Detailed Action
This action is in response to the amendment filed 10/10/2025 for application 17/960,221, in which:
Claim 1 is the independent claim.
Claims 2-4, 9-11, and 16-18 are currently canceled.
Claims 1 and 4 have been amended.
Claims 1-6 are currently pending.
Regarding the 35 USC § 112 Rejections:
Applicant's amendments to Claim 4 overcomes the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) due to previously being indefinite.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. §101 Rejections:
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections of the previous office action have been fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant disagrees and traverses the rejections of claims 1-6 (Page 6), as the amended claims are not directed to an abstract idea and that the claims are directed to patentable-eligible subject matter.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. For the reasons given below and in the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections, the claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 1) and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2). The pending claims recite abstract ideas that fall in at least one of the permissible groups, and noted within the office action below in more details. The independent claim fail to recite the steps that achieve the improvement. The independent claim is no more detailed than receiving specific data, processing specific received data, determining information, using a trained neural network to classify the data and identifying an optimal algorithm for further processing with no steps on how to achieve an improvement by the classification/identification as there is no particular solution to a particular problem; thus, the Claims are not a technical solution to a technical problem. The rejections have been updated below, the rejection to all Claims (including Claim 1 and all dependent Claims) are maintained and updated as necessitated by Claim amendments. Applicant's arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts (Page 6) that the rejections of claims 1-6 are rendered moot in view of the amendments made to the claims (specifically claim 1). Applicant further asserts that the additional limitations and features incorporated into claim 1 render the claims patent-eligible -- namely, outside the scope of any judicial exception, and/or even if falling within such judicial exception, directed to practical application(s). The applicant requests that the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections be withdrawn due to the reasons noted above.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Limitations within Step 2A Prong 2 are unable to integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application as the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as the additional elements are merely performing the abstract idea(s) where the process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, or insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering. Performance “on a computer” or “with a machine learning model” or “using a specialized machine” does not prevent a limitation from being practically performable. Additionally, the Claims do not reflect any improvement in the functioning of a computer or hardware processor rather the additional elements merely use a generic computer component to perform the abstract idea and/or restrict the abstract idea to a specific technological environment. Therefore, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible. Although the Claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the Claims.
MPEP 2106.05(a) recites:
After the examiner has consulted the specification and determined that the disclosed invention improves technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology … the claim must include the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification
…
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below.
Applicant fails to show how any alleged technical improvement would be provided by anything more than the judicial exception on its own. Additionally, applicant fails to show how the claim includes components or steps that would provide the alleged improvement described in the specification. The independent Claim fails to recite any details as to how implementing the training or using the training improves the method for performing the abstract ideas. By MPEP 2106.05(f)(1), "the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome, i.e. the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished". The independent Claim is no more detailed than a method to find an optimal algorithm for processing by using a trained neural network to identify an optimal algorithm (where using the trained neural network as claimed is not an improvement as it is merely applies the abstract idea to identify the optimal algorithm which is not a technical solution to a technical problem. Moreover, the examiner maintains that the Claim does not impose any meaningful limits on the judicial exception. As noted in the rejection, the Claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to an integration of the identified abstract idea into a practical application, thus the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, for the reasons given above and in the updated rejections below, the rejection to all Claims (including Claim 1 and all dependent Claims) are maintained and updated as necessitated by Claim amendments. More specific details are discussed below within the 35 USC § 101 Rejections.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. §102 Rejections:
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejections of the previous office action have been fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejections (Page 6-8), as the amended claims are not anticipated by Chien. Chien fails to recite all elements of the amended independent claim and there Claim 1 is not anticipated by Chien. Thus, Claims 2-3 and 5-6 should also now also have their rejections withdrawn due to dependency as Claim 1 is not anticipated by Chien.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted in the Office Action, Chien teaches the amended limitations of processing … and … based on at least the initial information … and can be seen within Figure 18 and further details discussed within the Office Action. More specific details are discussed below within the 35 USC § 102 Rejections.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. §103 Rejections:
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections of the previous office action have been fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant traverses the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections (Page 8-11), as the amended claims at least contain one limitation that is not disclosed in the cited art of records. Chien fails to recite all elements of the independent claim as amended; thus, Claim 4 should also now have their rejection withdrawn due to dependency.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Chien teaches all limitations explicitly within Claim 1. Applicant’s arguments regarding the other independent and dependent claims rely upon the same assertions as with respect to Claim 1, and are thus likewise unpersuasive. Therefore, for the reasons given above and in the updated rejections below, the rejection to all Claims (including Claim 1 and all dependent Claims) are maintained and updated as necessitated by Claim amendments. More specific details are discussed below within the 35 USC § 103 Rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4 recites the term ‘continuing’ within the limitation “and if not, continuing with presented the element to a classified algorithm …” without ever noting presenting an element previously. Please also note that currently the limitation also contains grammatical errors (“continuing with presented the element to a classified algorithm …”). For the purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting the limitation as “and if not, continuing with processing the element to a classified algorithm …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 1 recites a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 1 further recites the process comprising of:
