DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
Claims 1, 6, 11-14 and 20 are currently pending, claims 1 and 12 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “The Office relies on Fan (US 2017/0187211 A1) to satisfy the limitation that "the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another." Respectfully, this reliance is misplaced and does not cure the deficiencies of the cited combination.
As acknowledged by the Office, Fan is cited solely for the proposition that a portable charger may include "two retainers attached to the body of the charger and disconnected from one another." Office Action, pp. 4-5, 14. However, Fan does not disclose receptacles at all, let alone receptacles having "back walls" as required by the pending claims.
Like the cited portions of Morrow, Smith, Hamilton, and Szucs, the cited portions of Fan
contain no disclosure of a receptacle "back wall," much less two receptacle back walls that are
each attached to a base and not connected to one another. Importantly, pending claim 1 does not
merely require two "retainers" that are disconnected in an abstract sense. Rather, the claim 1
specifically recites:
a first receptacle having " a first back wall abutting the inductive charging surface" and, a second receptacle having " a second back wall abutting the inductive charging surface " "wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another."
Thus, the claims require a specific structural relationship involving particular walls of receptacle-type retainers, not merely the presence of two holding elements that are separate.
The Office's rejection effectively treats Fan as teaching that any two retainers being "disconnected" renders obvious the claimed configuration of two receptacle back walls being separately attached to a base and not connected to one another. This is an overgeneralization that is not supported by Fan's disclosure. Fan does not teach how a receptacle-based system (as taken from Smith) would be configured such that the back wall portions of two receptacles are each independently attached to a base and structurally disconnected from one another.” (See remarks pages 8-9).
The examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that MORROW discloses a portable wireless inductive charger comprising a battery and a wireless power transmitting coil to wirelessly charge a coupled electronic device by discharging the battery to the wireless power transmitting coil and charging the battery of the electronic device. MORROW further discloses retainers on the sides of the portable wireless inductive charger to hold the electronic device to the inductive surface of the portable wireless. MORROW however is missing the details of the retainer in independent claims 1 and 12.
The examiner provided SMITH to address the flexible nature of the retainers and the structure of the retainers, SMITH discloses a cradle for holding an electronic device comprising a first receptacle and a second receptacle for receiving the ends of the electronic device. Each retainer receptacle includes a retaining wall, a first back wall, a first side wall, a second side wall, a first open top and a first closed top to receive a portion of the electronic device (Please see rejection below to item matching).
The examiner provided a motivation to modify the invention of MORROW with the teachings of SMITH by replacing the retainer arms with the flexible retaining structure disclosed by SMITH for the benefit of providing a retainer to accommodate a plurality of electronic devices of different sizes.”
The examiner further explained that MORROW as modified by SMITH does not disclose “wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.”.
The examiner relied on FAN to address the above limitation; as discussed above MORROW as modified by SMITH discloses a portable wireless charger [MORROW] including a flexible cradle for holding the electronic device to the surface of the portable wireless charger. FAN discloses a portable charger comprising retainers placed on the ends of the charger, each retainer is connected to an end of the charger, however the retainers are not connected to one another. The examiner provided a motivation to modify the teachings of MORROW and SMITH with those of FAN by simply removing the interconnecting part between the two flexible retainers disclosed by MORROW and SMITH for the benefit of reducing cost by reducing the used material to just the retaining walls without the need for the connecting part. The examiner explains that the separate flexible retaining “pockets” [SMITH and FAN] can be attached to the surface of the portable wireless charger [MORROW] by a plurality of attachment mechanisms known to one of ordinary skill in the art including fasteners or adhesives.
Applicant further argues that the newly added limitation “the base configured to act as a fixed support for the battery and the inductive charging surface…” excludes FAN as a reference since FAN discloses an adjustable base (See remarks, Page 10).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The examiner explains that primary reference MORROW is relied upon to address the base limitation and that the base disclosed by MORROW is fixed in size and not extendable. FAN is relied upon to show that disconnected retainers may be placed on the surface of the portable wireless charger without being connected by intermediate material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MORROW et al. (US 2020/0266660 A1, hereinafter MORROW) in view of SMITH et al. (US 2016/0211875 A1, hereinafter SMITH) and HAMILTON (US 2015/0249353 A1, hereinafter HAMILTON) and in further view of SZUCS et al. (US 2012/0043236 A1, hereinafter SZUCS) and FAN (2017/0187211 A1, hereinafter FAN).
