CONTINUED EXAMINATION UNDER 37 CFR 1.114
DETAIL OFFICE ACTIONS
The United States Patent & Trademark Office appreciates the response filed for the current application that is submitted on 06/16/2025. The United States Patent & Trademark Office reviewed the following documents submitted and has made the following comments below.
Amendment
Applicant submitted amendments on 06/16/2025. The Examiner acknowledges the amendment and has reviewed the claims accordingly.
Applicant Arguments:
Applicant/s state/s that the cited prior arts do not teach the amended claims, specially, the limitation “clustering groups of keypoint persons in the video frames using contrastive learning and passing the clustering groups through multi-scale prediction, the scales including different granularities of the video frames”; therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be withdrawn.
Examiner’s Responses:
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see Remarks, filed 06/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration of amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of
Li et al. (Li, Shuaicheng, et al. "Groupformer: Group activity recognition with clustered spatial-temporal transformer." IEEE, published 08/28/2021, hereinafter, Li) in view of
Braso et al. (Brasó, Guillem et al. "The center of attention: Center-keypoint grouping via attention for multi-person pose estimation." IEEE, published 10/11/2021, hereinafter, Braso), in view of
Wang et al. (Wang, Wenhai, et al. "Pyramid vision transformer: A versatile backbone for dense prediction without convolutions." IEEE, published 08/11/2021, hereinafter, Wang), in view of
Li-Yunfan et al. (Li-Yunfan, et al. "Contrastive clustering." Proceedings of the AAAI conference on artificial intelligence, published 05/18/2021, hereinafter, Li-Yunfan)
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see Remarks, filed 06/16/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 5, 12 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Status
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 USC § 103 over Li in view of Braso, in view of Wang, in view of Li-Yunfan.
Claims 5-7, 12-14 and 19-20 are objected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-11 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Li et al. (Li, Shuaicheng, et al. "Groupformer: Group activity recognition with clustered spatial-temporal transformer." IEEE, published 08/28/2021, hereinafter, Li) in view of
Braso et al. (Brasó, Guillem et al. "The center of attention: Center-keypoint grouping via attention for multi-person pose estimation." IEEE, published 10/11/2021, hereinafter, Braso), in view of
Wang et al. (Wang, Wenhai, et al. "Pyramid vision transformer: A versatile backbone for dense prediction without convolutions." IEEE, published 08/11/2021, hereinafter, Wang), in view of
Li-Yunfan et al. (Li-Yunfan, et al. "Contrastive clustering." Proceedings of the AAAI conference on artificial intelligence, published 05/18/2021, hereinafter, Li-Yunfan)
CLAIM 1
In regards to Claim 1, Li teaches a method for compositional reasoning of group activity (Li, Abstract: “To address these issues, we propose a novel group activity recognition network termed GroupFormer.”; Figure 4) in videos with keypoint-only modality (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1: “In addition, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features”), the method comprising: obtaining video frames from a video stream received from a plurality of video image capturing devices (Li, Page 13653, section 4.1 Datasets: “Volleyball Dataset. This dataset [25] contains 55 volleyball videos with 4,830 labeled frames (3493/1337 for training/testing)… Collective Activity Dataset. This dataset [14] contains 2481 activity clips of 44 video sequences captured by handheld cameras in the street and indoor scenes.”); tokenizing the keypoint data (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2: “video frames can be summarized by a set of feature vectors called visual tokens.”) with time (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2: “For scene feature Xg, we view the time dimension as batch dimension”) and segment information (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1 and 3.2: “, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features…For aligned individual features X0 I, we feed a learned query shaped as T × D and individual features into a decoder to generate an individual token” The Examiner notes features of each person, which reads on segmentation information, in image frame is obtained and later tokenized); clustering groups of keypoint persons in the video frames (Li, Page 13649, right col, second paragraph: “A clustered attention mechanism is introduced to assign individuals into groups and build inter- and intragroup relations to enrich the global activity context.”;
see sub-image of Figure 2, below)
and performing a prediction to provide a group activity prediction of a scene in the video frames. (Li, Page 13652, left col, section Group Decoder: “It takes the enhanced individual representation XI and group representation XG as input. Motivated by the learned object query proposed by [10], we adopt group representation, termed as group query, to perform group activity context augmenting from individual representation termed as key. Thus, the group query summarize the overall context from augmented individual representation, and group activity prediction is realized by the updated group query.”; Figure 4)
Li does not explicitly teach extracting keypoints all of persons detected in the video frames to define keypoint data
