DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action in response to claims on 02/11/2026. Claims 1, 3-22 are pending. The effective filling date is 11/02/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/05/2022 and 12/26/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-13, 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0033405 A1 Song et al. (hereinafter Song) in view of US 2021/0157317 A1 Takai et al. (hereinafter Takai).
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches an electronic device (Song Abstract, electronic apparatus) comprising:
a communication module, including communication circuitry, configured to receive one or more pieces of order data, each piece of order data indicating an item ordered by a corresponding customer (Song Para. [0082] the electronic device may receive the orders; Para. [0091] the figures are depicted as two different electronic devices, but the electronic device 100 may perform the serving, receiving of the order and the like, and all operations of device 200 may be performed on device 100; Para. [0138] the device include a processor and display; the display includes circuitry);
memory configured to store computer-executable instructions (Song Para. [0062] the electronic apparatus includes a memory to store instructions); and
at least one processor, including processing circuitry, configured, individually or collectively, to execute the computer-executable instructions by accessing the memory (Song Para. [0069] a processor to implement the instructions) and control the electronic device (Song Para. [0074-0075] processor controls the electronic device) to at least:
in response to detecting an ordered item on a serving tray, identify a plurality of accessible serving destinations corresponding to order data matched with the ordered item from among the one or more pieces of order data (Song Para. [0084] the processor identifies that the item placed on a tray relates to a specific location),
determine, from among the plurality of serving destinations, a target serving destination for the ordered item, based on applying delivery standard elements related to delivery of an item at each of the serving destinations (Song Para. [0085] the processor determine the location of each tray item, and then creates a path based on shortest travel path, and reduces the time; Para. [0021] identification of a travel path may be determined by the time the order was placed),
before initiating movement of the electronic device toward the target serving destination for delivering the ordered item (Under MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C) the sequence of adding ingredients, or sequence of performing steps, does not change the non-obviousness of the prior art, if the step is still being performed, and therefore the user selection before movement, compared to after movement, does not change the act of user selection), present, to a user of the electronic device, the target serving destination and one or more candidate serving destinations among the plurality of accessible serving destination other than the target serving destination (Song Para. [0129] the electronic device can include a display, and let the user know the tray location once at the destination; Para. [0077-0078] the travel path is identified and programed into the processor; Para. [0138-0139] display outputs an image and may be a touch screen for interaction; when the path is displayed, it is able to display the next and remaining candidate destinations).
Song fails to explicitly disclose receive an input for selecting, from among the target serving destination and the candidate serving destination, a serving destination for the ordered item, and deliver the ordered item to the selected serving destination, wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the electronic device to detect an input for changing the target serving destination to one of the one or more candidate serving destination and deliver the ordered item to the changed-to serving destination.
Takai is in the field of conveyance robot (Takai Abstract, conveyance of objects using a robot) and teaches receive an input for selecting, from among the target serving destination and the candidate serving destination, a serving destination for the ordered item, and deliver the ordered item to the selected serving destination (Takai Para. [0058] a change request is sent to the display, and the user is required to send a new destination, and once selected, the updated destination is now controlling for the movement), wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the electronic device to detect an input for changing the target serving destination to one of the one or more candidate serving destination and deliver the ordered item to the changed-to serving destination (Takai [0049] the change unit may change the destination of the deliver, and the new destination is transmitted to the machine to update the final destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the creation of a path as disclosed in Song with the user changeable destination as taught by Takai. The motivation for doing so would be provide a final destination, even if the computer cannot determine a final destination, to complete the delivery (Takai Para. [0058] if the computer fails, user intervention may allow for the path forward and completion of the delivery).
Regarding claim 3, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
an input module, including input circuitry, configured to receive an input (Song Para. [0082] the electronic device may receive the orders; Para. [0091] the figures are depicted as two different electronic devices, but the electronic device 100 may perform the serving, receiving of the order and the like, and all operations of device 200 may be performed on device 100), wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
collect order data based on one or a combination of two or more of a point-of-sale (POS) device, an external device, and the input module (Song Para. [0091-0092] the electronic apparatus may receive an order from a user).