Regarding claim 1, MORROW discloses a portable device charging unit (See Figs.5-6, Item#2 and Par.33, disclose a power bank) comprising:
a battery (See Par.33, discloses a battery 6 contained within the power bank enclosure 8);
a base (See Par.33 and Fig.5, disclose an enclosure 8 supporting a battery 6) and including an inductive charging surface (See Par.37, discloses the power bank comprises inductive charging to wirelessly charge electronic device 10), the base configured to act as a fixed support for the battery and the inductive charging surface (See Par.37, discloses the power bank comprises inductive charging to wirelessly charge electronic device 10, the base is a fixed size and does not extend or contract in size. The bottom part of the power bank is interpreted to be the base and supports the enclosed battery and the wireless charging surface); and
a first retainer and a second retainer for selectively securing an electronic device in engagement against the inductive charging surface (See Par.34 and Figs.5-6, discloses arms which expand in parallel to the base and clamp arms 18 which are hinged and rotate with respect to the extendable part of the arm in order to hold electronic device 10. The clamp arms 18 comprise the first retainer and the second retainer).
However, MORROW does not disclose the first retainer including a first lip or tab and the second retainer including a second lip or tab, the first lip or tab and the second lip or tab configured to be gripped by a user to facilitate inserting different portions of the electronic device into the retainer or removing the different portions of the electronic device from the first retainer and the second retainer,
wherein the portable device charging unit is configured to be stored in one of a plurality of slots of a terminal, the terminal configured to provide electrical current to the battery,
wherein the first retainer includes a first receptacle and the second retainer includes a second receptacle, wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle are each formed from a material configured to stretch,
wherein the first receptacle including a first retaining wall, a first back wall abutting the inductive charging surface, a first side wall, a second side wall, a first open top, and a first closed end and is configured to receive a first portion of the electronic device,
wherein the second receptacle including a second retaining wall, a second back wall abutting the inductive charging surface, a third side wall, a fourth side wall, a second open top, and a second closed end and is configured to receive a second portion of the electronic device,
wherein the portable device charging unit is configured to be dispensed by the terminal,
wherein the first open top is defined by a top of the first side wall, a top of the second side wall, and a top of the first retaining wall,
wherein the second open top is defined by a top of the third side wall, a top of the fourth side wall, and a top of the second retaining wall,
wherein the first tab or lip is positioned on the first retaining wall and extends away from the first back wall, and
wherein the second tab or lip is positioned on the second retaining wall and extends away from the second back wall, and
wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.
SMITH discloses a cradle for holding an electronic device, the cradle comprising:
a first retainer (See Fig.1C, Item#123),
a second retainer (See Fig.1C, Item#143),
wherein the first retainer includes a first receptacle and the second retainer includes a second receptacle (See Fig.1C, Items#123 and 143, disclose the first retainer and the second retainer comprising receptacles for accepting a top end and a bottom end of an electronic device),
wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle are each formed from a material configured to stretch (See Par.63, discloses the receptacles are made from elastomeric materials),
wherein the first receptacle including a first retaining wall (See Fig.1C, Item#124 and Par.61, disclose a retaining surface which touches the screen side of the electronic device), a first back wall abutting the inductive charging surface (See Fig.1C, discloses a wall opposite the retaining wall 124), a first side wall (See Fig.1C, Item#128), a second side wall (See Fig.1C, Item#129), a first open top (See Fig.1C, discloses the walls 127,129 and 129 form a receptacle having an open end to insert an electronic device edge), and a first closed end and is configured to receive a first portion of the electronic device (See Fig.1C, Item#127, and Pars.60-61, disclose a back wall and that receptacle formed by walls 127,128 and 129 is configured to hold an electronic device),
wherein the second receptacle including a second retaining wall (See Fig.1C, Item#144), a second back wall abutting the inductive charging surface (See Fig.1C, discloses a back wall opposite the second retaining wall 144), a third side wall (See Fig.1C, Item#148), a fourth side wall (See Fig.1C, Item#149), a second open top (See Fig.1C, discloses the walls 144, 148 and 149 form a receptacle having an open end to insert a side of the electronic device), and a second closed end and is configured to receive a second portion of the electronic device (See Pars.60-61 and Fig.1C, disclose wall 147 forming a closed end to receive the second portion of an electronic device).
MORROW and SMITH are analogous art since they both deal with portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MORROW with the teachings of SMITH by replacing the retainer disclosed by MORROW with that of SMITH for the benefit of providing a retainer to accommodate a plurality of electronic devices of variable sizes (See SMITH, Par.65, The examiner explains that it is well understood that the portable charging device disclosed by MORROW as modified by SMITH is capable of being received within a terminal comprising a plurality of slots to charge and dispense the portable charging units, nevertheless the examiner has provided HAMILTON to address the terminal limitations of the claim).