… determining initial information relating to an initial environment and/or condition associated with the received input data (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to determine initial information relating to a specific environment and/or condition associated with the received input data)
… classifying the received input data as valid or invalid … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to classify received input data as valid or invalid)
… identifying, based on at least the initial information, an optimal algorithm to be used for further processing of the element (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to identify an optimal algorithm for further processing based on initial information)
Claim 1 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recited consists of:
A method of controlling selection of algorithms used by computer-controlled processing systems, comprising: (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
receiving input data related to an element designated for processing under control of a computer-controlled processing system algorithm (which is insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering, by MPEP 2106.05(g))
… processing the received input data, wherein the processing comprises (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
using a trained neural network … where if invalid preventing any further processing of the element, otherwise … (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements recited, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Additional element a is only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Additional element b falls within MPEP 2106.05(d) as well-understood, routine and conventional activities of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II): buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). Additional elements c and d are merely applying the abstract idea on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 2:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 2 recites the method of Claim 1. Claim 1 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 2 further recites the method comprising of … identifying an algorithm best suited for the ascertained working condition data for further processing of the element (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to identify an algorithm best suited for the working condition data). Claim 2 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recited consists of:
wherein the computer-controlled processing system utilizes a plurality of different algorithms, each algorithm associated with a defined working condition, the method including the additional steps of: (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
if the received input data is valid, using the trained neural network to ascertain working condition data from the received input data (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements recited, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Additional element a is only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Additional element b is merely applying the abstract idea on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 3:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 3 recites the method of Claim 1. Claim 1 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 3 further recites the method comprising of … identifying an algorithm associated with the classified product type for use in further processing (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to identify an algorithm with the classified product type). Claim 3 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recited consists of:
wherein the computer-controlled processing system utilizes a plurality of different algorithms, each algorithm for performing a specific task on a specific product type, the method including the steps of: (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
if the received input data is valid, using the trained neural network to classify the received input data with respect to the specific product type; and (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements recited, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Additional element a is only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Additional element b is merely applying the abstract idea on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 4:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 4 recites the method of Claim 1. Claim 1 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 4 further recites the process comprising of:
if the trained neutral network evaluation finds the received input data to be a valid presentation of the product, performing additional NN-based evaluation to classify the received data with respect to specific product type (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to perform a NN-based evaluation to classify the received data in a specific manner)
performing additional NN-based evaluation to determine if there is more than one algorithm associated with a classified process associated with the specific product type … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to perform an NN-based evaluation to determine if there is more than one algorithm associated with a specific process with a specific product type)
if the NN-based evaluation determines the existence of multiple algorithms for the classified process, performing additional NN-based evaluation to ascertain an optimum algorithm to be used for further processing of the element (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to perform a NN-based evaluation to confirm an optimum algorithm)
Claim 4 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recited consists of:
wherein the computer-controlled processing system includes a plurality of different classifications of processes and at least one algorithm associated with each classification, where at least one classification further comprises individual algorithms for use with different initial states of a product, the method including the steps of: (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
… and if not, continuing with presented the element to a classified algorithm associated with the classified process (which is insignificant extra-solution activity of data display or output, by MPEP 2106.05(g))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements recited, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Additional element a is only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Additional element b falls within MPEP 2106.05(d) as well-understood, routine and conventional activities of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II): buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 5:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 5 recites the method of Claim 1. Claim 1 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 5 does not recite any additional abstract ideas and only inherits the abstract ideas from Claim 1. Claim 5 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the new sole additional element recited consists of wherein the computer-controlled processing systems includes at least one computer-controlled vision system (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the new sole additional element recited, alone or in combination, does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional element is only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 6:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 6 recites the method of Claim 5. Claim 5 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 6 does not recite any additional abstract ideas and only inherits the abstract ideas from Claim 5. Claim 6 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the new sole additional element recited consists of wherein the received input data includes image data (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the new sole additional element recited, alone or in combination, does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The additional element is only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chien et al., “Application of image recognition in workpiece classification”.
