DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 06/23/2026, in which claims 1, 23 and 25 were amended, claims 4-10, 12-22 were withdrawn, has been entered.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application KR10-2021-0133740 filed on 10/08/2021. The foreign application is not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0133740 has been received.
Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority Date
To be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application KR10-2021-0133740 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2021-0133740 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The foreign application must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsui et al. (US Pub. 20100075563).
Regarding claim 1, Matsui et al. discloses in Fig. 18, Fig. 22, claims 7-10 a display device comprising:
a lower substrate [K2];
a display element [3] on the lower substrate [K2], the display element [3] configured to emit light [paragraph [0077]];
a pad [4b] including an adhesive material [thermosetting resin] and disposed on the lower substrate [K2] along a periphery of the lower substrate [K2], the pad [4b] comprising a first partial pad [4b2] and a second partial pad [4b1], wherein a portion of the first partial pad [4b2] overlaps a portion of the second partial pad [4b1] in a thickness direction on the lower substrate [K2][paragraph [0084], [0086], [0087]]; and
a cover glass [K1] on the pad [4b], the cover glass [K1] covering the lower substrate [K2] and the pad [4b][paragraph [0037]];
wherein the pad [4b] is between the lower substrate [K2] and the cover glass [K1] in across-sectional view of the display device, and
wherein the pad [4b] is in contact with the lower substrate [K2] and the cover glass [K1][claims 8-9].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al. (US Pub. 20100075563) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Xu (US Pub. 20180150161) and Sugiyama (US Pat. 10649277).
Regarding claims 2-3, and 11, Matsui et al. discloses in Fig. 18, Fig. 22
wherein the first partial pad [4b2] is on an upper portion of the lower substrate [K2] in a plan view of the display device,
wherein the second partial pad [4b1] is disposed on a first side portion of the lower substrate [K2] in the plan view,
wherein at least a portion of the first partial pad [4b2] overlaps at least a portion of the second partial pad [4b1].
Matsui et al. fails to disclose
the first partial pad including a first center portion and a first protruding portion that extends from the first center portion, wherein the first protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the first center portion,
the second partial pad including a second center portion and a second protruding portion that extends from the second center portion, wherein the second protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the second center portion, wherein at least a portion of the first protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the second protruding portion;
wherein the pad includes a concave area at one or more corners of the pad in the plan view;
the first partial pad comprising a first center portion, a first protruding portion protruding from the first center portion to a first side, and a second protruding portion protruding to a second side, the second partial pad in contact with the first protruding portion; and
a groove formed on the first protruding portion in a plan view of the display device.
Sugiyama discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 4A, Fig. 4D a frame shape structure is formed by a first partial structure and a second partial structure.
wherein the first partial structure including a first center portion and a first protruding portion that extends from the first center portion, wherein the first protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the first center portion,
wherein the second partial structure including a second center portion and a second protruding portion that extends from the second center portion, wherein the second protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the second center portion, and wherein at least a portion of the first protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the second protruding portion,
wherein the frame shape structure includes a concave area at one or more corners of the frame shape structure in the plan view;
the first partial structure comprising a first center portion, a first protruding portion protruding from the first center portion to a first side, and a second protruding portion protruding to a second side; and
a groove formed on the first protruding portion in a plan view of a device.
For further providing support for a suitable configuration of a frame shape structure, Xu is cited.
Xu discloses in Fig. 4 a frame shape structure is formed by a first partial structure and a second partial structure.
wherein the first partial structure [410] including a first center portion and a first protruding portion that extends from the first center portion, wherein the first protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the first center portion,
wherein the second partial structure [420 or 440] including a second center portion and a second protruding portion that extends from the second center portion, wherein the second protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the second center portion, and wherein at least a portion of the first protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the second protruding portion;
wherein the frame shape structure includes a concave area at one or more corners of the frame shape structure in the plan view;
the first partial structure comprising a first center portion, a first protruding portion protruding from the first center portion to a first side, and a second protruding portion protruding to a second side; and
a groove formed on the first protruding portion in a plan view of a device.
Matsui et al. discloses in Fig. 22, an edge of the second partial pad in contact with an edge of the first partial pad. Sugiyama and Xu suggest an edge of the first partial pad comprises the first protruding portion. Thus, the combination of Matsui et al., Sugiyama and Xu would result to “the second partial pad in contact with the first protruding portion.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sugiyama and Xu into the method of Matsui et al. to include the first partial pad including a first center portion and a first protruding portion that extends from the first center portion, wherein the first protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the first center portion, the second partial pad including a second center portion and a second protruding portion that extends from the second center portion, wherein the second protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the second center portion, wherein at least a portion of the first protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the second protruding portion; wherein the pad includes a concave area at one or more corners of the pad in the plan view; the first partial pad comprising a first center portion, a first protruding portion protruding from the first center portion to a first side, and a second protruding portion protruding to a second side, the second partial pad in contact with the first protruding portion; and a groove formed on the first protruding portion in a plan view of the display device. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Matsui et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of a partial pad/structure of a frame shaped pad/structure. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui et al. (US Pub. 20100075563) in view of Xu (US Pub. 20180150161) and Sugiyama (US Pat. 10649277).