However, MARROW and SMITH do not disclose the first retainer including a first lip or tab and the second retainer including a second lip or tab, the first lip or tab and the second lip or tab configured to be gripped by a user to facilitate inserting different portions of the electronic device into the retainer or removing the different portions of the electronic device from the first retainer and the second retainer,
wherein the portable device charging unit is configured to be stored in one of a plurality of slots of a terminal, the terminal configured to provide electrical current to the battery,
wherein the portable device charging unit is configured to be dispensed by the terminal,
wherein the first tab or lip is positioned on the first retaining wall and extends away from the first back wall, and
wherein the second tab or lip is positioned on the second retaining wall and extends away from the second back wall, and
wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.
HAMILTON discloses a portable charger terminal comprising a plurality of slots for storing a plurality of portable chargers (See Fig.1, discloses a charger terminal 10, comprising a plurality of slots for receiving a plurality of power packs 12), the terminal configured to provide electrical current to the battery (See Par.79, discloses power is constantly provided to the power packs 12 via the magazine 24 which comprises the slots that hold the power packs), and
wherein the portable device charging unit is configured to be dispensed by the terminal (See Par.74, discloses when the user is instructed to take a power pack from the terminal 10, a solenoid a locking member [Fig.11, Item#60] to dispense the power back to the user).
MORROW, SMITH and HAMILTON are analogous art since they all deal with portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MORROW and SMITH with the teachings of HAMILTON by using the terminal disclosed by HAMILTON to dispense the portable chargers disclosed by MORROW and SMITH for the benefit increasing the availability of the portable wireless chargers by providing a terminal which dispenses portable wireless chargers capable of charging electronic devices of different sizes.
However, MORROW, SMITH and HAMILTON do not disclose the first retainer including a first lip or tab and the second retainer including a second lip or tab, the first lip or tab and the second lip or tab configured to be gripped by a user to facilitate inserting different portions of the electronic device into the retainer or removing the different portions of the electronic device from the first retainer and the second retainer,
wherein the first tab or lip is positioned on the first retaining wall and extends away from the first back wall, and
wherein the second tab or lip is positioned on the second retaining wall and extends away from the second back wall, and
wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.
SZUCS discloses a mobile device vessel comprising a first retainer (See Figs. 4A, 7C and 7D, disclose a wall on which a lip 47 is installed) including a first lip or tab (See Figs. 4A, 7C and 7D disclose a lip 47, Par.26, discloses a flexible tab),
the first lip or tab configured to be gripped by a user to facilitate inserting a portion of the electronic device into the retainer or removing the portion of the electronic device from the first retainer (See Par.26, discloses the tab may be formed to permit the frame to expand to the open position and contract to the closed position),
wherein the first tab or lip is positioned on the first retaining wall and extends away from the first back wall (See Figs.7A and 7D disclose the flexible tab 47 extending away from the first back wall at the bottom side of the case).
MORROW, SMITH, HAMILTON and SZUCS are analogous art since they all deal with portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MORROW, SMITH and HAMILTON with the teachings of SZUCS by adding the first tab for the benefit of assisting the user to open the retainer to insert or remove the electronic device.
Even though, MORROW, SMITH, HAMILTON and SZUCS do not disclose a second tab positioned on the second retaining wall of the second retainer, the examiner further explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MORROW, SMITH, HAMILTON and SZUCS by adding a second tab to the second retainer (SMITH, Fig.1C, Item#143) for the benefit of assisting the user in inserting and removing a second portion the electronic device from the second retainer (The tab disclosed by SZUCS, as discussed above assists the user in inserting and removing an electronic device from the retainer, and since the retainers disclosed by SMITH are separate, then a single tab would not flex the second retainer to assist the user to insert and remove the electronic device portion [i.e. bottom end] from the second retainer. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the tab disclosed by SZUCS to flex the second retainer to assist in the insertion and removal of the second end of the electronic device).
However, MORROW, SMITH, HAMILTON and SZUCS do not disclose wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.
FAN discloses a portable charger comprising two retainers (See Fig.1, discloses a portable charger comprising a first retainer 11 and a second a retainer 21). The examiner explains that the first retainer and the second retainer are attached to the body of the charger and disconnected from one another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MORROW in view of SMITH, HAMILTON and SZUCS with the teachings of FAN by using disconnected retainers for the benefit of reducing the cost by using a retaining material formed of just the retaining walls without the need for a connecting part.
