DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to application 17/960,926 as submitted 07/27/26.
Claim status is currently pending for claims 1, 5, 7, 9-10, 12-14, 16-18, 20-23 and 25-26 of which amended claims are 1, 9-10, 12-14, 16-17, 21 and 25-26; the independent claims are 1, 10 and 21; cancelled claims are 2-4, 6, 8, 11, 15, 19 and 24.
Response to Remarks
Examiner thanks applicant for responsive remarks filed 07/27/26 which are considered on the remaining issues as follows.
Objections to the claims are hereby withdrawn as necessitate by applicant’s amendment.
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn, as necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s remarks regarding the prior art have been considered, but they are not persuasive to sufficiently distinguish from the prior art of record to render non-obvious. Particularly, the remarks at [P.16 of 18] point to amendment which recites limitation from previous claim 8, now cancelled, and traverses combination of prior arts at [P.14-15 of 18], introducing claimed invention at [P.13 of 18].
Examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the following reasons. First, the chain of logic conflicts with itself at remarks [P.16 ¶2-3] “These amendments highlight that not only… but also that the responsive image captures are manually generated…no teaching or suggestion that a user interface tool such as a button on the joystick would be used to capture an image” which contradicts initial remarks [P.13 ¶1-2] “undesirable due to the resource intensive nature of such manual labeling… reduces the resource intensive nature of what would otherwise be manually performed”. Such line of reasoning amounts to rationalizing a manual process to be motivated by a not-manual process, hence undesirable. It is not apparent how an optional joystick (preceded by ‘or’ in the alternative) or unit for display would contribute to automation or computer vision modeling task as no evidence of unexpected results are made of record.
Second, the reference applied to amendment, Heikkila is summarily dismissed in a paragraph as being irrelevant on account of display interface used for remote control. This is not persuasive because the display is plainly “for controlling one or more vehicle operations, and one or more image sensors” being the essential function performed in the claim limitation. Since controlling vehicle operations and image sensor is the function performed, control by remote control is not irrelevant - it simply provides a solution that can be used as an extension of the vehicle. This is broad but reasonable for the reason that it reduces manual burden to automate tasks (e.g. vehicle driving) using image data collected via sensors (i.e. cameras) and provides internet connectivity. As illustrated Figs 3-4, cameras for video feed are connected via switch for control using Raspberry Pi which is an educational board for experimentation and comes standard with dual display ports1. Thus, the level of experimentation by skilled artisan is reduced to trivial formalities for a reasonable expectation of success. Obviousness is not a test of ipsissimis verbis nor whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference, but rather what the teachings of the reference would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. In this case, Heikkila conveys controlling tractor vehicle operations using cameras for video feed over an internet connected network. This is sufficient for the task of controlling vehicle operations and image sensors to capture image data which can be understood from the illustrations.
Third, the combination with Capota and Udutalapally significantly overlap in scope to provide additional support in arriving at the claimed invention. Express recitation of capturing images for transmitting to cloud and trained model are provided by Udutalapally [P.17534 ¶2] “capture the image of the leaf and sent it to cloud storage” e.g. [P.17529 ¶4] “captured leaf images are given as input to the trained model.” This teaching by Udutalapally is provided immediately prior to Heikkila in combination, i.e. Heikkila teachings depends from Udutalapally which already teaches function of capturing images to support generated notifications by IoAT Internet-of-Agro-Things for smart agriculture with smartphone mobile application. There is no reasoned explanation as to why a skilled artisan couldn’t simply use such a mobile app while in a mobile tractor or other vehicle. In fact, Heikkila discloses that a human remains in the tractor for safety purposes [P.11 Sect. 3.2.1 ¶1], but it stands to reason that this human would be free to perform other activities since control is no longer required of their deliberate attention, similar to turning on an auto-pilot feature so that infotainment or user-friendly features can be utilized in the vehicle. Vehicles are integral to the base reference Capota Fig 1 which also discloses displays [0126,120] such as for routing and maps. Thus, starting from a vehicle of Capota, using a mobile app of Udutalapally and adding control via Heikkila, the combination provides strong support as a basis for teaching or suggesting the required features of the claim.
