DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed 01/06/2026.
Claims 1-30 are currently pending.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 11-12, 14-17, 21-22, 24-26, and 28-30 are rejected.
Claims 4, 7, 9, 10, 13, 18-20, 23, and 27 are objected to.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 14, 24, and 30 and their dependents under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shi (Pub. No.: US 2025/0008438 A1). Please see the claim rejections section below for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11-12, 14-15, 17, 21-22, 24-25, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (Pub. No.: US 2020/0413475) in view of Shi (Pub. No.: US 2025/0008438 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Wei [0003], [0139], and fig. 7: wireless communications at a user equipment (UE)), comprising:
at least one processor (Wei [0139] and fig. 7: processor); and
memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (Wei [0141] and fig. 7) to cause the UE to:
receive control signaling indicating a first on duration of a discontinuous reception cycle (Wei fig. 6 (682-686): receive RRC message (control signal) indicating DRX information (first on duration of DRX cycle), where the on duration is determined using the DRX information);
extend, based at least in part on second control signaling that corresponds to a detected trigger…, a monitoring time period associated with the first on duration, the extending…, modifying an inactivity timer associated with the first on duration, or a combination thereof (Wei fig. 6 (692): receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger); Wei fig. 6 and [0003]: during active time UE monitors the PDCCH for additional data transmission/reception indication, and when a data transmission occurs during active time, the UE stays active (on duration) to finish transmission (extended monitoring time)); and
receive one or more downlink messages during the extended monitoring time period (Wei fig. 6 and [0003]: PDCCH (channel for downlink messages); the monitoring period is extended to be able to keep receiving downlink messages (receiving one or more downlink messages during the extended monitoring time period)).
Wei does not appear to teach an indication of a time interval where modifying an on duration is in accordance with a time interval.
However, Shi, in the analogous art of discontinuous reception cycles, teaches
…and comprises an indication of a time interval (Shi [0006-0009], [0060], and [0084]: “the indication information is used to indicate the first time period”)…
… comprising modifying the first on duration in accordance with the indication of the time interval (Shi [0006-0009]: DRX On duration timing according to a time period (time interval))…
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wei to incorporate the teachings of Shi and modify the first on duration in accordance with the indication of the time interval. Doing so would reduce power consumption of a terminal device during a DRX process (Shi [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
Wei further teaches
receive a first wakeup signal comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger (Wei [0003] and fig. 6 (692): wakeup signal is the indication of a new transmission in 692 (comprising second control signaling, as mapped above)), the first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration (Wei [0003] and fig. 6: wakeup signal is associated with the first on duration as shown in fig. 6, indication of new transmission keeps active duration on to finish the transmission (first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration)) and comprising the indication of the time interval (Wei [0003]: indication of new transmission is received, and the UE stays active until the transmission is finished (extending the monitoring time period according to the indication of the time interval; time interval is the length of the remaining transmission)).
Regarding claim 5, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
Wei further teaches
receive control signaling indicating a communication state, the control signaling comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger, wherein extending the monitoring time period is based at least in part on the communication state (Wei fig. 6: receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger; communication state is that data transmission is occurring (being communicated); Wei [0003]: indication of new transmission is received, and the UE stays active until the transmission is finished (extending the monitoring time period based at least in part on the communication state according to the indication of the time interval).
Regarding claim 6, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
Wei further teaches
receive, during the first on duration, a downlink control information message comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger, and comprising the indication of the time interval, the indication of the time interval comprising the detected trigger. (Wei fig. 6: receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH
(second control signaling corresponding to trigger; Wei [0003]: indication of new transmission is
received, and the UE stays active until the transmission is finished (extending the monitoring time period based at least in part on the communication state according to the indication of the time interval)
Regarding claim 11, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
Wei further teaches
receive, during the first on duration, a downlink control information message scheduling an application data unit comprising a plurality of downlink transmissions (Wei [0003], [0060], [0056], fig. 2, and fig. 6: UE receives a DCI (220) via PDCCH (692 of fig. 6; received during first on duration) indicating time slots (scheduling) for multiple downlink transmissions (slot.sub.0 and slot.sub.1)), the downlink control information message comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger (Wei fig. 6: receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger; Wei [0056] UE receives a DCI (220) via PDCCH), wherein extending the monitoring time period comprises extending the monitoring time period to a last symbol of a last downlink transmission of the plurality of downlink transmissions (Wei [0007-0008] and [0056]: activity timer extended, symbol at the end of PDCCH (last symbol)).
