Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 12-13, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AGIWAL et. al. (Patent No: 2021/0099954 A1), hereinafter AGIWAL, in view of SEO et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0295405 A1), hereinafter, SEO, and further in view of KIM et al.(Patent No: US 2023/0131118 A1), hereinafter, KIM.
Regarding Claim 1, AGIWAL teaches,
A detection method, comprising: performing, by a terminal-side device, detection on a plurality of monitoring occasions before a start time of discontinuous reception (DRX), -Fig. 1C; Paragraph [0018] (Fig. 1C shows plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasion for wake up signal (WUS) before the start of DRX [0018] recites, “FIG. 1C illustrates an example of determining physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasion for wake up signal (WUS) according to an embodiment of the disclosure;”)
the plurality of monitoring occasions occurring within one DRX cycle and occurring during an inactive time prior to an active time corresponding to the start time of the DRX -Fig. 1C; Paragraph [0105] (Fig. 1C clearly shows plurality of monitoring occasions (1-4) within the inactive time before the start time of DRX. [0105] recites, “ Referring to FIG. 1C, in the embodiment 1-1, there are 4 TCI states in the TCI state list. There is one PDCCH monitoring occasion in a slot and 2 consecutive slots having PDCCH monitoring occasion for the WUS occurs every 10 slots (1c-10). So, nearest 4 PDCCH monitoring occasions (1c-20) which are at least ‘offset’ away before the on-duration (1c-30) are sequentially numbered.”)
and when the terminal-side device detects first indication information from a network-side device, determining a first time period based on an Nth monitoring occasion in the plurality of monitoring occasions before the start time of the DRX, -Paragraph [0091-0094] ([0091-0094] recites, “Alternately, amongst the PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, nearest ‘N’ PDCCH monitoring occasions which are at least ‘offset’ away before the on-duration are sequentially numbered. A. The numbering can start from 1st PDCCH monitoring occasion which is at least ‘offset’ away from the on-duration to the Nth PDCCH monitoring occasion which is at least ‘offset’ away from the on-duration. Alternately, the numbering can start from Nth PDCCH monitoring occasion which is at least ‘offset’ away from the on-duration to the 1st PDCCH monitoring occasion which is at least ‘offset’ away from the on-duration. B. It is to be noted that depending on search space configuration parameters, these ‘N’ PDCCH monitoring occasions can be in one slot or multiple slots (consecutive or non-consecutive). C. In an embodiment, ‘N’ is the total number of TCI states in TCI state list of CORESET or CORESET configuration of WUS.” As described above the search space configuration which dictates the WUS monitoring occasions is sent from the network-side and also the time period for the Nth monitoring occasion is before the start time of the DRX defined by the offset)
determining, in response to detecting the DCI, a first time period based on an Nth monitoring occasion in the plurality of monitoring occasions before the start time of the DRX, -Paragraph [0091-0094] ([0091-0094] recites, “Alternately, amongst the PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, nearest ‘N’ PDCCH monitoring occasions which are at least ‘offset’ away before the on-duration are sequentially numbered. A. The numbering can start from 1st PDCCH monitoring occasion which is at least ‘offset’ away from the on-duration to the Nth PDCCH monitoring occasion which is at least ‘offset’ away from the on-duration. Alternately, the numbering can start from Nth PDCCH monitoring occasion which is at least ‘offset’ away from the on-duration to the 1st PDCCH monitoring occasion which is at least ‘offset’ away from the on-duration. B. It is to be noted that depending on search space configuration parameters, these ‘N’ PDCCH monitoring occasions can be in one slot or multiple slots (consecutive or non-consecutive). C. In an embodiment, ‘N’ is the total number of TCI states in TCI state list of CORESET or CORESET configuration of WUS.” As described above the search space configuration which dictates the WUS monitoring occasions is sent from the network-side and also the time period for the Nth monitoring occasion is before the start time of the DRX defined by the offset)
wherein the plurality of monitoring occasions fall within a first time to a second time, both the first time and the second time occurring during the inactive time prior to the active time corresponding to the start time of the DRX, -Fig. 1E; Paragraph [0145] (Fig. 1E shows the plurality of monitoring occasions falls within WUS Window and falls between first time (offset+monitoring window length) and second time (offset). Also shown in the Figure, both first and second time occurs in the inactive time and before the start time of the DRX. [0145] recites, “WUS monitoring window starts at ‘offset+monitoring window length’ from the on-duration. WUS monitoring window ends at an offset from the on-duration. Alternately, WUS monitoring window starts at offset from the on-duration. The WUS monitoring window ends at least ‘p’ slots before the start of on duration. ‘p’ can also be signaled by the gNB.”)
