DETAILED ACTION
In a communication received on 22 December 2025, applicants amended claims 1, 9, 10, 12, 18, and 19.
Claims 1-5, 8-15, 17-21 and 23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to claim 1, the applicants allege, "Casalaina does not teach or suggest cascading propagation of data such that second data obtained at a second webpage is both used to update a first webpage and subsequently forwarded onward to a third webpage for visualization. Rather, Casalaina’ s architecture is hub-and-spoke, not peer-to-peer, and does not disclose reuse of the same structured object across multiple independent DOM updates" (page 11) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "updating, by the computer system and via the first asynchronous event handler and a third asynchronous event handler, a third document object model of a third webpage based on the second data received at the first webpage from the second webpage, wherein the second data is forwarded from the first webpage to the third webpage without being converted into a different data representation at the first webpage". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose propagation of data among frames. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests the flow of data is bi-directional and that the data is forwarded or passthrough
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole (See 2141.02 "Differences Between Prior art and Claimed Invention).
As best understood by the examiner, the claim limitation pertains to a flow of data from a second webpage to the third webpage via the first webpage. The claim language is not interpreted to be as limited as the alleged "peer-to-peer" characterization. Moreover, "without conversion" limitation does not appear to exclude routing or handling logic. Casalaina discloses observer for receiving data from predetermined domains (Casalaina, ¶0345); and exemplary cross-domain techniques such as postMessage method for events fired within console may be re-fired to cross-domain HTML frames suggesting propagation of events to two or more frames from different domains (¶0369); explicit two-way communication (¶0369); and the sidebar can transmit messages back to the edit frame (¶0214). Therefore, Casalaina provides the generalized cross-domain messaging teachings which include and suggest frame to frame messaging (¶0344) via postMessage as well as propagation of data through more than one frame.
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose propagation of data among frames. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests the flow of data is bi-directional and that the data is forwarded or passthrough.
The applicants allege, "The amended claims further clarify that visualization updates are performed by selecting visualization behavior based on the type property included in the structured object ... The cited references do not teach or suggest the amended limitations" (page 12) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "updating, by the computer system and based on the type property and the value property, a first visualization provided on the second webpage, wherein the type property is evaluated to select a visualization behavior applied to the first visualization". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest visualization behavior based on a type and value property. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art discloses or suggests the visualization behavior may be modified based on the event type included in a cross-domain message
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole (See 2141.02 "Differences Between Prior art and Claimed Invention).
As best understood by the examiner, the claims pertain to properties of cross-domain messages including a type which may be evaluated to select visualization behavior. Casalaina discloses contextual pane may update itself based on user typed data in the another page (¶0188); identifying a new type of information; determining a decision tree based on the new type of information, and received event message from another frame includes change information causing a change in captions or titles displayed corresponding to the information in the event message (¶0215, ¶0217). Casalaina further discloses secure cross-domain two-way communication between console application and third party pages in pages, primary tabs, subtabs (¶0322, ¶0344). Casalaina do(es) not explicitly disclose document object model evaluation of type property. Ushiki, discloses: capturing an event where the Dom element can be modified or interacted with based on the event and type of the event (¶0165-0166); and determining if the received information is an initial information type; based on initial information drawing to generate inlineframe indicated by position information (¶0199-0200). Together Casalaina and Ushiki substantially cover cross-domain communication to affect display behavior of a frame in another domain by distinguishing messages based on type. The visualization of the data is based on the event type. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Casalaina and Ushiki in order to increase interactivity on a webpage based on a state associated with the user/device (¶0006).
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest visualization behavior based on a type and value property. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art discloses or suggests the visualization behavior may be modified based on the event type included in a cross-domain message.
