17960596Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Drawings
The previous objection to the drawings is withdrawn in view of the replacement drawing sheet filed on 10/25/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First, applicant argues that Lee does not teach determining, by the 3rd device based on second control information received from the 4th device, whether there is at least one reserved resource used to retransmit 2nd transmission on the slide link. However, it is noted that Lee does teach that limitation. For example, Lee teaches that when the 1st wireless device (as the 3rd device) receives a NACK SL HARQ (as control info) from the 2nd wireless device (as the 4th device), the 1st wireless device immediately looks for SL retransmission resource (See figure 9, step S940 & S950 and par [159-162]).
Next, Applicant argues that while Lee teaches that the UE communicates with the base station, the claim requires specific information be communicated between the UEs. It is submitted that Lee also teaches specific information that is communicated between the UEs. For example, the 2nd device sends a NACK SL HARQ (as specific info) to the 1st device to cause the 1st device to start the retransmission. The fact that Lee requires a base station communicating with the UE does not prevent Lee from meeting the claimed limitation. The claims do not exclude the base station.
Regarding applicant’s argument relating to the newly-added limitation to claim 8 relating to an attribute indicating whether a radio bearer corresponding to the 2nd transmission or a logic channel encapsulated in the 2nd transmission support the HARQ feedback, it is noted that Lee also teaches the such indication of HARQ feedback support in par [199, 200-211, 396] as discussed in detail in the rejection of claim 8 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US2023/0111565 A1) (hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a communication method for managing transmission between a 3rd communication device (1st wireless device or TX UE) and a 4th communication device (2nd wireless device or RX UE) comprising determining by the 3rd device (1st wireless device or TX UE) based on the 2nd control info (SL HARQ feedback from 2nd wireless device/RX UE) from the 4th device (2nd wireless device or RX UE) whether there is at least one reserved resource used to retransmit a second transmission on the Sidelink (in response to a HARQ NACK from the 2nd device/RX UE, 1st device/TX UE checks configured grant resource for the SL retransmission and uses the configured grant resource if available; See figure 11, step S1126, par [371]).
Lee teaches when there is no resource for the Sidelink retransmission, the 3rd device (1st wireless device/TX UE) configures the duration of the first timer (DRX HARQ RTT timer or CG retransmission timer) as a third duration (See figure 9, step S940 & S950 and par [159-162]; See also figure 11, step S1130, par [374]) or configures the duration of the 2nd timer (DRX retransmission timer) as a fourth duration (see step S960 & par [163]).
Lee also teaches that when there are reserved resources for the Sidelink communication, the TX UE configures the duration of a 1st timer (CG timer A1) as the first duration (See figure 11, step S1108 par [338-339, 346-351, 359-361]),
wherein the first timer (DRX HARQ RTT timer or CG timer) indicates minimum value of duration in which the third communication device expects to wait before receiving a retransmission grant, and second timer (DRX retransmission timer or CG retransmission timer) indicates duration of receiving retransmission.
Regarding claim 2, Lee further teaches the determining, by the third communication device (1st wireless device), the first duration based on a time domain gap between a first resource and a second resource in the at least one reserved resource; and wherein the first resource is used to transmit the second transmission, and the second resource is a resource that is in the at least one reserved resource and that is closest to the first resource in a time domain (Lee teaches at par [0334] that the resource grant could comprise three PSCCH/PSSCH resources. The first resource is used for 1st TB. The 2nd and 3rd resources could be used for retransmission. When the 2nd resource is used for the retransmission of 1st TB, the 1st wireless device needs to wait for the duration between 1st resource and the scheduled time for the 2nd resource before it can begin the retransmission).
Regarding claim 3, in Lee’s system as well as in all prior systems, it is apparent to an artisan that it always takes a certain processing time for a receiving device to process a received data before determining whether to send an ACK or NACK to the transmitting device. This universal processing time is k. Thus, in Lee’s system the total wait time would be the sum of processing time k and the duration of DRX HARQ RTT timer before it can receive a resource grant for receiving the data retransmission if retransmission is needed. Thus, in this case, the total wait time would read on the claimed gap time and Lee’s duration of DRX HARQ RTT timer would be equivalent to the claimed gap-k.