All of the above features are prior to limitations of training based on correlated images and automatic tagging. As such, the initial limitations in combination can be seen as pre-processing so as for image data used to train a model. Tellingly, the trained model is absent feature vector transformation for an input space to be weighted e.g. specified dimension of embedding or encoding for model training with gradient descent or backpropagation. Rather, it serves to curate images with some correlation for generally perform model training. Model training based on correlated images is taught by Harikumar, and correlating by automatically geo-tagging is taught by Hadar. Starting from Capota, a subset of selected devices participating in a campaign provides a reasonable basis to provide image data for model training. Bringing in Udutalapally emphasizes generating notifications with mobile app and machine learning, Heikkila further provides vehicle control with computer vision, and Hadar serves to automatically tag image data with geographical information for model training. Taken together, the teachings in combination provide the skilled artisan with required elements of claim limitations to arrive at the invention as claimed prior to the date of filing circa ~2022. Distinction is not apparent from remarks in support of claims to arrive at a finding of non-obvious. Therefore, the applied rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained. The arguments presented above support the rejections to independent claims 1, 10, 21 and related dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Capota et al., US PG Pub 2020/0410288A1 hereafter Capota, in view of Udutalapally et al., “sCrop: A Novel Device for Sustainable Automatic Disease Prediction, Crop Selection, and Irrigation in Internet-of-Agro-Things for Smart Agriculture” hereafter Udutalapally, in view of Heikkila et al., “Unmanned Agricultural Tractors in Private Mobile Networks” hereafter Heikkila, in view of Hadar et al., US PG Pub 2018/0300341A1 hereafter Hadar, and in view of Harikumar et al., US PG Pub 2022/0391633A1 hereafter Harikumar.
With respect to claim 1, Capota teaches:
A method of expediting distributed feedback for training of supervised learning models to identify one or more types of subjects within images {Capota [0024] “techniques may be used for supervised learning, for example, classification” Figs 2-3 and 8 illustrate distributed environment for model management and training [0130,134] “train an image recognition model… object recognition”}, the method comprising:
in association with at least a first campaign for development of at least a first model for classifying at least a first type of subject under at least one of one or more defined classifying conditions {Capota Fig 6:A110 Campaign Selection, the campaign being for model development shown Fig 8, similar Figs 7, 3, [0039] “developing, tuning/optimizing, troubleshooting and managing models” models to classify e.g. [0134-35] “Classification examples include object recognition (traffic signs, objects in from of a vehicle, etc.), face recognition” cont’d “CNN… image classification” again at [0083,28]. Conditions are disclosed [0131] “light conditions… model needs to be able to recognize, for example, a traffic sign in rainy conditions with the same accuracy as when the sun is shining” and/or [0113,096] “weather conditions”},
selecting a plurality of potential feedback source devices from a network of available feedback source devices based on identified lighting and/or weather conditions associated with each of the network of available feedback source devices as corresponding to the at least one of the one or more defined classifying conditions {Capota Fig 6:A120 Select Devices participating in campaign, e.g. Fig 8 edge devices in communication with campaign server, similar Figs 7, 3, for [0134-35] “Classification examples include object recognition (traffic signs, objects in from of a vehicle, etc.), face recognition” cont’d “CNN… image classification” again at [0083,28]. Conditions are disclosed [0131] “light conditions… model needs to be able to recognize, for example, a traffic sign in rainy conditions with the same accuracy as when the sun is shining” and/or [0113,096] “weather conditions”},
Capota further discloses display interface [0126,120] for routes and maps on devices 122 Fig 1, (i.e. onboard display units) with the vehicle’s onboard sensors [0050], and further suggests [0101,103] “push notifications from the campaign server …user defines the campaign through a label and any additional metadata”.
However, Capota does not appear to disclose responsive image between devices and network for the generated notifications which are taught by Udutalapally:
generating notifications from a central computing network to each of the selected plurality of potential feedback source devices requesting responsive images comprising the at least first type of subject of the one or more types of subjects {Udutalapally [P.17528 Sect. V.A] “notify farmers about the infected crop” describes user interface for sCrop Mobile Smartphone Application shown at Fig 3-right “Real-time crop disease prediction notifications” bidirectional arrows note crop image for the sCrop mobile application on smartphone devices Fig 13 and in communication with cloud Fig 2, the subject including crop e.g. leaf or plant Figs 4-7, Alg.1};
upon generating the notifications, establishing a respective feedback connection between each of the plurality of potential feedback source devices and a data storage network associated with the at least a first model {Udutalapally [P.1727-28 Pg.Brk] “5G, WiFi” as “sCrop device communicates with the upper layers in wireless” describes communication between the devices, shown Figs 2-3 and implemented Alg.1 [P.17531] “SendCloud…ReadCloudtoMobileApp” connects for feeding images read from camera e.g. [P.17529 ¶2,4] “feed in images of the crops to the Deep Learning (DL) model …captured leaf images are given as input to the trained model” and further shows data storage in cloud network at Fig 3, see also [P.17534 ¶2] “capture the image of the leaf and sent it to cloud storage”},
Udutalapally is directed to training deep learning classifier models with distributed cloud environment thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to generate notifications over cloud using sCrop as per Udutalapally in combination for a motivation [P.17527-28 Sect.III] “help in the real-time monitoring of the environmental variables… help the edge device layer to perform computations with reduced latency …help the farmer” and further noting [P.17526 ¶3-4] “popularity and advantages of IoT… end goal of smart agriculture.”