Braso is in the same field of art of tracking human activity. Further, Braso teaches extracting keypoints all of persons detected in the video frames to define keypoint data (Braso, Page 2, right col, section Bottom-up methods and One-shot methods; Section 5.2. Keypoint and Center Detection: “We follow HigherHRNet to obtain identity-agnostic keypoint proposals for each of J joint types being considered. HigherHRNet uses an HRNet backbone, followed by two keypoint prediction heads that regress heatmaps at 1/4 and 1/2 of the original image scale for every joint type”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li by incorporating the method of extract keypoints and feed them to a vision transformer for contextual information that is taught by Braso, to make a group activity recognition method that can obtain contextual information from keypoints; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Braso’s method help improving accuracy, speed and efficiency of the task detection (Braso, Page 12, left col, third paragraph: “Regarding performance, we note that the increase in accuracy .... Overall, it outperforms the current state-of-theart method…and being 2.5x faster, which confirms CenterGroup’s increased efficiency”).
The combination of Li and Braso does not explicitly disclose passing the clustering groups through multi-scale prediction, the scales including different granularities of the video frames.
Wang is in the same field of art of image prediction using vision transformer. Further, Wang teaches passing the clustering groups through multi-scale prediction (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2: “Our goal is to introduce the pyramid structure into the Transformer framework, so that it can generate multi-scale feature maps for dense prediction tasks (e.g., object detection and semantic segmentation)”, FIG. 3), the scales including different granularities of the video frames. (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2, FIG. 3, section 5.5, Pyramid Structure: “our model can process high-resolution feature maps in shallow stages and low-resolution feature maps in deep stages”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li and Braso by incorporating multiscale prediction that is taught by Wang, to make a group activity recognition method that can process features in multiple scales; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since said combination improve the performance of the system (Wang, Page 2, right col, last paragraph: “our PVT with different parameter scales can consistently archived improved performance compared to the prior arts”).
The combination of Li, Braso and Wang does not explicitly disclose clustering using contrastive learning.
Li-Yunfan is in the same field of art of data clustering in computer vision. Further, Li-Yunfan teaches clustering using contrastive learning. (Li-Yunfan, Sections Instance-level Contrastive Head, Cluster-level Contrastive Head and Objective Function. The Examiner summarizes Li-Yunfan’s teaching: combining the losses of instance-level and cluster-level contrastive head to improve clustering:
Instance-level contrastive learning: focus on learning better representations by pulling augmented views of same data point closer and pushing different data points apart.
Cluster-level contrastive learning: Improving global structure by ensuring data points in same clusters remain close, while different clusters are well-separated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li, Braso and Wang by incorporating the clustering framework that is taught by Li-Yunfan, to make a group activity recognition method with an exceptional clustering framework; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Li-Yunfan’s method improve performance of the task clustering, which consequently benefits many other tasks in computer vision such as pattern recognition, data preprocessing, etc (Li-Yunfan, Abstract: “CC achieves … an up to 19% (39%) performance improvement compared with the best baseline”; Page 7, section Broader Impact).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIM 2
In regards to Claim 2, The combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the method of claim 1. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches tokenizing includes defining a person keypoint token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1: “In addition, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features”), a person token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, red underline), a person-to-person interaction token (Li, Page 5, left col, Group Decoder: “Summarizing individuals’ interactions in a multi-person scenario is critical to group activity inferring”; See Figure 4 (c) below, whiteline represent interactions between individuals in a cluster), a group token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, blue underline), a classification (CLS) token (Li, See Figure 4 (c) below, “moving”, “setting”, “waiting”, “standing” are task-related representative
information of a group),
and an object keypoint token. (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, green underline)
CLAIM 3
In regards to Claim 3, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the method of claim 2. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the tokens are fed into a multiscale transformer (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2: “Our goal is to introduce the pyramid structure into the Transformer framework, so that it can generate multi-scale feature maps for dense prediction tasks (e.g., object detection and semantic segmentation)”, FIG. 3) to perform relational reasoning (Li, Page 13648, Introduction: “The intuitive tactic to recognize group activity is to model relevant relations between individuals and infer their collective activity”) with four transformer encoders. (Wang, Figure 3, with annotation, four encoders are circled
red, see below).