Regarding claim 6, MORROW, SMITH and HAMILTON, SZUCS and FAN disclose the portable device charging unit of claim 1 as discussed above, However MORROW, SMITH and HAMILTON, SZUCS and FAN as applied to claim 1 do not disclose wherein the retainer is capable of stretching to accommodate electronic devices of various sizes and shapes.
SMITH further discloses the retainer is capable of stretching to accommodate electronic devices of various sizes and shapes. (See SMITH, Par.65, discloses the deformable opening allows the cavity of the receptacle to stretch and deform to accommodate variably-sized end portions of electronic devices inserted into the cavity of the receptacle and Pars.68-69, discloses that a device of any shape may be accommodated within a cradle of the disclosure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MORROW, SMITH and HAMILTON, SZUCS and FAN with the further teachings of SMITH by using a retainer capable of stretching to accommodate electronic devices of various sizes and shapes for the benefit of providing a portable charging device capable of holding a plurality of devices of different shapes (See SMITH, Pars.68-69).
Regarding claim 11, MORROW, SMITH and HAMILTON, SZUCS and FAN disclose the portable device charging unit of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the retainer includes a reusable adhesive surface positioned adjacent the inductive charging surface (See MORROW, Par.35, discloses using a nano-suction material surface 22 of the power bank 2 operative as a reusable adhesive surface for securing the power bank 2 to an electronic device 10; without residue or fouling).
Claim(s) 12-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAMILTON in view of MORROW, SMITH and SZUCS and in further view of FAN.
Regarding claim 12, HAMILTON discloses a system for storing and dispensing portable charging units for portable electronic devices (See Fig.10, discloses a charging station 10, comprising a plurality of slots to storing and dispensing power packs 12), the system comprising:
at least one portable charging unit (See Fig.1, Item#12 and Par.12, disclose the power pack is used to power or recharge the battery of an electronic device),
the at least one portable charging unit including a body and a battery supported on the body (See Pars.60 and 64, disclose the charging station receives the state of health information of each power pack battery and includes pins to charge the battery inside the power pack 12, In other words the portable power back comprises a rechargeable battery),
the at least one portable charging unit configured to engage an electronic device and provide electrical current to the electronic device (See Par.12, discloses the power pack engages an electronic device and recharges the electronic device); and
a terminal including a receptacle for storing the at least one portable charging unit (See Fig.9, discloses a plurality of slots 38 for receiving and charging a plurality of power packs 12),
the receptacle including a plurality of slots (See Fig.9, Items#38), each slot configured to receive one of the at least one portable charging units, the terminal configured to provide electrical current to the battery (See Fig.9, Items#38 and 12, discloses a plurality of slots, each receives a power pack 12),
wherein the terminal is configured to dispense the at least one portable device charging unit (See Par.79, discloses the different power packs 12 in the slots 38 are recharged by the charging system 10).
However, HAMILTON does not disclose wherein the body of the at least one portable charging unit includes an inductive charging surface, and a first retainer and a second retainer for selectively securing the electronic device in engagement against the inductive charging surface, the first retainer including a first lip or tab and the second retainer including a second lip or tab, the first lip or tab and the second lip or tab configured to be gripped by a user to facilitate inserting different portions of the electronic device into the retainer or removing the different portions of the electronic device from the first retainer and the second retainer,
wherein the first retainer includes a first receptacle and the second retainer includes a second receptacle,
wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle are each formed from a material configured to stretch,
wherein the first receptacle includes a first retaining wall, a first back wall abutting the inductive charging surface, a first side wall, a second side wall, a first open top, and a first closed end and is configured to receive a first portion of the electronic device, the first open top being defined by a top of the first side wall, a top of the second side wall, and a top of the first retaining wall,
wherein the second receptacle includes a second retaining wall, a second back wall abutting the inductive charging surface, a third side wall, a fourth side wall, a second open top, and a second closed end and is configured to receive a second portion of the electronic device, the second open top being defined by a top of the third side wall, a top of the fourth side wall, and a top of the second retaining wall,
wherein the first tab or lip is positioned on the first retaining wall and extends away from the first back wall, and
wherein the second tab or lip is positioned on the second retaining wall and extends away from the second back wall, and
wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.