Regarding claim 12, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
receive control signaling indicating an updated time interval for subsequent on durations of the discontinuous reception cycle, an updated time interval for the inactivity timer (Wei [0003], [0007-0008], and fig. 6: UE receives indication of PDCCH transmission, stays active until the end of the PDCCH transmission, and then starts the DRX inactivity timer once the transmission has ended), or a combination thereof, the control signaling comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger (Wei fig. 6: receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger); and
monitor for downlink signaling according to the updated time interval for the subsequent on durations, the updated time interval for the inactivity timer, or both (Wei [0063]: “During the time interval, in which the DRX Inactivity Timer is running, the UE may monitor PDCCH”).
Regarding claim 14, Wei teaches
An apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity (Wei [0005-0007], [0139], and fig. 7: apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity), comprising:
at least one processor (Wei [0139] and fig. 7: processor); and
memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor (Wei [0141] and fig. 7) to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a first on duration of a discontinuous reception cycle (Wei fig. 6 (682-686): transmit RRC message (control signal) indicating DRX information (first on duration of DRX cycle), where the on duration is determined using the DRX information); and
transmit, to the UE, one or more downlink messages during an extended monitoring time period associated with second control signaling that corresponds to a detected trigger…, the extended monitoring time period comprising…, a modified inactivity timer for the UE, or a combination thereof (Wei fig. 6 (692): receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger); Wei fig. 6 and [0003]: PDCCH (channel for downlink messages); the monitoring period is extended to be able to keep receiving downlink messages (receiving one or more downlink messages during the extended monitoring time period)).
Wei does not appear to teach an indication of a time interval where modifying an on duration is in accordance with a time interval.
However, Shi, in the analogous art of discontinuous reception cycles, teaches
…and comprises an indication of a time interval (Shi [0006-0009], [0060], and [0084]: “the indication information is used to indicate the first time period”)…
…a modified on duration in accordance with the indication of the time interval (Shi [0006-0009]: DRX On duration timing according to a time period (time interval))…
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wei to incorporate the teachings of Shi and modify the first on duration in accordance with the indication of the time interval. Doing so would reduce power consumption of a terminal device during a DRX process (Shi [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
Wei further teaches
transmit a first wakeup signal comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger (Wei [0003] and fig. 6 (692): wakeup signal is the indication of a new transmission in 692 (comprising second control signaling, as mapped above)), the first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration (Wei [0003] and fig. 6: wakeup signal is associated with the first on duration as shown in fig. 6, indication of new transmission keeps active duration on to finish the transmission (first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration)) and comprising the indication of the time interval (Wei [0003]: indication of new transmission is received, and the UE stays active until the transmission is finished (extending the monitoring time period according to the indication of the time interval; time interval is the length of the remaining transmission).
Regarding claim 17, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
transmit control signaling indicating a communication state, the control signaling comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger, wherein the extended monitoring time period is based at least in part on the communication state (Wei fig. 6 and [0007-0008]: transmitting an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger; communication state is that data transmission is occurring (being communicated); Wei [0003]: indication of new transmission is received, and the UE stays active until the transmission is finished (extending the monitoring time period based at least in part on the communication state according to the indication of the time interval).
Regarding claim 21, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
transmit, during the first on duration, a downlink control information message scheduling an application data unit comprising a plurality of downlink transmissions (Wei [0003], [0060], [0056], fig. 2, and fig. 6: UE receives (transmitted from BS, downlink transmissions are from BS to UE) a DCI (220) via
PDCCH (692 of fig. 6; received during first on duration) indicating time slots (scheduling) for multiple
downlink transmissions (slot.sub.0 and slot.sub.1)), the downlink control information message comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger (Wei fig. 6: UE
received from BS an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling
corresponding to trigger; Wei [0056] UE receives a DCI (220) via PDCCH from BS), wherein the extended monitoring time period includes a last symbol of a last downlink transmission of the plurality of downlink transmissions (Wei [0007-0008] and [0056]: activity timer extended, symbol at the end of
PDCCH (last symbol)).