Regarding claim 4, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
identify the ordered item by performing vision recognition on an image including the ordered item disposed on the serving tray (Song Para. [0053-0055 each tray of the server has a sensors to take an image and identify the product; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the delivery standard elements include serving waiting times (Song Fig. 5, delivery is based on the longest waist time first), which are times elapsing from last servings to serving destinations, and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually and collectively, to control the electronic device to:
in response to the serving waiting times being different, determine, as the target serving destination, a serving destination having a longest serving waiting time among the serving destinations (Song Para. [0101] the delivery may be based on the service request, Fig. 5, delivery is based on the longest waist time first).
Regarding claim 6, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the delivery standard elements include available mealtimes of serving destinations (Song Para. [0102-0103] the control is based on a service request time, and the path is determined based on the input threshold), and
wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
in response to the available mealtimes of serving destinations being different, determine, as the target serving destination, a serving destination having a shortest available mealtime among the serving destinations (Song Para. [0102-0103] the control is based on a service request time, and the path is determined based on the input threshold; Para. [0112-0113] the service request threshold may be any amount of time associated with the items).
Regarding claim 7, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the delivery standard elements include serving waiting times (Song Fig. 5, delivery is based on the longest waist time first), and at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
in response to a serving destination having a serving waiting time outside a threshold serving interval among the serving destinations, determine, as the target serving destination, the serving destination having the serving waiting time outside the threshold serving interval (Song Para. [0102-0104] setting a desired wait time and prioritizing delivery if the wait time is above the specific threshold).
Regarding claim 8, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the delivery standard elements include order time points (Song Para. [0101] the delivery may be based on the service request), and wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
determine, as the target serving destination, a serving destination corresponding to an earlier order time point between a first order time point when receiving an order for an item from a customer at a first serving destination among the plurality of serving destinations and a second order time point of a second serving destination (Song Para. [0101] the delivery may be based on the service request, Fig. 5, delivery is based on the longest waist time first), and
in response to time information related to delivery of an item to the plurality of serving destinations being the same, determine, as the target serving destination, a farthest serving destination from a waiting position of a serving robot configured to deliver the item among the serving destinations (Song Para. [0085] the shortest travel path may be determined based on the travel distance; therefore the use of both wait time and travel distance may be used to determine the priority of delivery of products).
Regarding claim 9, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually and collectively, to control the electronic device to:
obtain an expected completion time of an item currently being prepared among items ordered from a same target destination, and in response to the expected completion time being within a threshold delivery time, delay delivery of the ordered item on the serving tray until the preparation of the ordered item currently being prepared has been completed (Song Para. [0023] the preparation time of the ordered item is taken into account with travel time, to control the path and delivery).
Regarding claim 10, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Song fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured, individually or collectively control the electronic device to:
in response to the user input for selecting the serving destination, analyze delivery standard elements when determining a changed destination, and based on the analyzed delivery standard elements, and based on the analyzed delivery standard elements, determine a sequence for applying the delivery standard elements.
Takai teaches wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured, individually or collectively control the electronic device to:
in response to the user input for selecting the serving destination, analyze delivery standard elements when determining a changed destination, and based on the analyzed delivery standard elements, and based on the analyzed delivery standard elements, determine a sequence for applying the delivery standard elements (Takai Para. [0058] a change request is sent to the display, and the user is required to send a new destination, and once selected, the updated destination is now controlling for the movement; when a new destination is selected, a new path is calculated). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the creation of a path as disclosed in Song with the updated destination as taught by Takai. The motivation for doing so would be provide a final destination, even if the computer cannot determine a final destination, to complete the delivery (Takai Para. [0058] if the computer fails, user intervention may allow for the path forward and completion of the delivery).
Regarding claim 11, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
output, on a display, on an entire order list on which a current serving situation is updated, serving information of the selected serving destination (Song Para. [0121] the electronic device will receive a list; the list is the order to be delivered; Para. [0138] the device include a processor and display; the display includes circuitry).