However, Udutalapally does not disclose display unit for controlling vehicle operations and transmitting images captured therefrom which is taught or suggested by Heikkila:
wherein the plurality of potential feedback source devices each comprise an onboard display unit, a user interface tool associated with the display unit or with a joystick for controlling one or more vehicle operations, and one or more image sensors; wherein user engagement of at least one specified portion of the user interface tool of a respective feedback source device responsive to the generated notification causes an image to be captured by at least one of the one or more image sensors and then transmitted via the respective feedback connection {Heikkila [P.8-9] Figs 3-4 show cockpit of tractor remotely controlled via network at a remote cab [P.8-9 Sect3.2] “the remote control cabin had a steering wheel, pedals, and other controls needed for operating the tractor (Figure 3). Three screens were attached to display video feeds from the tractor” and connectivity with Wifi/5G internet protocols Fig 5 [P.10 ¶1] “Raspberry Pi on the tractor side works as a client to establish a connection to the server Raspberry Pi computer on the remote cab. The idea is that the remote control cabins server has a known address on the internet”};
Heikkila is directed to distributed environments for image processing thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to employ interface tools per Heikkila in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation being [P.2 ¶2,1] “Our study aims to enable remote control of the tractor interconnecting the in-vehicle CAN of the tractor and the CAN bus of the remote control system” such that the “main idea of the experiment reported here was to establish an ad hoc private network or a private network bubble to enable remote operations of a tractor” e.g. [P.5 Last¶] “smart farms (e.g., demand of being easy to use.”
However, Heikkila in combination does not appear to fairly disclose automatically tagging which is disclosed by Hadar:
upon receiving input messages via respective feedback connections responsive to the notifications, the input messages comprising images, automatically tagging the images with source-identifying metadata {Hadar [0129] “automatically create a geo-tag for indexing the street-level image” again [0128] and [0103,06] “metadata (e.g., a geo-tag, a search index) is automatically created” upon Fig 4 described [0074-76] “remote server and/or computing cloud… connect via network 414” similar at [0157-58]};
Hadar is directed to classification of images with trained deep learning detector models in a distributed cloud system thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to automatically geo-tag per Hadar in combination for a motivation [0049,52] “automatically creating metadata for indexing” of images so as to “automatically identify …not necessarily be easily determined by a user” and/or such that [0155-56] “discrepancy is detected between the geographic location… When a discrepancy is detected, an automatic correction may be made.”
Hadar further suggests [0099] “correlation between extracted visual features” e.g. [0043] “matching the image(s)” but does not appear to disclose the scope of following limitations which are disclosed by Harikumar:
correlating the images received via the respective feedback connections in association with the at least first campaign with the at least first type of subject and tagged source metadata comprising the at least one of the one or more defined classifying conditions {Harikumar Fig 4:402 “Correlated images” regards object detection model 410, received Fig 1:104 image server-client device system networked to provide respective feedback connections where 106 extraction system extracts the correlated images Fig 2:204, 10:1004 and correlating includes [0067] “extraction system 106 utilizes digital images having matched metadata tags as a series of correlated images. For instance… location metadata tags, and/or user ID metadata tags as the series of correlated images” e.g. [0018] “location metadata within a threshold distance” and classifying conditions include [0099] “classification machine learning model to generated predicted instance labels indicating color and/or content” Figs 2:206, 5:504, similar [0093]}; and
training the at least first model at the central computing network by at least correlating the images received via the respective feedback connections, as components of a first data set for the at least first model, with the at least first type of subject and tagged metadata {Harikumar [0076] “trains the convolutional neural network 512 to generate image-level labels for the series of correlated images” by 106 system of server 102 - Fig 2, similar [0070] “detecting objects in the series of correlated images …object detection machine learning model trained on classes from training datasets” e.g. dogs in correlated images to build model Fig 2, training by system 106 shown Fig 1 in communication with network, arrows indicate connection described [0131,35], and tagged metadata as already noted [0067,18]}.
Harikumar is directed to training object detection classification models with a distributed cloud environment thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to correlate and train per Harikumar in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation to [0029] “improve the efficiency and speed for generating similar instance image datasets” which may [0038] “automatically extracts similar instances of objects from a repository of digital images.”
