DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al (US 2019/0172292 A1) in view of Ichikawa et al (US 2004/0245066 A1) and further in view of Tamahashi (US 2016/0163145 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda teaches an automated teller machine, i.e., banknote handling device (1), as illustrated in figures 1 and 2, for example, comprising:
a main body, i.e., upper handling unit (11) and lower safe unit (13), as illustrated in figure 2, having an entrance for replenishment and recovery, i.e., depositing unit (21) having inlet (211), first dispensing unit (22) having first outlet (221) and second dispensing unit (23) having second outlet (231) as illustrated in figure 3, noting also the connection paths (414) into external storage (35) suggests an inlet/outlet constituting an entrance, to which a recovery transit cassette or a replenishment transit cassette, i.e., external storage (35), is connected, as illustrated in figure 3, for example;
a reception unit, i.e., depositing unit (21) having inlet (211), first dispensing unit (22) having first outlet (221) and second dispensing unit (23) having second outlet (231) as illustrated in figure 3, through which deposit or withdrawal of a medium is made, as mentioned at paragraphs 145-147, for example;
a temporary holding unit, i.e., temporary storage unit (34), in which the medium is temporarily stored, as mentioned at paragraphs 167 and 168 and as illustrated in figure 4;
an identification unit, i.e., recognition unit (24) as illustrated in figures 1-4, serving to identify whether a medium is a normal banknote, a rejection banknote, or a non-replenishment banknote, as mentioned at paragraphs 148 and 149, for example;
a recycle cassette, i.e., large storages (311-313) or small storages (321-323) as illustrated in figures 3 and 4, in which the medium recognized as the normal banknote is stored, as mentioned at paragraphs 153-155, for example;
a reject cassette, i.e., either multi-purpose storage (33) or external storage (35), in which the medium recognized as the rejection banknote is stored, as mentioned at paragraphs 157 and 173-175;
a deposit cassette, i.e., any of large storage (311-313), small storage (321-323) or multipurpose storage/cassette (33), in which the medium deposited through the reception unit (21) is stored;
a utility cassette, i.e., multipurpose storage/cassette (33), disposed in a lower portion of the main body (11, 13), the utility cassette (33) serving to store various types of mediums for universal purposes, as mentioned at paragraph 157, for example;
a conveyance path, i.e., loop transport path (411), upper path (4111), lower path (4112), connection paths (412-418), as illustrated in figures 3 and 4, for example, through which the medium is conveyed between the entrance for replenishment and recovery, as illustrated in figures 3 and 4, the reception unit, i.e., any of (21, 211, 22, 221, 23, 231), the temporary holding unit (34), the identification unit (24), the recycle cassette, i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323), the reject cassette, i.e., any of (33, 35), the deposit cassette, i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323, 33) and the utility cassette (33); and
a control unit, i.e., controller (15), as illustrated in figure 5 and as mentioned at paragraph 180, configured to control the conveyance path (411, 4111, 4112, 412-418), such that when the medium is recovered through the recovery transit cassette (35), the medium recognized as the normal banknote by the identification unit (24), among the mediums stored in the deposit cassette, i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323, 33) and the recycle cassette, i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323), is temporarily stored in the temporary holding unit (34), and among the mediums temporarily stored in the temporary holding unit (34), the medium recognized as the normal banknote by the identification unit (24) is recovered to the recovery transit cassette (35), as mentioned at paragraphs 14, 89-97, 167-168, 217-219, 330, 405, and as illustrated at figures 4, 14, 24, 27, 28 and 36, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda further teaches wherein the control unit (15) is configured to control the conveyance path, i.e., loop transport path (411), upper path (4111), lower path (4112), connection paths (412-418), such that when the medium is replenished through the replenishment transit cassette (35), the medium recognized as the normal banknote by the identification unit (24), among replenishment mediums stored in the replenishment transit cassette (35), is temporarily stored in the temporary holding unit (34), and among the mediums temporarily stored in the temporary holding unit (34), the medium recognized as the normal banknote by the identification unit (24) is accommodated in the recycle cassette, i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323), for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda further teaches wherein the control unit (15) is configured to control the conveyance path, i.e., loop transport path (411), upper path (4111), lower path (4112), connection paths (412-418), such that among the mediums temporarily stored in the temporary holding unit (33, 35), the medium recognized as the rejection banknote by the identification unit (24) is accommodated in the utility cassette (33) and the medium recognized as the non-replenishment banknote by the identification unit (24) is accommodated in the replenishment transit cassette (35).