Regarding Claim 1:
Chien teaches:
A method of controlling selection of algorithms used by computer-controlled processing systems, comprising:
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 18. Figure 18 shows a flowchart of the entire process (interpreted as a method by the examiner) for controlling the robotic arm (computer-controlled processing system) based on image recognition).
receiving input data related to an element designated for processing under control of a computer-controlled processing system algorithm;
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 18: ‘Camera capture image’. Figure 18: ‘Camera capture image’ is the system receiving input data (image data) to process for image recognition and determining how the robotic arm will handle the data received; thus, receiving input data related to an element designated for processing under control of a computer-controlled processing system algorithm).
processing the received input data, wherein the processing comprises determining initial information relating to an initial environment and/or condition associated with the received input data;
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 18: ‘Image numeralization’. Figure 18: ‘Image numeralization’ is the system processing the received input data (image data) for image recognition and determining how the robotic arm will handle the data received; thus, the image numeralization is when the system identifies the initial information relating to the image in terms of the chess board/environment to recognize the chess image).
using a trained neural network, classifying the received input data as valid or invalid, where if invalid preventing any further processing of the element, otherwise,
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized’; Page 5, Figure 6. Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized’ shows using a trained neural network to classify the received input data to verify the validity of recognizing the element (which is a chess board within this experiment) in the image (valid = recognition rate higher than 95%; invalid = recognition rate lower than 95% ); thus, the trained neural network (VGGNet shown in Figure 6 that utilizes a CNN) is used to classify the received input data as either valid or invalid and if invalid… not processing as the flow chart depicts going back to image capturing as the current input image data does not pass the validity threshold (which is interpreted by the examiner as preventing any further processing of the element)).
using the trained neural network, based on at least the initial information, identifying an optimal algorithm to be used for further processing of the element.
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized -> Send a signal to Arduino Uno’; Page 8, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “When the recognition rate is higher than 95%, the computer transfers the recognition result to the Arduino Uno board through a serial port. Then, it controls the robotic arm move to a specific location … To ensure that the robotic arm moves to the specified position stably, each of the designated positioning programs is equipped with a delay to ensure that the arm moves to the correct position”. Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized -> Send a signal to Arduino Uno’ shows using the trained neural network to classify the image data as valid or invalid and then passing a signal the Arduino Uno Board to process the signal and control the robotic arm stably and placing the arm in the correct position based on the signal received; thus, the Arduino Uno Board is identifying an optimal algorithm to be used for further processing of the element based on the received signal from the VGGNet model (Figure 6) for the robotic arms specific (target) location (where the DH model and kinematics are used to optimize the algorithm of moving the robot arm to the specific location without errors)).