and the Nth monitoring occasion is a last monitoring occasion within the first time to the second time, , -Fig. 1E; Paragraph [0145] (Fig. 1E shows the plurality of monitoring occasions falls within WUS Window and falls between first time (offset+monitoring window length) and second time (offset). Also shown in the Figure, both first and second time occurs in the inactive time and before the start time of the DRX. [0145] recites, “WUS monitoring window starts at ‘offset+monitoring window length’ from the on-duration. WUS monitoring window ends at an offset from the on-duration. Alternately, WUS monitoring window starts at offset from the on-duration. The WUS monitoring window ends at least ‘p’ slots before the start of on duration. ‘p’ can also be signaled by the gNB.”)
g
and N is an integer greater than 0, -Fig. 1F (Shows multiple monitoring occasions N and N is greater than 0 (4 in this case))
Although implicit, but AGIWAL does not explicitly mention,
wherein performing the detection comprises detecting, on a monitoring occasion of the plurality of monitoring occasions, downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by a network-side device, wherein the DCI comprises first indication information and second indication information, and wherein the second indication information indicates whether the terminal-side device wakes up at the start time of the DRX
wherein the first time period is determined based on the Nth monitoring occasion independent of the monitoring occasion of the plurality of monitoring occasions on which the DCI is detected, wherein the first time period is a time period during which the terminal-side device is allowed to perform bandwidth part (BWP) switching,
wherein the end time of the last time unit indicates a start time of a BWP switching delay, and wherein the start time of the BWP switching delay is the start time of the first time period;
and performing BWP switching in the first time period, wherein the first indication information configures the terminal-side device to perform the BWP switching
and wherein a duration of the first time period is equal to the BWP switching delay determined by the terminal-side device.
However, in an analogous invention, SEO teaches,
wherein performing the detection comprises detecting, on a monitoring occasion of the plurality of monitoring occasions, downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by a network-side device, wherein the DCI comprises first indication information and second indication information, and wherein the second indication information indicates whether the terminal-side device wakes up at the start time of the DRX -Fig. 25-26; Paragraph [0218, 0221] ([0218] recites, “FIG. 25 (a) shows a case in which WUS DCI monitoring is performed at a monitoring occasion designated by a search space set (SS set) #x is shown, and a case in which one monitoring occasion is set for one DRX cycle is shown. FIGS. 25 (b) and (c) show a case in which a plurality of monitoring occasions are set for one DRX cycle in order to respond to a case where WUS DCI cannot be transmitted. In the case of (b) of FIG. 25, when the search space sets #x, #y, and #z are linked to different CORESETs assuming different TCIs, a diversity effect on TCI can be expected. In the case of (c) of FIG. 25, by setting the duration of one search space set (search space set #x), a number of monitoring occasions (three in FIG. 25 (c)) are set for each monitoring period. In addition, although not shown in FIG. 25, when there are a plurality of DRX cycles associated with a monitoring occasion, it may operate so that whether to wake up of a plurality of DRX cycles is determined by one WUS DCI. In the following description, a monitoring occasion may mean a monitoring occasion configured as one monitoring occasion such as FIG. 25 (a) or monitoring occasion set such as FIG. 25 (b) and (c) linked to one or multiple DRX cycles.” [0221] recites, “Referring to FIG. 26, the WUS monitoring occasion may be determined, for example, based on a message setting a search space (set). Here, the WUS may be a DCI format including a wake-up indication. For example, DCI format 2_6 is a DCI format used to inform the UE of power saving information outside the DRX active time. DCI format 2_6 may include, for example, a wake-up indication (1 bit), information related to dormancy of the secondary cell, and the like. This DCI format is transmitted through the PDCCH. Accordingly, the WUS monitoring may be expressed as one of PDCCH monitoring. An occasion to monitor the WUS may be determined by a message for setting a search space (set).”