The applicants allege, "Casalaina's console-centric communication model and Ushiki's single-page DOM update techniques address different problems at different architectural layers, and neither reference provides guidance that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to restructure Casalaina's console as a peer-level relay or to extend Ushiki's DOM logic across multiple independent domains" (page 12) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "the limitations of claim 1". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether there is no motivation to combine or modify the cited prior art to yield the claimed cross-domain frame messaging. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests modifying Casalaina's cross-domain frame interactions according to the DOM and type evaluations in Ushiki
If a proposed modification would render the prior art invention being modified unsatisfactory for its intended purpose, then there is no suggestion or motivation to make the proposed modification. In re Gordon, 733 F.2d 900, 221 USPQ 1125 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
As best understood by the examiner, Casalaina substantially discloses the visualization behavior responsive to cross-domain message exchange. Although Casalaina does not explicitly disclose many teachings about modifying a document object model, Ushiki discloses that such techniques including the visualization of such changes to the DOM based on the type of message are routine in the art. Such modification would not appear to fundamentally change the purpose of Casalaina which is also concerned with modifying the look of frames dynamically. Neither reference appears to explicitly discourage the combination either. Casalaina's intended purpose would only be supplemented by implementing the specifically mentioned teachings in Ushiki.
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that there is no motivation to combine or modify the cited prior art to yield the claimed cross-domain frame messaging. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests modifying Casalaina's cross-domain frame interactions according to the DOM and type evaluations in Ushiki.
With respect to claim 23, the applicants allege, "Casalaina does not teach receiving, at a separate webpage operating at a different domain, a cross-domain object whose type and value properties are evaluated by that receiving webpage to select a visualization element within its own document object model" (page 9) with respect to the claimed limitation(s), "wherein the type of the first data input is a select type and the value property of the first data input includes an element identifier, and wherein updating the first visualization provided on the second webpage includes selecting an element of the first visualization having the element identifier". The examiner respectfully traverses. The arguments/remarks pertain to whether the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest selection of an element in another page. The examiner concludes that the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests passing a message that includes a type of action and the specified id of the element to apply it
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole (See 2141.02 "Differences Between Prior art and Claimed Invention)
As best understood by the examiner, the claims pertain to a message that functionally selects a specific element by its identifier. Additionally, the claims are not interpreted to explicitly name the entity that is doing the evaluation as alleged by the applicant. Casalaina discloses: including information type, meta-information related to the primary information (Casalaina, ¶0208); HTML id of the record corresponding to a page as part of a payload of an event (¶0385, ¶0397); and giving focus to the tab specified in the id of the parameter provided in (¶0341). Additionally, Casalaina discloses messageID (i.e., type) and the data (i.e., value) in the message (¶0345). An example would be the focus tabID message (¶0341). Casalaina clearly delivers the element ID to the receiving page in the above messaging. Therefore, Casalaina clearly discloses or suggests the selection of a particular element of another page based on its ID.
In conclusion, the applicants argue(s) that the cited prior art does not disclose or suggest selection of an element in another page. The examiner traverses because the cited prior art clearly discloses or suggests passing a message that includes a type of action and the specified id of the element to apply it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-15, 17-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casalaina et al. (US 2011/0225232 A1) in view of Ushiki et al. (US 2015/0281334 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Casalaina discloses: a non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, effectuate operations comprising:
operating, by a computer system, a first webpage accessible at a first domain and a second webpage accessible at a second domain (i.e., console application is loaded from a first domain which loads third party page from another domain in Casalaina, ¶0308, ¶0306-0309),
wherein first markup and a first script, at least in part, define the first webpage and second markup and a second script, at least in part, define the second webpage (i.e., HTML and JavaScript and other public technologies for construction of pages in Casalaina, ¶0373, ¶0378-0380), and
wherein the first script includes a first asynchronous event handler and the second script includes a second asynchronous event handler (i.e., event handlers implemented in javascript, page may receive/send messages with other domains with onConsoleMessageReceived in Casalaina, ¶0127, ¶0345-0347);
receiving, by the computer system, a first data input at the first webpage (i.e., input may be from user input or received within the application, or transmitted from one or more servers in Casalaina, ¶0203-205);
updating, by the computer system and via the first asynchronous event handler and the second asynchronous event handler (i.e., editing a page may trigger message to another pane via scripting language event handlers across frames and cross-domain in Casalaina, ¶0207-0212),
