DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Ir and
in the reply filed on 27 February 2026 is acknowledged.
With regard to the instant claim 15 only, a search of the prior art did not show the elected species. As none of the claims were specifically drawn to the elected species in combination with the limitations of claim 15 in independent form, the claim has not been indicated as allowable. However, claims written in independent form which require all the limitations of claim 15 as well as being limited to the elected species along with any dependent claims which require all the limitations of claim 15 as well as being limited to the elected species would be allowable.
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as being limited to the elected species. This objection to the claims is only with respect to the elected species.
It is noted that the potential allowability of claim 15 has not be determined with respect to species beyond the elected species, i.e. potential examinable species that could found once the search is expanded beyond the elected species.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The ligand LB264 on p. 39 has poor resolution and is difficult to read; 6 of the final 7 structural formulas of p. 51 have poor resolution and are difficult to read.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: 6 of the final 7 structural formulas of claim 19 have poor resolution and are difficult to read. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 12-15, and 17-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1-5, 12-15, and 17-20: Claims 1-5, 12-15, and 17-20 require a ligand LA comprises a first atom coordinating to a metal; the first atom can only form a ring, if any, with the metal as the ring atom; the metal is selected from the group consisting of Ir, Rh, Re, Ru, Os, Pt, Pd, Ag, Au, and Cu; the ligand LA comprises at least one Si or Ge atom. The instant description includes a description of the ligands LA, but he description only provides specific descriptions for ligands having the structure of the instant Formula 1 as examples of the ligands LA that meets this limitations of the current independent claims. The specification provides no guidance on the structure of the instant ligands L-A beyond the basic description that the ligands LA comprises a first atom coordinating to a metal; the first atom can only form a ring, if any, with the metal as the ring atom; the metal is selected from the group consisting of Ir, Rh, Re, Ru, Os, Pt, Pd, Ag, Au, and Cu; the ligand LA comprises at least one Si or Ge atom. The lack of specific example(s) outside of the scope of the instant Formula I in combination with the exceptional breadth of the language LA comprises a first atom coordinating to a metal; the first atom can only form a ring, if any, with the metal as the ring atom; the metal is selected from the group consisting of Ir, Rh, Re, Ru, Os, Pt, Pd, Ag, Au, and Cu; the ligand LA comprises at least one Si or Ge atom described in the written description do(es) not provide a representative number of species sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus (see MPEP 2163-II-A-3-a-ii).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2020/0099000 A1) (hereafter “Zhang”) in view of Je et al. (KR 2011-0120074 A—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Je”).
Regarding claims 1-9, 12-14, and 17-19: Zhang discloses an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode {paragraphs [0141]-[0145] and Tables 1 and 2: Example 5}.
The organic layer comprises a light-emitting laye,r the light-emitting layer comprising the compound shown below {paragraphs [0141]-[0145] and Tables 1 and 2: Example 5}.
The light-emitting layer additionally comprises the compound shown below as a host material {paragraphs [0141]-[0145] and Tables 1 and 2: Example 5}.
Zhang does not exemplify that the acetylacetonate derivative ligand comprises a silyl substituent.
However, Zhang teaches that the acetylacetonate derivative ligand of Zhang has the structure shown below where R1 to R7 can be alkylsilyl {paragraphs [0011], [0017], and [0059]}.
Je teaches compounds for use in organic light-emitting devices {p. 2, lines 17-24}. Je exemplifies the compounds shown below {p. 9}.
Thus, a trimethylsilyl group linked through a methylene linker was a known alkylsilyl group at the time the invention was effectively filed.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted an alkylsilyl group that is trimethylsilyl group linked through a methylene linker in place of one of the methyl end groups of the acetylacetonate derivative ligand of the compound of Zhang shown above, based on the teaching of Zhang and Je. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Regarding claim 20: Zhang as modified by Je teaches all of the features with respect to claim 17, as outlined above.
Claim 20 differs from claim 17 in that the organic light-emitting device is comprised in a consumer product.
Zhang teaches that the device of Zhang can be comprised in a consumer product {paragraph [0033]}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Zhang such that it was comprised in a consumer product, based on the teaching of Zhang. The modification would have been a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum device structures in order to produce optimal consumer products.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 2013/0146848 A1) (hereafter “Ma”).
Regarding claims 1-14: Ma discloses the compound shown below {paragraph [0058]: Compound 4}.
Ma does not exemplify that the acetylacetonate derivative ligand comprises a silyl substituent.
However, Ma teaches that the acetylacetonate derivative ligand of Ma has the structure shown below where Rx to Rz can be silyl {paragraphs [0054]}.
Ma exemplifies several compounds comprising trimethylsilyl substituents {paragraph [0058]: Compounds 34, 37, 41}. Thus, a trimethylsilyl group was a known silyl group at the time the invention was effectively filed.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted a trimethyl silyl group in place of one of the methyl groups of the acetylacetonate derivative ligand of the compound of Ma shown above, based on the teaching of Ma. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
The resultant acetylacetonate ligand would have the structure of the instant LA1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As outlined above, Ma et al. (US 2013/0146848 A1) (hereafter “Ma”) is a representation of the closest prior art. However, the disclosure of Ma specifically does not permit the substituent pattern of any of the compounds of the current claim 16. Furthermore, the prior art does not teach or motivate modifying the compounds of Ma to have the structure of any compounds of the current claim 16.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 and 12-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,512,355. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 1-9 and 12-14: Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,512,355 discloses compounds having the structure shown below {col. 126: Formula IV}.
Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,512,355 does not exemplify that the acetylacetonate derivative ligand comprises a silyl substituent.
However, Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,512,355 teaches that the acetylacetonate derivative ligands of Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,512,355 has the structure shown below where Rx to Rz can be silyl {col. 126, Claim 9—from which claim 12 directly depends}.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted a silyl group as one of the Rx and/or Ry groups of the acetylacetonate derivative ligand of the compound of Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,512,355 shown above, based on the teaching of Claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 9,512,355. The substitution would have been one known element for another known element and would have led to predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select suitable and optimum combinations of substituent and substituent positions to be used to make compounds for use in an organic light-emitting device in order to produce optimal organic light emitting devices.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786