DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al (US 2013/0001039 A1) in view of Nada et al (US 2020/0175801 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mizushima teaches
a method of verifying a number of media, i.e., banknotes, as mentioned at abstract and in paragraph 2, for example, a media storage unit, i.e., upper and lower safes (13, 14) which includes storage cassettes (31), reconciliation cassette (33) and collection cassette (53), as illustrated in figure 2, the method comprising:
while retrieving a medium from a media storage unit (13, 14) and moving the medium to another cassette, i.e., any one of cassettes (31, 33, 53), as mentioned at paragraphs 6, 63 and 82, for example, recognizing, by a discriminating unit, i.e., recognition unit (25), a serial number of the medium, as mentioned at paragraphs 77, 81, 90 and 102;
comparing the serial number of the medium recognized by the discriminating unit (25) with a record of a database, i.e., memory unit (59), as illustrated at figure 3 and as mentioned at paragraphs 11, 63, 64, 66, 71, 75, 78, 82 and 102, for example, in which serial numbers of media stored in the media storage unit (13, 14) are recorded, and searching for whether there is a serial number that matches the recognized serial number of the medium, as illustrated in figures 11a, 11b, 13 and as mentioned at paragraphs 96 and 117-119 and Mizushima Claim 7;
when a result of the searching is that the matching serial number is found, deleting data of the medium corresponding to the matching serial number and data of an upper medium of the medium recorded on the database, and based on data of a lower medium that remains in the media storage unit (31, 33, 53) after the deleting, updating the record of the database regarding a number of the media stored in the corresponding media storage unit (13, 14), as mentioned at paragraph 101 and as illustrated in figures 11a and 11b, noting that figure 11b shows the comparison in step S4, after which, the upper numbers are deleted, as seen in step S5. Paragraphs 96-102 states as follows.
[0096] Referring to FIGS. 11A-11B, how the target group of the serial numbers of the five successive banknotes including the banknote last fed from the storage cassette 31 is checked against the serial number list will be described below. In the serial number list shown in FIGS. 11A-11B, "12340," "12341," etc. are the serial numbers. The number indicated in an upper column is higher in the stored order, and the number indicated in a lower column is lower in the stored order. The numbers in the brackets are consecutive numbers of the banknotes in the storage cassette 31, and correspond to the number of the banknotes stored in the storage cassette 31. Read serial number data is data of the serial number read by the recognition unit 25, and data in the upper column corresponds to the banknote fed later, and data in the lower column corresponds to the banknote fed earlier. That is, the data can be considered as the serial numbers of the banknotes stored in the reconciliation cassette 33 arranged in the stored order. Symbol "?" indicates a digit which has not been read.
[0097] Each of the serial numbers in the target group is checked against the serial numbers in the serial number list from the higher order serial number, i.e., the serial number of the banknote stacked in an upper level in the storage cassette 31. In this step, the serial number which shares all digits with the serial number in the target group, and is in the highest order in the serial number list is identified (step S1). The order of the serial number in the target group does not matter, as long as the serial number is contained in the target group.
[0098] In step S1, when the serial numbers in the target group do not share all digits with the serial numbers in the serial number list, an additional banknote is fed from the target storage cassette 31 on which the reconciliation is performed, and the target group including the additionally fed banknote (suppose that the serial number of the additional banknote has already been read) is set again, and then step S1 is repeated. When the serial number which shares all digits with the serial number in the serial number list is found in the target group, the flow proceeds to step S2. The serial number in the highest order is "12348" in the example shown in the drawing.
[0099] In step S2, the fourth highest serial number relative to the highest order serial number identified in step S1 in the serial number list (hereinafter this serial number is referred to as the lowest order serial number) is identified, and it is determined whether the serial number which shares all digits with the lowest order serial number is contained in the target group or not. Also in this step, the order of the serial number in the target group does not matter. When the serial number which shares all digits with the lowest order serial number is not contained in the target group, an additional banknote is fed from the target storage cassette 31, and a target group including the additional banknote is set again, and the flow returns to step S1. When the serial number which shares all digits with the lowest order serial number is found in the target group, the flow proceeds to step S3. The serial number which shares all digits is "12344" in the example shown in the drawing.