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MONITORING WAKE UP SIGNAL” proposed by AGIWAL with the concept of SEO to include “performing the detection comprises detecting, on a monitoring occasion of the plurality of monitoring occasions, downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by a network-side device, wherein the DCI comprises first indication information and second indication information, and wherein the second indication information indicates whether the terminal-side device wakes up at the start time of the DRX ” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve mobile broadband communication over existing radio access technology [0120].
Although implicit, AGIWAL and SEO combination do not explicitly mention,
wherein the first time period is determined based on the Nth monitoring occasion independent of the monitoring occasion of the plurality of monitoring occasions on which the DCI is detected, wherein the first time period is a time period during which the terminal-side device is allowed to perform bandwidth part (BWP) switching,
wherein the end time of the last time unit indicates a start time of a BWP switching delay, and wherein the start time of the BWP switching delay is the start time of the first time period;
and performing BWP switching in the first time period, wherein the first indication information configures the terminal-side device to perform the BWP switching
and wherein a duration of the first time period is equal to the BWP switching delay determined by the terminal-side device.
However, in an analogous invention, KIM teaches,
wherein the first time period is determined based on the Nth monitoring occasion independent of the monitoring occasion of the plurality of monitoring occasions on which the DCI is detected, wherein the first time period is a time period during which the terminal-side device is allowed to perform bandwidth part (BWP) switching, -Paragraph [0201-0203, 0453] ([0201] recites, “according to an embodiment of the disclosure, when DRX is configured for the UE, UE-PDCCH monitoring operations with respect to WUS-RNTI and GTS-RNTI may be different from each other. For example, the UE may constantly perform a PDCCH monitoring operation on a DCI format scrambled by WUS-RNTI, regardless of DRX Active time or DRX inactive time. According to an embodiment of the disclosure, a PDCCH monitoring operation with respect to WUS-RNTI may be performed based on search space configuration (or configuration of a monitoring occasion with respect to WUS) configured for the UE.” [0453] recites, “In an embodiment, WUS may include a BWP switching indicator or BWP switching information for indicating swithching to a particular bandwidth. In this regard, BWP switching requires a physical time. A time taken for the BWP switching may be referred to as a BWP switching delay TBWP_delay. The WUS-Offset or WUS-StartOffset 4910 may be configured to be greater than a BWP switching delay value, in consideration of the BWP switching delay. In more detail, the WUS-Offset or WUS-StartOffset 4910 may be configured to be greater than a maximum BWP switching delay value.”
wherein the end time of the last time unit indicates a start time of a BWP switching delay, and wherein the start time of the BWP switching delay is the start time of the first time period; -Fig. 21; Paragraph [0434, 0453] (Fig. 21 shows WUS offset or WUS-startOffset that are related to BWP switching delay. [0434] recites, “the BS may configure the UE with random values for the WUS-Offset or WUS-StartOffset 4910 and the WUS cycle 4920. Here, the WUS cycle 4920 may be configured as a time, the number of subframes, the number of slots, and the like. Also, the WUS-Offset or WUS-StartOffset 4910 may be configured as a time, the number of subframes, the number of slots, and the like. “ [0453] recites, “…The WUS-Offset or WUS-StartOffset 4910 may be configured to be greater than a BWP switching delay value, in consideration of the BWP switching delay. In more detail, the WUS-Offset or WUS-StartOffset 4910 may be configured to be greater than a maximum BWP switching delay value.”)
and performing BWP switching in the first time period, wherein the first indication information configures the terminal-side device to perform the BWP switching -Fig. 3; Paragraph [0551] ([0551] recites, “ In an embodiment, a BWP switching indicator or BWP switching information may operate as a trigger for a WUS monitoring operation. For example, in a case where the UE monitors a BWP for which a WUS is not configured, and then switches to a BWP, based on a BWP switching indicator or BWP switching information, when a WUS is configured for the switched BWP, a WUS monitoring operation may start.”)
