Claim Status
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on November 26th, 2025 have been
entered into the file.
Currently, claims 1-2 are amended, claim 6 is cancelled, and claims 11-18 are withdrawn, resulting in claims 1-5, 7-10, and 19 pending for examination.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on November 25th, 2025 have been received.
The amendment to claim 2 with respect to “a deposition layer” has overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non Final Office Action mailed August 26th, 2025.
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 10 and 19 previously set forth in the Non Final Office Action mailed August 26th, 2025 have been withdrawn in light of applicant’s remarks submitted on November 26th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Albano (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20160351973 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Albano teaches an anode for an all-solid-state battery (Paragraphs 0030, 0139, 0209), comprising:
An anode active material comprising a carbon-based material (Paragraph 0064); and
A solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0063),
wherein the anode active material comprises a deposition layer (protective coating) comprising a metal that can form an alloy with lithium, wherein the metal that can form an alloy with lithium comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of gallium (Ga), tin (Sn), indium (In), and germanium (Ge) (Paragraphs 0028, 0279). Albano teaches the deposition layer formed on at least a portion of the surface of the carbon-based material (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0064-0065).
Regarding claim 2, Albano teaches the anode of claim 1, wherein the anode active material comprises the deposition layer (Figure 2, Element 20) formed on at least a portion, which is in contact with the solid electrolyte (Figure 2, Element 15), of the surface (Figure 2, Element 30) of the
carbon-based material (active material particle) (Figure 2, Element 10) (Paragraphs 0064, 0136, 0282).
Regarding claim 3, Albano teaches the anode of claim 1, wherein the solid electrolyte comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 4, Albano teaches the anode of claim 1.
Albano teaches the coating (deposition layer) conforms to the surface of the active material particle (such as carbon particles, see Albano Paragraph 0064) in order to maintain continuous contact with the active material and filling interparticle and intraparticle gaps (Paragraph 0158). The teaching of Albano of a continuous coating of the anode active material (Paragraph 0027) is equated with complete covering of the surface of the anode active material (100%) in order to establish continuity of the coating as desired by Albano. Thus, the deposition of the deposition layer onto the surface of the carbon-based material of Albano lies within the instant range, meeting the instant claimed limitation
Regarding claim 10, Albano teaches an all-solid-state battery (Figure 3, Element 100) comprising: the anode of claim 1 (Figure 3, Element 140); a cathode (Figure 3, Element 150); and a solid electrolyte layer (Figure 3, Element 160) positioned between the anode and the cathode (Paragraph 0139).
Regarding claim 19, Albano teaches a vehicle comprising an all-solid state battery of claim 10 (Paragraph 0120).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albano as applied to claims 1-4, 10, and 19 above.
Regarding claim 5, Albano teaches the anode of claim 1.
Albano teaches the anode active material comprising anode particles coated by a protective coating (deposition layer) having a thickness of about 100 nm or less (Paragraph 0065). However, Albano also teaches embodiments in which the deposition layer is applied at a thickness between 2 and 2,000 nm (Paragraphs 0154, 0279).
The possible ranges of the deposition layer of Albano overlaps with that of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established, and the claimed limitations are met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220416235 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an anode for an all-solid-state battery (Paragraph 0006) comprising:
an anode active material (anode layer) (Figure 1A, Element 20) comprising a carbon-based material (carbon anode active material) (Paragraph 0009).
wherein the anode active material comprises a deposition layer (first anode active material layer) comprising a metal that can form an alloy with lithium (Paragraph 0009).
Kim teaches the second anode active material includes a carbon anode active material (Figure 1A, Element 23). Kim teaches the second anode active material layer is disposed between the anode current collector (Figure 1A, Element 21) and the first anode active material layer (Figure 1, Element 22) (Paragraph 0067).
Therefore, as shown in the annotated Figure below, Kim teaches the deposition layer formed on at least a portion of the surface carbon-based material, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Annotated Figure 1A of Kim
Kim teaches the first anode active material layer includes a porous structure (Paragraph 0069). As shown in the annotated Figure above, the anode of Kim (Element 20) includes the first anode active material layer (deposition layer) which is adjacent to the solid electrolyte layer. In the process of manufacturing the all-solid-state battery taught by Kim, the deposition layer is applied onto one surface of the solid electrolyte layer. The deposition layer and the solid electrolyte layer are then pressed (Paragraph 0164). When each of the layers of the battery have been placed, Kim teaches a final lamination step in which the cathode layer, anode layer, and solid electrolyte layer are pressed (Paragraph 0174).