Regarding claim 12, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the serving information comprises: one or a combination of two or more of an order history (Song Para. [0137] preference of service, order history all communicated with the electronic apparatus), an ordered quantity, a currently served item, a current serving quantity, a serving-completed item, or a serving- completed quantity.
Regarding claim 13, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
in response to the item reaching the selected serving destination, provide additional information regarding the ordered item (Song Para. [0127-0129] when the electronic apparatus arrives at the destination, a light or speaker may output to indicate to the customer where their food item is located).
Regarding claim 15, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
in response to completed delivery of all items ordered from the selected serving destination, provide at least one of an additional menu item suggestion or a payment request (Song Para. [0061] the electronic apparatus may receive payment).
Regarding claim 17, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
when a plurality of customers is at the selected serving destination, move an ordered item currently being delivered to a customer who ordered the item among the plurality of customers (Song Para. [0050] the electronic apparatus uses a robot to move different joints and deliver to a specific customer).
Regarding claim 18, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
in response to reaching the selected serving destination, guide to a serving tray on which an item ordered from the selected serving destination is disposed (Song Para. [0127-0129] when the electronic apparatus arrives at the destination, a light or speaker may output to indicate to the customer where their food item is located).
Regarding claim 19, Song teaches a method implemented by at least one processor of an electronic device (Song Para. [0069] a processor to implement the instructions), the method comprising: receiving one or more pieces of order data, each piece of order data indicating an item ordered by a corresponding customer (Song Para. [0082] the electronic device may receive the orders; Para. [0091] the figures are depicted as two different electronic devices, but the electronic device 100 may perform the serving, receiving of the order and the like, and all operations of device 200 may be performed on device 100); in response to detecting an ordered item on a serving tray, identifying a plurality of accessible serving destinations corresponding to order data matched with the ordered item from among the one or more pieces of order data (Song Para. [0084] the processor identifies that the item placed on a tray relates to a specific location); determining, from among the plurality of serving destinations, a target serving destination for the ordered item, based on applying delivery standard elements related to delivery of an item at each of the serving destinations (Song Para. [0085] the processor determine the location of each tray item, and then creates a path based on shortest travel path, and reduces the time; Para. [0021] identification of a travel path may be determined by the time the order was placed); before initiating movement of the electronic device toward the target serving destination for delivering the ordered item (Under MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C) the sequence of adding ingredients, or sequence of performing steps, does not change the non-obviousness of the prior art, if the step is still being performed, and therefore the user selection before movement, compared to after movement, does not change the act of user selection), presenting, to a user of the electronic device, the target serving destination and one or more candidate serving destinations among the plurality of accessible serving destinations other than the target serving destination (Song Para. [0129] the electronic device can include a display, and let the user know the tray location once at the destination; Para. [0077-0078] the travel path is identified and programed into the processor; Para. [0138-0139] display outputs an image and may be a touch screen for interaction).
Song fails to explicitly disclose receiving a user input for selecting, from among the target serving destination and the candidate serving destination, a serving destination for the ordered item; and delivering the ordered item to the selected serving destination, wherein the method further comprises: detecting an input for changing the target serving destination to one of the one or more candidate serving destinations, and delivering the ordered item to the changed-to serving destination.
Takai teaches receiving a user input for selecting, from among the target serving destination and the candidate serving destination, a serving destination for the ordered item; and delivering the ordered item to the selected serving destination (Takai Para. [0058] a change request is sent to the display, and the user is required to send a new destination, and once selected, the updated destination is now controlling for the movement), wherein the method further comprises: detecting an input for changing the target serving destination to one of the one or more candidate serving destinations, and delivering the ordered item to the changed-to serving destination (Takai [0049] the change unit may change the destination of the deliver, and the new destination is transmitted to the machine to update the final destination). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the creation of a path as disclosed in Song with the user changeable destination as taught by Takai. The motivation for doing so would be provide a final destination, even if the computer cannot determine a final destination, to complete the delivery (Takai Para. [0058] if the computer fails, user intervention may allow for the path forward and completion of the delivery).
