Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 15-18 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Ban et al. (US 20100078953 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ben at al. discloses a robotic end effector, comprising: a robotically actuated second gripper (21, see Fig. 1B); a robotically actuated first gripper (20, see Fig. 1A) comprising a first element (31) and second element (32) positioned opposite each other on either side of a central vertical axis of the robotic end effector (see Fig. 1B), wherein the robotically actuated second gripper positioned between the first element and the second element (see Fig. 1B); and a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism(50) configured to place the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation (see Fig. 1C) in which the first gripper is positioned for use or a second mode of operation (see Fig. 1A) in which the second gripper is positioned for use.
Regarding claim 2, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 1, wherein the robotically actuated second gripper (21) is robotically positioned in an inactive state (see Fig. 1C) when the robotic end effector is controlled to operate in the first mode (see Fig. 1C; the first mode of operation); and the robotically actuated second gripper is robotically positioned in an active state when is the end effector is controlled to operate in the second mode (see Fig. 1A; second mode of operation).
Regarding claim 3, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 1, wherein the placing the robotic end effector in the first mode exposes at least part of the robotically actuated first gripper for the robotically actuated first gripper to engage a first object (see Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 4, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 1, wherein the robotically actuated second gripper (21) is configured to grasp a tray or other receptacle (see Fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 5, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 1, wherein the robotically actuated first gripper (20) is configured to grasp a tray or other receptacle (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 6, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 1, wherein the robotic end effector is configured to be connected to a robotic arm (see Para. 0030); and the first element (31) and the second element (32) correspond to gripper arms configured to engage two or more sides of an object or a bottom of the object (see Fig. 1B and 1C).
Regarding claim 7, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 6, wherein placing the robotic end effector in the first mode comprises rotating (see Para. 0024) at least one of the gripper arms to a stowed state (see Fig. 1A), and the rotating the at least one of the gripper arms (31 or 32) exposes at least part of the robotically actuated first gripper to engage an object (see Fig. 1B and 1C).
Regarding claim 15, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 1, further comprising one or more structures (31 and 31 comprise concave surface; see Fig. 1A-1C) configured to engage an object or a cart, and to push or pull the object or the cart (see Fig. 1A; the suction gripper (22) pulling the workpiece (5)).
Regarding claim 16, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 15, wherein the one or more structures (31 and 32, concave structures) are disposed on the robotically actuated second gripper (21; see Fig. 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 17, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a lateral member (47) configured to be coupled to a robotic arm (see Para. 0030), wherein: the first element (31) is coupled to the lateral member (47) at a first distal end and (see Fig. 1A-1C) configured to engage mechanically with a first recess on a first side of an object (5) to be grasped (see Fig. 1A-1C); and the second element (32) is coupled to the lateral member (47) at a second distal end (See Fig. 1A-1C) opposite the first distal end and configured to engage mechanically with a second recess on a second side of the object (5) to be grasped (See Fig. 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 18, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 17, wherein the robotically actuated first gripper (20) is coupled to the lateral member (47) at a location between the first distal end and the second distal end (see Fig. 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 22, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 17, wherein: one or more of the first element (31) and the second element (32) is movable with respect to the lateral member (47); and the one or more of the first element (31) and the second element (32) is configured to move, via robotic control, between a deployed position (see Fig. 1A) corresponding to the second mode (See Fig. 1A) and a stowed position (see Fig. 1C) corresponding to the first mode (see Fig. 1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 10-12, 14, 28-29, 32-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban et al. (US 20100078953 A1) in view of Zevenbergen et al. (US 9205558 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 1.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the robotically actuated first gripper includes a plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms and one or more actuation mechanisms to apply suction to the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms.
However, Zevenbergen et al. teaches wherein the robotically actuated first gripper includes a plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms (404, 406, 408; see Fig. 4A) and one or more actuation mechanisms (140; see Col. 8, lines 10-15) to apply suction to the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms (see Col. 15, lines 15-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the robotically actuated first gripper includes a plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms and one or more actuation mechanisms to apply suction to the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to be able to activate suction cups to grip box (see Col. 15, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 10, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 9.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein a first subset of grasping mechanisms of the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms are configured to be controlled independently from a second subset of grasping mechanisms of the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms.