MORROW discloses a portable charging unit, wherein the body of the at least one portable charging unit includes a base including an inductive charging surface (See Par.37, discloses the power bank comprises inductive charging to wirelessly charge electronic device 10), the base being configured to act as a fixed support for the battery and the inductive charging surface (See Par.37, discloses the power bank comprises inductive charging to wirelessly charge electronic device 10), the base configured to act as a fixed support for the battery and the inductive charging surface (See Par.37, discloses the power bank comprises inductive charging to wirelessly charge electronic device 10, the base is a fixed size and does not extend or contract in size. The bottom part of the power bank is interpreted to be the base and supports the enclosed battery and the wireless charging surface),
the base further including a first retainer and a second retainer for selectively securing the electronic device in engagement against the inductive charging surface (See Par.34 and Figs.5-6, discloses arms which expand in parallel to the base and clamp arms 18 which are hinged and rotate with respect to the extendable part of the arm in order to hold electronic device 10. The clamp arms 18 comprise the first retainer and the second retainer).
HAMILTON and MORROW are analogous art since they both deal with electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HAMILTON with that of MORROW such that the vending machine dispenses the portable electronic device disclosed by MORROW for the benefit of providing a vending machine which dispenses wireless charging portable chargers for charging portable electronic devices.
However, HAMILTON and MORROW do not disclose the first retainer including a first lip or tab and the second retainer including a second lip or tab, the first lip or tab and the second lip or tab configured to be gripped by a user to facilitate inserting different portions of the electronic device into the retainer or removing the different portions of the electronic device from the first retainer and the second retainer,
wherein the first retainer includes a first receptacle and the second retainer includes a second receptacle,
wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle are each formed from a material configured to stretch,
wherein the first receptacle includes a first retaining wall, a first back wall abutting the inductive charging surface, a first side wall, a second side wall, a first open top, and a first closed end and is configured to receive a first portion of the electronic device, the first open top being defined by a top of the first side wall, a top of the second side wall, and a top of the first retaining wall,
wherein the second receptacle includes a second retaining wall, a second back wall abutting the inductive charging surface, a third side wall, a fourth side wall, a second open top, and a second closed end and is configured to receive a second portion of the electronic device, the second open top being defined by a top of the third side wall, a top of the fourth side wall, and a top of the second retaining wall,
wherein the first tab or lip is positioned on the first retaining wall and extends away from the first back wall, and
wherein the second tab or lip is positioned on the second retaining wall and extends away from the second back wall, and
wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.
SMITH discloses a cradle for holding an electronic device, the cradle comprising:
a first retainer (See Fig.1C, Item#123), and a second retainer (See Fig.1C, Item#143) for selectively securing an electronic device to a back surface of the cradle (See Fig.1C),
wherein the first retainer includes a first receptacle and the second retainer includes a second receptacle (See Fig.1C, Items#123 and 143, disclose the first retainer and the second retainer comprising receptacles for accepting a top end and a bottom end of an electronic device),
wherein the first receptacle and the second receptacle are each formed from a material configured to stretch (See Par.63, discloses the receptacles are made from elastomeric materials),
wherein the first receptacle including a first retaining wall (See Fig.1C, Item#124 and Par.61, disclose a retaining surface which touches the screen side of the electronic device), a first back wall abutting the inductive charging surface (See Fig.1C, discloses a wall opposite the retaining wall 124), a first side wall (See Fig.1C, Item#128), a second side wall (See Fig.1C, Item#129), a first open top (See Fig.1C, discloses the walls 127,129 and 129 form a receptacle having an open end to insert an electronic device edge), and a first closed end and is configured to receive a first portion of the electronic device (See Fig.1C, Item#127, and Pars.60-61, disclose a back wall and that receptacle formed by walls 127,128 and 129 is configured to hold an electronic device),
wherein the second receptacle including a second retaining wall (See Fig.1C, Item#144), a second back wall abutting the inductive charging surface (See Fig.1C, discloses a back wall opposite the second retaining wall 144), a third side wall (See Fig.1C, Item#148), a fourth side wall (See Fig.1C, Item#149), a second open top (See Fig.1C, discloses the walls 144, 148 and 149 form a receptacle having an open end to insert a side of the electronic device), and a second closed end and is configured to receive a second portion of the electronic device (See Pars.60-61 and Fig.1C, disclose wall 147 forming a closed end to receive the second portion of an electronic device).
MORROW and SMITH are analogous art since they both deal with portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by MORROW with the teachings of SMITH by replacing the retainer disclosed by MORROW with that of SMITH for the benefit of providing a retainer to accommodate a plurality of electronic devices of variable sizes (See SMITH, Par.65).
