DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto (USP 5,364,460).
Regarding claims 1-2
Morimoto discloses a electroless gold plating bath comprising gold sulfite and a reducing agent comprising a hydrazine and/or ascorbic acid, and that the bath may further contain a thiosulfate (column 2, lines 3-12).
It would be obvious to use both a hydrazine and ascorbic acid reducing agent because combining two or more materials disclosed by the prior art for the same purpose to form a third material that is to be used for the same purpose has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Kerkhoven, 205 U.S.P.Q. 1069.
Morimoto discloses that the hydrazine may be hydrazine hydrate or hydrazine sulfate (column 2, lines 42-51), as such it would be obvious to select these hydrazine compounds.
Morimoto discloses the use 2 to 8 g/L gold ion (column 2, lines 16-25) and 0.1 to 3 g/L thiosulfate (column 5, lines 7-15).
As the ranges of the reference overlap the claimed amounts and ratios the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 3
Morimoto discloses the hydrazine is used in an amount of 1 to 100g/L, and the other reducing agent (i.e., ascorbic acid) is used in an amount of 0.1 to 30 g/L (column 2, lines 58-68).
As the amounts of the reference overlap the claimed amounts the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Regarding claim 5
Morimoto discloses the use of benzotriazole (i.e., anti-corrosion agent in an amount of 0.01 to 1 g/L (column 5, lines 39-45).
Morimoto discloses the use of a nitrogenous compound, which may be an amie complexing agent such as ethylene diamine, in amounts of 0.05 to 50 g/L (column 4, line 39 to column 5, line 6).
As the ranges of the reference overlap the claimed amounts and ratios the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q. 549.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants argue that Morimoto does not disclose any of the claimed hydrazine compounds. This is not persuasive as Morimoto discloses the use of hydrazine hydrate, which is equivalent to the claimed hydrazine monohydrate.
Applicants argue that Morimoto does not disclose the claimed ratio of gold to thiosulfate. This is not persuasive as the reference discloses an overlapping range, and applicants have not shown any evidence of new or unexpected results. Further, applicants have not compared the closest prior art.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734