Regarding claim 20, Song teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (Song Para. [0062] the electronic apparatus includes a memory to store instructions) that, when executed by at least one processor (Song Para. [0069] a processor to implement the instructions), cause the processor to control an electronic device to perform operations (Song Para. [0074-0075] processor controls the electronic device) comprising: receiving one or more pieces of order data, each piece of order data indicating an item ordered by a corresponding customer (Song Para. [0082] the electronic device may receive the orders; Para. [0091] the figures are depicted as two different electronic devices, but the electronic device 100 may perform the serving, receiving of the order and the like, and all operations of device 200 may be performed on device 100; Para. [0138] the device include a processor and display, the display includes circuitry); in response to detecting an ordered item on a serving tray, identifying a plurality of accessible serving destinations corresponding to order data matched with the ordered item from among the one or more pieces of order data (Song Para. [0084] the processor identifies that the item placed on a tray relates to a specific location); determining, from among the plurality of serving destinations, a target serving destination for the ordered item, based on applying delivery standard elements related to delivery of an item at each of the serving destinations (Song Para. [0085] the processor determine the location of each tray item, and then creates a path based on shortest travel path, and reduces the time; Para. [0021] identification of a travel path may be determined by the time the order was placed); before initiating movement of the electronic device toward the target serving destination for delivering the ordered item (Under MPEP 2144.04(IV)(C) the sequence of adding ingredients, or sequence of performing steps, does not change the non-obviousness of the prior art, if the step is still being performed, and therefore the user selection before movement, compared to after movement, does not change the act of user selection), presenting, to a user of the electronic device, the target serving destination and one or more candidate serving destinations among the plurality of accessible serving destinations other than the target serving destinations (Song Para. [0129] the electronic device can include a display, and let the user know the tray location once at the destination; Para. [0077-0078] the travel path is identified and programed into the processor; Para. [0138-0139] display outputs an image and may be a touch screen for interaction).
Song fails to explicitly disclose receiving a user input for selecting, from among the target serving destination and the candidate serving destination, a serving destination for the ordered item; and delivering the ordered item to the selected serving destination, wherein the operation further comprise: detecting an input for changing the target serving destination to one of the one or more candidate serving destinations, and delivering the ordered item to the changed-to serving destination.
Takai teaches receiving a user input for selecting, from among the target serving destination and the candidate serving destination, a serving destination for the ordered item; and delivering the ordered item to the selected serving destination (Takai Para. [0058] a change request is sent to the display, and the user is required to send a new destination, and once selected, the updated destination is now controlling for the movement), wherein the operation further comprise: detecting an input for changing the target serving destination to one of the one or more candidate serving destinations, and delivering the ordered item to the changed-to serving destination (Takai [0049] the change unit may change the destination of the deliver, and the new destination is transmitted to the machine to update the final destination). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the creation of a path as disclosed in Song with the user changeable destination as taught by Takai. The motivation for doing so would be provide a final destination, even if the computer cannot determine a final destination, to complete the delivery (Takai Para. [0058] if the computer fails, user intervention may allow for the path forward and completion of the delivery).
Regarding claim 21, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein for determining of the target serving destination, at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured, individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to: determine the target serving destination for the ordered item, based on sequentially applying, in a priority order, a plurality of respective delivery standard elements related to delivery of an item at each of the serving destinations (Song Para. [0085] the processor determine the location of each tray item, and then creates a path based on shortest travel path, and reduces the time; Para. [0021] identification of a travel path may be determined by the time the order was placed).
Regarding claim 22, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, update a priority order for applying the delivery standard elements for determining a target serving destination for a subsequent ordered item (Song Para. [0085] the processor determine the location of each tray item, and then creates a path based on shortest travel path, and reduces the time; Para. [0021] identification of a travel path may be determined by the time the order was placed; when a user changes one of the delivery locations, the distance changes between items, and the processor then can update the path).