Regarding claim 4, Lee further teaches that after configuring, the duration of the third first timer as the third duration, the method further comprises: starting, by the third communication device, the first timer (starting DRX HARQ RTT timer), or stopping the second timer (DRX retransmission timer stops when the SL retransmission grant is received; see par [285]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee further teaches comprising: performing at least one of: determining, by the third communication device, the third duration (1st device waits for --i.e. sleeping state-- the processing time k and the expiration of the DRX HARQ RTT timer before going back to active state) as configured duration, and/or or determining the fourth duration (run the DRX retransmission timer until it expires or until a grant is received) as configured duration.
Regarding claim 6, Lee further teaches starting, by the third communication device, the first timer (1st device waits for --i.e. sleeping state-- the processing time k and the expiration of the DRX HARQ RTT timer before going back to active state) and/or stopping the second timer (run the DRX retransmission timer until it expires or until a grant is received).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further teaches starting the first timer after sending hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) feedback corresponding to the second transmission (1st device waits for --i.e. sleeping state-- the processing time k and the expiration of the DRX HARQ RTT timer before going back to active state).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches determining, by the third communication device, that an attribute of hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) feedback corresponding to the second transmission is enabled (Lee describes enabling/disabling HARQ feedback for a given transmission. See [0200-0211], [0396]. For example: “if a MAC PDU is transmitted in a configured Sidelink grant and both Sidelink HARQ feedback on PSFCH and Sidelink HARQ feedback on PUCCH are enabled...”
- The enabling/disabling is “configured by higher-layer signaling (e.g., RRC).”
- Lee references configuration per logical channel and per grant, with HARQ feedback support controlled by RRC signaling ([0199], [0396]).
- “If sl-PUCCH-Config is configured by RRC, the MAC entity shall for each MAC PDU...”
- Lee does not use the exact term “attribute,” but the configuration of HARQ feedback (enabled/disabled) is functionally equivalent.)
With regard to Determining “if the Attribute is Enabled”, Lee teaches that the device acts based on whether HARQ feedback is enabled or disabled** (see [0200-0211]).
- The device’s logic includes checking configuration (from RRC/higher-layer signaling) to determine if HARQ feedback is enabled for a given transmission, logical channel, or radio bearer.
With regard to “the Attribute Indicates Support at the Logical Channel or Radio Bearer Level”, Lee references configuration at the logical channel level** (see [0396]: “If sl-PUCCH-Config is configured by RRC...”).
- Radio bearers and logical channels are standard 3GPP concepts, and Lee’s description of configuration per logical channel or per grant aligns with this.
Regarding claim 9, Lee further teaches the first timer and the second timer correspond to a hybrid automatic retransmission request (HARQ) process corresponding to the second transmission (See Lee’s DRX HARQ RTT timer and DRX retransmission timer).
Regarding claim 11, Lee further teaches a communication apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (figure 2), wherein the processor is coupled to the memory which comprises processor-executable instructions, and the processor is configured to execute the processor-executable instructions to cause the communication apparatus to, based on there being no plurality of reserved resources on the side link, performing configuring, by the third communication device (1st wireless device), duration of the first timer (DRX HARQ RTT timer) as third duration, and
wherein the first timer (DRX HARQ RTT timer; see figure 9, S950) indicates minimum value of duration in which the third communication device expects to wait before receiving a retransmission grant, and second timer (DRX retransmission timer; see figure 9, S960) indicates duration of receiving retransmission.
Regarding claim 12, Lee further teaches the determining, by the third communication device (1st wireless device), the first duration based on a time domain gap between a first resource and a second resource in the at least one reserved resource; and wherein the first resource is used to transmit the second transmission, and the second resource is a resource that is in the at least one reserved resource and that is closest to the first resource in a time domain (Lee teaches at par [0334] that the resource grant could comprise three PSCCH/PSSCH resources. The first resource is used for 1st TB. The 2nd and 3rd resources could be used for retransmission. When the 2nd resource is used for the retransmission of 1st TB, the 1st wireless device needs to wait for the duration between 1st resource and the scheduled time for the 2nd resource before it can begin the retransmission).
Regarding claim 13, in Lee’s system as well as in all prior systems, it is apparent to an artisan that it always takes a certain processing time for a receiving device to process a received data before determining whether to send an ACK or NACK to the transmitting device. This universal processing time is k. Thus, in Lee’s system the total wait time would be the sum of processing time k and the duration of DRX HARQ RTT timer before it can receive a resource grant for receiving the data retransmission if retransmission is needed. Thus, in this case, the total wait time would read on the claimed gap time and Lee’s duration of DRX HARQ RTT timer would be equivalent to the claimed gap-k.