Regarding claim 22, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
Wei further teaches
transmit control signaling indicating an updated time interval for subsequent on durations of the discontinuous reception cycle, an updated time interval for the modified inactivity timer (Wei [0003], [0007-0008], and fig. 6: UE receives indication of PDCCH transmission from BS, stays active until the end of the PDCCH transmission, and then starts the DRX inactivity timer once the transmission has ended), or a combination thereof, the control signaling comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger (Wei fig. 6: an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger); and
transmit downlink signaling according to the updated time interval for the subsequent on durations, the updated time interval for the modified inactivity timer, or the combination thereof (Wei [0063]: “During the time interval, in which the DRX Inactivity Timer is running, the UE may monitor PDCCH”-PDCCH transmissions being transmitted by the BS to the UE).
Regarding claim 24, Wei teaches
A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Wei [0003], [0139], and fig.
7: method for wireless communications at a UE), comprising:
receiving control signaling indicating a first on duration of a discontinuous reception cycle (Wei fig. 6 (682-686): receive RRC message (control signal) indicating DRX information (first on duration
of DRX cycle), where the on duration is determined using the DRX information);
extending, based at least in part on second control signaling that corresponds to a detected trigger…, a monitoring time period associated with the first on duration, the…, modifying an inactivity timer associated with the first on duration, or a combination thereof (Wei fig. 6 (692): receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second
control signaling corresponding to trigger); Wei fig. 6 and [0003]: during active time UE monitors the
PDCCH for additional data transmission/reception indication, and when a data transmission occurs
during active time, the UE stays active (on duration) to finish transmission (extended monitoring time)); and
receiving one or more downlink messages during the extended monitoring time period (Wei
fig. 6 and [0003]: PDCCH (channel for downlink messages); the monitoring period is extended to be able to keep receiving downlink messages (receiving one or more downlink messages during the extended
monitoring time period)).
Wei does not appear to teach an indication of a time interval where modifying an on duration is in accordance with a time interval.
However, Shi, in the analogous art of discontinuous reception cycles, teaches
… and comprises an indication of a time interval (Shi [0006-0009], [0060], and [0084]: “the indication information is used to indicate the first time period”)…
… extending comprising modifying the first on duration accordance with the indication of the time interval (Shi [0006-0009]: DRX On duration timing according to a time period (time interval))…
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wei to incorporate the teachings of Shi and modify the first on duration in accordance with the indication of the time interval. Doing so would reduce power consumption of a terminal device during a DRX process (Shi [0005]).
Regarding claim 25, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The method of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), further comprising:
receiving a first wakeup signal comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger (Wei [0003] and fig. 6 (692): wakeup signal is the indication of a new transmission in
692 (comprising second control signaling, as mapped above)), the first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration (Wei [0003] and fig. 6: wakeup signal is associated with the first on duration as
shown in fig. 6, indication of new transmission keeps active duration on to finish the transmission (first
wakeup signal associated with the first on duration)) and comprising the indication of the time interval (Wei [0003]: indication of new transmission is received, and the UE stays active until the transmission is finished (extending the monitoring time period according to the indication of the time interval; time interval is the length of the remaining transmission)).
Regarding claim 28, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The method of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), further comprising:
receiving control signaling indicating a communication state, the control signaling comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger, wherein extending the monitoring time period is based at least in part on the communication state (Wei fig. 6: receive an
indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger;
communication state is that data transmission is occurring (being communicated); Wei [0003]:
indication of new transmission is received, and the UE stays active until the transmission is finished
(extending the monitoring time period based at least in part on the communication state according to
the indication of the time interval).