[0100] In step S3, three serial numbers between the highest order serial number and the lowest order serial number in the serial number list are checked against the serial numbers in the target group. In this checking, it is determined whether the serial numbers share only some of the digits or not. For example, three of the digits of the serial number are masked in the checking. Specifically, even when the serial numbers do not share three digits, it is determined that the serial numbers match each other when the serial numbers share the other digits. The number of the masked digits is not limited to 3, and the number of the masked digits may suitably be determined. In this checking, the order of the serial numbers in the target group does not matter. When the target group does not include any serial number which matches the three serial numbers in the serial number list, an additional banknote is fed from the target storage cassette 31, and the target group is set again, and then the flow returns to step S1. When the serial numbers which match the three serial numbers, respectively, are found in the target group, the flow proceeds to step S4. In the example shown in the drawing, "12345" among the three serial numbers "12345," "12346," and "12347" shares all digits with the serial number in the target group, while "12346" and "12347" share only some of the digits with the serial numbers in the target group.
[0101] In step S4, a reference group in which all the serial numbers in the serial number list which match the serial numbers in the target group are contained in any order is identified. As described above, the reference group corresponds to a boundary between the banknotes fed from the storage cassette 31 and the banknotes remaining in the storage cassette 31 after the feeding. It can be determined that the banknote corresponding to the lowest order serial number in the reference group, and the banknotes having the serial numbers in the order higher than the lowest order have been fed from the storage cassette 31. In the following step S5, information of the serial numbers contained in the reference group, and the serial numbers in the order higher than the reference group is deleted from the serial number list. In the example shown in the drawing, the serial number "12344" and the serial numbers in the order higher than "12344" are deleted. By updating the serial number list in this way, the banknotes remaining in the storage cassette 31 are identified.
[0102] Then, as shown in FIG. 9B, the banknotes contained in the reconciliation cassette 33 are fed one by one, and transported to the recognition unit 25. The recognition unit 25 recognizes and counts the banknotes, and reads the serial numbers of the banknotes. The banknotes which are recognized as the normal banknotes and whose serial numbers are read are returned to the original storage cassette 31, i.e., the target storage cassette 31. Then, the inventory amount stored in the memory unit 59 is updated, and the serial number list of the target storage cassette 31 is updated. Thus, the identification is finished.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, Mizushima further teaches wherein the additional searching for whether there is a matching serial number is performed until a serial number that matches the serial number of the medium moved to the abnormal bill cassette (53) is found among the serial numbers of the media stored in the corresponding cassette (31, 33, 53) recorded in the database, as illustrated at figures 10a-13, and as mentioned at paragraphs 106-112.
Regarding Claim 1, Mizushima further teaches
wherein the additional searching for whether there is the matching serial number is performed until a serial number that matches the serial number of the medium moved to the another cassette is found among the serial numbers of the media stored in the corresponding cassette recorded in the database, i.e., represented by the serial number list, as mentioned in paragraph 64, second sentence, stating that “memory unit 59 stores a serial number list in which the serial numbers of the banknotes stored in each unit are arranged in the stored order, and each of the serial numbers is associated with a consecutive number corresponding to the number of the stored banknotes. FIG. 4B shows a table of the serial number lists”, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Mizushima does not expressly teach
further comprising:
when a serial number that matches the serial number of the medium moved to the other cassette is not found among the serial numbers of the media stored in the corresponding cassette recorded in the database before a number of media retrieved from the corresponding cassette reaches a set number, causing all of the media of the corresponding cassette to pass through the discriminating unit for the serial numbers thereof to be recognized so as to update the record of the database regarding the number of the media stored in the corresponding cassette.
Regarding Claim 1, Mizushima does not expressly teach, but Nada teaches
Regarding Claim 1, Mizushima does not expressly teach, but Nada teaches
further comprising:
when a banknote denomination value that matches the banknote denomination value of the medium moved to the other cassette, i.e., storage unit/first through fourth cassettes (61-64), as illustrated in figures 2, 4 and 5, for example, is not found among the banknote denomination value of the media stored in the corresponding cassette (61-64) recorded in the database, i.e., interpreted as the set denomination stored in the storage unit (203) as mentioned at fourth sentence from the bottom of paragraph 81, before a number of media retrieved from the corresponding cassette (61-64) reaches a set number, causing all of the media of the corresponding cassette (61-64) to pass through the discriminating unit, i.e., recognition unit (50), for the banknote denomination value of each media/banknote thereof to be recognized so as to update the record of the database, i.e., the set denomination information residing in storage unit/memory (203), regarding the number of the media stored in the corresponding cassette (61-64), as mentioned at paragraphs 116-173, mentioning the various reconciliation processes.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided when a serial number that matches the serial number of the medium moved to the other cassette is not found among the serial numbers of the media stored in the corresponding cassette recorded in the database before a number of media retrieved from the corresponding cassette reaches a set number, causing all of the media of the corresponding cassette to pass through the discriminating unit for the serial numbers thereof to be recognized so as to update the record of the database regarding the number of the media stored in the corresponding cassette, as taught by Nada, in Mizushima’s reconciliation process using serial number information in addition to or in combination with banknote denomination values, for the purpose of more accurately determining the state of banknote inventory in each storage cassette and in the entire banknote handling apparatus.