Regarding claim 14, Lee further teaches that after configuring, the duration of the third first timer as the third duration, the method further comprises: starting, by the third communication device, the first timer (starting DRX HARQ RTT timer), or stopping the second timer (DRX retransmission timer stops when the SL retransmission grant is received; see par [285]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee further teaches comprising: performing at least one of: determining, by the third communication device, the third duration (1st device waits for --i.e. sleeping state-- the processing time k and the expiration of the DRX HARQ RTT timer before going back to active state) as configured duration, and/or or determining the fourth duration (run the DRX retransmission timer until it expires or until a grant is received) as configured duration.
Regarding claim 16, Lee further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (104,204), wherein the storage medium stores a computer program or instructions (105,205), which is/are executed by a processor (102,202) of a communication apparatus (100,200), and cause the communication apparatus to perform operations including:
managing transmission between a 3rd communication device (1st wireless device) and a 4th communication device (2nd wireless device) comprising determining by the 3rd device (1st wireless device) based on the 2nd control info (SL HARQ feedback from 2nd wireless device) from the 4th device (2nd wireless device) whether there is at least one reserved resource used to retransmit a second transmission on the Sidelink (in response to a NACK from the 2nd device, 1st device checks the resources for the SL retransmission; See figure 9, step S940 & S950 and par [159-162]).
Lee further teaches when there is no resource for the Sidelink retransmission, the 1st device configures the duration of the first timer (DRX HARQ RTT timer) as a third duration (See figure 9, step S940 & S950 and par [159-162]) or configure the duration of the 2nd timer (DRX retransmission timer) as a fourth duration (see step S960 & par [163]).
Lee also teaches that when there are reserved resources for the Sidelink communication, the TX UE configures the duration of a 1st timer (CG timer A1) as the first duration or a 2nd timer (CG retransmission timer) (See par [338-339, 350]),
wherein the first timer (DRX HARQ RTT timer or CG timer) indicates minimum value of duration in which the third communication device expects to wait before receiving a retransmission grant, and second timer (DRX retransmission timer or CG retransmission timer) indicates duration of receiving retransmission.
Regarding claim 17, Lee further teaches the determining, by the third communication device (1st wireless device), the first duration based on a time domain gap between a first resource and a second resource in the at least one reserved resource; and wherein the first resource is used to transmit the second transmission, and the second resource is a resource that is in the at least one reserved resource and that is closest to the first resource in a time domain (Lee teaches at par [0334] that the resource grant could comprise three PSCCH/PSSCH resources. The first resource is used for 1st TB. The 2nd and 3rd resources could be used for retransmission. When the 2nd resource is used for the retransmission of 1st TB, the 1st wireless device needs to wait for the duration between 1st resource and the scheduled time for the 2nd resource before it can begin the retransmission).
Regarding claim 18, in Lee’s system as well as in all prior systems, it is apparent to an artisan that it always takes a certain processing time for a receiving device to process a received data before determining whether to send an ACK or NACK to the transmitting device. This universal processing time is k. Thus, in Lee’s system the total wait time would be the sum of processing time k and the duration of DRX HARQ RTT timer before it can receive a resource grant for receiving the data retransmission if retransmission is needed. Thus, in this case, the total wait time would read on the claimed gap time and Lee’s duration of DRX HARQ RTT timer would be equivalent to the claimed gap-k.
Regarding claim 19, Lee further teaches that after configuring, the duration of the third first timer as the third duration, the method further comprises: starting, by the third communication device, the first timer (starting DRX HARQ RTT timer), or stopping the second timer (DRX retransmission timer stops when the SL retransmission grant is received; see par [285]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee further teaches comprising: performing at least one of: determining, by the third communication device, the third duration (1st device waits for --i.e. sleeping state-- the processing time k and the expiration of the DRX HARQ RTT timer before going back to active state) as configured duration, and/or or determining the fourth duration (run the DRX retransmission timer until it expires or until a grant is received) as configured duration.
Regarding claim 21, Lee further teaches starting/stopping the timer (see step S950 or S960 or S1108 or S1130 or S1116 or S1142).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Desai et al (US 2019/052436 A1) teaches HARQ feedback support.
Khoryaev et al (US 2020/220694 A1) teaches HARQ feedback support for Sidelink communication.
Applicant's amendment filed 11/11/25 necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Huy D Vu/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, AU 2461