a first document object model of the second webpage based on the first data input received at the first webpage (i.e., contextual sidebar may be directly updated with received event message information; elements updated may include titles, links which suggests DOM objects in Casalaina, ¶0215, ¶0222),
wherein updating of the first document object model includes sending an object via the first asynchronous event handler and the second asynchronous event handler that includes a type property (i.e., triggering event messaging that includes indication of information type for another page in Casalaina, ¶0207, ¶0208)
and a value property associated with the first data input (i.e., primary information from the edited information in event message via scripting in Casalaina, ¶0208),
wherein the type property includes a type of the first data input and the value property includes a data value associated with the first data input (i.e., primary information and information type included in event messages in Casalaina, ¶0208);
updating, by the computer system and based on the type property and the value property, a first visualization provided on the second webpage (i.e., contextual pane may update itself based on user typed data in the another page in Casalaina, ¶0188),
wherein the type property is evaluated to select a visualization behavior applied to the first visualization (i.e., identifying a new type of information; determining a decision tree based on the new type of information; received event message from another frame includes change information causing a change in captions or titles displayed corresponding to the information in the event message in Casalaina, ¶0215, ¶0217);
displaying, by the computer system on a display, the updated first visualization on the second webpage (i.e., frame may be updated without refreshing or interrupting the presentation of user interfaces in Casalaina, ¶0223);
updating, by the computer system and via the first asynchronous event handler and the second asynchronous event handler a second document object model of the first webpage based on a second data obtained at the second webpage (i.e., cross-domain two-way communication between console and third party page, third party page domain messages triggering actions in the console application in Casalaina, ¶0315-0317, ¶0320),
wherein updating of the second document object model includes sending a second object via the first asynchronous event handler and the second asynchronous event handler that includes a second type property and a second value property associated with the second data (i.e., post consolemessage, includes information type and primary information; payload of message suggests the object in Casalaina, ¶0208, ¶0347);
updating, by the computer system and based on the type property and the value property, a second visualization provided on the first webpage (i.e., cross-domain pages may update based on received event message data in Casalaina, ¶0188, ¶0315-0317);
displaying, by the computer system on the display, the updated second visualization on the first webpage (i.e., contextual side bar updated based on event messaging from another frame in Casalaina, ¶0215, ¶0222); and
updating, by the computer system and via the first asynchronous event handler and a third asynchronous event handler (i.e., sending a message to another iframe based on information being edited, received from one or more servers; javascript for event handling and passing between cross-domain HTML iframes in Casalaina, ¶0205, ¶0207, ¶0369),
a third document object model of a third webpage based on the second data (i.e., cross domain message massing system allowing pages in primary tabs, subtabs, and context bar communicate with each other in Casalaina, ¶0344)
received at the first webpage from the second webpage (i.e., observer for receiving data from predetermined domains in Casalaina, ¶0345),
wherein the second data is forwarded from the first webpage to the third webpage without being converted into a different data representation at the first webpage (i.e., exemplary cross-domain techniques such as postMessage method for events fired within console may be re-fired to cross-domain HTML frames suggesting propagation of events to two or more frames from different domains in Casalaina, ¶0369),
wherein updating of the third document object model includes sending an object via the first asynchronous event handler and the third asynchronous event handler that includes a type property and a value property associated with the second data (i.e., primary information and information type included in event messages in Casalaina, ¶0208),
wherein the type property includes a type of the second data and the value property includes a data value associated with the second data (i.e., post consolemessage, includes information type and primary information in Casalaina, ¶0208, ¶0347)
Casalaina discloses secure cross-domain two-way communication between console application and third party pages in pages, primary tabs, subtabs (¶0322, ¶0344). Casalaina do(es) not explicitly disclose document model. Ushiki, in order to increase interactivity on a webpage based on a state associated with the user/device (¶0006), discloses
updating document model and displaying updated visualization based on the updated document model (i.e., capturing an event where the Dom element can be modified or interacted with based on the event and type of the event in Ushiki, ¶0165-0166).
evaluating a type property (i.e., determining if the received information is an initial information type; based on initial information drawing to generate inlineframe indicated by position information in Ushiki, ¶0199-0200).
Based on Casalaina in view of Ushiki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Ushiki to improve upon those of Casalaina in order to increase interactivity on a webpage based on a state associated with the user/device.
With respect to claim 2, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the second webpage is embedded in the first webpage (i.e., as a tab in the console application; including iframes in Casalaina, ¶0307, ¶0378).