and wherein a duration of the first time period is equal to the BWP switching delay determined by the terminal-side device. -Paragraph [0638] ([0638] recites, “When the BS attempts to schedule a data channel to a new BWP, the BS may determine time domain resource allocation to the data channel, in consideration of a BWP switching delay time (TBWP) of the UE. That is, in a method by which the BS determine time domain resource allocation to the data channel when the BS schedules the data channel to the new BWP, the BS may schedule the data channel after the BWP switching delay time. Accordingly, the UE may not expect that DCI indicating BWP switching indicates a value of slot offset (K0 or K2) being smaller than the BWP switching delay time (TBWP).”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MONITORING WAKE UP SIGNAL” proposed by AGIWAL with the concept of KIM to include “first time period is determined based on the Nth monitoring occasion independent of the monitoring occasion of the plurality of monitoring occasions on which the DCI is detected, wherein the first time period is a time period during which the terminal-side device is allowed to perform bandwidth part (BWP) switching, wherein the end time of the last time unit indicates a start time of a BWP switching delay, and wherein the start time of the BWP switching delay is the start time of the first time period; and performing BWP switching in the first time period, wherein the first indication information configures the terminal-side device to perform the BWP switching, and wherein a duration of the first time period is equal to the BWP switching delay determined by the terminal-side device.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve coverage for a terminal, improve battery time, reduced cost of a terminal, and the like [0075].
Regarding Claim 4, AGIWAL, SEO and KIM combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
AGIWAL further teaches,
The detection method according to claim 1, a duration between the first time and the start time of the DRX is configured by the network-side device -Paragraph [0145] ([0145] recites, “Amongst the PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, PDCCH monitoring occasions in WUS monitoring window are sequentially numbered. WUS monitoring window starts at ‘offset+monitoring window length’ from the on-duration. WUS monitoring window ends at an offset from the on-duration.” Offset, WUS window length, DRX parameters all are configured by the base station (network side)).
Regarding Claim 5, AGIWAL, SEO and KIM combination teach the limitations of Claim 4.
AGIWAL further teaches,
The detection method according to claim 4, wherein the second time is determined based on a second time period and the first time period, the second time period is a time period in which the terminal-side device does not detect, before the start time of the DRX, a duration between the first time and the start time of the DRX is configured by the network-side device, and the second time is before the start time of the DRX. -Fig. 1E; Paragraph [0145] ([0145] recites, “Amongst the PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by the search space for the WUS, PDCCH monitoring occasions in WUS monitoring window are sequentially numbered. WUS monitoring window starts at ‘offset+monitoring window length’ from the on-duration. WUS monitoring window ends at an offset from the on-duration. Alternately, WUS monitoring window starts at offset from the on-duration. The WUS monitoring window ends at least ‘p’ slots before the start of on duration. ‘p’ can also be signaled by the gNB. Alternately, WUS monitoring window occurs between slot “X” and “X-offset’ where X is slot in which on duration starts, WUS monitoring window is first Ts slots given by the duration field of search space configuration for the WUS.” As explained above both time periods are signaled by the gNB (network side) and in the ‘offset’ time duration, the terminal-side does not monitor or detect before the start of DRX.)
a DCI comprising second indication information, and the second indication information indicates whether the terminal-side device wakes up at the start time of the DRX. -Paragraph [0157] ([0157] recites, “A list of search space configurations can be signaled by the gNB. Each search space configuration in the list is uniquely identified by a search space identifier. A search space configuration from this list which the UE should use for the WUS can be explicitly indicated by the gNB. The gNB can indicate this by indicating search space identifier for the WUS or by including in the search space configuration a field which indicates that the DCI format for the WUS can be monitored in that search space configuration. The gNB can indicate multiple search space configurations for the WUS….”)
Regarding Claim 7, AGIWAL, SEO and KIM combination teach the limitations of Claim 5.