Regarding claim 29, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The method of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), further comprising:
receiving, during the first on duration, a downlink control information message comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger, wherein the downlink control information message comprises the indication of the time interval, the indication of the time interval comprising the detected trigger (Wei fig. 6: receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger; Wei [0003]: indication of new transmission is received, and the UE stays active until the transmission is finished (extending the monitoring time period based at least in part on the communication state according to the indication of the time interval).
Regarding claim 30, Wei teaches
A method for wireless communications at a network entity (Wei [0007] and [0005]: method
transmitting from a BS to a UE using wireless communication networks), comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), control signaling indicating a first on duration of a discontinuous reception cycle (Wei fig. 6 (682-686): transmit RRC message (control signal) indicating
DRX information (first on duration of DRX cycle), where the on duration is determined using the DRX
information); and
transmitting, to the UE, one or more downlink messages during an extended monitoring time period associated with second control signaling that corresponds to a detected trigger…, the extended monitoring time period…, a modified inactivity timer for the UE, or a combination thereof (Wei fig. 6 (692): receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger); Wei fig. 6 and [0003]: PDCCH (channel for downlink
messages); the monitoring period is extended to be able to keep receiving downlink messages (receiving
one or more downlink messages during the extended monitoring time period)).
Wei does not appear to teach an indication of a time interval where modifying an on duration is in accordance with a time interval.
However, Shi, in the analogous art of discontinuous reception cycles, teaches
… and comprises an indication of a time interval (Shi [0006-0009], [0060], and [0084]: “the indication information is used to indicate the first time period”)…
…comprising a modified on duration in accordance with the indication of the time interval (Shi [0006-0009]: DRX On duration timing according to a time period (time interval))…
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wei to incorporate the teachings of Shi and modify the first on duration in accordance with the indication of the time interval. Doing so would reduce power consumption of a terminal device during a DRX process (Shi [0005]).
Claims 3, 16, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (Pub. No.: US 2020/0413475) in view of Shi (Pub. No.: US 2025/0008438 A1) further in view of Terry (CN 112753275 A).
Regarding claim 3, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
receive a control message comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger, the control message comprising a first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration or a downlink control information message (Wei [0003] and fig. 6 (692): control message being the wakeup signal which is the indication of a new transmission in 692 (comprising second control signaling, as mapped above); Wei [0003] and fig. 6: wakeup signal is associated with the first on duration as shown in fig. 6, indication of new transmission keeps active duration on to finish the transmission (first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration)), and…
Wei does not appear to teach the control message further comprising an indication of a power threshold, wherein the detected trigger comprises a determination that one or more parameters satisfy the power threshold, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a UE charging rate, a UE discharging rate, a UE energy level, a power headroom, or a combination thereof.
However, Terry, in the analogous art of extended DRX, teaches
the control message further comprising an indication of a power threshold, wherein the detected trigger comprises a determination that one or more parameters satisfy the power threshold, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a UE charging rate, a UE discharging rate, a UE energy level, a power headroom, or a combination thereof (Terry pg. 6 paragraph 3 and pg. 31 paragraphs 3-7: power headroom corresponding to a threshold).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to have modified Wei to incorporate the teachings of Terry and have the
control message further comprise an indication of a power threshold. Doing so would allow LBT effects
to be taken into account and allow for consideration of transmission loss or delay (Terry pg. 30 paragraph 1 and pg. 6 paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 16, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 14 (the limitations of parent claim 14 as indicated above), wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the network entity to:
transmit a control message comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger, the control message comprising a first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration or a downlink control information message ((Wei [0003] and fig. 6 (692): control message being the wakeup signal which is the indication of a new transmission in 692 (comprising second control signaling, as mapped above); Wei [0003] and fig. 6: wakeup signal is associated with the first on duration as shown in fig. 6, indication of new transmission keeps active duration on to finish the transmission (first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration)),
Wei does not appear to teach the control message further comprising an indication of a power threshold, wherein the detected trigger comprises a determination that one or more parameters satisfy the power threshold, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a UE charging rate, a UE discharging rate, a UE energy level, a power headroom, or a combination thereof.
