Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US20170294546A1.
Regarding claims 1-10, US20170294546A1 discloses aluminum substrate coated with Mn+1Xn(Ts) layer(s). X is positioned within an octahedral array of M, wherein M is at least one Group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 metal (corresponding to Group IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB or VIIB metal) such as Ti, wherein each X is C, N, or a combination thereof and n=1, 2, or 3; wherein at least one of said surfaces of the layers has surface terminations, Ts, comprising alkoxide, alkyl, carboxylate, halide such as floride, hydroxide, hydride, oxide, sub-oxide, nitride, sub-nitride, sulfide, sulfonate, thiol, or a combination thereof. See [0081] to [0090]. The coatings may also cover complete areas or may be patterned using lithographic techniques. See [0021]. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 23, US20170294546A1 discloses tin oxide substrate coated with Mn+1Xn(Ts) layer(s). X is positioned within an octahedral array of M, wherein M is at least one Group 3, 4, 5, 6, or 7 metal (corresponding to Group IIIB, IVB, VB, VIB or VIIB metal) such as Ti, wherein each X is C, N, or a combination thereof and n=1, 2, or 3; wherein at least one of said surfaces of the layers has surface terminations, Ts, comprising alkoxide, alkyl, carboxylate, halide such as fluoride, hydroxide, hydride, oxide, sub-oxide, nitride, sub-nitride, sulfide, sulfonate, thiol, or a combination thereof. See [0081] to [0090]. The coatings may also cover complete areas or may be patterned using lithographic techniques. See [0021]. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach from “1 to 4 layers of the MXene covers from 55% to 100% of a total surface area of the post-transition metal”.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the prior art teaches that “the coatings may also cover complete areas or may be patterned using lithographic techniques”. See [0021]. ” Complete areas” means 100% coverage.
The applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach from “from 1 to 4 layers of the MXene covers from 55% to 100% of a total surface area of the bulk ceramic”.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the prior art teaches that “the coatings may also cover complete areas or may be patterned using lithographic techniques”. See [0021]. ”Complete areas” means 100% coverage.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731