CLAIM 4
In regards to Claim 4, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the method of claim 3. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches each of the four transformer encoders represents a scale (Wang, Figure 3, green circles, see above) to provide attention-based reasoning (Wang, Page 4, section 3.3: “The Transformer encoder in the stage i has Li encoder layers, each of which is composed of an attention layer and a feed-forward layer [64].”; Figure 4) over the tokens at each scale. (Wang, Figure 3, green circles, see figure in rejection of claim 3)
CLAIM 8
In regards to Claim 8, Li teaches a method for compositional reasoning of group activity (Li, Abstract: “To address these issues, we propose a novel group activity recognition network termed GroupFormer.”; Figure 4) in videos with keypoint-only modality (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1: “In addition, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features”), the method comprising: obtaining video frames from a video stream received from a plurality of video image capturing devices (Li, Page 13653, section 4.1 Datasets: “Volleyball Dataset. This dataset [25] contains 55 volleyball videos with 4,830 labeled frames (3493/1337 for training/testing)… Collective Activity Dataset. This dataset [14] contains 2481 activity clips of 44 video sequences captured by handheld cameras in the street and indoor scenes.”); tokenizing the keypoint data (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2: “video frames can be summarized by a set of feature vectors called visual tokens.”) with time (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2: “For scene feature Xg, we view the time dimension as batch dimension”) and segment information (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1 and 3.2: “, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features…For aligned individual features X0 I, we feed a learned query shaped as T × D and individual features into a decoder to generate an individual token” The Examiner notes features of each person, which reads on segmentation information, in image frame is obtained and later tokenized); clustering groups of keypoint persons in the video frames (Li, Page 13649, right col, second paragraph: “A clustered attention mechanism is introduced to assign individuals into groups and build inter- and intragroup relations to enrich the global activity context.”;
see sub-image of Figure 2, below)
and performing a prediction to provide a group activity prediction of a scene in the video frames. (Li, Page 13652, left col, section Group Decoder: “It takes the enhanced individual representation XI and group representation XG as input. Motivated by the learned object query proposed by [10], we adopt group representation, termed as group query, to perform group activity context augmenting from individual representation termed as key. Thus, the group query summarize the overall context from augmented individual representation, and group activity prediction is realized by the updated group query.”; Figure 4)
Li does not explicitly teach extracting keypoints all of persons detected in the video frames to define keypoint data
Braso is in the same field of art of tracking human activity. Further, Braso teaches extracting keypoints all of persons detected in the video frames to define keypoint data (Braso, Page 2, right col, section Bottom-up methods and One-shot methods; Section 5.2. Keypoint and Center Detection: “We follow HigherHRNet to obtain identity-agnostic keypoint proposals for each of J joint types being considered. HigherHRNet uses an HRNet backbone, followed by two keypoint prediction heads that regress heatmaps at 1/4 and 1/2 of the original image scale for every joint type”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li by incorporating the method of extract keypoints and feed them to a vision transformer for contextual information that is taught by Braso, to make a group activity recognition method that can obtain contextual information from keypoints; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Braso’s method help improving accuracy, speed and efficiency of the task detection (Braso, Page 12, left col, third paragraph: “Regarding performance, we note that the increase in accuracy .... Overall, it outperforms the current state-of-theart method…and being 2.5x faster, which confirms CenterGroup’s increased efficiency”).