Therefore, given the porous structure of the deposition layer and its proximity to the solid electrolyte layer, it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan that during the pressing and lamination steps taught by Kim that at least some of the solid electrolyte particles are embedded into the porous deposition layer, or would naturally flow therefrom. Thus, Kim teaches the anode for an all-solid-state battery comprising a solid electrolyte, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Kim does not explicitly teach the metal that can form an alloy with lithium comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), indium (In), antimony (Sb), lead (Pb), and germanium (Ge).
Kim teaches the deposition layer including a metal or metal alloy capable of reacting with lithium to form an alloy or a compound (Paragraph 0053), represented by M1M2 (Paragraph 0055), wherein M1 can be at least one of Li, Na, K, Rb, Cs, Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Sc, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ni, Cu, Zn, Ga, Al, Ge, Y, Zr, Hf, Nb, Tc, Rh, Cd, In, B, Si, P, F, Cl, Br, I, S, As, Sb, Bi, Ta, Re, Hg, Tl, or Pb and M2 includes at least one of Ti, Mo, Ru, Pd, Ag, Sn, Se, Te, W, Os, Ir, Pt, or Au (Paragraph 0057).
The metals of the alloy capable of reacting with lithium taught by Kim which are shared by those of the instant claim are silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), indium (In), antimony (Sb), lead (Pb), and germanium (Ge), meeting the instant claimed limitation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), indium (In), antimony (Sb), lead (Pb), and or germanium (Ge) from the finite lists of possible combinations for metals capable of alloying with lithium to arrive at deposition layer of the instant claim since the combination of components would have yielded predictable results as an anode for an all-solid-state battery, absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the anode of claim 1, wherein the anode active material comprises the deposition layer, as discussed above.
As described above, Kim teaches the anode layer including a first anode active material layer (deposition layer) and a second anode active material layer (carbon-based material) which are adjacent to each other, the deposition layer adjacent to the solid electrolyte layer (Paragraph 0043). Also described above, the porous structure of the deposition layer accommodated at least some solid electrolyte particles accommodated during the pressing and lamination steps detailed by Kim. Thus, the deposition layer of Kim is in contact with the solid electrolyte, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
As shown in the annotated Figure below, the deposition layer of Kim is located adjacent to the second anode active material layer of Kim which comprises the carbon-based material. Therefore, the deposition layer is deposited on at least a portion of the surface of the carbon-based material, specifically the surface which faces the deposition layer, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Annotated Figure 1A of Kim
As seen in the annotated Figure above, the deposition layer is the intervening layer between the carbon-based material and the solid electrolyte. Therefore, the deposition layer is formed on at least a portion of the carbon-based material which is in contact with the solid electrolyte, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches the anode of claim 1, wherein the solid electrolyte comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0132).
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches the anode of claim 1.
As described above, Kim teaches the anode layer including a first anode active material layer (deposition layer) and a second anode active material layer (carbon-based material) which are adjacent to each other (Paragraph 0043). As shown in the annotated Figure below, the deposition layer of Kim is located adjacent to the second anode active material layer of Kim which comprises the carbon-based material.
Annotated Figure 1A of Kim
Therefore, the deposition layer is deposited on the entirety (100%) of one of the surfaces of the carbon-based material, specifically the surface which faces the deposition layer or it would have been obvious that the deposition layer coated the entirety of the surface of the carbon-based material in order to secure the surface diffusion path of the anode to increase lithium-ion diffusion, as recognized by Kim (Paragraph 0047). The deposition layer of Kim is deposited on a percentage of the surface of the carbon-based material which lies within the instant claimed ranges, meeting the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches the anode of claim 1.
Kim teaches the deposition layer (first anode active material layer) has a thickness of about 10 nm to 500 nm. The range of thickness of the deposition layer of Kim overlaps the range of thickness of the instant deposition layer provided in claim 5. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the anode of claim 1, further comprising a binder (Paragraph 0108).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the anode of claim 1.
As described above and shown in Figure 1A of Kim, Kim teaches the anode (Element 20) comprised of a current collector (Element 21), second anode active material layer (Element 23), and first anode active material layer (Element 22) (Paragraph 0067).
Kim teaches the thickness of the first anode active material layer in the range of 10 nm to 500 nm (Paragraph 0079). Kim teaches the thickness of the second anode active material layer is 1 nm to 100 µm (Paragraph 0107). Kim teaches when the thickness of the anode active material layers are within the claimed ranges, short circuit of the battery is suppressed and the cycle characteristics of the battery are improved (Paragraph 0107).
Kim teaches in example 1, the thickness of the current collector applied to the second anode active material layer was 20 µm (Paragraph 0184).
