DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 17, and 20, the claim does not describe the dashed line in formula II. It is unclear what the dashed lines mean. The Office will interpret the dashed lines as where formula II attaches to the RA groups.
Claims 2-7, 11-14, 16, 18, and 19, are rejected due to the dependence of the claims on claims 1 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, 11-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xia et al. (US 9,831,447) (hereafter “Xia”).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-14, and 16-20, Xia teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a light emitting layer, and a cathode (column 4 lines 14-21 and lines 64-67). Xia teaches that the light emitting layer comprises a host material and a dopant (column 96 lines 39-59). Xia teaches that the host material can be
,
, and
are a few examples (columns 96-98). Xia teaches that the dopant is a metal complex which comprises the following formula I,
, and formula II
, where the metal can be Ir or Pt (columns 9-95). Xia teaches that ligands for the metal complex can be
,
,
, or
are a few examples of one the ligands and the other ligand can be
or
are a few examples (columns 9-95). Xia teaches that the electroluminescent device can be used in consumer products (column 4 lines 14-21).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-14, and 16-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,831,447. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of U.S. Patent No. 9,831,447 overlap in scope with the claims of the instant application. U.S. Patent No. 9,831,447 claims that the ligands of the metal complexes can have the following structure,
,
,
, or
are a few examples of one the ligands and the other ligand can be
or
. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the ligands that meet the limitations of the instant application to arrive at the applicant’s claimed invention. The claims of the instant application overlap in scope with the claims of U.S. Patent No. 9,831,447 and it would have been obvious to select the groups to arrive at the applicant’s claimed limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach or make obvious claimed formula I, where one of X1-X4 is N, or the applicant’s claimed ligands and compounds in claims 10 and 15. The closest prior art, Xia et al. (US 9,831,447) (hereafter “Xia”), teaches that the dopant is a metal complex which comprises the following formula I,
, and formula II
, where the metal can be Ir or Pt (columns 9-95). Xia teaches that ligands for the metal complex can be
,
,
, or
are a few examples of one the ligands and the other ligand can be
or
are a few examples (columns 9-95). The prior art fails to teach or make obvious modifying the compounds of Xia to arrive at the applicant’s claimed invention; therefore, claims 10 and 15 comprise allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art Boureault et al. (US 2019/0237683) teaches a formula that is similar to the applicant’s claimed formula I and formula II, but does not specifically teach a ligand that meets the applicant’s claimed formulas.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759