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda further teaches wherein the control unit (15) is configured to control the conveyance path, i.e., loop transport path (411), upper path (4111), lower path (4112), connection paths (412-418), such that among the replenishment mediums stored in the replenishment transit cassette (35), the medium recognized as the rejection banknote by the identification unit (24) is accommodated in the utility cassette (33).
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda does not expressly teach sending banknotes determined as normal banknotes by the identification unit to the temporary holding unit and then sending normal banknotes to the recovery transit cassette.
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda does not expressly teach, but Ichikawa teaches sending banknotes determined as normal, i.e., construed as including genuine, banknotes by the identification unit, i.e., banknote discrimination unit (101), to the temporary holding unit, i.e., temporary storage box (103), and then sending normal banknotes to the recovery transit cassette, i.e., cassette for feed and collection (105), as illustrated in figures 2 and 13 and as mentioned at paragraphs 93 and 94, which state as follows.
[0093] In the collection process, the banknotes fed from the banknote storage boxes 104a through 104d are conveyed one by one to the banknote discrimination unit 101 as shown by the arrows of thick line. Any banknote determined as counterfeit by the banknote discrimination unit 101 is collected in the forgery collection box 102. The banknote source data 210 are updated here for management of the source of the counterfeit banknote as in the case of the money-out process. The banknotes determined as genuine by the banknote discrimination unit 101 are temporarily kept in the temporary storage box 103. The processing to this stage is the `discrimination process`.
[0094] As shown by the arrows of broken line, the banknotes are then conveyed from the temporary collection box 103 to the cassette 105 for collection via the banknote discrimination unit 101. The banknotes may be subjected to banknote discrimination again in the course of conveyance. This arrangement further enhances the accuracy of banknote discrimination. The clerk at the financial institution detaches the cassette 105 from the feed-collection cassette module 25 to collect the banknotes. Even when the banknotes received in a deposit transaction or in a banknote feed operation include any counterfeit banknote, this arrangement advantageous detects such forgery, prior to collection into the cassette 105. This arrangement also ensures management of the banknote source data and improves the convenience.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided algorithms and structure to send banknotes determined as normal banknotes by the identification unit to the temporary holding unit and then send normal banknotes to the recovery transit cassette, as taught by Ichikawa, in Fukuda’s automated teller machine for the purpose of detecting forgeries/counterfeit banknotes before collection in the recovery transit cassette.
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda teaches wherein the utility cassette (33) is disposed in a lower front portion of the main body, i.e., in safe (13), as illustrated in figures 2-4, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda does not expressly teach wherein the reject cassette is positioned at an upper side of the reject cassette.
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda does not expressly teach, but Tamahashi teaches wherein the reject cassette, i.e., any of reject cassettes (154a, 154b, 154c, 254a, 254b, 254c) is positioned at an upper side of the reject cassette, i.e., (154d, 254d), as illustrated in figures 8 and 12 and as mentioned at paragraphs 53, 54, 81 and 88, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the utility cassette is disposed in a lower front portion of the main body and positioned at an upper side of the reject cassette, as taught by Tamahashi, in Fukuda’s automated teller machine, as a matter of design choice for the purpose of saving space and maintaining compactness of the footprint of the automated teller machine by locating Fukuda’s utility cassette above the reject cassette(s) as needed based upon volume of particular categories of banknotes required to be stored balanced with the need for reduced footprint of the device. Note also that Applicant’s specification and disclosure provides no criticality as to the particular side to locate the recovery transit cassette.
Additionally, it would have been obvious for the purpose of adding a reject cassette below the utility cassette (33) as shown in Fukuda figure 3, for example, thus taking advantage of further available space for banknote storage in the lower safe area (13).
Regarding Claim 3, Fukuda teaches wherein the control unit (15) is configured to control the conveyance path, i.e., loop transport path (411), upper path (4111), lower path (4112), connection paths (412-418), such that the medium recognized as the rejection banknote by the identification unit (24), among the mediums stored in the temporary holding unit (34, 35), is accommodated in the reject cassette, i.e., multipurpose storage (33), as mentioned at paragraph 157, for example.
Regarding Claim 4, Fukuda teaches wherein the control unit (15) is configured to control the conveyance path, i.e., loop transport path (411), upper path (4111), lower path (4112), connection paths (412-418), such that the medium recognized as the rejection banknote by the identification unit (24), among the mediums stored in the deposit cassette, i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323, 33), and the recycle cassette , i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323), is accommodated in the reject cassette (33).
the recycle cassette, i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323), the reject cassette, i.e., any of (33, 35), the deposit cassette, i.e., any of (311-313, 321-323, 33) and the utility cassette (33)
Regarding Claim 9, see the rejection of Claims 1, 3 and 4, above.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuda et al (US 2019/0172292 A1) in view of Ichikawa et al (US 2004/0245066 A1), further in view of Tamahashi (US 2016/0163145 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 10,339,744 B2).