However, HAMILTON, MARROW and SMITH do not disclose the first retainer including a first lip or tab and the second retainer including a second lip or tab, the first lip or tab and the second lip or tab configured to be gripped by a user to facilitate inserting different portions of the electronic device into the retainer or removing the different portions of the electronic device from the first retainer and the second retainer,
wherein the first tab or lip is positioned on the first retaining wall and extends away from the first back wall, and
wherein the second tab or lip is positioned on the second retaining wall and extends away from the second back wall, and
wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.
SZUCS discloses a mobile device vessel comprising a first retainer (See Figs. 4A, 7C and 7D, disclose a wall on which a lip 47 is installed) including a first lip or tab (See Figs. 4A, 7C and 7D disclose a lip 47, Par.26, discloses a flexible tab),
the first lip or tab configured to be gripped by a user to facilitate inserting a portion of the electronic device into the retainer or removing the portion of the electronic device from the first retainer (See Par.26, discloses the tab may be formed to permit the frame to expand to the open position and contract to the closed position),
wherein the first tab or lip is positioned on the first retaining wall and extends away from the first back wall (See Figs.7A and 7D disclose the flexible tab 47 extending away from the first back wall at the bottom side of the case).
HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH, and SZUCS are analogous art since they all deal with portable electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HAMILTON, MORROW and SMITH and with the teachings of SZUCS by adding the first tab for the benefit of assisting the user to open the retainer to insert or remove the electronic device.
Even though, HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH and SZUCS do not disclose a second tab positioned on the second retaining wall of the second retainer, the examiner further explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH and SZUCS by adding a second tab to the second retainer (SMITH, Fig.1C, Item#143) for the benefit of assisting the user in inserting and removing a second portion the electronic device from the second retainer (The tab disclosed by SZUCS, as discussed above assists the user in inserting and removing an electronic device from the retainer, and since the retainers disclosed by SMITH are separate, then a single tab would not flex the second retainer to assist the user to insert and remove the electronic device portion [i.e. bottom end] from the second retainer. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the tab disclosed by SZUCS to flex the second retainer to assist in the insertion and removal of the second end of the electronic device).
However, HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH and SZUCS do not disclose wherein the first back wall and the second back wall are each attached to the base and are not connected to one another.
FAN discloses a portable charger comprising two retainers (See Fig.1, discloses a portable charger comprising a first retainer 11 and a second a retainer 21). The examiner explains that the first retainer and the second retainer are attached to the body of the charger and disconnected from one another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HAMILTON in view of MORROW, SMITH and SZUCS with the teachings of FAN by using disconnected retainers for the benefit of reducing the cost by using a retaining material formed of just the retaining walls without the need for a connecting part.
Regarding claim 13, HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH, SZUCS and FAN disclose the system of claim 12 as discussed, wherein the terminal is configured to inhibit removal of the charging unit until a predetermined condition has been satisfied (See HAMILTON, Pars.72 and 78, disclose that the power pack 12 is locked to the charging system 10 until an authorization is generated by controller 50 which sends an unlock signal to a power pack slot to allow the user to remove a power pack that is authorized to be removed).
Regarding claim 14, HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH, SZUCS and FAN disclose the system of claim 13 as discussed above, wherein the predetermined condition includes completion of a financial transaction (See HAMILTON, Pars.44-45 and 61, disclose that the user completes the financial transaction via an electronic payment method, after which the user identifies himself at the kiosk and the interface 18 instruct the user to retrieve their power pack. Par.74, discloses that when the user is instructed to take the power pack, the locking mechanism is unlocked).
Regarding claim 20, HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH, SZUCS and FAN disclose the system of claim 12 as discussed above, However, HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH, SZUCS and FAN as applied to claim 12 do not disclose wherein the retainer includes a reusable adhesive surface positioned adjacent the inductive charging surface.
MORROW further discloses the retainer includes a reusable adhesive surface positioned adjacent the inductive charging surface (See MORROW, Par.35, discloses using a nano-suction material surface 22 of the power bank 2 operative as a reusable adhesive surface for securing the power bank 2 to an electronic device 10 without residue or fouling).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by HAMILTON, MORROW, SMITH, SZUCS and FAN as applied to claim 12 with the further teachings of MARROW by adding a reusable adhesive surface positioned adjacent the inductive charging surface for the benefit of improving the ability of the portable charging unit to hold the electronic device.
References considered but not relied upon:
MURCHISON et al. (US 9,307,656 B2): discloses an electronic device case comprising retainers disposed at the ends of the case to hold the edges of the electronic device.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859