With respect to claim 3, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the second webpage is embedded into an iFrame with the first webpage (i.e., as a tab in the console application; including iframes in Casalaina, ¶0307, ¶0378).
With respect to claim 4, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the second webpage and the first webpage are operating in the same web browser window. (i.e., primary tabs within the console application all in the same browser page in Casalaina, ¶0307, ¶0378, ¶0379).
With respect to claim 5, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the first asynchronous event handler or the second asynchronous event handler are configured to: process the first data input received via circumvention of a same-origin policy of a web browser on which the first webpage and the second webpage are operating (i.e., using event listeners to safely accept cross-domain messages and process the messages from predetermined safe domains in Casalaina, ¶0309).
With respect to claim 8, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the first webpage includes a connection protocol that includes a function that provides an interface by which the first webpage is called (i.e., cross-domain API allowing third party pages to communicate and interact integrated into a console application; opening a primary tab in URL specified or identified in Casalaina, ¶0300, ¶0329).
With respect to claim 9, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: operating, by the computer system, the third webpage accessible at a third domain (i.e., cross domain API for third party pages interacting in Casalaina, ¶0300);
updating, by the computer system, a third visualization provided on the third webpage based on the first data input (i.e., contextual pane may update itself based on user typed data in the another page in Casalaina, ¶0188); and
displaying, by the computer system on the display, the updated third visualization on the third webpage. (i.e., frame may be updated without refreshing or interrupting the presentation of user interfaces in Casalaina, ¶0223).
With respect to claim 10, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise: operating, by the computer system, the third webpage accessible at a third domain (i.e., third party pages may open primary tabs, subtabs, or both in Casalaina, ¶0325),
wherein the first webpage and the second webpage are embedded in the third webpage (i.e., HTML iframes may be used embedded within browser page in Casalaina, ¶0195),
wherein the third webpage facilitates the updating the first visualization provided on the second webpage based on the first data input (i.e., pages in primary tabs, subtabs or context bars pass messages to interact and update in Casalaina, ¶0344-0347).
With respect to claim 11, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the updating the first visualization provided on the second webpage based on the first data input is performed without sending the update outside of a client computing device operating a web browser for the first webpage and the second webpage (i.e., multiple detail/edit pages using iframes in a same browser page, cross-domain communication without a proxy, in Casalaina, ¶0305, ¶0379).
With respect to claim 12, the limitation(s) of claim 12 are similar to those of claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 1.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation(s) of claim 13 are similar to those of claim(s) 2. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 2.
With respect to claim 14, the limitation(s) of claim 14 are similar to those of claim(s) 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 4.
With respect to claim 15, the limitation(s) of claim 15 are similar to those of claim(s) 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 5.
With respect to claim 17, the limitation(s) of claim 17 are similar to those of claim(s) 8. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 8.
With respect to claim 18, the limitation(s) of claim 18 are similar to those of claim(s) 9. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 9.
With respect to claim 19, the limitation(s) of claim 19 are similar to those of claim(s) 10. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 10.
With respect to claim 20, the limitation(s) of claim 20 are similar to those of claim(s) 11. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim(s) 11.
With respect to claim 21, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the first asynchronous event handler includes at least a sendDataToParent function to send the first data input (i.e., postConsoleMessage, posting a message to all subscribers in Casalaina, ¶0347).
and the second asynchronous event handler includes at least an onDataReceived function (i.e., onConsoleMessageReceived, page receives messages from domains predetermined in Casalaina, ¶0345).
With respect to claim 23, Casalaina discloses: the medium of claim 1, wherein the type of the first data input is a select type (i.e., information type, meta-information related to the primary information in Casalaina, ¶0208) and the value property of the first data input includes an element identifier (i.e., HTML id of the record corresponding to a page as part of a payload of an event in Casalaina, ¶0385, ¶0397), and
wherein updating the first visualization provided on the second webpage includes selecting an element of the first visualization having the element identifier (i.e., giving focus to the tab specified in the id of the parameter provided in Casalaina, ¶0341).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Sherman Lin
1/7/2025
/S. L./Examiner, Art Unit 2447
/JOON H HWANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2447