Regarding Claim 2, Fukuda teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 2, Fukuda teaches wherein the main body (11, 13) includes:
an upper body (11) in which the reception unit, i.e., any of (21, 211, 22, 221, 23, 231), the temporary holding unit (34) and the identification unit (24) are provided, the entrance for replenishment and recovery, i.e., depositing unit (21) having inlet (211), first dispensing unit (22) having first outlet (221) and second dispensing unit (23) having second outlet (231) as illustrated in figure 3, noting also the connection paths (414) into external storage (35) suggests an inlet/outlet constituting an entrance, being provided in a front portion of the upper body (11); and a lower body, i.e., safe unit (13), in which the recycle cassette (311-313, 321-323), the deposit cassette (311-313, 321-323, 33), the reject cassette (33, 35) and the utility cassette (33) are provided.
Regarding Claim 2, Fukuda does not expressly teach the entrance for replenishment and recovery being provided in a rear portion of the upper body.
Regarding Claim 2, Fukuda does not expressly teach, but Lee teaches the entrance for replenishment and recovery, i.e., entrance (11) for cassette (130) as illustrated in figures 2, 3a and 7c, being provided in a rear portion of the upper body, i.e., the upper portion above the midline of housing (10), as mentioned at col. 3, line 64 to col. 4, line 5, col. 5, lines 5-17 and 35-44 and col. 6, lines 43-57, noting that deposit withdrawal unit (12) is located on the front surface of housing (10) as seen in figure 3a and as mentioned at col. 4, lines 5-9.
Regarding Claim 2, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided the entrance for replenishment and recovery being provided in a rear portion of the upper body, as taught by Lee, in Fukuda’s automated teller machine, as a matter of design choice for the purpose of locating the recovery transit cassette at a location easier to access for personnel removing the recovery transit cassette for collection. Note that Applicant’s specification and disclosure provides no criticality as to the particular side to locate the recovery transit cassette.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts at The Remarks received 10/6/25, p. 7, first full paragraph, that “[w]hile the Fukuda publication discloses a multi-purpose storage 33 that arguably corresponds to the claimed utility cassette, it is neither positioned above a reject cassette (or any cassette) as recited in claim 1, nor is there any suggestion of the positively recited steps of transferring replenishment banknotes identified as rejection banknotes to a utility cassette so that the replenishment transit cassette can accommodate non-replenishment banknotes”.
In response to Applicant's arguments, it is note that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda teaches wherein the utility cassette (33) is disposed in a lower front portion of the main body, i.e., in safe (13), as illustrated in figures 2-4, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda does not expressly teach wherein the reject cassette is positioned at an upper side of the reject cassette.
Regarding Claim 1, Fukuda does not expressly teach, but Tamahashi teaches wherein the reject cassette, i.e., any of reject cassettes (154a, 154b, 154c, 254a, 254b, 254c) is positioned at an upper side of the reject cassette, i.e., (154d, 254d), as illustrated in figures 8 and 12 and as mentioned at paragraphs 53, 54, 81 and 88, for example.
Regarding Claim 1, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided wherein the utility cassette is disposed in a lower front portion of the main body and positioned at an upper side of the reject cassette, as taught by Tamahashi, in Fukuda’s automated teller machine, as a matter of design choice for the purpose of saving space and maintaining compactness of the footprint of the automated teller machine by locating Fukuda’s utility cassette above the reject cassette(s) as needed based upon volume of particular categories of banknotes required to be stored balanced with the need for reduced footprint of the device. Note also that Applicant’s specification and disclosure provides no criticality as to the particular side to locate the recovery transit cassette.
Additionally, it would have been obvious for the purpose of adding a reject cassette below the utility cassette (33) as shown in Fukuda figure 3, for example, thus taking advantage of further available space for banknote storage in the lower safe area (13).
Therefore, although Fukuda does not teach, suggest or disclose “any sort of utility cassette disposed in a lower front portion a lower front portion of the main body of the ATM and positioned at an upper side of the reject cassette”, Tamahashi teaches adding further stacking reject cassettes (154a-154d) vertically, as illustrated in figure 3. Compare Tamahashi figure 3 with Fukuda, figure 2, as follows.
Therefore, regarding Claim 1, it would have been obvious to have used at least one of Tamahashi’s vertically stacked reject cassettes to have filled Fukuda’s space below its utility cassette (33) for the purpose of increasing the volume of reject banknote storage capacity since both Tamahashi’s and Fukuda's devices have predictable structure and function and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the efficacy and synergy of the combination based upon the references' teachings as well as common sense, logic and reason.
