DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Botkus et al. (11,739,786).
Regarding claim 1, Botkus et al. disclose an apparatus for facilitating an electrical connection, the apparatus comprising:
a first portion (3, Fig. 23C) for attachment to an apparatus (5);
the first portion comprising a convex portion, a magnetic surface (31), and an electrically conductive first protrusion (7);
the convex portion defining a partial conical structure of the first portion;
a second portion (2, Fig. 23C) for removable engagement with the first portion (Fig. 24C);
the second portion comprising a concave structure, a second surface, and a second electrically conductive contact (6) retained within the concave structure, with the second surface positioned for alignment with and magnetically attracted to the magnetic surface of the first portion;
wherein the first protrusion of the first portion and the second contact of the second portion are retained in electrically conductive engagement when the first protrusion contacts the second contact and the magnetic surface is positioned proximate and attracted to but not contacting the second surface (Fig. 24C).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 24C shows the partial conical structure of the convex portion abuts a skirt having a complimentary configuration to the partial conical structure when the first protrusion contacts the second contact.
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 24C shows the angle between the magnetic surface and the convex portion matches the angle between the second surface and the skirt.
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 24C shows electrical current flows from the first portion to the second contact.
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 20C shows the second portion is affixed to an electrical line (60).
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 20C shows the electrical line features a coiled portion (62).
Regarding claim 14, Botkus et al. disclose a beverage making apparatus, the apparatus comprising:
a base (5, Fig. 1A);
a lid (4, Figs. 1A and 2C);
an electrical connection (1, Fig. 2C) joining the base to the lid, the connection comprising:
a first portion (3, Fig. 23C) for attachment to the base;
the first portion comprising a convex portion, a magnetic surface (31), and an electrically conductive first protrusion (7);
a conical surface (30, Fig. 23C) extending around the first portion;
the convex portion defining a partial conical structure extending around the first portion;
a second portion (2, Fig. 23C) for removable magnetically attractive engagement with the first portion;
the second portion comprising a concave skirt structure, a second surface, and a second electrically conductive contact (6), with the second surface positioned for alignment with and magnetically attracted to the magnetic surface of the first portion (Fig. 24C);
wherein the first protrusion of the first portion and the second contact of the second portion are retained in electrically conductive engagement when the first protrusion contacts the second contact and the magnetic surface is positioned proximate and magnetically attracted to but not contacting the second surface (Fig. 24C).
Regarding claim 15, Fig. 1A shows the base includes a cooling assembly in the shape of a cylinder.
Regarding claim 17, the lid includes a lighting assembly.
Regarding claim 19, the first portion is electrically connected to a power source in the base.
Regarding claim 20, Fig. 23C shows the electrical connection between the first portion and the power source is facilitated by a protruding connector wired to the first portion.
Claims 1 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finona et al. (10,148,035).
Regarding claim 1, Finona et al. disclose an apparatus for facilitating an electrical connection, the apparatus comprising:
a first portion (154, Fig. 32) for attachment to an apparatus (156);
the first portion comprising a convex portion (150, Fig. 27), a magnetic surface (163, Fig. 34), and an electrically conductive first protrusion (148);
the convex portion defining a partial conical structure of the first portion;
a second portion (134, Fig. 32) for removable engagement with the first portion (Fig. 33);
the second portion comprising a concave structure, a second surface (136, Fig. 32), and a second electrically conductive contact (130) retained within the concave structure, with the second surface positioned for alignment with and magnetically attracted to the magnetic surface of the first portion;
wherein the first protrusion of the first portion and the second contact of the second portion are retained in electrically conductive engagement when the first protrusion contacts the second contact and the magnetic surface is positioned proximate and attracted to but not contacting the second surface (Fig. 35).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 32 shows the first portion includes a threaded component (not labeled) for retaining the first portion in attachment with the apparatus.
Regarding claim 8, the first portion further comprises a protruding electrical connector (another 148 or a pad 148 that located on 140, Fig. 32) opposite the convex portion (150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Botkus et al. (11,739,786) in view of Midden et al. (7,152,765).
Regarding claim 9, Botkus et al. disclose a kit comprising:
a first portion (3, Fig. 23C) including a convex portion, a magnetic surface (31), and an electrically conductive first protrusion (7);
the convex portion defining a partial conical structure extending around the first portion;
a second portion (2, Fig. 23C) for removable engagement with the first portion;
the second portion including a concave portion, a second surface, and an electrically conductive portion (6) with the second surface positioned for alignment with and magnetically attracted to the magnetic surface of the first portion;
wherein the first protrusion and the conductive portion are electrically conductive when the convex portion is received by the concave portion with the magnetic surface positioned proximate and magnetically attracted to but not contacting the second surface and not contacting the electrically conductive portion (Fig. 24C).
Botkus et al. disclose the claimed inventio as described above except for a kit for use with a beverage making apparatus.
Midden et al., Fig. 1 shows a beverage apparatus (30). It would have been obvious to modify Botkus et al. to have the kit for use with a beverage making apparatus, as taught by Middent et al. for easier connection.
Regarding claim 10, Botkus et al., Fig. 24C shows the magnetic surface contacts the second surface when the convex portion is received by the concave portion.
Regarding claim 11, Botkus et al., Fig. 24C shows electrical current flows from the first portion to the second portion.
Regarding claim 12, Botkus et al., Fig. 20C shows the second portion is affixed to an electrical line (60).
Regarding claim 13, Botkus et al., Fig. 20C shows the electrical line features a coiled portion (62).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 and 22 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15, 17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner noted that Botkus et al. still read on “the convex portion defining a partial conical structure of the first portion”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH TAM T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 06/11/26
thanh-tam.le@uspto.gov