Regarding Claim 2:
Chien teaches the method of Claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the computer-controlled processing system utilizes a plurality of different algorithms, each algorithm associated with a defined working condition, the method including the additional steps of:
if the received input data is valid, using the trained neural network to ascertain working condition data from the received input data; and
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized’; Page 3, Figure 2 & 3; Page 4, Figure 4. Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized’ shows the capture image being considered valid when the recognition rate is higher than 95%. The trained neural network (VGGNet) utilizes a CNN with a convolutional layer + pooling layer (shown in Figures 2 and 3, respectively) to extract object features from the image and process through the FC layer (fully connected layer shown in Figure 4). The examiner interprets working condition data as information on worker activities; where the robot is interpreted as the worker and the images with different chess board placements are the different environments/conditions where actions/activities can take place; thus, the parsing of image elements for image recognition is ascertaining working condition data from the received input data (image data)).
identifying an algorithm best suited for the ascertained working condition data for further processing of the element.
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized -> Send a signal to Arduino Uno’; Page 8, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “When the recognition rate is higher than 95%, the computer transfers the recognition result to the Arduino Uno board through a serial port. Then, it controls the robotic arm move to a specific location … To ensure that the robotic arm moves to the specified position stably, each of the designated positioning programs is equipped with a delay to ensure that the arm moves to the correct position”. Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized -> Send a signal to Arduino Uno’ shows using the trained neural network to classify the image data as valid or invalid and then passing a signal the Arduino Uno Board to process the signal and control the robotic arm stably and placing the arm in the correct position based on the signal received; thus, the Arduino Uno Board is identifying an algorithm best suited for the ascertained working condition data for further processing of the element as the input data contains features of the captured image from the VGGNet convolutional layer of the chess board’s working condition data).
Regarding Claim 3:
Chien teaches the method of Claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the computer-controlled processing system utilizes a plurality of different algorithms, each algorithm for performing a specific task on a specific product type, the method including the steps of:
if the received input data is valid, using the trained neural network to classify the received input data with respect to the specific product type; and
(Chien, Page 5, Column 1, Paragraph 3, “First, we place each chess on a different background and at a different position to capture images … we classify the captured images to place the chess with the same font into the same code and sort in the folder. Finally, we have 14 varieties of chess pawns and approximately 14,000 images … OpenCV library for image processing of chess characters, and CNN model training … recognition rate after the test is corrected until the recognition rate reaches a stable level”. The image recognition system captures images of the chessboard which contains a chess pattern of chess pieces (received input data). The image recognition system classifies the captured objects (received input data) and classifies if valid (for example: labeling a chess character as knight within a specific layout; thus, with respect to the specific product type (where the chess piece/pawn/character is the specific product type)).
identifying an algorithm associated with the classified product type for use in further processing.
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 18: ‘Chess image recognized -> Send a signal to Arduino Uno’; Page 8, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “When the recognition rate is higher than 95%, the computer transfers the recognition result to the Arduino Uno board through a serial port. Then, it controls the robotic arm move to a specific location … To ensure that the robotic arm moves to the specified position stably, each of the designated positioning programs is equipped with a delay to ensure that the arm moves to the correct position”. The Arduino Uno Board receives a signal from VGGNet and identifies an algorithm with the classified product type for further processing as the input data contains features of the captured image from the VGGNet convolutional layer which is classified with a chess piece label where the board is able to process the action based off the signal).
Regarding Claim 5:
Chien teaches the method of Claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the computer-controlled processing systems includes at least one computer-controlled vision system.
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 17).
Regarding Claim 6:
Chien teaches the method of Claim 5 and further teaches:
wherein the received input data includes image data.
(Chien, Page 8, Figure 17; Page 8, Figure 18: ‘Camera capture image’; Page 7, Column 2, Paragraph 5, “Image recognition. When the CNN model is established, the captured image can be input into the CNN model, and the chess image is recognizable”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chien et al., “Application of image recognition in workpiece classification” in view of Maharaj et al., “Chess AI: Competing Paradigms for Machine Intelligence”.
Regarding Claim 4:
Chien teaches the method of Claim 1. Chien fails to explicitly disclose different initial states of a product, performing additional NN-based evaluations, and multiple algorithms.