With respect to claim 10, Capota teaches:
A system of expediting distributed feedback for training of supervised learning models to identify one or more types of subjects within images {Capota Figs 1-3 illustrate system of distributed environment for model training [0024] “Supervised machine learning… for example, classification” to [0130,134] “train an image recognition model… object recognition”}, the system comprising:
a central computing network configured, in association with at least a first campaign for development of at least a first model for classifying at least a first type of subject under at least one of one or more defined classifying conditions {Capota Figs 1-3, 7-8 show network 127, campaign server 125 and devices 122, for [0039] “developing, tuning/optimizing, troubleshooting and managing models” the models to classify e.g. [0134-35] “Classification examples include object recognition (traffic signs, objects in from of a vehicle, etc.), face recognition” cont’d “CNN… image classification” again at [0083,28]. Conditions are disclosed [0131] “light conditions… model needs to be able to recognize, for example, a traffic sign in rainy conditions with the same accuracy as when the sun is shining” and/or [0113,096] “weather conditions”}, to
Capota further discloses display interface [0126,120] for routes and maps on devices 122 Fig 1, (i.e. onboard display units) with the vehicle’s onboard sensors [0050], and further suggests [0101,103] “push notifications from the campaign server …user defines the campaign through a label and any additional metadata”.
However, Capota does not appear to disclose responsive image between devices and network for the generated notifications which are taught by Udutalapally:
generate notifications to each of a plurality of potential feedback source devices requesting responsive images to be received at the central computing network and comprising the at least first type of subject {Udutalapally [P.17528 Sect. V.A] “notify famers about the infected crop” illustratively at Fig 3-right “Real-time crop disease prediction notifications” bidirectional arrows note crop image for sCrop mobile application on smartphone devices Fig 13 and in communication with cloud Fig 2, the subject including crop/leaf/plant Figs 4-7, Alg.1},
upon generating the notifications, to establish a respective feedback connection between each of the plurality of potential feedback source devices and a data storage network associated with the at least a first model {Udutalapally [P.1728 ¶1] “5G, WiFi” whereby [P.1727 Last¶] “sCrop device communicates with the upper layers in wireless” describes communication between the devices, shown Figs 2-3 and implemented Alg.1 [P.17531] “SendCloud…ReadCloudtoMobileApp” connects for feeding images read from camera e.g. [P.17529 ¶2] “feed in images of the crops to the Deep Learning (DL) model” and further shows data storage in cloud network at Fig 3},
Udutalapally is directed to training deep learning classifier models with distributed cloud environment thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to generate notifications over cloud using sCrop as per Udutalapally in combination for a motivation [P.17527-28 Sect.III] “help in the real-time monitoring of the environmental variables… help the edge device layer to perform computations with reduced latency …help the farmer” and further noting [P.17526 ¶3-4] “popularity and advantages of IoT… end goal of smart agriculture.”
However, Udutalapally does not disclose display unit for controlling vehicle operations and transmitting images captured therefrom which is taught or suggested by Heikkila:
wherein the plurality of potential feedback source devices each comprise an onboard display unit, a user interface tool associated with the display unit or with a joystick for controlling one or more work vehicle operations, and one or more image sensors, wherein user engagement of at least one specified portion of the user interface for a respective feedback source device responsive to the generated notification causes an image to be captured by at least one of the one or more image sensors and then transmitted via the respective feedback connection {Heikkila [P.8-9] Figs 3-4 show cockpit of tractor remotely controlled via network at a remote cab [P.8-9 Sect3.2] “the remote control cabin had a steering wheel, pedals, and other controls needed for operating the tractor (Figure 3). Three screens were attached to display video feeds from the tractor” and connectivity with Wifi/5G internet protocols Fig 5 [P.10 ¶1] “Raspberry Pi on the tractor side works as a client to establish a connection to the server Raspberry Pi computer on the remote cab. The idea is that the remote control cabins server has a known address on the internet”},
Heikkila is directed to distributed environments for image processing thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to employ interface tools per Heikkila in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation being [P.2 ¶2,1] “Our study aims to enable remote control of the tractor interconnecting the in-vehicle CAN of the tractor and the CAN bus of the remote control system” such that the “main idea of the experiment reported here was to establish an ad hoc private network or a private network bubble to enable remote operations of a tractor” e.g. [P.5 Last¶] “smart farms (e.g., demand of being easy to use.”
However, Heikkila in combination does not appear to fairly disclose automatically tagging which is disclosed by Hadar:
upon receiving input messages via respective feedback connections responsive to the notifications, the input messages comprising images, automatically tagging the images with source-identifying metadata {Hadar [0129] “automatically create a geo-tag for indexing the street-level image” again [0128] and [0103,06] “metadata (e.g., a geo-tag, a search index) is automatically created” upon Fig 4 [0074-76] “remote server and/or computing cloud… connect via network 414” similar at [0157-58]},
Hadar is directed to classification of images with trained deep learning detector models in a distributed cloud system thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to automatically geo-tag per Hadar in combination for a motivation [0049,52] “automatically creating metadata for indexing” of images to “automatically identify …not necessarily be easily determined by a user” and/or [0155-56] “discrepancy is detected between the geographic location… When a discrepancy is detected, an automatic correction may be made.”
