragraph [0019], pp. 8-9: structure of Compound 1)}.
The organic layer is a light emitting layer and further comprises a host material that is CBP, having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0021]-[0022] and Table 1: Device comprising Compound 1}.
The Ir compound shown above does not meet the current claim limitations because the compound does not comprise a silyl substituent.
Ragini teaches metal complex compounds having the structure shown below {paragraph [0016]}.
Where in the structurally formula above rings CY1 and CY2 can each be aromatic rings and A^B is a monoanionic bidentate ligand {paragraph [0016]}. At least one of CY1, CY2, and A^B comprises a silyl substituent {paragraph [0016]}.
The compounds of Ragini are useful as phosphorescent light-emitting dopants in the light-emitting layer of organic light-emitting devices {abstract and paragraphs [0014]-[0015] and [0057]-[0060]}.
Ragini teaches that silyl substituted cyclometalated transition metal complexes have heat stability {paragraph [0029]}. Ragini exemplifies trimethylsilyl {paragraphs [0057]-[0060]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Shen shown above by substituting the pyridyl-thienyl rings with a trimethylsilyl group, based on the teaching of Ragini. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a metal complex having heat stability and efficient luminescence, as taught by Ragini.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have placed the substituent at the pyridyl-thienyl rings. The selection of the pyridyl-thienyl rings would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions—the possible places where the substituent could be placed—with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 21: Shen teaches all of the features with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
The resultant compound would have the structure of one of the following structural formulas of claim 21:
or
.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia et Shen et al. (US 2007/0237981 A1) (hereafter “Shen”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Lamansky et al. (US 2002/0182441 A1) (hereafter “Lamansky”).
Regarding claim 20: Shen as modified by Ragini teaches all of the features with respect to claims 1 and 17, as outlined above.
Claim 20 differs from claim 17 in the organic light-emitting device is comprised in a consumer product.
Shen does not exemplify a consumer product comprising the organic light-emitting device of Shen described above.
Lamansky teaches the use of organic electroluminescent devices in display devices {paragraph [0139]}. Lamansky teaches that flat panel displays utilizing organic light emitting devices (which are organic electroluminescent devices) would have bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor {paragraph [0010]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the organic light-emitting device of Sgeb to be part of a display device, based on the teachings of Lamansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a display device with bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor, as taught by Lamansky.
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 11-13, 17-19, 21-22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2023/0121032 A1) (hereafter “Park”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”).
Regarding claims 1-2, 5, 7, 11-13, 17-19, 21-22, and 25: Park discloses an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {(paragraphs [0247]-[0250] and Table 2: Device Example comprising Compound 1), (p. 61, structure of Compound 1)}.
The organic layer is a light emitting layer and further comprises a host material that is CBP, having the structure shown below { paragraphs [0247]-[0250] and Table 2: Device Example comprising Compound 1}.
The Ir compound shown above does not meet the current claim limitations because the compound does not comprise a silyl substituent.
Ragini teaches metal complex compounds having the structure shown below {paragraph [0016]}.
Where in the structurally formula above rings CY1 and CY2 can each be aromatic rings and A^B is a monoanionic bidentate ligand {paragraph [0016]}. At least one of CY1, CY2, and A^B comprises a silyl substituent {paragraph [0016]}.
The compounds of Ragini are useful as phosphorescent light-emitting dopants in the light-emitting layer of organic light-emitting devices {abstract and paragraphs [0014]-[0015] and [0057]-[0060]}.
Ragini teaches that silyl substituted cyclometalated transition metal complexes have heat stability {paragraph [0029]}. Ragini exemplifies trimethylsilyl {paragraphs [0057]-[0060]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Park shown above by substituting the pyridyl-thienyl rings with a trimethylsilyl group, based on the teaching of Ragini. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a metal complex having heat stability and efficient luminescence, as taught by Ragini.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have placed the substituent at the pyridyl-thienyl rings. The selection of the pyridyl-thienyl rings would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions—the possible places where the substituent could be placed—with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claims 21-22: Park teaches all of the features with respect to claim 21, as outlined above.
The resultant compound would have the structure of one of the following structural formulas of claim 21-22:
where two RBB are alkenyl that are joined to form a ring.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0308207 A1) (hereafter “Kim”) in view of Ragini et al. (US 2006/0228582 A1) (hereafter “Ragini”).
Regarding claim 16: Kim discloses an organic light emitting device (OLED) comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {(paragraphs [0286]-[0286] and Table 3: Device Example comprising Compound 1), (p. 46, structure of Compound 1)}.
The organic layer is a light emitting layer and further comprises a host material that is CBP, having the structure shown below {paragraphs [0286]-[0286] and Table 3: Device Example comprising Compound 1}.
The Pt compound shown above does not meet the current claim limitations because the compound does not comprise a silyl substituent.
Ragini teaches metal complex compounds having the structure shown below {paragraph [0016]}.
Where in the structurally formula above rings CY1 and CY2 can each be aromatic rings and A^B is a monoanionic bidentate ligand {paragraph [0016]}. At least one of CY1, CY2, and A^B comprises a silyl substituent {paragraph [0016]}.
The compounds of Ragini are useful as phosphorescent light-emitting dopants in the light-emitting layer of organic light-emitting devices {abstract and paragraphs [0014]-[0015] and [0057]-[0060]}.
Ragini teaches that silyl substituted cyclometalated transition metal complexes have heat stability {paragraph [0029]}. Ragini exemplifies trimethylsilyl {paragraphs [0057]-[0060]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the compound of Kim shown above by substituting the pyridyl-thienyl rings with a trimethylsilyl group, based on the teaching of Ragini. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a metal complex having heat stability and efficient luminescence, as taught by Ragini.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to have placed the substituent at the pyridyl-thienyl rings. The selection of the pyridyl-thienyl rings would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions—the possible places where the substituent could be placed—with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-14, 21-23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 17745939 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-14, 21-23, and 25: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 17745939 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-14, 21-23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 18181378 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-14, 21-23, and 25: Claim 16 of copending Application No. 18181378 discloses the compound shown below {claim 16}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-15, and 21-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 18630113 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-15, and 21-25: Claim 15 of copending Application No. 18630113 discloses the compound shown below {claim 15}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-14, 21-23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 18657918 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-14, 21-23, and 25: Claim 15 of copending Application No. 18657918 discloses the compound shown below {claim 15}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-14, 21-23, and 25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 18657918 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-14, 21-23, and 25: Claim 15 of copending Application No. 18657918 discloses the compound shown below {claim 15}.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786