DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/2/2026 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Koska teaching that the length of the flange relative to the length of the neck portion (as in claims 1,7), the diameter of the constriction (as in claims 3,9), the radius of the flange (as in claims 4,10), the protrusion amount of the flange relative to the length of the flange (as in claims 5,6), and the volume of gas relative to the volume of liquid (as in claim 13) are all result effective variables.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/16/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. Specifically, the Foreign Patent Document Cite No. 3 and the Non-Patent Literature Documents Cite No. 35, 36 and 37 are not in the English language and a concise explanation of the relevance of each of these references has not been included. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 1/6/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. Specifically, the Non-Patent Literature Documents Cite No. 14, 15 and 16 are not in the English language and a concise explanation of the relevance of each of these references has not been included. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 has been amended to require the “volume or gas” be in the same structure (“collapsible fluid chamber”, “dispensing chamber”, or “cylindrical neck”) as the “volume of liquid” of claim 11. However, paragraph [0023] appears to set forth that the volume of liquid and the volume of gas are intended to be within different structures. Because the claimed relationship contradicts the relationship disclosed in the Specification, it is unclear how to interpret claim 12 in light of the Specification. For the sake of examination, claim 12 is interpreted such that the volume of liquid and the volume of gas are within separate structures since this is the relationship supported by the Specification. Accordingly, it is suggested to amend claim 12 to recite “wherein another of the collapsible fluid chamber, the dispensing chamber, and the cylindrical neck
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koska (PG PUB 2019/0060168).
Re claim 1, Koska discloses a pre-filled medical delivery device 710+226 (BFS vial 710 is shown in Fig 7A-7G and administration assembly 226 is shown in Fig 2D,2E,2G-2I), comprising: a blow-fill-seal (BFS) vial 710 (Fig 7A-7G) defining a collapsible fluid chamber 720a (Fig 7A-7G), a dispensing chamber 720b (Fig 7A-7G) in communication with the collapsible fluid chamber (Para 79), a neck portion 712 (Fig 7A-7G) in communication with the dispensing chamber (Para 79), and an exterior flange 716+718a+718b (Fig 7A-7G) formed on the neck portion (as seen in Fig 7A-7G), wherein the exterior flange comprises an axially elongated and rounded protrusion 716 (Fig 7A-7G) having a flange length (extending vertically in Fig 7D); and an administration assembly 226 (Fig 2D,2E,2G-2I) defining an opening 232-1 (Fig 2G) at one end (to the left in Fig 2D), the opening being in communication with an interior volume (as seen in Fig 2J-2L) comprising an interior seat 234a (Fig 2D,2E,2G) into which the exterior flange is axially mated, and the administration member 280 (Fig 2D,2E,2G-2I) comprising, at a second end (to the right in Fig 2D), a needle (Para 46). Koska does not explicitly disclose the flange length or a length of the neck portion and, therefore, does not disclose that the flange length is 30-45% of a length of the neck portion. However, Koska discloses that the ratio of the flange length to the length of the neck portion is a result effective variable (see Para 65 which sets forth that the length of the flange and the length of the neck portion are chosen so that the flange ensures that the neck portion can be mated within the administration assembly in a manner that prevents axial movement of the vial with respect to the administration assembly). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the flange to have a length that is 30-45% of a length of the neck portion.
Re claim 2, Koska discloses that the BFS vial further comprises: a constriction (seen in Fig 7A-7G and labeled in annotated Fig A below) between the fluid chamber and the dispensing chamber (as seen in Fig 7A-7G and Fig A below).
Re claim 3, Koska discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the constriction comprises a diameter in the range of 3 mm to 4 mm. However, Koska discloses that the diameter of the constriction is a result effective variable (see Para 80 which discloses that the size of the constriction defines the substantial disk-shapes of the chambers which allow the chambers to reduce their volume when squeezed to substantially zero and expel substantially all substance stored therein). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the constriction to have a diameter in the range of 3 mm to 4 mm.
Re claim 4, Koska discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the exterior flange is rounded at a radius in the range of 4 mm to 5 mm. However, Koska discloses that the radius of the exterior flange is a result effective variable (see Para 65 which sets forth that the shape of the flange (which includes its radius) is chosen so that the flange ensures that the vial can be mated within the administration assembly in a manner that prevents axial movement of the vial with respect to the administration assembly). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the exterior flange to be rounded at a radius in the range of 4 mm to 5 mm.
Re claim 5, Koska discloses that the exterior flange extends radially outward from the neck portion by a protrusion amount (as seen in Fig 7A-7G), but does not explicitly disclose that the flange length is in the range of 4.3 times to 5.3 times the protrusion amount. However, Koska discloses that the ratio of the protrusion amount and the flange length is a result effective variable (see Para 65 which sets forth that the shape of the flange (which includes its length and protrusion amount) is chosen so that the flange ensures that the vial can be mated within the administration assembly in a manner that prevents axial movement of the vial with respect to the administration assembly). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the protrusion amount and the flange length so that the flange length is in the range of 4.3 times to 5.3 times the protrusion amount.