Therefore, the thickness of the anode (comprising three layers) taught by Kim is calculated as follows:
When the thickness of the first anode active material layer = 10 nm; thickness of the second anode active material layer = 1 nm; thickness of the current collector = 20 µm
Thickness = 10 nm + 1 nm + 20 µm = 20.011 µm
When the thickness of the first anode active material layer = 500 nm; thickness of the second anode active material layer = 100 µm; thickness of the current collector = 20 µm
Thickness = 500 nm + 100 µm + 20 µm = 120.5 µm
Thus, the thickness of the anode of Kim is suitable taught to be in the range of approximately 20 µm to 120.5 µm. The range of the thickness of the anode of Kim overlaps with the range of thickness of the instant claim. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches an all-solid-state battery comprising: the anode of claim 1 (Figure 2A, Element 20); a cathode (Figure 2A, Element 10); and a solid electrolyte (Element 30) layer positioned between the anode and the cathode (Paragraphs 0009-0010; 0095).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1-5, 7, and 9-10 above, and further in view of Yang (Non-Patent Literature “Promising All-Solid-State Batteries for Future Electric Vehicles”).
Regarding claim 19, Kim teaches an all-solid-state battery as described above.
Kim teaches generally, batteries being used in the fields of automobiles.
Yang teaches current lithium ion batteries employed in electric vehicles being accompanies by safety risks, including the tight packing of electrodes which increase energy density and risk of explosion (Page 3221, Column 1, Paragraph 2). Yang teaches the advantages of solid electrolytes including nonflammability, wider operational operating range, reliable performance, and increased energy density, which made them very promising next generation battery systems (Page 3221, Column 1, Paragraphs 2-3). Yang recognized lithium ion batteries as limited in the current global electric vehicle market, owing to their limited ability to sufficiently deliver performance required by EVs, relating to driving range and charging times (Page 3221, Column 1, Paragraph 1). Thus, Yang teaches higher power and energy dense batteries are required for the future of electric vehicles (Page 3221, Column 1, Paragraph 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the all-solid-state battery of claim 10 taught by Kim into a vehicle according to the teachings of Yang. Yang recognizes all-solid-state batteries as the future of electric vehicles, owing to their superior safety features resulting from non-flammable electrolytes as well as wider operational operating range, reliable performance, and increased energy density compared to existing lithium ion batteries.
11. Claims 1-5, 7-8, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20210184218 A1) in view of Lee (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20030138698 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ahn teaches an anode for an all-solid-state battery (Paragraph 0006), comprising: an anode active material comprising a carbon-based material (carbon-based negative electrode active material) (Paragraph 0006); and a solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0006).
Ahn teaches the outer surface of the carbon-based material (graphite) is coated in whole or at least in part with the mixture of solid electrolyte and conductive material (Paragraph 0007). Thus, the coating of Ahn meets the instant claimed limitation of the anode comprising a deposition layer formed on at least a portion of the surface of the carbon-based material.
Ahn teaches the conductive material of the deposition layer may be metal powder including nickel and aluminum (Paragraph 0048), a metal known in the art to be capable of forming an alloy with lithium.
Ahn is silent as to the metal that can form an alloy with lithium comprising one or more selected from the group consisting of silver (Ag), magnesium (Mg), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), indium (In), antimony (Sb), lead (Pb) and germanium (Ge).
However, Lee discloses an anode active material for a lithium secondary battery comprising carbon coated with a metal (Paragraph 0002). Like Ahn, Lee teaches the carbon anode active material may be graphite (Paragraph 0025). Lee teaches the metal thin film (deposition layer) formed onto the surface of the carbon particles, wherein the metal is selected from the group consisting of Li, Al, Sn, Bi, Si, Sb, Ni, Cu, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, Ag, and alloys and oxides thereof (Paragraph 0025). Lee teaches the coating layer of the invention selectively permits lithium ions to enter the electrode structure (Paragraph 0026).
Thus, Lee teaches it is known in the art to utilize a carbon-based anode active material which is coated by a deposition layer comprising a metal that can form an alloy with lithium.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to substitute silver (Ag), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), and/or antimony (Sb) for aluminum (Al) or nickel in the coating of Ahn because Lee teaches any of the aforementioned elements as suitable coatings for a carbon anode material. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as an anode active material in the lithium ion battery of Ahn and possess the benefits of selective lithium ion movement into the electrode as taught by Lee (Paragraph 0026). See MPEP § 2143.I.(B).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ahn teaches the anode as discussed above with respect to claim 1, wherein the anode active material comprises a deposition layer (coating) formed on at least a portion of the surface of the carbon-based material (Paragraph 0007). As described above in the rejection of claim 1, the coating of the graphite particles of Ahn is comprised of conductive material and solid electrolyte, therefore the deposition layer is considered to be in contact with the solid electrolyte as they are part of the same mixture, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Regarding claim 3, modified Ahn teaches the anode as discussed above with respect to claim 1, wherein the solid electrolyte comprises a sulfide-based solid electrolyte (Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ahn teaches the anode as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, the deposition layer of Ahn may be coated onto the whole outer surface of the carbon-based material (Paragraph 0007). Therefore, it follows that when the whole of the graphite particles of Ahn are coated with deposition layer, the deposition layer is deposited on 100% of the surface of the carbon-based material. This values lies within the range of the percentage of the surface of the carbon-based material onto which the deposition layer is deposited, thus the instant claimed limitations are met.