The combination of Li and Braso does not explicitly disclose passing the clustering groups through multi-scale prediction, the scales including different granularities of the video frames.
Wang is in the same field of art of image prediction using vision transformer. Further, Wang teaches passing the clustering groups through multi-scale prediction (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2: “Our goal is to introduce the pyramid structure into the Transformer framework, so that it can generate multi-scale feature maps for dense prediction tasks (e.g., object detection and semantic segmentation)”, FIG. 3), the scales including different granularities of the video frames. (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2, FIG. 3, section 5.5, Pyramid Structure: “our model can process high-resolution feature maps in shallow stages and low-resolution feature maps in deep stages”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li and Braso by incorporating multiscale prediction that is taught by Wang, to make a group activity recognition method that can process features in multiple scales; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since said combination improve the performance of the system (Wang, Page 2, right col, last paragraph: “our PVT with different parameter scales can consistently archived improved performance compared to the prior arts”).
The combination of Li, Braso and Wang does not explicitly disclose clustering using contrastive learning.
Li-Yunfan is in the same field of art of data clustering in computer vision. Further, Li-Yunfan teaches clustering using contrastive learning. (Li-Yunfan, Sections Instance-level Contrastive Head, Cluster-level Contrastive Head and Objective Function. The Examiner summarizes Li-Yunfan’s teaching: combining the losses of instance-level and cluster-level contrastive head to improve clustering:
Instance-level contrastive learning: focus on learning better representations by pulling augmented views of same data point closer and pushing different data points apart.
Cluster-level contrastive learning: Improving global structure by ensuring data points in same clusters remain close, while different clusters are well-separated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li, Braso and Wang by incorporating the clustering framework that is taught by Li-Yunfan, to make a group activity recognition method with an exceptional clustering framework; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Li-Yunfan’s method improve performance of the task clustering, which consequently benefits many other tasks in computer vision such as pattern recognition, data preprocessing, etc (Li-Yunfan, Abstract: “CC achieves … an up to 19% (39%) performance improvement compared with the best baseline”; Page 7, section Broader Impact).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIM 9
In regards to Claim 9, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the medium of claim 8. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches tokenizing includes defining a person keypoint token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1: “In addition, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features”), a person token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, red underline), a person-to-person interaction token (Li, Page 5, left col, Group Decoder: “Summarizing individuals’ interactions in a multi-person scenario is critical to group activity inferring”; See Figure 4 (c) below, whiteline represent interactions between individuals in a cluster), a group token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, blue underline), a classification (CLS) token (Li, See Figure 4 (c) below, “moving”, “setting”, “waiting”, “standing” are task-related representative
information of a group),
and an object keypoint token. (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, green underline)
CLAIM 10
In regards to Claim 10, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the medium of claim 9. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the tokens are fed into a multiscale transformer (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2: “Our goal is to introduce the pyramid structure into the Transformer framework, so that it can generate multi-scale feature maps for dense prediction tasks (e.g., object detection and semantic segmentation)”, FIG. 3) to perform relational reasoning (Li, Page 13648, Introduction: “The intuitive tactic to recognize group activity is to model relevant relations between individuals and infer their collective activity”) with four transformer encoders. (Wang, Figure 3, with annotation, four encoders are circled red, see below).