However, Maharaj teaches:
wherein the computer-controlled processing system includes a plurality of different classifications of processes and at least one algorithm associated with each classification, where at least one classification further comprises individual algorithms for use with different initial states of a product, the method including the steps of:
(Maharaj, Page 3, Paragraph 4, “The optimal sequential decision problem is solved by calculating the values of the Q-matrix, denoted by Q(s, a) for state s and action a … The Q-value matrix describes the value of performing action a (a chess move) in our current state s (the chess board position) and then acting optimally henceforth. The current optimal value and policy function are as follows
”; Pages 6-7, Tables 1-3. The Q-value matrix is used to describe different initial states to predict the most optimal value based in consideration of the policy and can be seen ).
if the trained neutral network evaluation finds the received input data to be a valid presentation of the product, performing additional NN-based evaluation to classify the received data with respect to a specific product type;
(Maharaj, Page 4, Paragraph 10, “… a heuristic evaluation function is applied to determine whether the ending position favours White or Black …The efficiently updatable neural network (NNUE) evaluation function was originally invented by [25] for Shogi, a Japanese chess variant. Stockfish implemented it for their chess engine in version 12 [26]. … Its architecture comprises a shallow, four-layer neural network specifically optimized for speed on CPU machines”. Maharaj utilizes the Stockfish 14 engine which includes an NNUE (efficiently updatable neural network) to perform additional NN-based evaluations to determine optimal positions/target locations with respect to a specific product type (specific chess pieces within the chess board being evaluated for optimal sequencing)).
performing additional NN-based evaluation to determine if there is more than one algorithm associated with a classified process associated with the specific product type, and if not, continuing with presented the element to a classified algorithm associated with the classified process; and
(Maharaj, Page 4, Paragraph 5, “Stockfish uses the alpha-beta pruning search algorithm … avoiding variations that will never be reached in optimal play because either player will redirect the game. Since it is often computationally infeasible to search until the end of the game, the search is terminated early when it reaches a certain depth. … Stockfish incrementally increases the depth of its search tree in a process known as iterative deepening [20] …”. Stockfish uses a search algorithm to find if there are more than one algorithm associated with a classified process (specific chess piece (interpreted by the examiner as specific product type) placements within a chess board environment) associated with the specific product types available for moving. Thus, if nothing (based on the specific product types) is more optimal than what has been searched so far (due to policy thresholds/constraints) then the engine presents the target location to the device for moving the specific piece (which is interpreted by the examiner as continuing with processing (please review the 112b rejection for further details of the current interpretation by the examiner) the element to a classified algorithm)).
if the NN-based evaluation determines the existence of multiple algorithms for the classified process, performing additional NN-based evaluation to ascertain an optimum algorithm to be used for further processing of the element.
(Maharaj, Page 4, Paragraph 5, “Stockfish uses the alpha-beta pruning search algorithm … avoiding variations that will never be reached in optimal play because either player will redirect the game. Since it is often computationally infeasible to search until the end of the game, the search is terminated early when it reaches a certain depth. … Stockfish incrementally increases the depth of its search tree in a process known as iterative deepening [20] …”. Stockfish uses a search algorithm to find variations and optimal play for the device. The search is always done to ascertain an optimum algorithm (within the policy threshold/constraints) and if a more optimal algorithm is found… the device utilizes the most optimal play for further processing of the element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Chien’s methodology of controlling the selection of algorithms via image recognition by utilizing a validity threshold with Maharaj’s explicit states/actions using Stockfish to perform further neural network based evaluations to determine optimal algorithms for further processing. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement this change before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as this leads to optimizing algorithms based on calculations, states, actions, sequences, safety, and further performs evaluations instead of hardcoding location maps (Maharaj, Page 10, Paragraph 1, “Stockfish and LCZero represent two competing paradigms in the race to build the best chess engine. The magic of the Stockfish engine is programmed into its search, the magic of LCZero into its evaluation. When tasked with solving Plaskett’s Puzzle, Stockfish’s approach proved superior … After annotating 40 games between Stockfish and LCZero, FIDE Chess Master Bill Jordan concluded that “Stockfish represents calculation” … safest approach to engine-building may still involve cold, hard calculation, even in seemingly unpromising variations … For end users, our work implies that Stockfish may currently be the better tool for studying deep puzzles”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/I.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122