However, Terry, in the analogous art of extended DRX, teaches
the control message further comprising an indication of a power threshold, wherein the detected trigger comprises a determination that one or more parameters satisfy the power threshold, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a UE charging rate, a UE discharging rate, a UE energy level, a power headroom, or a combination thereof (Terry pg. 6 paragraph 3 and pg. 31 paragraphs 3-7: power headroom corresponding to a threshold).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wei and Shi to incorporate the teachings of Terry and have the control message further comprise an indication of a power threshold. Doing so would allow LBT effects to be taken into account and allow for consideration of transmission loss or delay (Terry pg. 30 paragraph 1 and pg. 6 paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 26, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The method of claim 24 (the limitations of parent claim 24 as indicated above), further comprising:
receiving a control message comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger, the control message comprising a first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration or a downlink control information message (Wei [0003] and fig. 6 (692): control message
being the wakeup signal which is the indication of a new transmission in 692 (comprising second control
signaling, as mapped above); Wei [0003] and fig. 6: wakeup signal is associated with the first on duration
as shown in fig. 6, indication of new transmission keeps active duration on to finish the transmission
(first wakeup signal associated with the first on duration)), and…
Wei does not appear to teach the control message further comprising an indication of a power
threshold, wherein the detected trigger comprises a determination that one or more parameters satisfy
the power threshold, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a UE charging rate, a UE
discharging rate, a UE energy level, a power headroom, or a combination thereof.
However, Terry, in the analogous art of extended DRX, teaches
the control message further comprising an indication of a power threshold, wherein the detected trigger comprises a determination that one or more parameters satisfy the power threshold, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a UE charging rate, a UE discharging rate, a UE energy level, a power headroom, or a combination thereof (Terry pg. 6 paragraph 3 and pg. 31 paragraphs 3-7:
power headroom corresponding to a threshold).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to have modified Wei to incorporate the teachings of Terry and have the
control message further comprise an indication of a power threshold. Doing so would allow LBT effects to be taken into account and allow for consideration of transmission loss or delay (Terry pg. 30
paragraph 1 and pg. 6 paragraph 3).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (Pub. No.: US 2020/0413475) in view of Shi (Pub. No.: US 2025/0008438 A1) further in view of Dalsgaard (US 20210297952 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wei modified by Shi teaches
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the UE to:
Wei further teaches
receive, during the first on duration, a downlink control information message scheduling at least one message comprising an uplink message or a downlink message after the first on duration, the downlink control information message comprising the second control signaling that corresponds to the detected trigger (fig. 6 (692): receive new transmission (message); Wei fig. 6 (692): receive an indication of a new transmission over PDCCH (second control signaling corresponding to trigger)); and
Wei does not appear to teach selecting the greater of a first time period associated with the inactivity timer, or a second time period between reception of the downlink control information message and a last symbol of the scheduled at least one message scheduled by the downlink control information message, wherein extending the monitoring time period comprises extending the monitoring time period according to the selecting.
However, Dalsgaard, in the analogous art of DRX cycles and monitoring, teaches
select the greater of a first time period associated with the inactivity timer, or a second time period between reception of the downlink control information message and a last symbol of at least one message scheduled by the downlink control information message, wherein extending the monitoring time period comprises extending the monitoring time period according to the selecting (Dalsgaard [0048]: “to replace the discontinuous reception cycle with the greater of a discontinuous reception cycle time period and a machine type communication physical downlink control channel monitoring time period”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Wei and Shi to incorporate the teachings of Dalsgaard and select the greater of a first time period associated with the inactivity timer, or a second time period between reception of the downlink control information message and a last symbol of the scheduled at least one message scheduled by the downlink control information message, wherein extending the monitoring
time period comprises extending the monitoring time period according to the selecting. Doing so would
allow for use of standard monitoring performance requirements can correspond to the requirements defined in 3GPP TS 36.133 (Dalsgaard [0048]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 9-10, 13, 18-20, 23, and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art found does not teach the additional limitations recited in the claim and they do not appear to be obvious limitations to combine.
Conclusion
/R.E.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412