CLAIM 11
In regards to Claim 11, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the medium of claim 10. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches each of the four transformer encoders represents a scale (Wang, Figure 3, green circles, see above) to provide attention-based reasoning (Wang, Page 4, section 3.3: “The Transformer encoder in the stage i has Li encoder layers, each of which is composed of an attention layer and a feed-forward layer [64].”; Figure 4) over the tokens at each scale. (Wang, Figure 3, green circles, see figure in rejection of claim 10)
CLAIM 15
In regards to Claim 15, Li teaches a system for compositional reasoning of group activity (Li, Abstract: “To address these issues, we propose a novel group activity recognition network termed GroupFormer.”; Figure 4) in videos with keypoint-only modality (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1: “In addition, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features”), the method comprising: obtaining video frames from a video stream received from a plurality of video image capturing devices (Li, Page 13653, section 4.1 Datasets: “Volleyball Dataset. This dataset [25] contains 55 volleyball videos with 4,830 labeled frames (3493/1337 for training/testing)… Collective Activity Dataset. This dataset [14] contains 2481 activity clips of 44 video sequences captured by handheld cameras in the street and indoor scenes.”); tokenizing the keypoint data (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2: “video frames can be summarized by a set of feature vectors called visual tokens.”) with time (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2: “For scene feature Xg, we view the time dimension as batch dimension”) and segment information (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1 and 3.2: “, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features…For aligned individual features X0 I, we feed a learned query shaped as T × D and individual features into a decoder to generate an individual token” The Examiner notes features of each person, which reads on segmentation information, in image frame is obtained and later tokenized); clustering groups of keypoint persons in the video frames (Li, Page 13649, right col, second paragraph: “A clustered attention mechanism is introduced to assign individuals into groups and build inter- and intragroup relations to enrich the global activity context.”;
see sub-image of Figure 2, below)
and performing a prediction to provide a group activity prediction of a scene in the video frames. (Li, Page 13652, left col, section Group Decoder: “It takes the enhanced individual representation XI and group representation XG as input. Motivated by the learned object query proposed by [10], we adopt group representation, termed as group query, to perform group activity context augmenting from individual representation termed as key. Thus, the group query summarize the overall context from augmented individual representation, and group activity prediction is realized by the updated group query.”; Figure 4)
Li does not explicitly teach extracting keypoints all of persons detected in the video frames to define keypoint data
Braso is in the same field of art of tracking human activity. Further, Braso teaches extracting keypoints all of persons detected in the video frames to define keypoint data (Braso, Page 2, right col, section Bottom-up methods and One-shot methods; Section 5.2. Keypoint and Center Detection: “We follow HigherHRNet to obtain identity-agnostic keypoint proposals for each of J joint types being considered. HigherHRNet uses an HRNet backbone, followed by two keypoint prediction heads that regress heatmaps at 1/4 and 1/2 of the original image scale for every joint type”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li by incorporating the method of extract keypoints and feed them to a vision transformer for contextual information that is taught by Braso, to make a group activity recognition method that can obtain contextual information from keypoints; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Braso’s method help improving accuracy, speed and efficiency of the task detection (Braso, Page 12, left col, third paragraph: “Regarding performance, we note that the increase in accuracy .... Overall, it outperforms the current state-of-theart method…and being 2.5x faster, which confirms CenterGroup’s increased efficiency”).
The combination of Li and Braso does not explicitly disclose passing the clustering groups through multi-scale prediction, the scales including different granularities of the video frames.
Wang is in the same field of art of image prediction using vision transformer. Further, Wang teaches passing the clustering groups through multi-scale prediction (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2: “Our goal is to introduce the pyramid structure into the Transformer framework, so that it can generate multi-scale feature maps for dense prediction tasks (e.g., object detection and semantic segmentation)”, FIG. 3), the scales including different granularities of the video frames. (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2, FIG. 3, section 5.5, Pyramid Structure: “our model can process high-resolution feature maps in shallow stages and low-resolution feature maps in deep stages”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li and Braso by incorporating multiscale prediction that is taught by Wang, to make a group activity recognition method that can process features in multiple scales; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since said combination improve the performance of the system (Wang, Page 2, right col, last paragraph: “our PVT with different parameter scales can consistently archived improved performance compared to the prior arts”).
The combination of Li, Braso and Wang does not explicitly disclose clustering using contrastive learning.
Li-Yunfan is in the same field of art of data clustering in computer vision. Further, Li-Yunfan teaches clustering using contrastive learning. (Li-Yunfan, Sections Instance-level Contrastive Head, Cluster-level Contrastive Head and Objective Function. The Examiner summarizes Li-Yunfan’s teaching: combining the losses of instance-level and cluster-level contrastive head to improve clustering:
Instance-level contrastive learning: focus on learning better representations by pulling augmented views of same data point closer and pushing different data points apart.