Regarding Claim 2, Mizushima teaches wherein the another cassette is an abnormal bill cassette, i.e., reconciliation cassette (33) or collection cassette (53), for example:
the recognizing of the serial number of the medium includes, while retrieving a single medium from a corresponding cassette (31, 33, 53) of the medium storage unit (13, 14) and moving the retrieved single medium to an abnormal bill cassette, i.e., collection cassette (53) as mentioned at paragraph 60, recognizing, by the discriminating unit (25), a serial number of the retrieved single medium, as mentioned at paragraph 47;
the searching for whether there is a matching serial number includes comparing the recognized serial number of the medium with the record of the database in which serial numbers of media stored in the corresponding cassette (31, 33, 53) are
recorded according to an order in which the media are stored, as illustrated in figures 11a and 11b and as mentioned at paragraph 101, and searching for whether there is a serial number that matches the recognized serial number, as mentioned at paragraphs 101 and 102 and as illustrated in figures 11a and 11b; and the updating of the record of the database includes, when a result of the searching is that the matching serial number is found, deleting data of the medium corresponding to the matching serial number and data of an upper medium of the medium recorded on the database, as mentioned at paragraphs 101 and 102, and based on data of lower media that remain after the deleting, updating the record of the database regarding a number of the media stored in the corresponding cassette (31, 33, 53) as mentioned in paragraphs 101 and 102, for example.
Regarding Claim 4, Mizushima teaches further comprising: when a result of the searching is that the matching serial number is not found, additionally retrieving a single medium from the corresponding cassette of the medium storage unit (31, 33, 53), allowing the single medium to pass through the discriminating unit (25) for a serial number thereof to be recognized, and then moving the single medium/banknote to the abnormal bill cassette (53); and comparing the serial number of the medium moved to the abnormal bill cassette (53) with the serial numbers of the media stored in the corresponding cassette (31, 33, 53) recorded in the database, and additionally searching for whether there is a serial number that matches the recognized serial number, as illustrated at figures 10a-13, and as mentioned at paragraphs 106-112 as follows.
[0106] The identification process is performed also in the dispensing process. The identification process in the dispensing process can be performed in the same manner as that in the partial reconciliation process described above. In the dispensing process, however, the number of the banknotes dispensed to the outlet 231 has been determined. Thus, at least the determined number of the banknotes need to be fed from the storage cassette 31. The identification process can be performed simultaneously with the dispensing process.
[0107] In the identification process in the dispensing process, whether the feeding continues or stops can be controlled by using the counter of the serial numbers as described above. Specifically, the serial numbers of the banknotes dispensed in the dispensing process are read one by one. A vertical broken line shown in FIGS. 10A-10E indicates a point of time when the dispensing of the banknotes in the dispensing process is finished. The feeding of the banknotes may be stopped when the counter counts 5 or more when the dispensing of the banknotes in the dispensing process is finished as shown in FIG. 10A. In this case, the target group is set to include the serial numbers of five banknotes fed before the dispensing in the dispensing process is finished. The banknotes fed in this process are all dispensed to the first outlet 231 (suppose that the banknotes are not rejected).
[0108] When the serial number of a certain banknote has not been read, and the counter counts less than 5 when the dispensing of the banknotes in the dispensing process is finished as shown in FIG. 10B, the banknotes are fed from the storage cassette 31 until the counter counts 5. Then, as shown in FIG. IOC, the feeding of the banknotes is continued so that the target group including the serial numbers of five successive banknotes is set. The additionally fed banknotes are not dispensed to the outlet 231, but are transported to the rejected banknote escrow unit 51, and stored therein. Specifically, in FIGS. 10A-10E, the banknotes on the right of the broken line indicating the point of time when the dispensing of the banknotes in the dispensing process is finished are the additionally fed banknotes, and are transported to the rejected banknote escrow unit 51.