However, Zevenbergen teaches wherein a first subset of grasping mechanisms of the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms are configured to be controlled independently from a second subset of grasping mechanisms of the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms (see Col. 15, lines 15-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein a first subset of grasping mechanisms of the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms are configured to be controlled independently from a second subset of grasping mechanisms of the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to determine how to position the gripper and/or which suction cups to initially activate to grip box (see Col. 15, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 11, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 10.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the first subset of grasping mechanisms are controlled to grasp a first subset of one or more first objects, and the second subset of grasping mechanisms are controlled to grasp a second subset of the one or more first objects.
However, Zevenbergen teaches wherein the first subset of grasping mechanisms are controlled to grasp a first subset of one or more first objects, and the second subset of grasping mechanisms are controlled to grasp a second subset of the one or more first objects (see Col. 15, lines 15-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the first subset of grasping mechanisms are controlled to grasp a first subset of one or more first objects, and the second subset of grasping mechanisms are controlled to grasp a second subset of the one or more first objects on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to determine how to position the gripper and/or which suction cups to initially activate to grip box (see Col. 15, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 12, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 8.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the one or more actuation mechanisms is configured to obtain one or more signals from a control computer, and to operate in response to at least one of the one or more signals, and the one or more actuation mechanisms is determined according to a grasping strategy for grasping one or more first objects in response to at least one of the one or more signals.
However, Zevenbergen teaches wherein the one or more actuation mechanisms (140) is configured to obtain one or more signals from a control computer (130), and to operate in response to at least one of the one or more signals (see Col. 6, lines 25-45); and the one or more actuation mechanisms is determined according to a grasping strategy for grasping one or more first objects in response to at least one of the one or more signals (see Col. 13, lines 45-60).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the one or more actuation mechanisms is configured to obtain one or more signals from a control computer, and to operate in response to at least one of the one or more signals, and the one or more actuation mechanisms is determined according to a grasping strategy for grasping one or more first objects in response to at least one of the one or more signals on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to grip an object (see Col. 13, line 55).
Regarding claim 14, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 13.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the extendable cup is controlled based at least in part on at least one of the one more signals.
However, Zevenbergen et al. teaches wherein the extendable cup (404 and 406; see Fig. 4b) is controlled based at least in part on at least one of the one more signals (sensors 454 and 456; see Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the extendable cup is controlled based at least in part on at least one of the one more signals on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to receive sensor data indicative of the vacuum pressure of the one or more active suction cups from the corresponding sensors (see Abstract).
Regarding claim 28, Ban et al. discloses a robotic end effector (see Abstract).
Ban et al. fails to disclose the robotic end effector comprising: a set of suction based grasping mechanisms configured to grasp one or more objects when a suction force is applied; a robotically controlled actuation mechanism configured to move at least a first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms to change a relative position of the first subset of suction- based grasping mechanisms and a second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms.
However, Zevenbergen et al. teaches a robotic end effector comprising: a set of suction based grasping mechanisms (400; see Fig. 4b) configured to grasp one or more objects when a suction force is applied (see Col. 14, lines 65-70); a robotically controlled actuation mechanism configured to move at least a first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms to change a relative position of the first subset of suction- based grasping mechanisms and a second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms (see Col. 15, lines 15-35).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce the robotic end effector comprising: a set of suction based grasping mechanisms configured to grasp one or more objects when a suction force is applied; a robotically controlled actuation mechanism configured to move at least a first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms to change a relative position of the first subset of suction- based grasping mechanisms and a second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms on the robotic end effector of Ben et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to determine which suction cups to initially activate to grip box (see Col. 15, lines 15-35).
Regarding claim 29, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 28.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the set of suction based grasping mechanisms comprise a plurality of suction cups.
However, Zevenbergen et al. teaches wherein the set of suction based grasping mechanisms comprise a plurality of suction cups (404-420; see Fig. 4b).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the set of suction based grasping mechanisms comprise a plurality of suction cups on the robotic end effector of Ben et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to grip an object (see Col. 15, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 32, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 28.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the robotically controlled actuation mechanism is controlled based on one or more control signals received from a control computer.
However, Zevenbergen teaches wherein the robotically controlled actuation mechanism (140) is controlled based on one or more control signals received from a control computer (130) (see Col. 8, lines 10-30).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the robotically controlled actuation mechanism is controlled based on one or more control signals received from a control computer on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to grip an object (see Col. 13, line 55).