Hadar further suggests [0099] “correlation between extracted visual features” e.g. [0043] “matching the image(s)” but does not prima facie disclose the following limitations which are disclosed by Harikumar:
correlate the images received via the respective feedback connections in association with the at least first campaign with the at least first type of subject and tagged source metadata comprising the at least one of the one or more defined classifying conditions {Harikumar Fig 4:402 “Correlated images” regards object detection model, Fig 1 network between server and client devices provide respective feedback connections where 106 extraction system extracts correlated images Fig 2:204, 10:1004 and correlating includes [0067] “extraction system 106 utilizes digital images having matched metadata tags as a series of correlated images. For instance… matching date metadata tags, location metadata tags, and/or user ID metadata tags as the series of correlated images” e.g. [0018] “location metadata within a threshold distance” and classifying conditions include [0099] “classification machine learning model to generated predicted instance labels indicating color and/or content” Figs 2:206, 5:504, similar [0093]}, and
train the at least first model at the central computing network by least correlating the images received at the central computing network via the respective feedback connections, as components of a first data set for the at least first model, with the at least first type of subject and tagged metadata {Harikumar [0076] “trains the convolutional neural network 512 to generate image-level labels for the series of correlated images” by 106 system of server 102 - Fig 2, similar [0070] “detecting objects in the series of correlated images …object detection machine learning model trained on classes from training datasets” e.g. dogs in correlated images to build model Fig 2, training by system 106 shown Fig 1 in communication with network, the arrows indicate connection described [0131,35], and tagged metadata as already noted [0067,18]}.
Harikumar is directed to training object detection classification models with a distributed cloud environment thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to correlate and train per Harikumar in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation to [0029] “improve the efficiency and speed for generating similar instance image datasets” which may [0038] “automatically extracts similar instances of objects from a repository of digital images.”
With respect to claim 21, Capota teaches:
A method of expediting distributed feedback for training of supervised learning models to identify one or more types of subjects within images {Capota [0024] “techniques may be used for supervised learning, for example, classification” Figs 2-3 and 8 illustrate distributed environment for model management and training [0130,134] “train an image recognition model… object recognition”}, the method comprising:
in association with at least a first campaign for development of at least a first model for classifying at least a first type of subject under at least one of one or more defined classifying conditions {Capota Figs 7-8 show Campaign associated with model repository 135, the campaign being for model development [0039] “developing, tuning/optimizing, troubleshooting and managing models” models to classify e.g. [0134-35] “Classification examples include object recognition (traffic signs, objects in from of a vehicle, etc.), face recognition” cont’d “CNN… image classification” again at [0083,28]. Conditions are disclosed [0131] “light conditions… model needs to be able to recognize, for example, a traffic sign in rainy conditions with the same accuracy as when the sun is shining” and/or [0113,096] “weather conditions”},
Capota further discloses display interface [0126,120] for routes and maps on devices 122 Fig 1, (i.e. onboard display units) with the vehicle’s onboard sensors [0050], and further suggests [0101,103] “push notifications from the campaign server …user defines the campaign through a label and any additional metadata”.
However, Capota does not appear to disclose responsive image between devices and network for the generated notifications which are taught by Udutalapally:
broadcasting notifications from a central computing network to a plurality of potential feedback source devices requesting responsive images comprising the at least first type of subject of the one or more types of subjects, and under the at least one of the one or more defined classifying conditions {Udutalapally [P.17528 Sect. V.A] “notify famers about the infected crop” shown Fig 3-right “Real-time crop disease prediction notifications” broadcasting is to Fig 2 farmer’s sCrop phone App arrows indicating from cloud and/or edge [P.17530 Last¶] “trained using Google Cloud Services” with cloud send/read implemented Alg.1 [P.17531], using smartphone devices shown Fig 13. The campaign to develop a model is where model is developed by training [P.17529 Sect. VI.B] “training the image classifier model…fit the parameters for training…fine-tune the parameter of the classifier being trained” and which [P.17532 Sect. VII.A] “enables the farmer to choose the crop… selected crop details are sent to the cloud.” Furthermore, classifying conditions may comprise color spectrum Fig 5 and/or [Abst] “weather conditions” The subject including crop/leaf/plant Figs 4-7, Alg.1},
upon generating the notifications, establishing a respective feedback connection between each of the plurality of potential feedback source devices and a data storage network associated with the at least a first model {Udutalapally [P.1717-28 Pg.Brk] “5G, WiFi” as “sCrop device communicates with the upper layers in wireless” describes communication between the devices, shown Figs 2-3 and implemented Alg.1 [P.17531] “SendCloud…ReadCloudtoMobileApp” connects for feeding images read from camera e.g. [P.17529 ¶2] “feed in images of the crops to the Deep Learning (DL) model” and further shows data storage in cloud network at Fig 3},
Udutalapally is directed to training deep learning classifier models with distributed cloud environment thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to generate notifications over cloud using sCrop as per Udutalapally in combination for a motivation [P.17527-28 Sect.III] “help in the real-time monitoring of the environmental variables… help the edge device layer to perform computations with reduced latency …help the farmer” and further noting [P.17526 ¶3-4] “popularity and advantages of IoT… end goal of smart agriculture.”