[0109] Likewise, as shown in FIG. 10E, when the banknote is rejected, at least five banknotes are additionally fed from the storage cassette. Among the fed banknotes, the normal banknote as a substitute of the rejected banknote is dispensed to the first outlet 231, and the other banknotes are transported to the rejected banknote escrow unit 51.
[0110] As a result, the banknotes may be transported in the identification process in the dispensing process as shown in FIG. 12, for example. Suppose that a command to dispense 20 banknotes from the storage cassette containing 135 banknotes is given. Then, when 10 banknotes are rejected in feeding the banknotes in the dispensing process, 20 normal banknotes are transported to the dispensing unit 23, and the 10 rejected banknotes are transported to the rejected banknote escrow unit 51. As described above, when 5 banknotes are additionally fed from the storage cassette 31 to set the target group for the identification process, the 5 banknotes are transported to the rejected banknote escrow unit 51. As a result, among 35 banknotes fed from the storage cassette 31, 20 banknotes are transported to the dispensing unit 23 (the outlet), and 15 banknotes including the rejected banknotes and the additionally fed banknotes are transported to the rejected banknote escrow unit 51. At this time, the storage cassette 31 stores 100 banknotes. The number of the rejected banknotes transported to the rejected banknote escrow unit 51 is uncertain when the rejected banknotes are overlapped or connected. However, the number of the rejected banknotes can be obtained by logical operation by subtracting the number of the banknotes transported to the outlet 231 from the number of the banknotes fed from the storage cassette 31.
[0111] When the banknotes are fed to set the target group even in the dispensing process, the target group is checked against the serial number list according to the procedure shown in FIGS. 11A-11B. Thus, the reference group is identified, and the banknotes stored in the storage cassette 31 are identified.
[0112] When the identification process in the dispensing process is finished, the banknotes stored in the rejected banknote escrow unit 51 are returned to the storage cassette 31, if necessary. In the example shown in FIG. 12, the 10 rejected banknotes are transported to the collection cassette 53 and stored therein, and the 5 additionally fed banknotes are transported to the original storage cassette 31 and stored therein as indicated by broken arrows. At this time, the storage cassette 31 stores 105 banknotes. The number of the rejected banknotes transported to the collection cassette 53 can be obtained by logical operation by subtracting the number of the banknotes returned to the storage cassette 31 from the number of the banknotes fed from the rejected banknote escrow unit 51.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 7, see the rejection of Claims 1 and 2, above.
Regarding Claim 8, see the rejection of Claims 1, 2 and 4, above.
Regarding Claim 9, see the rejection of Claims 1, 2 and 4, above.
.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al (US 2013/0001039 A1) in view of Nada et al (US 2020/0175801 A1) and further in view of Fukuda et al (US 20190172292 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Mizushima teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 3, Mizushima teaches, further comprising, when a result of the searching is that the matching serial number is found,
transferring the medium in the reconciliation bill cassette to be returned to the corresponding cassette; and adding data of the number of the medium returned to the corresponding cassette, to update the record of the database, as illustrated in figures 11a, 11b, noting that paragraph 50 mentions that banknotes are sent to any storage cassette and that paragraph 71 mentions updating the inventory amount stored in the memory (59) is performed after a process such as a depositing process. Note also that this is done after a dispensing process, withdrawal process, reconciliation process, etc., as needed. Note also that the inventory of each cassette, including the storage, reconciliation and collection cassettes are stored in memory (59) in a database as shown in figures 4a and 4b, and as mentioned at paragraphs 63 (4a) and 64 (4b), for example. Paragraph 6 states that “[w]hen irregularity occurs in depositing or dispensing the banknotes, the denomination and the number of banknotes stored in the storage unit need to be identified” and that “[t]his process is called a reconciliation process”. Paragraph 57 states in the last line that “reconciliation cassette 33 may be used as one of the storage cassettes 31 (a fifth storage cassette) instead of using the reconciliation cassette 33 for the reconciliation process”.
Regarding Claim 3, Mizushima does not expressly teach, further comprising,
transferring the medium in the abnormal bill cassette to be returned to the corresponding cassette.