Re claim 6, Koska discloses a blow-fill-seal (BFS) vial 710 (Fig 7A-7G), comprising: a collapsible fluid chamber 720a (Fig 7A-7G); a dispensing chamber 720b (Fig 7A-7G) in communication with the collapsible fluid chamber (Para 79); a cylindrical neck portion 712 (Fig 7A-7G) in communication with the dispensing chamber (Para 79); and an exterior flange 716+718a+718b (Fig 7A-7G) formed on the neck portion (as seen in Fig 7A-7G), wherein the exterior flange extends radially outward from the neck portion by a protrusion amount and has an axial length (as seen in Fig 7A-7G). Koska does not explicitly disclose that the axial length of the exterior flange is in the range of 4.3 times to 5.3 times the protrusion amount. However, Koska discloses that the ratio of the protrusion amount and the flange length is a result effective variable (see Para 65 which sets forth that the shape of the flange (which includes its axial length and protrusion amount) is chosen so that the flange ensures that the vial can be mated within the administration assembly in a manner that prevents axial movement of the vial with respect to the administration assembly). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the protrusion amount and the axial length of the exterior flange so that the axial length is in the range of 4.3 times to 5.3 times the protrusion amount.
Re claim 7, Koska discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the axial length of the exterior flange is in the range of 30-45% of a length of the neck portion. However, Koska discloses that the ratio of the axial length of the exterior flange to the length of the neck portion is a result effective variable (see Para 65 which sets forth that the length of the flange and the length of the neck portion are chosen so that the flange ensures that the neck portion can be mated within the administration assembly in a manner that prevents axial movement of the vial with respect to the administration assembly). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the flange to have an axial length that is 30-45% of a length of the neck portion.
Re claim 8, Koska discloses that the BFS vial further comprises: a constriction (seen in Fig 7A-7G and labeled in annotated Fig A above) between the fluid chamber and the dispensing chamber (as seen in Fig 7A-7G and Fig A above).
Re claim 9, Koska discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the constriction comprises a diameter in the range of 3 mm to 4 mm. However, Koska discloses that the diameter of the constriction is a result effective variable (see Para 80 which discloses that the size of the constriction defines the substantial disk-shapes of the chambers which allow the chambers to reduce their volume when squeezed to substantially zero and expel substantially all substance stored therein). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the constriction to have a diameter in the range of 3 mm to 4 mm.
Re claim 10, Koska discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the exterior flange is rounded at a radius in the range of 4 mm to 5 mm. However, Koska discloses that the radius of the exterior flange is a result effective variable (see Para 65 which sets forth that the shape of the flange (which includes its radius) is chosen so that the flange ensures that the vial can be mated within the administration assembly in a manner that prevents axial movement of the vial with respect to the administration assembly). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the exterior flange to be rounded at a radius in the range of 4 mm to 5 mm.
Re claim 11, Koska discloses that at least one of the collapsible fluid chamber, the dispensing chamber, and the cylindrical neck is filled, during manufacture, with a volume of liquid (Para 54).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koska (PG PUB 2019/0060168) in view of Basile et al. (WO 2015/187518).
Re claim 12, Koska discloses all the claimed features but is silent as to whether or not a volume of gas is contained in at least one of the collapsible fluid chamber, the dispensing chamber, and the cylindrical neck. Basile, however, teaches a blow-fill-seal vial 10 (Fig 2; Page 15, Lines 30-31) comprising a collapsible fluid chamber (as seen in Fig 2, the vial contains four chambers, each comprising a first surface 14, a second surface 16 and a bellows 12 therebetween; the “collapsible fluid chamber” can be any of these chambers), a dispensing chamber (as seen in Fig 2, the vial contains four chambers, each comprising a first surface 14, a second surface 16 and a bellows 12 therebetween; the “dispensing chamber” can be any other of these chambers) and a neck portion 15 (Fig 2) and teaches that BFS vials commonly contain a volume of liquid in at least one of the chambers and the neck portion and a volume of gas in at least one of the chambers and the neck portion (Page 6, Lines 8-10) for the purpose of enabling priming of the vial (Page 6, Lines 10-11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Koska to include a volume of gas in one of the chambers or the cylindrical neck, as taught by Basile, for the purpose of priming the vial (Page 6, Lines 10-11).
Re claim 13, Koska as modified by Basile in the rejection of claim 12 above discloses all the claimed features except explicitly disclosing that the volume of gas is in the range of 100% - 250% of the volume of liquid. However, Basile discloses that the ratio of gas to liquid is a result effective variable (see Page 6, Lines 8-11 which disclose that the vial consists of a volume of gas and a volume of liquid and the amount of gas in the vial affects the amount of priming that must be done prior to delivery of the liquid). Since it has been held that discovering an optimum range of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the amount of gas and the amount of liquid in the vial such that the volume of gas in in the range of 100% to 250% of the volume of liquid.
Conclusion
/KAMI A BOSWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783