Song fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured, individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to: in response to detecting the input for changing the target serving destination, analyze the delivery standard elements related to the changed-to serving destination.
Takai teaches wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured, individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to: in response to detecting the input for changing the target serving destination, analyze the delivery standard elements related to the changed-to serving destination (Takai [0049] the change unit may change the destination of the deliver, and the new destination is transmitted to the machine to update the final destination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the creation of a path as disclosed in Song with the user changeable destination as taught by Takai. The motivation for doing so would be provide a final destination, even if the computer cannot determine a final destination, to complete the delivery (Takai Para. [0058] if the computer fails, user intervention may allow for the path forward and completion of the delivery).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song in view of Takai in view of US 2020/0247661 A1 Rao et al. (hereinafter Rao).
Regarding claim 14, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured (Song [0009-0014] the processor is configured to perform multiple functions), individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
in response to completed delivery of the item to the selected serving destination, provide a serving status (Song Para. [0137] the completion status is transmitted).
Song fails to explicitly disclose wherein provide briefing on a serving status of another ordered item currently being prepared.
Rao is in the field of control system for food and beverage (Rao Abstract, control of beverage status) and teaches wherein provide briefing on a serving status of another ordered item currently being prepared (Rao Para. [0116] the system analyzes the amount of time for preparation. See Fig. 3, section 312, and then displays the status of each customer; Para. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the sending of serving status as taught by Song, with the ability to monitor multiple order, and their related status to the same customer as taught by Rao. The motivation for doing so would be to keep track of all orders associated with the same destination or customer (Rao Para. [0011] tracking of a customer orders).
Regarding claim 16, Song teaches the electronic device of claim 1. Song fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured, individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to: in response to receiving an order for an item at the selected serving destination, recommend another item related to the item for which the order is received.
Rao teaches wherein at least one processor comprising processing circuitry is configured, individually or collectively, to control the electronic device to:
in response to receiving an order for an item at the selected serving destination, recommend another item related to the item for which the order is received (Rao Para. [0070] based on previous order, the application may recommend other drinks). It would have been obvious that the menu ordering application in Song would be modified by the recommendation as taught in Rao. The motivation for doing so would be to increase purchase of customers, and give customers a more unique experience (Rao Para. [0071] recommendations allow for particularized information, which leads to more purchases).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 103, Song is able to teach that multiple destinations (Song Fig. 3, item 100, has multiple orders on one delivery vehicle, and multiple tables/locations within a restaurant) are displayed to a user where the delivery vehicle is going throughout the store. Claim 1, as interpreted by Examiner requires detection of an ordered item on a serving tray, and then making a determination on the destination from a plurality of destinations. Therefore when Song teaches identification of the first tray item, and then making a determination on its destination, and that target serving destination is chosen from a plurality of serving destination (20-1, 20-2, 20-3, 20-4) (See Song [0084]). The claim language does not support the narrow interpretation that each of the serving destinations has an order for the identified item.
Takai, which is able to select from multiple destinations, and change the delivery destination, would be an obvious combination with a delivery device. The claim amendment specifies that the user input for selection must occur before the movement of the robot. However, Examiner uses Takei to showcase that there is the ability to change the destination using a touchpad. The ability to change the destination on the actual delivery device in Song, would be an obvious combination because if the delivery device has a touch screen, adding user override features would allow for user intervention if a possible computer error would occur. The order of the user selection of a destination, whether at the beginning or in the middle of service delivery, does not change the limitation of providing the selection presented by Takai.
The reason for selecting a new destination is not defined in the claim limitations, and therefore, the reasoning for giving the user multiple options to select a new delivery location does not remove the fact that it is able to teach updated the delivery location.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0192599 A1 Miyajima teaches delivery robots (Abstract); US 2006/0010037 A1 Angert et al. teaches a delivery vehicle (Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA E SULLIVAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FAHD A OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627