Regarding claim 33, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 32.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the control computer determines to change the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms based at least in part on a strategy for grasping a particular object.
However, Zevenbergen et al. teaches wherein the control computer (130) determines to change the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms (406, 408, 412, 414, 418 and 420) and the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms (404, 410 and 416) based at least in part on a strategy for grasping a particular object (see Col. 15, lines 15-35).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the control computer determines to change the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms based at least in part on a strategy for grasping a particular object on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to grip an object (see Col. 13, line 55).
Regarding claim 34, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 33.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the control computer determines to increase the distance between at least one of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and at least one of the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms based at least in part on a determination that a size of the particular object exceeds a threshold distance.
However, Zevenbergen et al. teaches wherein the control computer (130) determines to increase the distance between at least one of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and at least one of the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms based at least in part on a determination that a size of the particular object exceeds a threshold distance (see Col. 3, lines 35-50).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the control computer determines to increase the distance between at least one of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and at least one of the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms based at least in part on a determination that a size of the particular object exceeds a threshold distance on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Zevenbergen et al. in order to grip an object (see Col. 13, line 55).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban et al. (US 20100078953 A1) in view of Zevenbergen et al. (US 9205558 B1), further in view of Wagner et al. (US 20210031380 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Ban et al. in view of Zevenbergen et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 8.
Ban et al. as modified by Zevenbergen et al. fail to disclose wherein the robotically actuated first gripper is configured to grasp a plurality of first objects at once.
However, Wagner et al. teaches wherein the robotically actuated first gripper (92) is configured to grasp a plurality of first objects at once (see Fig. 6B, 6C and 6D).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the robotically actuated first gripper is configured to grasp a plurality of first objects at once on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Wagner et al. in order to secure a plurality of objects (see Para. 0045).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban et al. (US 20100078953 A1) in view of Zevenbergen (US 9205558 B1), further in view of Park (KR 20090041138 A).
Regarding claim 13, Ban et al. in view of Zevenbergen et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 12.
Ban et al. modified by Zevenbergen et al. fails to disclose wherein at least a subset of the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms comprises an extendable suction cup.
However, Park teaches wherein at least a subset of the plurality of suction-based grasping mechanisms (11) comprises an extendable suction cup (see Abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein at least a subset of the plurality of suction- based grasping mechanisms comprises an extendable suction cup on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Park so that object is absorbed by each suction surface (see Page 4, Para. 9).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban et al. (US 20100078953 A1) in view of Smith et al. (US 20220212345 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Ban et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 17.
Ban et al. fails to disclose the robotic end effector further comprising a sensor configured to obtain information pertaining to a position of one or more of the first element or the second element.
However, Smith et al. teaches an end effector further comprising a sensor (See Para. 0104) configured to obtain information pertaining to a position of one or more of the first element (116A) or the second element (116B).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce robotic end effector further comprising a sensor configured to obtain information pertaining to a position of one or more of the first element or the second element on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Smith et al. in order to sense information associated with each joint of each manipulator (see Para. 0104).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban et al. (US 20100078953 A1) in view of Pickard et al. (US 20130015675).
Regarding claim 23, Ban et al. discloses a autonomous tray handling robotic system comprising the robotic end effector as claimed in 1, wherein the system further comprises: each of the robots (see Para. 0030; not shown in figures) comprises a robotic arm (see Para. 0030; not shown in figures) and the robotic end effector (1) configured to grasp, move, and place the one or more first objects (5; see Fig. 1A-1C) without assistance from another robot.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein a memory configured to store data indicating a set of output stacks to be assembled, each output stack including an associated set of objects; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to control operation of one or more robots, each of the one or more robots being configured to grasp, move, and place one or more first objects at a time, according to a plan, to iteratively pick one or more first objects from source stacks of objects and assemble the set of output stacks, including by building each output stack by successively placing on an output stack a first object or second object picked from one or more corresponding source stacks.