However, Udutalapally does not disclose display unit for controlling vehicle operations and transmitting images captured therefrom which is taught or suggested by Heikkila:
wherein the plurality of potential feedback source devices each comprise an onboard display unit, a user interface tool associated with the display unit or with a joystick for controlling one or more vehicle operations, and one or more image sensors; wherein user engagement of at least one specified portion of the user interface tool responsive to the generated notification causes an image to be captured by at least one of the one or more image sensors and then transmitted via the respective feedback connection {Heikkila [P.8-9] Figs 3-4 show cockpit of tractor remotely controlled via network at a remote cab [P.8-9 Sect3.2] “the remote control cabin had a steering wheel, pedals, and other controls needed for operating the tractor (Figure 3). Three screens were attached to display video feeds from the tractor” and connectivity with Wifi/5G internet protocols Fig 5 [P.10 ¶1] “Raspberry Pi on the tractor side works as a client to establish a connection to the server Raspberry Pi computer on the remote cab. The idea is that the remote control cabins server has a known address on the internet”};
Heikkila is directed to distributed environments for image processing thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to employ interface tools per Heikkila in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation being [P.2 ¶2,1] “Our study aims to enable remote control of the tractor interconnecting the in-vehicle CAN of the tractor and the CAN bus of the remote control system” such that the “main idea of the experiment reported here was to establish an ad hoc private network or a private network bubble to enable remote operations of a tractor” e.g. [P.5 Last¶] “smart farms (e.g., demand of being easy to use.”
However, Heikkila in combination does not appear to fairly disclose automatically tagging which is disclosed by Hadar:
upon receiving input messages via respective feedback connections responsive to the notifications, the input messages comprising images, automatically tagging the images with source-identifying metadata {Hadar [0129] “automatically create a geo-tag for indexing the street-level image” again [0128] and [0103,06] “metadata (e.g., a geo-tag, a search index) is automatically created” upon Fig 4 [0074-76] “remote server and/or computing cloud… connect via network 414” similar at [0157-58]};
Hadar is directed to classification of images with trained deep learning detector models in a distributed cloud system thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to automatically geo-tag per Hadar in combination for a motivation [0049,52] “automatically creating metadata for indexing” of images to “automatically identify …not necessarily be easily determined by a user” and/or [0155-56] “discrepancy is detected between the geographic location… When a discrepancy is detected, an automatic correction may be made.”
Hadar further suggests [0099] “correlation between extracted visual features” e.g. [0043] “matching the image(s)” but does not prima facie disclose the following limitations which are disclosed by Harikumar:
correlating the images received via the respective feedback connections in association with the at least first campaign with the at least first type of subject and tagged source metadata comprising the at least one of the one or more defined classifying conditions {Harikumar Fig 4:402 “Correlated images” regards object detection model, Fig 1 network between server and client devices provide respective feedback connections where 106 extraction system extracts correlated images Fig 2:204, 10:1004 and correlating includes [0067] “extraction system 106 utilizes digital images having matched metadata tags as a series of correlated images. For instance… matching date metadata tags, location metadata tags, and/or user ID metadata tags as the series of correlated images” e.g. [0018] “location metadata within a threshold distance” and classifying conditions include [0099] “classification machine learning model to generated predicted instance labels indicating color and/or content” Figs 2:206, 5:504, similar [0093]}; and
training the at least first model at the central computing network by at least correlating the images received via the respective feedback connections, as components of a first data set for the at least first model, with the at least first type of subject and tagged metadata {Harikumar [0076] “system 106 trains the convolutional neural network 512 to generate image-level labels for the series of correlated images” similarly at [0070] “detecting objects in the series of correlated images… object detection machine learning model trained on classes from training datasets” e.g. dogs in correlated images to build model Fig 2, training by system 106 shown Fig 1 in communication with network, arrows indicate connection described [0131,35], and tagged metadata as already noted [0067,18]}.
Harikumar is directed to training object detection classification models with a distributed cloud environment thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to correlate and train per Harikumar in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation to [0029] “improve the efficiency and speed for generating similar instance image datasets” which may [0038] “automatically extracts similar instances of objects from a repository of digital images.”
Claims 5, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar in view of Lasso et al., “Discovering weather periods and crop properties for coffee rust incidence from feature selection approaches” hereinafter Lasso.