Applicant further asserts that none of Fukuda, Ichikawa and Tamahashi teach (i) replenishment banknotes stored in the temporary holding unit that have been identified as rejection banknotes, and (ii) non-replenishment banknotes accommodated in the replenishment transit cassette.
However, Fukuda teaches limitation (i) as mentioned at paragraph 157, mentioning counterfeit banknotes, banknotes rejected in the dispensing process, or banknotes rejected in a reconciliation process. Note also the mention of multi-purpose storage (33) which is construed as a utility cassette, as mentioned at paragraphs 150, 151, 156 and 157, as follows.
[0150] The storage includes a large storage 31, a small storage 32, and a multi-purpose storage 33. The large storage 31, the small storage 32, and the multi-purpose storage 33 are all stacking storage cassettes each storing the banknotes stacked in the vertical direction. As described above, these storage cassettes can be detached from the safe housing 131 when they are drawn forward of the safe housing 131.
[0151] Any known configuration of the stacking storage cassette can be adopted. Note that each of the large storage 31, small storage 32, and multi-purpose storage 33 of the banknote handling apparatus 1 is able to take and store the banknotes therein, and feed the stored banknotes outside.
[0156] The multi-purpose storage 33 has a larger capacity than the small storage 32. In the illustrated example, the banknote handling apparatus 1 includes a single multi-purpose storage 33. The banknote handling apparatus 1 may have two or more multi-purpose storages 33. The multi-purpose storage 33 is disposed in front of the third large storage 313.
[0157] The multi-purpose storage 33 stores banknotes that cannot be stored in the first to third large storages 311 to 313 and the first to third small storages 321 to 323. For example, the multi-purpose storage 33 may store overflowed banknotes, i.e., banknotes that cannot be stored any more in the first to third large storages 311 to 313 and the first to third small storages 321 to 323 because these storages are full or nearly full. For example, the multi-purpose storage 33 may store banknotes of an unspecified denomination, i.e., banknotes the denomination of which is not allocated to any of the first to third large storages 311 to 313 and the first to third small storages 321 to 323. The multi-purpose storage 33 may store unfit banknotes, for example. The multi-purpose storage 33 may store counterfeit banknotes, or banknotes suspected to be counterfeit, for example. As will be described later, the multi-purpose storage 33 may store banknotes rejected in a dispensing process. As will be described later, the multi-purpose storage 33 may store banknotes rejected in a reconciliation process.
Emphasis provided.
Fukuda further teaches limitation (ii) noting temporary storage (34) as mentioned in paragraphs 34, 167, 168, 181, 184, 217 (mentioning rejected banknotes being stored in the temporary storage (34)), paragraphs 219-222, 225, 252 and paragraph 307, as mentioned as follows.
[0034] FIG. 24, corresponding to FIG. 4, illustrates a route for transporting banknotes in a reconciliation process performed on the multi-purpose storage using the external storage and the temporary storage.
[0167] A temporary storage 34 can be provided in the upper housing 111 of the banknote handling apparatus 1. The temporary storage 34 is an optional component which is attachable to and detachable from the banknote handling apparatus 1. The banknote handling apparatus 1 may be configured without the temporary storage 34 as indicated by dashed lines in FIG. 2, or with the temporary storage 34 as indicated by solid lines in FIG. 4.
[0168] The temporary storage 34 temporarily stores banknotes to be deposited in the depositing process until the depositing process is confirmed, for example. The temporary storage 34 can be used for various applications as will be described later. Although not shown in detail, the temporary storage 34 is a winding storage. Any known configuration of the winding storage can be adopted. The temporary storage 34 is disposed in a rear portion in the inside of the upper housing 111. The temporary storage 34 is connected to a rear end of the upper path 4111 of the loop transport path 411 via a connection path 418.
[0181] When attached, the temporary storage 34, which is an optional component, is also connected to the controller 15 to be able to transmit and receive signals to and from the controller 15. The controller 15 can determine whether the temporary storage 34 has been attached to or detached from the body of the apparatus.
[0184] The controller 15 controls the depositing unit 21, the first and second dispensing units 22 and 23, the recognition unit 24, the transporter 4, the large storage 31, the small storage 32, the multi-purpose storage 33, and the temporary storage 34 when a human operates the operation unit 27 or the terminal 16.
[0217] FIG. 14 shows an example of how the banknotes travel in the replenishment process using the external storage 35 and the temporary storage 34. In this replenishment process, the temporary storage 34 temporarily stores banknotes recognized by the recognition unit 24 as banknotes to be rejected.