However, Pickard et al. teaches wherein a memory (330) configured to store data (see Para. 0045) indicating a set of output stacks (141) to be assembled, each output stack (141) including an associated set of objects (150 and 156); and a processor (320) coupled to the memory (330) and configured to control operation of one or more robots (see Para. 0037), each of the one or more robots (110) being configured to grasp, move, and place one or more first objects (150 and 156) at a time, according to a plan (see Para. 0036), to iteratively pick one or more first objects (150 and 156) from source stacks (140) of objects and assemble the set of output stacks (141), including by building each output stack (141) by successively placing on an output stack a first object or second object picked from one or more corresponding source stacks (see Para. 0036).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein a memory configured to store data indicating a set of output stacks to be assembled, each output stack including an associated set of objects; and a processor coupled to the memory and configured to control operation of one or more robots, each of the one or more robots being configured to grasp, move, and place one or more first objects at a time, according to a plan, to iteratively pick one or more first objects from source stacks of objects and assemble the set of output stacks, including by building each output stack by successively placing on an output stack a first object or second object picked from one or more corresponding source stacks on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Pickard et al. in order to create a stack of objects grasped by the end effector (see Para. 0036-0037).
Claim(s) 20-21, 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban et al. (US 20100078953 A1) in view of Smith et al. (US 20220212345 A1), further in view of Curhan et al. (US 20200346792 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Ban et al. in view of Smith et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 19.
Ban et al. modified by Smith et al. fails to disclose wherein the sensor is a mechanical limit switch that is configured to obtain information indicative of whether the one or more of the first element or is the second element is in a deployed position corresponding to the second mode and a stowed position corresponding to the first mode.
However, Curhan et al. teaches the sensor is a mechanical limit switch that is configured to obtain information indicative of whether the one or more of the first element or is the second element is in a deployed position corresponding to the second mode and a stowed position corresponding to the first mode (see Para. 0010 and Para. 0128).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce the sensor is a mechanical limit switch that is configured to obtain information indicative of whether the one or more of the first element or is the second element is in a deployed position corresponding to the second mode and a stowed position corresponding to the first mode on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Curhan et al. in order to provide feedback that the tenting tool is at its intended extension (see Para. 0128).
Regarding claim 21, Ban et al. in view of Smith et al. (US 20220212345 A1) discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 19.
Ban et al. modified by Smith et al. fails to disclose wherein the sensor is a light sensor that is configured to obtain information indicative of whether the one or more of the first element or the element is in a deployed position corresponding to the second mode and a stowed position corresponding to first mode.
However, Curhan et al. teaches the sensor is a light sensor that is configured to obtain information indicative of whether the one or more of the first element or the element is in a deployed position corresponding to the second mode and a stowed position corresponding to first mode (see Para. 0010).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the sensor is a light sensor that is configured to obtain information indicative of whether the one or more of the first element or the element is in a deployed position corresponding to the second mode and a stowed position corresponding to first mode on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Curhan et al. in order to sense relative to the payload location, occupied or unoccupied, of the grasper (see Para. 0017).
Regarding claim 24, Ban et al. discloses a method for a robotic end effector, comprising: determining, by one or more processors, to grasp an object using a robotic arm configured with a robotic end effector (see Abstract); determining a strategy for grasping the one or more objects (see Abstract).
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein a method comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation; and controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, wherein: the robot end effector comprises a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode; the controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy.
However, Curhan et al. teaches a method for a robotic end effector comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation (see Para. 0010); and controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, wherein: the robot end effector comprises a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode (see Para. 0010 and Para. 0101); the controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy (see Para. 0010 and Para. 0101).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce method comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation; and controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, wherein: the robot end effector comprises a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode; the controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Curhan et al. in order to complete a pick for different polybagged articles (see Para. 0099).
Regarding claim 25, Ban et al. discloses a computer program for determining, by one or more processors, to grasp an object using a robotic arm configured with a robotic end effector (see Abstract);
Ban et al fails to disclose a computer program determining a strategy for grasping the one or more objects, comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation; and controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, wherein: the robot end effector comprises a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode; the controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy.
However, Curhan et al. teaches computer program determining a strategy for grasping the one or more objects, comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation (see Para. 0010); and controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, wherein: the robot end effector comprises a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode (see Para. 0101); the controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy (see Para. 0010 and Para. 0101).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a computer program determining a strategy for grasping the one or more objects, comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation; and controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, wherein: the robot end effector comprises a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode; the controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Curhan et al. in order to perform the grasping action upon a object (see Para. 0009).