AGIWAL further teaches,
The detection method according to claim 5, wherein a duration between the second time and the start time of the DRX is a maximum value between a duration of the second time period and the duration of the first time period. -Paragraph [0108] ( This is a design choice and as the offset (time before DRX on) and WUS window both are configured by the gNB (network side), it is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that parameters can be signaled so that duration between the second time and the start time of the DRX is a maximum value between a duration of the second time period and the duration of the first time period. [0108] recites, “A list of search space configurations can be signaled by the gNB. Each search space configuration in the list is uniquely identified by a search space identifier. A search space configuration from this list which the UE should use for the WUS can be explicitly indicated by the gNB. The gNB can indicate this by indicating search space identifier for the WUS or by including in the search space configuration a field which indicates that the DCI format for the WUS can be monitored in that search space configuration. The gNB can indicate multiple search space configurations for the WUS. A list of CORESET configurations is signaled by the gNB. Each CORESET configuration in the list is uniquely identified by a CORESET identifier. CORESET identifier of CORESET configuration for the WUS is indicated in search space configuration for the WUS.”)
Regarding Claim 8, AGIWAL, SEO and KIM combination teach the limitations of claim 5.
AGIWAL further teaches,
The detection method according to claim 5, wherein the first indication information configures-Paragraph [0064] ([0064] recites, “For an activated Serving Cell, there is always one active UL and DL BWP at any point in time. The BWP switching for a Serving Cell is used to activate an inactive BWP and deactivate an active BWP at a time. The BWP switching is controlled by the PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant, by the bwp-InactivityTimer, by RRC signaling, or by the medium access control (MAC) entity itself upon initiation of Random Access procedure. Upon addition of SpCell or activation of an SCell, the DL BWP and UL BWP indicated by firstActiveDownlinkBWP-Id and firstActiveUplinkBWP-Id respectively is active without receiving PDCCH indicating a downlink assignment or an uplink grant. The active BWP for a Serving Cell is indicated by either RRC or PDCCH. For unpaired spectrum, a DL BWP is paired with a UL BWP, and BWP switching is common for both UL and DL.”)
the second time period is determined based on a downlink carrier with a minimum subcarrier spacing among all downlink carriers comprised in the at least one cell and indicated by the first indication information; -Paragraph [0062-0064] ( [0063] recites, “In NR bandwidth adaptation (BA) is supported. With BA, the receive and transmit bandwidth of a UE need not be as large as the bandwidth of the cell and can be adjusted: the width can be ordered to change (e.g., to shrink during period of low activity to save power); the location can move in the frequency domain (e.g., to increase scheduling flexibility); and the subcarrier spacing can be ordered to change (e.g., to allow different services). A subset of the total cell bandwidth of a cell is referred to as a Bandwidth Part (BWP).”It is easily understandable to an ordinary person with the skill in the art that minimum subcarrier spacing corresponds to the maximum symbol size and therefore, it is obvious design choice to select offset based on the minimum subcarrier spacing and can be ordered to change when the minimum subcarrier spacing is changed.)
and the first time period is determined based on the downlink carrier with the minimum subcarrier spacing among all the downlink carriers comprised in the at least one cell and indicated by the first indication information. -Paragraph [0062-0064] (For the same reasoning above the WUS window can also be chosen based on the minimum subcarrier spacing among all downlink carriers. All the configurations come from the base station (network side) and signaled to the terminal side.)
Claim 9 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rational as claim 1.
AGIWAL further teaches,
An apparatus, comprising: at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions; wherein the instructions are executed by the at least one processor to configure the apparatus to perform -Fig. 1G, Paragraph [0277] ([0277] recites, “Referring to FIG. 1G, a terminal includes a transceiver 1g-10, a controller 1g-20 and a memory 1g-30. The controller 1g-20 may refer to a circuitry, an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), or at least one processor. The transceiver 1g-10, the controller 1g-20 and the memory 1g-30 are configured to perform the operations of the UE illustrated in the figures, e.g., FIGS. 1A to 1F, or described above. “)
Claim 12 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 4 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rational as claim 4.
Claim 13 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 5 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rational as claim 5.
Claim 15 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method claim 7 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 7. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as claim 7.
Claim 16 is very similar to Claim 9 except in Claim 16 configuration information are sent from the network side, while in Claim 9 reception is done at terminal side. Claim 9 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 9. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rational as claim 9.
Claim 19 is very similar to Claim 12 and Claim 12 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 12. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rational as claim 12.
Claim 20 is very similar to Claim 13 and Claim 13 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 13. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as claim 13.
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475