[0218] Specifically, when the replenishment process starts, the transporter 4 transports the banknotes fed from the external storage 35 to the recognition unit 24 through the connection paths 414 and 413 and the upper path 4111 as indicated by solid line arrows in FIG. 14. The recognition unit 24 recognizes the banknotes. The transporter 4 transports the banknotes recognized as normal banknotes (those not recognized as banknotes to be rejected) to the large or small storage 31 or 32 through the connection path 415 or 416 as described above. The large or small storage 31 or 32 stores the banknotes. The transporter 4 transports the banknotes recognized by the recognition unit 24 as banknotes to be rejected to the temporary storage 34 through the connection path 418. The temporary storage 34 stores the rejected banknotes.
[0219] The temporary storage 34 is disposed in the middle of the route from the recognition unit 24 to the large or small storage 31 or 32. Since the temporary storage 34 stores the rejected banknotes, there is no need to stop the feeding of the banknotes from the external storage 35 even if some banknotes are rejected, unlike in the example shown in FIG. 12. Use of the temporary storage 34 can make the replenishment process using the external storage 35 more smooth.
[0220] When the replenishment process ends, the temporary storage 34 feeds the rejected banknotes stored during the replenishment process. This can empty the temporary storage 34.
[0221] Although not shown, the transporter 4 may transport the rejected banknotes fed from the temporary storage 34 to the second dispensing unit 23 through the loop transport path 411 and the connection path 413.
[0222] Further, although not shown, the transporter 4 may transport the rejected banknotes fed from the temporary storage 34 to the recognition unit 24 for second recognition. The transporter 4 may transport banknotes not recognized as banknotes to be rejected in the second recognition to the large or small storage 31 or 32 through the lower path 4112 and the connection path 415 or 416. This can reduce the number of banknotes rejected in the replenishment process. The transporter 4 may transport the banknotes recognized as banknotes to be rejected in the second recognition to the second dispensing unit 23 through the loop transport path 411 and the connection path 413 as described above.
[0225] Since the multi-purpose storage 33 stores the rejected banknotes, there is no need to stop the feeding of the banknotes from the external storage 35 even if some banknotes are rejected. Accordingly, the replenishment process using the external storage 35 can proceed smoothly.
[0252] Although not shown, the collection process shown in FIG. 16 and the collection process shown in FIG. 18 may be combined. Specifically, the collection process may be performed using both of the external storage 35 and the multi-purpose storage 33. This increases the capacity of the storage that stores the banknotes to be collected, and thus, a large number of banknotes can be collected. For example, if the number of banknotes to be collected is more than or equal to a predetermined number, the collection process may be performed using both of the external storage 35 and the multi-purpose storage 33. If the number of the banknotes to be collected is less than the predetermined number, the collection process may be performed using either the external storage 35 or the multi-purpose storage 33.
[0254] Further, based on the result of the recognition by the recognition unit 24, the transporter 4 may transport unfit banknotes to the external storage 35, and fit banknotes to the multi-purpose storage 33. In the collection process, the banknotes may be sorted by fitness and separately collected in two storages, namely, the external storage 35 and the multi-purpose storage 33. Alternatively, the banknotes may be sorted by currency and collected in two storages, namely, the external storage 35 and the multi-purpose storage 33.
[0307] The temporary storage 34 feeds the stored banknotes after the secondary transport ends. The transporter 4 may transport the banknotes fed from the temporary storage 34 to the multi-purpose storage 33 to be stored therein. In this case, the inventory amount of the multi-purpose storage 33 is not accepted. The transporter 4 may transport the banknotes fed from the temporary storage 34 to the second dispensing unit 23 to be dispensed thereto. In this case, the inventory amount of the multi-purpose storage 33 is accepted. The temporary holding unit 34 becomes empty, and the reconciliation process using the temporary storage 34 ends.
Emphasis provided.
Note also that it would have been obvious to have duplicated Fukuda’s third branch (416) to have fed banknotes to and from either the multi-purpose/utility cassette (33), as taught by Fukuda, and the reject cassette, as taught by Tamahashi, to fill the vacant area below Fukuda’s utility cassette (33) as illustrated in figures 4 and 14, thus adding reject cassette capacity.
Therefore, Claims 1-4 and 9 remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Regarding Claim 1, Adachi is cited as teaching
wherein the utility cassette, i.e., banknote storage box (28), is disposed in a lower front portion of the main body, i.e., (100), and positioned at an upper side of the reject cassette, i.e., reject box (29), as mentioned at paragraphs 43 and 44 and as illustrated in figure 2.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
October 27, 2025