Regarding claim 26, Ban et al. discloses a system for robotic end effector (see Abstract).
Ban et al. fails to disclose a system comprising a robot arm configured with a robotic end effector comprising a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation; and a control computer configured to control the robot arm to grasp an object, wherein: the control computer is configured to: determine to grasp an object using a robotic arm configured with a robotic end effector; determine a strategy for grasping the one or more objects, comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode; and control the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, including controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy.
However, Curhan et al. teaches a system comprising a robot arm configured with a robotic end effector (see Abstract) comprising a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation (see Para. 0010 and Para. 0101); and a control computer (120) configured to control the robot arm to grasp an object (see Para. 0128), wherein: the control computer is configured to: determine to grasp an object using a robotic arm configured with a robotic end effector (see Para. 0128); determine a strategy for grasping the one or more objects (see Para. 0128), comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode (see Para. 0010); and control the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, including controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy (see Para. 0010 and Para. 0101).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce a system comprising a robot arm configured with a robotic end effector comprising a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism configured to place the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation or a second mode of operation; and a control computer configured to control the robot arm to grasp an object, wherein: the control computer is configured to: determine to grasp an object using a robotic arm configured with a robotic end effector; determine a strategy for grasping the one or more objects, comprising: determining to operate the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode; and control the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy, including controlling the robot end effector based at least in part on the strategy includes controlling the robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism to place the robotic end effector in the first mode or the second mode based at least in part on the strategy on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Curhan et al. in order to perform the grasping action upon a object (see Para. 0009).
Regarding claim 27, Ban et al. discloses a robotic end effector as claimed in claim 26, comprising: a robotically actuated second gripper (21, see Fig. 1B); a robotically actuated first gripper (20, see Fig. 1A) comprising a first element (31) and second element (32) positioned opposite each other on either side of a central vertical axis of the robotic end effector (see Fig. 1B), wherein the robotically actuated second gripper positioned between the first element and the second element (see Fig. 1B); and a robotically actuated retraction-extension mechanism (see Para. 0042) configured to place the robotic end effector in a first mode of operation (see Fig. 1C) in which the first gripper is positioned for use or a second mode of operation (see Fig. 1A) in which the second gripper is positioned for use.
Claim(s) 30-31 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ban et al. (US 20100078953 A1) in view of Zevenbergen et al. (US 9205558 B1), further in view of Curhan et al. (US 20200346792 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Ban et al. in view of Zevenbergen et al. discloses the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 28.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein changing the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms changes a distance between at least one of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and at least one of the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms.
However, Curhan et al. teaches wherein changing the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms (130) and the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms (132) changes a distance between at least one of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms (130) and at least one of the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms (132) (see Para. 0010).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein changing the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms changes a distance between at least one of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms and at least one of the second subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Curhan et al. in order to perform a grasping action (see Para. 0009).
Regarding claim 31, Ban et al. in view of Zevenbergen et al. disclose the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 28.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the robotically controlled actuation mechanism comprises a pneumatically controlled piston that changes the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms when actuated.
However, Curhan et al. teaches wherein the robotically controlled actuation mechanism comprises a pneumatically controlled piston (see Para. 0122) that changes the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms (see Para. 0101) when actuated.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the robotically controlled actuation mechanism comprises a pneumatically controlled piston that changes the relative position of the first subset of suction-based grasping mechanisms when actuated on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Curhan et al. in order to perform a grasping action (see Para. 0009).
Regarding claim 35, Ban et al. in view of Zevenbergen et al. disclose the robotic end effector as claimed in claim 28.
Ban et al. fails to disclose wherein the multi-mode robotic end effector is configured to use the robotic end effector of s claim 28 in connection with operating the multi-mode robotic end effector in a first mode.
However, Curhan et al. teaches wherein the multi-mode robotic end effector is configured to use the robotic end effector of claim 28 in connection with operating the multi-mode robotic end effector in a first mode (see Para. 0010).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to introduce wherein the multi-mode robotic end effector is configured to use the robotic end effector of s claim 28 in connection with operating the multi-mode robotic end effector in a first mode on the robotic end effector of Ban et al. as taught by Curhan et al. in order to perform a grasping action (see Para. 0009).
Conclusion
/REHMAN A QURESHI/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654