Regarding Claim 3, Mizushima does not expressly teach, but Fukuda teaches multipurpose cassette (33), which stores rejected banknotes as mentioned at paragraph 197 and 198, or banknotes for replenishment, as mentioned at paragraph 201, or banknotes designated for collection as mentioned at paragraphs 246-249, for example.
Regarding Claim 3, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided transferring the medium in the abnormal bill cassette to be returned to the corresponding cassette by substituted Mizushima’s collection/abnormal bill cassette (53) for Fukuda’s multipurpose cassette (33) which feeds in both directions and can be used in either collection or replenishment as well as general storage functions of banknotes, for the purpose of increasing flexibility of use of the system as a whole by providing multiple functions in the collection cassette position.
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al (US 2013/0001039 A1) in view of Nada et al (US 2020/0175801 A1) and further in view of Iwamura et al (US 2014/0238815 A1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 11, Mizushima teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 6, Mizushima teaches further comprising: when a serial number that matches the serial number of the medium moved to the abnormal bill cassette (53) is not found among the serial numbers of the media stored in the corresponding cassette recorded in the database before a number of media retrieved from the corresponding cassette (31, 33) reaches a set number; and
allowing all of the media of the corresponding cassette (31, 33) to pass through the discriminating unit (25) for the serial numbers thereof to be recognized so as to update the record of the database regarding the number of the media stored in the corresponding cassette (31, 33) as illustrated at figures 10a-13, and as mentioned at paragraphs 106-112. See also discussion of Claims 1, 2 and 4, above.
Regarding Claim 6, Mizushima does not expressly teach displaying a media recognition unreliability message for the corresponding cassette on a display unit.
Regarding Claim 6, Mizushima does not expressly teach, but Iwamura teaches displaying a media recognition unreliability message for the corresponding cassette on a display unit (20) as illustrated in figure 4b, noting that the message “stacker for 1000-YEN-BANKNOTE IS FULL, COLLECT BANKNOTES” is considered to be an unreliability message because the stacker/cassette is unavailable and unreliable for use because it is full. See also figure 1b, noting that a “storage error” indicates the unreliability of a particular cassette and that it would have been well within the skill of an ordinarily skilled artisan to have displayed such information on the display (20) since the system is already providing the storage error information to various parts of the system such as the controller, which controls the display, as illustrated in figure 13, for example. See paragraph 59 as well. Paragraph 79 states in the last sentence that “[E]ach of the stackers 18a to 18e also includes an indicator such as a lamp that sends a storage error such as full state and malfunction”. Paragraph 89 mentions storage error detection sensor (21) that detects a storage error in any storing unit (18) due to being full, or any stacker/cassette being unable to store any banknotes due to a banknote jam, for example. See also paragraph 93.
Regarding Claim 6, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided displaying a media recognition unreliability message for the corresponding cassette on a display unit, as taught by Iwamura, in Mizushima’s banknote handling device for the purpose of displaying the condition/state of the device and its components, such as the storage cassettes.
Regarding Claim 11, see the rejection of Claim 6, above.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al (US 2013/0001039 A1) in view of Nada et al (US 2020/0175801 A1) and further in view of Isshiki et al (US 2021/0287474 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Mizushima teaches the system as described above. See also the rejection of Claims 1, 2 and 4, above.
Regarding Claim 12, Mizushima does not expressly teach retrieving a medium from a drum of the media storage unit.
Regarding Claim 12, Mizushima does not expressly teach, but Isshiki teaches retrieving a medium from a drum (31-39, 320 and 311) of the media storage unit, i.e., safe (13).
Regarding Claim 12, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided retrieving a medium from a drum of the media storage unit, as taught by Isshiki, in Mizushima’s banknote handling device for the purpose of storing banknotes in an alternative storage device based upon tapes wound around a drum that entrain banknotes serially.
Regarding Claim 13, see the rejection of Claims 1, 2 and 4, above.
Regarding Claim 14, see the rejection of Claims 1, 2 and 4, above.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al (US 2013/0001039 A1) in view of Nada et al (US 2020/0175801 A1), further in view of Iwamura et al (US 2014/0238815 A1) and further in view of Isshiki et al (US 2021/0287474 A1).
Regarding Claim 15, Mizushima teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 15, see the rejection of Claims 1, 2, 4 and 6, above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 11-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sakamoto ‘241 is cited as a further example of a banknote sorting device that enables setting of banknote abnormalities that trigger a reconciliation, as illustrated in figure 21 and as mentioned at paragraph 183, for example.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
June 5, 2026