Cluster-level contrastive learning: Improving global structure by ensuring data points in same clusters remain close, while different clusters are well-separated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li, Braso and Wang by incorporating the clustering framework that is taught by Li-Yunfan, to make a group activity recognition method with an exceptional clustering framework; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would be motivated to combine the references since Li-Yunfan’s method improve performance of the task clustering, which consequently benefits many other tasks in computer vision such as pattern recognition, data preprocessing, etc (Li-Yunfan, Abstract: “CC achieves … an up to 19% (39%) performance improvement compared with the best baseline”; Page 7, section Broader Impact).
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIM 16
In regards to Claim 16, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the system of claim 15. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches tokenizing includes defining a person keypoint token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.1: “In addition, the pose information of each actor is obtained by AlphaPose [19] and concatenated with the above individual features to provide the final individual features”), a person token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, red underline), a person-to-person interaction token (Li, Page 5, left col, Group Decoder: “Summarizing individuals’ interactions in a multi-person scenario is critical to group activity inferring”; See Figure 4 (c) below, whiteline represent interactions between individuals in a cluster), a group token (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, blue underline), a classification (CLS) token (Li, See Figure 4 (c) below, “moving”, “setting”, “waiting”, “standing” are task-related representative
information of a group),
and an object keypoint token. (Li, Page 13651, section 3.2, see reconstructed text below, green underline)
CLAIM 17
In regards to Claim 17, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the system of claim 16. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the tokens are fed into a multiscale transformer (Wang, section 3.1 and 3.2: “Our goal is to introduce the pyramid structure into the Transformer framework, so that it can generate multi-scale feature maps for dense prediction tasks (e.g., object detection and semantic segmentation)”, FIG. 3) to perform relational reasoning (Li, Page 13648, Introduction: “The intuitive tactic to recognize group activity is to model relevant relations between individuals and infer their collective activity”) with four transformer encoders. (Wang, Figure 3, with annotation, four encoders are circled
red, see below).
CLAIM 18
In regards to Claim 18, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches the system of claim 17. In addition, the combination of Li, Braso, Wang and Li-Yunfan teaches each of the four transformer encoders represents a scale (Wang, Figure 3, green circles, see above) to provide attention-based reasoning (Wang, Page 4, section 3.3: “The Transformer encoder in the stage i has Li encoder layers, each of which is composed of an attention layer and a feed-forward layer [64].”; Figure 4) over the tokens at each scale. (Wang, Figure 3, green circles, see figure in rejection of claim 17)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior arts for Claim 5, 12 and 19 are:
Wang et al. (Wang, Wenhai, et al. "Pyramid vision transformer: A versatile backbone for dense prediction without convolutions." IEEE, published 08/11/2021, hereinafter, Wang). Wang teaches a Pyramid Vision Transformer (PVT), which is a combination of the pyramid structure from CNNs and Vision Transformer, to be used as a versatile backbone for many computer vision tasks such as object detection (DET), instance and semantic segmentation (SEG).
Li-Yunfan et al. (Li-Yunfan, et al. "Contrastive clustering." Proceedings of the AAAI conference on artificial intelligence, published 05/18/2021, hereinafter, Li-Yunfan). Li-Yunfan teaches an online clustering method called Contrastive Clustering (CC) which explicitly performs the instance- and cluster-level contrastive learning. To be specific, for a given dataset, the positive and negative instance pairs are constructed through data augmentations and then projected into a feature space. Therein, the instance- and cluster-level contrastive learning are respectively conducted in the row and column space by maximizing the similarities of positive pairs while minimizing those of negative ones.
While both Wang and Li-Yunfan teach image analysis techniques for semantic segmentation and instance segmentation. Neither Wang, or Li-Yunfan, nor the combination teaches “a cluster assignment of each scale is predicted, by a swapped prediction component, from a representation of another scale to capture an agreement of common semantic information hidden across the scales.” (emphasis added)
Claims 6-7, 13-14 and 20 are also objected due to their dependence on objected claims 5, 12, and 19, respectively.
Conclusion
/NHUT HUY PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674