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the method of claim 1. Lasso teaches wherein
the lighting and/or weather conditions associated with each of the network of available feedback source devices are identified by reference to respective position data with respect to a time of day and/or determined weather conditions, wherein the respective weather conditions for each of the network of available feedback source devices are further determined via one or more third party weather applications and/or databases {Lasso Fig 2 Weather Data from data source i.e. third-party is [P.4 ¶2,4] “CATIE Meteorological Station …From the meteorological station data, we took the following weather variables: …air temperature calculated over the day… relative humidity, number of days” over [P.3 ¶5] “weather time periods, called windows” and gives location as latitude/longitude [P.4 ¶2]. Again Fig 2 shows weather data to generate windows for feature selection based on correlation and models such as random forest. See [P.7 Last2] “sequence of weather conditions” and lighting conditions being [P.4 Last¶] “Shade condition… shaded crop (1) or full sun (0)”}.
Lasso is directed to training classification models with correlation-based feature selection thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to include weather condition data per Lasso in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation [P.3 ¶5] “The objective of this work was to model the CLRI in order to study the impact of weather variables, characterized in different weather time periods” so as for “improving the CLRI modeling… allowed us a more detailed understanding of the favorable conditions for the disease development.”
With respect to claim 18, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the system of claim 17, and further combination with Lasso teaches the limitation of claim 5. Therefore, the rejection of claim 5 with equal motivation is applied to claim 18.
With respect to claim 22, the combination of Capota,, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the method of claim 21, and further combination with Lasso teaches the limitation of claim 5. Therefore, the rejection of claim 5 with equal motivation is applied to claim 22.
Claims 7, 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar in view of Bhate et al., US PG Pub No 2023/0376805A1 hereinafter Bhate, and further in view of Bourdev et al., US PG Pub No 2015/0036919A1 hereinafter Bourdev.
With respect to claim 7, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the method of claim 1. Bhate teaches comprising
automatically verifying images received at the central computing network via the feedback connection as relating to the at least first type of subject, based at least in part on the source metadata and the corresponding notification {Bhate Fig 7:711 “Auto Validation” i.e. [0044-45] “verification and validation” for model which includes images that can be extracted as a feature vector [0080,73]. Fig 9:939 shows validation set received in a distributed environment, meta-data is shown Fig 4:413 and notification is alert [0078,80]}, and
Bhate is directed to distributed training of classifier models thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to automatically validate/verify per Bhate in combination for the motivation “performance can be tracked in real time and contemplated against expected values” [0039] and vetting performance can result in rollback or reversion [0107].
However, Bhate in combination does not appear to disclose the following limitation is disclosed by Bourdev:
only correlating verified images in the data storage, as components of the first data set for the at least first model, with the at least first type of subject and the tagged metadata {Bourdev [0074] “only the top 200 scoring images to the classifier 208 as the training set of images” top-k ranking is described for the correlation module 308, such that verification can be a ranked score of top images, tagged metadata is disclosed [0029]}.
Bourdev is directed to training classifier models thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to only correlate image of top-k rank per Bourdev in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation of “selecting a top scoring subset of the sample set… top scoring subset of the evaluation set” [0088-89].
With respect to claim 20, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the system of claim 10, and further combination with Bhate and Bourdev teaches the limitation of claim 7. Therefore, the rejection of claim 7 with equal motivation is applied to claim 20.
With respect to claim 23, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the method of claim 21, and further combination with Bhate and Bourdev teaches the limitation of claim 7. Therefore, the rejection of claim 7 with equal motivation is applied to claim 23.
Claims 9, 12-14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar.
With respect to claim 9, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the method of claim 1, wherein
the tagged source-identifying metadata for each image comprises a type of image sensor capturing the image, and/or a location of the feedback source devices, and/or a date and time at which the image is captured {Harikumar [0067] “location metadata tags, and/or user ID metadata tags” is source-identifying, date/time is “images having matching date metadata tags… time metadata tags” similar at [0018], [0118]}.
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the system of claim 10, wherein
a subset of the plurality of potential feedback source devices comprises one or more work vehicles {Capota [0008] “subset of devices” Fig 1:122 vehicles, described [0042] “worker devices 122” similar at [0077-78] considers “business” and “worker devices 122 maintained by third-parties”}.
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the system of claim 10, wherein
a subset of the plurality of potential feedback source devices comprises one or more mobile computing devices {Capota [0008] “subset of devices” comprises [0022] “edge/IoT devices” e.g. [0119] “mobile device 122” Fig 2:122}.
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the system of claim 11, and further teaches the limitation of claim 9. Therefore, the rejection of claim 9 is applied to claim 14.