Regarding claim 5, modified Ahn teaches the anode as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Ahn is silent as to the thickness of the deposition layer being between 10 nm to 300 nm.
However, as discussed above, Lee discloses an anode active material for a lithium secondary battery comprising carbon coated with a metal (Paragraph 0002). Like Ahn, Lee teaches the carbon anode active material may be graphite (Paragraph 0025). Lee teaches the metal thin film (deposition layer) formed onto the surface of the carbon particles.
Further, Lee teaches the thickness of the metal layer on the surface of the carbon anode active material particles is within the range of 1 to 300 nm in order to improve binding strength of the active material without adding a binder and prevent separation of carbon active material from an electron transmission path (Paragraph 0029).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to have modified the coated carbon-based anode material of Ahn to further incorporate the teachings of Lee in which the thickness of the deposition layer is within the range of 1 to 300 nm. Doing so would advantageously result in improved binding strength of the active material and the prevention of separation of carbon active material from an electron transmission path, as recognized by Lee.
The result of the modification is a thickness of the metal layer which coats the carbon anode active material particles of Lee in view of Ahn lies within the instant range. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established and the claimed limitation is met. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ahn teaches the anode as discussed above with respect to claim 1, further comprising a binder (Paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ahn teaches the anode as discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Ahn teaches that the binder comprising 1 to 10 weight % based on 100 weight % of the electrode layer (Paragraph 0071). The weight percent of the binder based on the total weight of the anode of Ahn overlaps that of the instant claim’s binder weight percent, therefore prima facie obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Ahn teaches the composition of the negative electrode through various examples, where the weight percentages of the active material and the solid electrolyte are given by Table 2:
Table 2 of Ahn
As is seen in the table, Ahn teaches examples wherein the anode comprises between approximately 80 weight % to 90 weight % by weight of the anode active material. The weight percent of the anode active material based on the total weight of the anode of Ahn overlaps that of the instant claim’s active material weight percent, therefore prima facie obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
As is further seen in the table, Ahn teaches examples wherein the anode comprises between approximately 7 weight % to 16 weight % by weight of solid electrolyte. The weight percent of the solid electrolyte based on the total weight of the anode of Ahn overlaps that of the instant claim’s solid electrolyte weight percent, therefore prima facie obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ahn teaches an all-solid state battery comprising: the anode as discussed above with respect to claim 1, a cathode, a solid electrolyte layer positioned between the anode and the cathode (Paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 19, modified Ahn teaches a vehicle comprising the all-solid-state battery of claim 10 (Paragraph 0074).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn as applied to claims 1-4, 7-8, 10, and 19 above, further in view of Hayashi (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20230021952 A1).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ahn teaches the anode as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Ahn is silent as to the thickness of the anode being from about 1 µm to 100 µm.
However, Hayashi discloses a battery including a positive electrode, negative electrode, and a solid electrolyte material (Abstract). Hayashi teaches the thickness of the negative electrode to be 10 μm or more and 500 μm or less in order to increase the energy density and power output of the battery (Paragraph 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the negative electrode of Ahn to incorporate the teachings of Hayashi in which the thickness is between 10 μm and 500 μm. Doing so would advantageously result in improved energy density and power output of the battery, as recognized by Hayashi.
The range of the anode thickness resulting from the modification overlaps the instant range of anode thickness. Therefore, prima facie obviousness is established. See MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Response to Arguments
Response: Rejections Under 35 USC § 112
On page 5 of the Remarks filed November 26th, 2025, applicant argues that the “solid electrolyte layer” of claim 10 and the “solid electrolyte” of claim 1 do not result in clarity issues with respect to antecedent basis as alleged in the Non-Final Rejection mailed August 26th, 2025, as the solid electrolyte layer being a compound noun.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 10 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The 35 USC § 112(b) rejection of claims 10 and 19 set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed August 26th, 2025 has been withdrawn.
Response: Rejections Under 35 USC § 103
On page 6 of the Remarks filed November 26th, 2025, applicant argues that the limitation of the metals alloyable with lithium of claim 6, excluding aluminum and silicon, which was incorporated into independent claim 1, is not taught by the prior art of recording including Ahn and Phil.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the teachings of Ahn and Phil have been fully considered and are persuasive.
However, upon performing an updated search of the art and reconsideration of the prior art of record, new grounds of rejection are presented in this office action in view of Albano, Kim, and Lee, presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789