Regarding claims 23-25, Matsui et al. discloses in Fig. 18, Fig. 22, claims 7-10 a display device comprising:
a lower substrate [K2];
a display element [3] on the lower substrate [K2], the display element [3] configured to emit light [paragraph [0077]];
a pad [4b] including an adhesive material [thermosetting resin] and disposed on the lower substrate [K2] along a periphery of the lower substrate [K2], the pad [4b] comprising a first partial pad [4b2] and a second partial pad [4b1], wherein a portion of the first partial pad [4b2] overlaps a portion of the second partial pad [4b1] in a thickness direction on the lower substrate [K2][paragraph [0084], [0086], [0087]]; and
a cover glass [K1] on the pad [4b], the cover glass [K1] covering the lower substrate [K2] and the pad [4b][paragraph [0037]];
wherein the pad [4b] is between the lower substrate [K2] and the cover glass [K1] in across-sectional view of the display device, and
wherein the pad [4b] is in contact with the lower substrate [K2] and the cover glass [K1][claims 8-9].
Matsui et al. fails to disclose
wherein an innermost outer edge of the first partial pad or an innermost outer edge of the second partial pad does not respectively extend past an outermost outer edge of the first partial pad or an outermost outer edge of the second partial pad in a plan view of the display device after compression of the lower substrate, the pad, and the cover glass;
wherein the first partial pad comprises a first center portion and a first protruding portion that extends from the first center portion, wherein the first protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the first center portion, wherein the second partial pad comprises a second center portion and a second protruding portion that extends from the second center portion, wherein the second protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the second center portion, and wherein at least a portion of the first protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the second protruding portion;
wherein the pad comprises a concave portion formed due to overlapping of the portion of the first protruding portion and the portion of the second protruding portion.
Sugiyama discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 4A, Fig. 4D a frame shape structure is formed by a first partial structure and a second partial structure.
wherein an innermost outer edge of the first partial structure or an innermost outer edge of the second partial structure does not respectively extend past an outermost outer edge of the first partial structure or an outermost outer edge of the second partial structure in a plan view;
wherein the first partial structure comprises a first center portion and a first protruding portion that extends from the first center portion, wherein the first protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the first center portion, wherein the second partial structure comprises a second center portion and a second protruding portion that extends from the second center portion, wherein the second protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the second center portion, and wherein at least a portion of the first protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the second protruding portion;
wherein the frame shape structure comprises a concave portion formed due to overlapping of the portion of the first protruding portion and the portion of the second protruding portion.
For further providing support for a suitable configuration of a frame shape structure, Xu is cited.
Xu discloses in Fig. 4 a frame shape structure is formed by a first partial structure and a second partial structure.
wherein the first partial structure [410] including a first center portion and a first protruding portion that extends from the first center portion, wherein the first protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the first center portion,
wherein the second partial structure [420 or 440] including a second center portion and a second protruding portion that extends from the second center portion, wherein the second protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the second center portion, and wherein at least a portion of the first protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the second protruding portion;
wherein the frame shape structure includes a concave area formed due to overlapping of the portion of the first protruding portion and the portion of the second protruding portion
Matsui et al. discloses the pad is a frame shaped structure. Matsui et al. further discloses no outer edge of the first partial pad or no outer edge of the second partial pad/structure extend past an outermost outer edge of the first/second partial structure in a plan view of the display device after compression of the lower substrate, the pad, and the cover glass. Sugiyama and Xu suggest outer edge of the first/second partial structure comprises an innermost outer edge and an outermost outer edge and an innermost outer edge of the first/second partial structure does not respectively extend past an outermost outer edge of the first/second partial structure in a plan view. Thus, the combination of Matsui et al., Sugiyama and Xu would result to “an innermost outer edge of the first partial pad or an innermost outer edge of the second partial pad does not respectively extend past an outermost outer edge of the first partial pad or an outermost outer edge of the second partial pad in a plan view of the display device after compression of the lower substrate, the pad, and the cover glass.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Sugiyama and Xu into the method of Matsui et al. to include wherein an innermost outer edge of the first partial pad or an innermost outer edge of the second partial pad does not respectively extend past an outermost outer edge of the first partial pad or an outermost outer edge of the second partial pad in a plan view of the display device after compression of the lower substrate, the pad, and the cover glass; wherein the first partial pad comprises a first center portion and a first protruding portion that extends from the first center portion, wherein the first protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the first center portion, wherein the second partial pad comprises a second center portion and a second protruding portion that extends from the second center portion, wherein the second protruding portion has a width that is less than a width of the second center portion, and wherein at least a portion of the first protruding portion overlaps at least a portion of the second protruding portion; wherein the pad comprises a concave portion formed due to the overlap overlapping of the portion of the first protruding portion and the portion of the second protruding portion. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Matsui et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of a partial pad/structure of a frame shaped pad/structure. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 11, 23-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Overall, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims stand rejected and the Action is made FINAL.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893