With respect to claim 16, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the system of claim 10, wherein
the computing network is configured to broadcast notifications to a network of available feedback source devices comprising each of the plurality of potential feedback source devices, in accordance with the first campaign, wherein the broadcast notifications include a request for images comprising the at least first type of subject under the at least one of the one or more defined classifying conditions {Udutalapally [P.17528 Sect. V.A] “notify famers about the infected crop” shown Fig 3-right “Real-time crop disease prediction notifications” broadcasting is to Fig 2 farmer’s sCrop App, arrows indicating from cloud and/or edge [P.17530 Last¶] “trained using Google Cloud Services” with cloud send/read implemented Alg.1 [P.17531], using smartphone devices shown Fig 13. The campaign to develop a model is where model is developed by training [P.17529 Sect. VI.B] “training the image classifier model…fit the parameters for training…fine-tune the parameter of the classifier being trained” and which [P.17532 Sect. VII.A] “enables the farmer to choose the crop… selected crop details are sent to the cloud.” Furthermore, classifying conditions may comprise color spectrum Fig 5 and/or [Abst] “weather conditions” The subject including crop/leaf/plant Figs 4-7, Alg.1}.
With respect to claim 17, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the system of claim 10, wherein
the computing network is configured to select each of the plurality of potential feedback source devices from a network of available feedback source devices based on identified lighting and/or weather conditions associated with each of the network of available feedback source devices as corresponding to the at least one of the one or more defined classifying conditions {Capota shows Fig 6:A120 “Select participating devices” based on campaign A110 where campaign identifies conditions based on classification modeling e.g. [0134-35] “Classification examples include object recognition (traffic signs, objects in from of a vehicle, etc.), face recognition” cont’d “CNN… image classification” again at [0083,28]. Particularly, classifying conditions include [0131] “light conditions… model needs to be able to recognize, for example, a traffic sign in rainy conditions with the same accuracy as when the sun is shining” and/or [0113,096] “weather conditions” }.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar in view of Nickl et al., US PG Pub No 2021/0125089A1 hereinafter Nickl.
With respect to claim 25, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the method of claim 21. Nickl teaches comprising
automatically reviewing an image received from a feedback source device, and generating a confirmation feedback request to a display unit associated with the feedback source device regarding a presence of the at least one subject within the received image, wherein confirmation feedback input responsive to the confirmation feedback request is attached to the image as metadata for the training of the model {Nickl [0240] “automated image review is generated by a confirmation… supervision over time as the machine learning systems become more deeply trained” further [0268] “image metadata types can be automatically reviewed to identify multiple occurrences of the same image that can be identified with high confidence as not comprising protected data (e.g., logos” shown Fig 1A:108 validate presence of protected data for subsequent incorporation into machine learning 118, Fig 2 distributed system of server-client devices, and example screenshots Figs 3}.
Nickl is directed to distributed system and methods for training machine learning models thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to automatically review images per Nickl in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation of supervising a model’s training data with consideration of protected/sensitive data [0240,268] e.g. [0199] “Such validation can enhance the automated detection of protection by improving the accuracy of protected information identification” and addressing need for compliance [0025].
With respect to claim 26, the combination of Capota, Udutalapally, Heikkila, Hadar and Harikumar teaches the method of claim 1. Nickl teaches comprising
automatically reviewing an image received from a feedback source device, and generating a confirmation feedback request to a display unit associated with the feedback source device regarding a presence of the at least one subject within the received image, wherein confirmation feedback input responsive to the confirmation feedback request is attached to the image as metadata for the training of the model {Nickl [0240] “automated image review is generated by a confirmation… supervision over time as the machine learning systems become more deeply trained” further [0268] “image metadata types can be automatically reviewed to identify multiple occurrences of the same image that can be identified with high confidence as not comprising protected data (e.g., logos” shown Fig 1A:108 validate presence of protected data for subsequent incorporation into machine learning 118, Fig 2 distributed system of server-client devices, and example screenshots Figs 3}.
Nickl is directed to distributed system and methods for training machine learning models thus being analogous. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have considered it obvious prior to the effective filing date to automatically review images per Nickl in combination to arrive at the invention as claimed for a motivation of supervising a model’s training data with consideration of protected/sensitive data [0240,268] e.g. [0199] “Such validation can enhance the automated detection of protection by improving the accuracy of protected information identification” and addressing need for compliance [0025].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rude et al., PCT WO2022/246548A1 Croptimistic Fig 1 shows tractor onboard display, ML
Li et al., “GeoImageNet: a multi-source natural feature benchmark dataset for GeoAI and supervised machine learning” see Fig 2 labeled metadata, feature selection
Mitra et al., “eCrop: A Novel Framework for Automatic Crop Damage Estimation” Figs 3, 5-7.
Bapatla et al., “sFarm: A Distributed Ledger Based Remote Crop Monitoring System for Smart Farming” see Fig 2, Alg.1
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHASE P. HINCKLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2124
1 Raspberry Pi 4 Tech Specs available at www.raspberrypi.com/products/raspberry-pi-4-model-b/specifications/ detailing dual display via hdmi 4k ports